Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Warning in OP, 10/12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Mr Alan wrote: »
    What about our signings from last year? Are we still hoping & waiting for them to improve? :rolleyes:

V3oIk0N.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Fans turning on the manager when the team is going through a bad spell.

Plastic fans have multiplied in numbers the past few weeks.

Yeah, the scum, they held back Hodgson.

Augmerson wrote: »
    Yeah, the scum, they held back Hodgson.

Everyone knew Hodgson was completely out of his depth very early on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

Fans turning on the manager when the team is going through a bad spell.

Plastic fans have multiplied in numbers the past few weeks.

Are 99% of the fans on here not plastic fans by the true definition or am I misunderstanding the meaning of the phrase?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,929 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Are 99% of the fans on here not plastic fans by the true definition or am I misunderstanding the meaning of the phrase?

Not just on here and not just this club 99% of all fans that support PL leagues teams are plastic fans.

Unless I too am misunderstanding the term and it has changed.

But then opinion doesn't matter unless you are a match going fan to some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,985 ✭✭✭ebbsy

West Ham 31 pts GD +10
    Liverpool 21 pts GD -3

How much did we spend again ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Should have never sold the dynamic duo.

or Cole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

What about our signings from last year? Are we still hoping & waiting for them to improve? :rolleyes:
    Didn't mention last years signings. Sakho I think will do well. The rest have been moved on & Ilori hasn't played for us yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

ebbsy wrote: »
    West Ham 31 pts GD +10
    Liverpool 21 pts GD -3

If they're still ahead of us at the end of the season then post this. They're on a good run we're on a bad one. If you think they're a better team or big sam is a better manager you're insane.

Fake fans. Maybe fickle would have been a better word.

Fans happy to enjoy last season but as soon as things go bad they are moaning and negative wanting the manager gone.

Afaik you've wanted him gone quite a while even when we were flying and tbh I respect that far more than someone who just jumps on the Rodgers out bandwagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,178 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Klopp is far from mediocre he is a proven winner.

He has had deal with all his top players being poached from him by his biggest rivial while still being there main competition for the last number of seasons.
    The Bundesliga is,nevertheless,a much weaker league than the Premiership. Dortmund is a huge club in terms of support and financial turnover but Klopp ,as a manager, has yet to prove himself.

Fake fans. Maybe fickle would have been a better word.

Fans happy to enjoy last season but as soon as things go bad they are moaning and negative wanting the manager gone.

Afaik you've wanted him gone quite a while even when we were flying and tbh I respect that far more than someone who just jumps on the Rodgers out bandwagon.

I loved last season, it was bonkers, but I always knew how I felt really about Rodgers. I'm aware it can come across as a mental point of view, but From the start of the season I've said I think we should move him on but even now I still want him to prove me wrong.

After tomorrow we have a fantastic run in the league where our next really difficult game is Everton away in February. He should pick a system, stick with it and ride it out. Winning games changes peoples opinions, but he hasn't won enough this season to keep the list of fans calling for his head from growing.

chicorytip wrote: »
    The Bundesliga is,nevertheless,a much weaker league than the Premiership. Dortmund is a huge club in terms of support and financial turnover but Klopp ,as a manager, has yet to prove himself.

Are you on the gargle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Cant believe we are 9/4 to win tomorrow, i mght even have a bit of that myself:eek:

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Cant believe we are 9/4 to win tomorrow, i mght even have a bit of that myself:eek:

We are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

shamrock55 wrote: »

Who is offering 9/4. Best price around is 7/4 that I can find.

I don't blame Rodgers for always dropping him after seen this.

https://vine.co/v/OXhOXHMA6Q2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭kildare75

plastic fans??????
    grow up.....
    im one of the lucky ones who gets to head across every week..yes home and away...
    but I know loads and loads of people who have chosen Liverpool to be their so called team since 86.....and im 38!!!! so they have experienced good and bad times!
    don't insult the vast majority please...
    ive held my speak over the last few months...but feck this...Brendan is without any question the man to lead us forward! sure he has made mistakes, but don't forget rafa needed didi to lead us to the best night of my life...sounds like a soft porno.....but its true.....don't forget the first 45 in 05!!!!
    Brendan almost lead us to the promised land last season out of no where, he hasn't become a bad manager overnight, the attacking edge has been removed full stop from his team, and that will be put right in time, keep the faith lads and lassies, Brendan knows his stuff...he came awfully close last season to becoming legend...and lets see how it goes when dancing Daniel comes back
    he will do for me!
    ynwa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

kildare75 wrote: »
    plastic fans??????
    grow up.....
    im one of the lucky ones who gets to head across every week..yes home and away...
    but I know loads and loads of people who have chosen Liverpool to be their so called team since 86.....and im 38!!!! so they have experienced good and bad times!
    don't insult the vast majority please...
    ive held my speak over the last few months...but feck this...Brendan is without any question the man to lead us forward! sure he has made mistakes, but don't forget rafa needed didi to lead us to the best night of my life...sounds like a soft porno.....but its true.....don't forget the first 45 in 05!!!!
    Brendan almost lead us to the promised land last season out of no where, he hasn't become a bad manager overnight, the attacking edge has been removed full stop from his team, and that will be put right in time, keep the faith lads and lassies, Brendan knows his stuff...he came awfully close last season to becoming legend...and lets see how it goes when dancing Daniel comes back
    he will do for me!
    ynwa

Is there much sign of dissent in the stands? I've heard that the crowd are getting on his back a bit more lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Found this while I was having a little snoop and I have to say, while I wouldnt have for voted for Rodgers myself, I still would of thought he would be ranked higher in the poll.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/poll.php?do=showresults&pollid=21847

The thread was closed on the 16/12/12.

Shame on the 8% of lads voting for Atilla Jaguar, Where is he now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭shamrock55

niallo27 wrote: »
    Who is offering 9/4. Best price around is 7/4 that I can find.

Ladbrokes , its 9/5 now though

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Gits_bone

So a plastic fan is turning on the manager when going through a bad spell?
    Bad spells last 6/7 games, not half a season.

Is there much sign of dissent in the stands? I've heard that the crowd are getting on his back a bit more lately.

aye a wee bit.... its all down to sheer frustration....we played like a dream team for the second half of last season...for one reason above all... pace!

we don't have it at the moment, but it will return, and those so called fans who want Rodgers out, are the same ones who were comparing him to legends only a few short months ago....
    its a thin line between a pat on the back and a kick in the arse!!!!!

give the fella a break, he knows his stuff, and give him a decent chance....

aye a wee bit.... its all down to sheer frustration....we played like a dream team for the second half of last season...for one reason above all... pace!

we don't have it at the moment, but it will return, and those so called fans who want Rodgers out, are the same ones who were comparing him to legends only a few short months ago....
    its a thin line between a pat on the back and a kick in the arse!!!!!

give the fella a break, he knows his stuff, and give him a decent chance....

So what if he gets the pace back?

The defence will still be a shambles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

MD1990 wrote: »
    Didn't mention last years signings. Sakho I think will do well. The rest have been moved on & Ilori hasn't played for us yet.

Sakho is at the club 18 months ffs

His signing has been yet another big failure

Gits_bone wrote: »
    So a plastic fan is turning on the manager when going through a bad spell?
    Bad spells last 6/7 games, not half a season.

the same manager got us within a slip of a league title last season!
    and I genuinely think its something that the squad has carried over....
    regardless of suarez.....to come that close out of nowhere has to carry emotional baggage ...and that takes time to over come....
    look im only giving my opinion, and that is Rodgers is the best thing to happen to my club since Rafa took over, and he needs to be given a decent chance,

im not having a go at anyone whose opinion is different than mine, all im saying is give the guy a chance...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Boobs!

Pair of tits Kess be proud of.
    c85574_1220428.jpg

the same manager got us within a slip of a league title last season!
    and I genuinely think its something that the squad has carried over....
    regardless of suarez.....to come that close out of nowhere has to carry emotional baggage ...and that takes time to over come....
    look im only giving my opinion, and that is Rodgers is the best thing to happen to my club since Rafa took over, and he needs to be given a decent chance,

im not having a go at anyone whose opinion is different than mine, all im saying is give the guy a chance...:)

Yes, certainly it came out of nowhere. Which might say something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Sakho is at the club 18 months ffs

His signing has been yet another big failure
    I kow but he has been injured. He played very well in the first half of last season before he tore his hamstring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Gits_bone wrote: »
    So what if he gets the pace back?

The defence will still be a shambles.

Did you want him sacked when we were a shambles last year?

Pyjamarama wrote: »
    Did you want him sacked when we were a shambles last year?

Is Rodgers going to unearth or buy a player worthh 75 million?

Sakho has only played 21 league games in 18 months. He's never had a sustained run in the team, hard to judge him properly because of that tbh.

Meanwhile Skrtel plays every week during the worst defensive period for the club in decades and he escapes criticism

MD1990 wrote: »
    He played very well in the first half of last season before he tore his hamstring.

Well that's a blatant lie?! :confused:

Sakho has only played 21 league games in 18 months. He's never had a sustained run in the team, hard to judge him properly because of that tbh

He cost big money & even fit, he is not a starter. As a transfer, it's been very poor.

18 months into his time at the club is a fair period to pass judgement. It might change, particularly if we get a new manager who is able to coach defenders, but so far it's been very poor.

Sakho has only played 21 league games in 18 months. He's never had a sustained run in the team, hard to judge him properly because of that tbh.

Meanwhile Skrtel plays every week during the worst defensive period for the club in decades and he escapes criticism

Now he hardly escapes criticism tbf. While he does like his fair share of wrestling he still cant be blamed on all the other CBs being poor.

He cost big money & even fit, he is not a starter. As a transfer, it's been very poor.

So far as a transfer it's been poor but my point still stands. Play him regularly and see how he does.

Remember Lucas and Henderson as two examples of players that took a good while to settle. You were willing to give them time iirc.

So far as a transfer it's been poor but my point still stands. Play him regularly and see how he does.

Remember Lucas and Henderson as two examples of players that took a good while to settle. You were willing to give them time iirc.

Lucas cost £5m & moved from Brazil as a young back up player.

Henderson showed plenty more in his first 18 months than Sakho has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭Talisman

Don't be silly - we're waiting for them to be integrated into the group.

Talisman wrote: »
    Don't be silly - we're waiting for them to be integrated into the group.

They're only a FETAC level 6 yet, have to be level 7 to be a technician.

Lucas cost £5m & moved from Brazil as a young back up player.

Henderson showed plenty more in his first 18 months than Sakho has.

Henderson only missed 1 league game in his first season and was almost a fulltime regular in his second season. That goes back to my point of playing regularly before judging them.

Surely if the manager who bought him isn't playing him that tells us something about whether or not the transfer is a success?! :confused:

He has been injured quite a lot since we signed him though hasn't he?

Yes, but even when fit the manager seems happy to leave him on the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭mada999

djPSB wrote: »
    Rodgers guided Liverpool to one of their best League finishes in years.

Should be allowed a few **** ups too one would think. Of which there have been many.

TBH i thought he AND FSG should have purchased big last Jan and consolidated the position LFC were in..but thats just me :) ?

Rodgers has been allowed plenty of **** ups & mistakes. He's on his last life now tbh.

if he is to go, who do you want in...(except Klopp and Rafa) ?

mav79 wrote: »
    If his idea is to integrate Brad Jones into the first team for the long term I'd prefer if he went sooner rather than later.

agreed Jones should be nowhere near the team.. :(

ebbsy wrote: »
    West Ham 31 pts GD +10
    Liverpool 21 pts GD -3

the difference is a striker mate... :(

Charlie19 wrote: »
    Pair of tits Kess be proud of.
    c85574_1220428.jpg