Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Warning in OP, 10/12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

If Basle come and pull a Chelsea they shouldn't have any difficulty getting a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,932 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Not sure what was gained by leaving Lambert and Gerrard on for the entire game. Surely both those could have done with replacing with fresher legs for the last 15/20 minutes.

A microcosm of the season really. Crap defending, crap goalkeeping, conceding goals from set-pieces, conceding late goals. It had the whole shebang.

Both will be starters on Saturday no doubt.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

brevity wrote: »
    Apparently Lambert has said that they answered the critics tonight.
    "The performance was excellent."

Very worrying.

Jaysis. Must have watched a different game to the rest of us against the giants of Bulgarian football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭RED L4 0TH

Talisman wrote: »
    Win by two goals.

Yes, as Basel's GD remains 3 better. Mentioned in the RTE commentary there that we were actually on course early on to lose 5 in a row for the first time since 1953. Here is that run from the early stages of the 1953-54 season which ultimately ended in disaster.

329717.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,504 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

klose wrote: »
    @AlexShawESPN: Liverpool have had a one goal lead after 85 mins six times in all comps this season.

They've lost that lead six times.

That's pure BS.
    What about Southampton and West Brom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I did think qualification for the ko round would be hard but doable, i was counting 6 points from Ludogorets. now looking at our recent form, I just can't see it.

Europa league is where we'll end up. Which ain't too bad, European football in 2015:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,296 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Turtyturd wrote: »
    If Basle come and pull a Chelsea they shouldn't have any difficulty getting a result.

Playing for a draw is always a risk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

I'm actually sick of his bull**** at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,296 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

RED L4 0TH wrote: »
    Yes, as Basel's GD remains 3 better. Mentioned in the RTE commentary there that we were actually on course early on to lose 5 in a row for the first time since 1953. Here is that run from the early stages of the 1953-54 season which ultimately ended in disaster.

329717.jpg

No if Liverpool win they will have 7 points Basel 6 so GD has nothing to do with it.

Playing for a draw is always a risk

If Coutinho and Lallana are left on the bench there won't be much risk.

RED L4 0TH wrote: »

Basel's goal difference would indeed have them ahead of us if we finish level, but that is impossible. They are only 2 points ahead of us now so if we win we'll have 7 points, they'll have 6. Ludogorets can get 7 too but would lose on head to head vs us.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

We are just so poor at the moment its really hard to know where to start.

Its utterly depressing watching LFC at the moment.

Firstly Mig had to go. That's almost a big of priority as signing a striker in January

It's amazing the amount of people that are struggling with 4 + 3 = 7 :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭RED L4 0TH

No if Liverpool win they will have 7 points Basel 6 so GD has nothing to do with it.

Oops sorry, your right.

5starpool wrote: »
    Basel's goal difference would indeed have them ahead of us if we finish level, but that is impossible. They are only 2 points ahead of us now so if we win we'll have 7 points, they'll have 6. Ludogorets can get 7 too but would lose on head to head vs us.

We are playing so poor that Uefa have decided we only warrant 2 points for a win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,199 ✭✭✭Talisman

Incorrect.
    My mistake. I was reliably informed by the couch resident that Basel had scored a late equaliser against Madrid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Cech's probably the best chance of getting a decent goalkeeper in January but would probably only be a short-term solution.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

rarnes1 wrote: »
    It's amazing the amount of people that are struggling with 4 + 3 = 7 :pac:

what about the denominator?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭mav79

Cech's probably the best chance of getting a decent goalkeeper in January but would probably only be a short-term solution.
    Hell, at the moment Brad Jones is looking a decent keeper.:(

Would he be eligible for the CL, likewise Schuurle?

Obviously Mata is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Mignolet is just a complete disaster zone.

Terrible mistake for first goal.
    Came flying out to try and punch a corner kick clear and missed the ball by a mile.
    Saved another bouncing shot with his face. Luckily for him it didn't go in this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

He's only 32, easily has 5 years left. If not more.

Anyways, Cech said he's staying until the end of the season so Liverpool would at least have wait until summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,770 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

So L'pool still have qualification from their group in their own hands in the last game, this being their 1st go back into the comp in 5 years. They sit just 5 points off 4th in the EPL.

Hardly the worst crisis in football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Obviously Mata is.

Cech started one of the group games so no. Neither would Schurrle.

Obviously Mata is.

Cech would be ideal, Schuurle would be a decent shout too. Mata. no chance and no thanks. Huge wages and overated.

Keeper and striker are probably the main priorities.

Mignolet is just a complete disaster zone.

Terrible mistake for first goal.
    Came flying out to try and punch a corner kick clear and missed the ball by a mile.
    Saved another bouncing shot with his face. Luckily for him it didn't go in this time.

This is a negative?

Leroy42 wrote: »
    So L'pool still have qualification from their group in their own hands in the last game, this being their 1st go back into the comp in 5 years. They sit just 5 points off 4th in the EPL.

Hardly the worst crisis in football

Speaking about the league, we are lucky that the other teams going for 4th are also shít !

Cech would be brillant.

A defensive coach would be better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Lukker- wrote: »
    He's only 32, easily has 5 years left. If not more.

Anyways, Cech said he's staying until the end of the season so Liverpool would at least have wait until summer.

This is rarely true. A couple of keepers manage to keep performances late into their 30s but the fact majority take a big dip in performance at the same time most players do.

This is a negative?

He should have caught it in his mouth really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,770 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Speaking about the league, we are lucky that the other teams going for 4th are also shít !

Yes, but they are so they are so all is not lost.

A bad patch for sure, but not a disaster yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Chelsea may even sell cech to us as we are no threat to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Raif Severance

I don't know if he's actually trying to convince himself or honestly believes it.

That's not what is actually Concerning.

What I'm actually worried about, is that in BR's Eyes, Gerrard's Performance tonight in his New Role, was Excellent.

I'm sure that we will be seeing Gerrard playing the No. 10 from now on.

So less Playing Time for Lallana and Coutinho, unless they are played as Wingers.

Which Begs the Question, why did we even Spunk 20+M on Lallana?

I mean, that Game was crying out for Cou/Lallana, as Subs if not Starters.

If we had another Dribbler in the Team aside from Sterling, we would have Created more Chances against Ludo. But instead, we Persisted with Gerrard for the Full 90.

Better again, 3rd and 4th are both still very much in play. I'd be nearly happy enough in the grand scheme of things to see Southampton get it if we don't, but they won't. Their next 8 games are very tough generally.

He was using his experience to dictate the pace of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Riera back in 2009

"When I walked into the dressing room after the game everyone was devastated that we had only drawn a difficult away game."

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/albert-riera-players-despair-shows-3461601

Rodgers in 2014

"Excellent performance"

Lambert in 2014

"We answered our critics"

This team is a ****ing shrivelled dick in a snow storm...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

At least people are coming round to the idea that mignolet has been a poor signing and needs to be replaced. Coming around for what the rest of us already knew for a while. And moreno, another goal he was at fault for tonight. Wrong side and he turned his back on the play... Shocking defending. That's at least 3 goals he's been directly responsible for.... And people are surprised when he isn't in the team? Thought lambert, sterling and Gerrard linked up well at times, same team versus Stoke please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,298 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Obviously Mata is.

Doesn't matter we need them for the league campaign. We havn't a prayer of going far in the CL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I actually thought that we looked fairly solid tonight going with 4-4--1-1 and we were only really weekend down the left side because of sterling not covering back to help a wandering Johnson.

The wrong subs were made though as the two up front were clearly knackered after about 65/70 minutes.

Better again, 3rd and 4th are both still very much in play. I'd be nearly happy enough in the grand scheme of things to see Southampton get it if we don't, but they won't. Their next 8 games are very tough generally.

At least we have a striker that is scoring goals.

Next 3 league games are huge before Utd and Arsenal games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭mada999

Gerrard if he is to play every game has to play where he is playing tonight.

where you watching a different game to me? every second touch was a tackle..:confused: fair enough he played Sterling in for a one on one but tbh, he was rubbish..

Joanne has nice child bearing hips in fairness

Gerrard was average at best, lets be honest.

I'd rather him there than at DM tbh. Leave Lucas there and see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

Not sure what was gained by leaving Lambert and Gerrard on for the entire game. Surely both those could have done with replacing with fresher legs for the last 15/20 minutes.

A microcosm of the season really. Crap defending, crap goalkeeping, conceding goals from set-pieces, conceding late goals. It had the whole shebang.

Yes even as a time wasting tactic. Gerard was bet after 70 minutes.
    Bring on can.
    Bring on Markovic for Sterling. We need a bit of pace up front to pin them back . the minute sterling went off the where able to get forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,298 ✭✭✭✭rob316

mada999 wrote: »
    where you watching a different game to me? every second touch was a tackle..:confused: fair enough he played Sterling in for a one on one but tbh, he was rubbish..

Yep he was poor and so off the pace. The most static number 10 you will see. It's sad but he's a waste of a position that coutinho or lallana could fill better.

MD1990 wrote: »
    Gerrard & Lambert as the two most attacking players won't work. Too slow & if we had a better counter attacking threat we would have been 3 or 4-1 up before the equaliser.

in the first half, gerrard was trying to play balls in front of Lambert to run on to :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

B3ZtRD3CAAInkLA.jpg

Head+slam+into+wall+its+pretty+much+in+the+title_fb940a_3773160.gif

Shower of useless shítes.

So you would rather him playing at DM then?

Because he won't be dropped!!

brevity wrote: »
    Rodgers ****ed it up IMO. Took the only threating player off and left two over thirties up front?

Can, Lallana or borini should have been on at 60 minutes.

We haven't a hope against Basel IMO.

a hearrr leave it oooout.. we always have a chance

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

a hearrr leave it oooout.. we always have a chance

Aye, we have a chance.

Did we deserve that chance?

Hmmm.