Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Warning in OP, 10/12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Unleashing them on Basle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

klose wrote: »
    One summer signing starting today and at that he was our supposed 3rd choice striker bought for buttons, have to wonder whats going on in the club regarding the transfer comitee. Stinks of ****ty politics

Careful now, you'll be accused of wearing a tinfoil hat, despite playing politics with the signings being a trademark of 'The Rodgers' since day 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Lose today and Rodgers should be sacked on Monday.

No creation in midfield. Why is Lallana on the bench?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

No better than the likes of Stoke when all you have is a back striker in Lambert (who trying hard/doing ok in fairness to him) as your attacking main foil. Need up the tempo ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Lose today and Rodgers should be sacked on Monday.

This could be a famous magnificent draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

martyos121 wrote: »
    1-0 Liverpool.
    Stoppage time winner from Kolo.

I've never been more certain of anything in my life.

Oh man, you should have replaced Kolo with Johnson :P

Give him a new contract.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dayum

Something fishy going on behind the scenes at that club.

I wonder just how many of the summer transfers Rodgers wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Delighted for Glenjo, has always been my favourite player.

Dayum wrote: »

You're putting some bait out there.

****ing hell. The manager still doesn't get it but we'll take the points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,937 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Something fishy with all your posts in this thread.

I wonder is there some other meaning to them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

Yes! Get in!

That was a good 2nd half, atmosphere was very good, chuffed we got the win!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Off out on the beer after that result lads :)

done.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,365 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Mignolet did his bit today.

Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

It's a Christmas miracle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,890 ✭✭✭✭klose

Hodgson stuff in the first half but a bit improvement in the second half. Can finally watch match of the day again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

I thought we played well in spurts today. And looked a lot more solid too. Hopefully we'll stick with Lucas and Kolo for a while. We still lack any real cutting edge up top tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

I thought I was seeing things when Mignolet caught that cross towards the end of the game. Fair play to the lad.

Jaysis its great to win again:D Hell of alot better 2nd half, few mad decisions by BR again but all in all we won and deserved it overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Happy with the three points! Need to be an awful lot better though.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

Some of that second half performance was a lot like last season. A lot of high pressing and intensity.

I just can't understand why we don't apply that in more games.

Also I criticise Johnson as much as anyone but even without the goal, he played pretty well bar one brain fart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Looked better in the second half today, Rodgers still seems to have lost the plot though. Worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

_79393800_rodgers.jpg

That squad would want to get their act together before Arsenal and United eat them without salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

If the manager had faith in Lambert from the start of the season we'd be a lot better off

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

That squad would want to get their act together before Arsenal and United eat them without salt.

West Ham are tricky alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

What is the deal with the transfers thing?
    Rodgers still a hero who wasn't allowed bring in the players he wanted?
    Or he was heavily involved and bought poorly at inflated prices?

I need to a pick a side here quick. All info appreciated. ty.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Raif Severance

Good Performance. Specially most of the 2nd Half, where we finally seems to be Flowing.

Kudos to Migs and Glenjo.

I still don't understand the Gerrard Cameo though. I thought it was Pointless, since our Play seems to lose Momentum whenever it got to him.

Not to mention, we were going to play with 3 CFs, so we needed another Dribbler to relieve Pressure, not a 34yo that cannot Run.

But a Win is a Win, so I'll take it. Still don't like BR's Treatment of Lallana and Borini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,504 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Can't see us not winning the league now.

Feck it, we'll win the CL too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

#RodgersIn

He sold Andy, you know your side. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

20 million for Dejan Lovren but Kolo Toure is playing far better at the moment. Definately overpayed on a few players.

FSG wanted a director of football much like the model you find on the continent but Rodgers wanted full reign i.e - Ferguson. So somebody settled on having a "transfer committee" full of Americans that have admitted they know less about football than your granny.

These are the types of muppets Brendan Rodgers sits alongside and who distribute funds.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

I've got it.

Last year we had the jinx/ anti-jinx and the panda saps injoke appreciation society.

We need more in-jokes .

FSG wanted a director of football much like the model you find on the continent but Rodgers wanted full reign i.e - Ferguson. So somebody settled on having a "transfer committee" full of Americans that have admitted they know less about football than your granny.

These are the types of muppets Brendan Rodgers sits alongside and who distribute funds.

Please list this American Transfer Committee.

Because last time I checked, they were all British.

I've got it.

Last year we had the jinx/ anti-jinx and the panda saps injoke appreciation society.

We need more in-jokes .

More Mary Poppins.

And someone needs to stick that picture of Fritzel, Hitler et al as Liverpool fans in every match thread.

Bar the miss where he should have scored, what a performance by the forgotten man today, Lucas Leiva. Lost our way abit when Gerrard replaced him. He was composed, pressed well, held his DM position well and pushed forward when he needed to. Has to start again the next day

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Bar the miss where he should have scored, what a performance by the forgotten man today, Lucas Leiva. Lost our way abit when Gerrard replaced him. He was composed, pressed well, held his DM position well and pushed forward when he needed to. Has to start again the next day

Lucas and Allen did really well in the Middle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Lots of things that pissed me off with Rodgers as manager today but we got the 3 points and that's all that matters.

Yep pretty much cast aside to accommodate Gerrard and steps back in today to show how it should be done, and showed some good passing.

Would have loved him to score that chance though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,504 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

The Lucas we saw today reminded me of the Lucas we saw pre-knee injury.

Absolutely bossed the midfield, with help from Allen of course, and looked like an actual threat going forward, winning the ball and starting the counter-attacks.

If he keeps this up, that's one problem position solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Gerrard & Lovern out, we seemed a lot better defensively because of it.
    Now we just need Lalanna starting ahead of Allen and we're good to go. A lot of crosses in from the wing, seems we're adapting to our options up front.
    If we win the next 2 games we'll be back in the run for top 4 :o

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Yep pretty much cast aside to accommodate Gerrard and steps back in today to show how it should be done, and showed some good passing.

Would have loved him to score that chance though.

Yup.

When Gerrard came in, the Amount of Shuffling we did to the Positions, was just Unbelievable. Even the Commentators noticed it.

Just goes to show you the Length at what BR would do, to Accommodate him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

martyos121 wrote: »
    The Lucas we saw today reminded me of the Lucas we saw pre-knee injury.

Absolutely bossed the midfield, with help from Allen of course, and looked like an actual threat going forward, winning the ball and starting the counter-attacks.

If he keeps this up, that's one problem position solved.

He was never fast but he is gone very slow. Would be a problem when up against a more mobile and fast attacking team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Its not just on the continent, listening to Tony Pulis on Soccer Saturday today, He was saying that most clubs in the PL have a committee in place.

You are a bit clueless Brendan Rogers, Ian Ayre, Dave Fallows and Michael Edwards are the panel.

NukaCola wrote: »
    He was never fast but he is gone very slow. Would be a problem when up against a more mobile and fast attacking team.

He's more Mobile than Gerrard though.

At least with Lucas he actually Dribbles the Ball, if the Forward Pass is not on.

With Gerrard, it's Pass to Skrtel/Lovren/FBs and then back to Gerrard again or Mignolet, then begin the Cycle anew, unless our Forwards drops back to Collect it.

Drove me Nuts.