Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Down the road to somewhere....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Glad to hear that with yesterday's session still fresh in the memory!!

You missed my edit!:D You'll know yourself, you'll get a feel for the pace but 3-5k would be a good rep range for Vo2max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Friday 9th - 5.45 @ 9:28
    Recovery run prior to work.
    When I came home the two pairs of runners that I had ordered during the week had arrived :D I had pre-ordered a pair of Triumph 12's from sportsshoes.com before Christmas but they haven't received them in the UK from stateside yet. As the Ride 6's are coming to the end it was time to have a look around for a replacement. On the off chance I googled Triumph 10's, not expecting any hits but got a result for Trizone in Athlone :D I got on the phone and ordered the last 2 pairs in my size - result.

Saturday 10th - 8.50 @ 7:53
    Out the door first thing for this steady run as I'd a busy day planned. Took one of the pairs of Triumph 10's for their maiden run. Felt strong on this and was down to mp for the last 2 miles.

Sunday 11th - 16.36 @ 8:34
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/670868588
    My window for this run was small & had to be up before 7 if I wanted to get it done :( Was feeling a bit sorry for myself when the alarm clock went off but just got on with it. Wasn't particularly feeling the love for the first couple of miles but got into it then. Bits of snow in the grass at the highest part of the route but it wasn't cold. Had nearly 7 miles done before I could turn off the head torch. Passed 2 other runners after I turned for home which has never happened before in the 2 years I've been running this route! Other than that there wasn't anything too eventful for the rest of the run. Hit a nasty head wind for miles 13 & 14 but the pace didn't fall too much as they were net downhill. Form was a bit ragged for the last mile or so as I tired a bit.

63 miles for the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Very solid week J, you're starting you're Limerick cycle in great shape.

TbL

Very solid week J, you're starting you're Limerick cycle in great shape.

TbL

Cheers C - you seem to be getting back in the groove yourself:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

So... Emmmm... You went shopping in trizone.... You get any discount on wetsuit :D

Well jealous of your running lately, really consistent work being put in, You reap the rewards in Limerick I'm sure :)

But Trizone though.... Seriously :D:D

martyboy48 wrote: »
    So... Emmmm... You went shopping in trizone.... You get any discount on wetsuit :D

Well jealous of your running lately, really consistent work being put in, You reap the rewards in Limerick I'm sure :)

But Trizone though.... Seriously :D:D
    Needs must ;) did my shopping via phone in case I'd be drawn in by all the shiny colours :D

Monday 12th
    AM 6.34 @ 8:52
    PM 5.45 @ 8:52
    Couple of easy runs to get the running week off to a start. Thought the pace on the second run would be a bit faster as I thought I was going better.

Tuesday 13th
    AM 4.43 @ 9:04
    PM Club session
    w/u 2.01 @ 8:27
    10 x 80 sec 5k pace off 1 minute recovery
    c/d 1.42 @ 8:49
    Only second time heading to this! Done on grass as the track was dangerous with snow & patches of ice. Happy enough with splits but took me a few reps to get up to the right pace and pick a right line as there were a few slippy & muddy patches. I reckon my current 5k pace to be about 6:30ish. Couldn't see the watch at all during the session. After a couple of reps I started to pace myself off a lad that I recognised, who is a little faster than me over 10k. The website said 12 reps but they only did 10. I didn't realise we were only doing 10 but obviously the lad I was pacing off did as the last rep came in at 6:05 pace. Splits came in at 6:49, 6:51, 6:41, 6:43, 6:27, 6:29, 6:26, 6:20, 6:20, 6:04

Wednesday 14th - 5.39 @ 9:07
    Nice easy run in the snow this morning, out & back from home. Wasn't sure if there would be icy patches but there didn't seem to be. Snowed hard after the turn around. Seemed to freeze a bit after I got home. The weather turned my normal 45 minute commute into a 2 hour 20 minute journey:( so I was chasing my tail all day. Glad now listening to the storm that I got this done the morning.

Thursday 15th - 8.44 @ 7:47
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/674338206

Plan was a progression run (8 mins steady, 8 mins mp, 8 mins hmp & 8 mins hard effort) with 2 miles w/u & c/d. Did this in Limerick on the way to work in probably the best weather the day had to offer - cold, no rain & windy. Rough paces for me would be steady 7:50ish, mp 7:25, hmp 6:55ish. Was happy with the splits which were
    8 mins steady 7:50
    8 mins mp 7:23
    8 mins hmp 6:57
    8 mins hard 6:44

Nice to hit the intended targets. Thought the last 8 minutes should've been a little bit faster but looking back the first half of this section had a bit off a drag & was into a headwind.
    .55 of a mile @ 8:07 back to the car

Friday 16th - 4.14 @ 9:54
    Recovery run

Saturday 17th - 8.62 @ 8:38
    Don't remember a whole lot about this run on Saturday morning but I do remember I was tired on Saturday evening.

Sunday 18th - 18.48 @ 8:45
    This was a slog - not sure why. I did do it on empty but that's what I usually do. Went about 4 miles and had to turn back as the slush on the road had frozen solid. At around mile 11 I started to feel a bit better & finished stronger than I started out.

Happy with the week which had 2 sessions and 67+ miles in total.

Monday 19th
    AM 6.59 @ 8:55 - heaviest frost so far but the roads were dry.
    PM 5.52 @ 8:49

Tuesday 20th
    AM 5.34 @ 8:49
    PM Club session 12 x 35 seconds @ 3k pace off 35 second recovery. 3K pace is roughly 6.05 (per McMillan).
    W/U 3.15 @ 8:34
    Spilts were 5:43, 5:56, 5:51, 5:57, 5:44, 5:52, 5:41, 5:40, 5:37, 5:27, 5:06
    I know there's only 11 there but I fcuked up the watch some way on 1 of the reps - but I did do 12, honest:D
    C/D 2.11 @ 8:38
    Happy with this & felt strong even with the short recovery. Did all the stretches & drills before & after which is something very new to me:eek:

67 mile week at the start of mara cycle, talk about hitting the ground running :)

If Garmin says you only did 11, then you only did 11 :D
    How did you find it, you seemed to get comfortably under target pace?

67 mile week at the start of mara cycle, talk about hitting the ground running :)

If Garmin says you only did 11, then you only did 11 :D
    How did you find it, you seemed to get comfortably under target pace?

Yeah felt ok during it - don't get me wrong it was hard & I was looking forward to the recovery in the later reps. I find doing it as part of a group great as this is something I'd struggle with going solo. Not sure how accurate the paces are on the garmin over such a short distance but they do show I was getting a bit faster as the session progressed.

Wednesday 21st - 6.56 @ 8:37
    Easy run. Legs were a bit heavy presumably from the previous nights session. Probably should have slowed things down a tad. Got a text from TbL to see if I was around for a run later in the evening but it didn't suit - didn't have any gear with me in any case! So I've now put a set of gear in the boot of the car so I've no excuse in future;)

Thursday 22nd - 11 @7:36
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/680047084
    I'm finally joined the world of Kilkeel running:D Had a meeting in Bray so on the way home I took a short detour to the Phoenix Park to do my tempo session. The plan was 3 x 2 mile at tempo pace with 1/2 mile jog recovery & 2 mile w/u & c/d. I love running in the park & it reminds me of a couple of good sessions I had there in the lead up to DCM. Was hoping to hit around 6:50ish for tempo pace.
    Find it a bit hard to get up to tempo pace so I started the first pace miles up near the Castleknock gate down the North Road - 6:51. Half mile recovery seemed to go very fast! Next pace section brought me down Wellington Road & up the hill on Military Road. Probably ran the hill at too hard an effort - 6:44. Last pace section brought me round the S bends down to the Chapelizod gate & up Upper Glen Rd & finished on OS Rd - 6:54. Thought this split would be slower with the long drag in the last 1.2 miles.
    All going well I hope to run around this pace in Dungarvan on Sunday week although the thought of 4 more miles at this pace is a bit daunting. Hopefully this session 10 days out will stand to me on the day.

Friday 23rd - 3.42 @ 10:22
    Recovery run pre work. The clock went off at 6 for this & it was lashing rain so hummed & hawed for a while before heading out. The half hour delay paid off as the rain had stopped by the time I got out :D

Saturday 24th - 20.11 @ 8:32
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/682341613
    It suited me a bit better to get the long run in on Saturday this week. Last weeks 18.5 @ 8:45 was a slog whereas this was a much more pleasurable run. Took a few miles to get into a bit of rhythm but when I did it felt good. It wasn't until the last mile that I started to tire & the form got a bit ragged.

Sunday 25th - 6.55 @ 8:42
    Legs were quite stiff heading out on this earlier this morning. After a couple of miles the legs loosened out. Threw in 5 or 6 strides in the last mile or so. Went into UL afterwards to have a look at the Milford 10k. Weather was a bit breezy. There seemed to be good numbers taking part. Had toyed with the idea of doing it at a steady effort last night but decided against it as I feared white line fever may get the better of me:rolleyes: Met a few that I knew afterwards including Netwerk Errer & MaggotBrain.

Happy with the week - 2 sessions & 71+ miles in the bank. Next week will be a step back week with Dungarvan 10 mile on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Nice work! What's the plan for Dungarvan?

If the conditions were any way decent I would be disappointed if I didn't go sub 70. The plan is to tuck in behind the 70 minute pacers for the 1st 3 miles at least (maybe 5) and assess at that stage.

Sub 70 will be no bother to you. Best of luck :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Cough, cough, sandbagging.........

tang1 wrote: »
    Cough, cough, sandbagging.........

Haha - I know what you're saying as I ran Waterford half at 6:59 pace! but then a 10k & 5 miler over Christmas had me at 6:46 & 6:47 pace so that's where I'm coming from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭overpronator

Sub 70 is very doable for you Bulmers. With your mileage you definitly have the aerobic strength to hold the pace, I reckon you might even surprise yourself.

My PB is 67.39 over 10 miles, theres your goal. Clock couldn't separate us in Clonmel last year, your in the shape to beat that.

Good to know;) btw what's your 10k pb?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭MaggotBrain

It was like having a personal cheerleading team! Thanks again Bulmers good to see ye.

And you have the bare faced cheek to accuse others of sandbagging... 70 mins FFS!!!!!!

TbL

It was like having a personal cheerleading team! Thanks again Bulmers good to see ye.

He was wearing a short skirt and pompoms :eek::eek:

And you have the bare faced cheek to accuse others of sandbagging... 70 mins FFS!!!!!!

TbL

Fact... I nearly choked when I read it :D:D

No Marty but he was twirling his baton :)

TbL

Good to know;) btw what's your 10k pb?

41.10 nearly 2 years ago, it was a hilly race to say the least, last 2.5k totally up hill.

If you've got it, flaunt it ;)

On the charge of sandbagging I'll just make a couple of points;

I said if I don't break 70 I'd be disappointed - this is true.

My 2 most recent race efforts were a 5 miler @ 6:48 pace & a 10k @ 6:46 pace. To run a 10 miler a month later at a similar pace would require a big improvement.

This race is not the 'main thing' for me this Spring & do not want race recovery to impact too much on training.

Saying all that, I'll race hard & just wait & see on the time. If I did get under Tangs pb ye can slag away all next week;)

Monday 26th
    AM 7.39 @ 8:53
    PM 6.56 @ 9:01
    Couple of easy runs to get the week started. The run on Monday evening is the one run of the week where I struggle a bit motivation wise and yesterday it didn't nearly happen. I think it's just the thought of going back out into the cold after getting cosy by the fire for a while. Of course after a mile all was good again.

Tuesday 27th
    AM 4.65 @ 9:21
    Really felt ****e on this run. I was tired, stiff and generally not feeling the love. Pace was more like recovery than easy for the first couple of miles. Probably should of had a soak in the tub the night before.

PM
    After this mornings run I had considered skipping the club session tonight & said I'd assess how I felt as the day went on. By the time I'd finished work I decided I'd give it a go & bail if I had to. The planned session was 8 x 3 minutes @ 5k pace off 2 minutes recovery.
    W/U 2.24 @ 8:43 - on grass, legs not grumbling too much
    Pace sections (all done by feel) came out at 6:27, 6:21, 6:19, 6:21, 6:15, 6:03
    Gave the last one a bit of welly on the second lap. Found the 2 minute recovery was plenty & felt good. Happy with this bit of work especially after the way I had felt in the morning. Might try & squeeze in a 5k at some stage in the next few weeks & see what my 5k pace actually is!!
    C/D 2.11 @ 8:29 - on grass

Couple of easy days now in the lead into Sunday. Plan also to take a rest day or maybe 2.

Wednesday 28th - planned rest day
    Was due a rest day & as my stomach was a bit iffy in the afternoon 'twas just as well.

Thursday 29th - unplanned rest day
    Stomach bug got worse - although I wasn't puking everything was going south at a rate of knots! Had to take the day off work.

Friday 30th - 6.04 @ 8:59
    Let's just say my situation had solidified this morning so I went for an easy run after work. Felt a bit sluggish - not sure if it's the remnants of the bug or in the head coz tis race week.

Probably do 2 or 3 very easy miles tomorrow & hope I'll be ok to race on Sunday.

Bisto is good for thickening the trots up!! Hope all is better by Sunday.

According to Wikipedia Bisto was

Invented by Messrs Roberts & Patterson, it was named "Bisto" because it " Browns, Seasons and Thickens in One".

See i wasnt lying!!

Up your intake of fluids after a dose like that..

You'll be fine come race day, it is all in your head :D:D

Best of luck today J! Hopefully the ol bisto worked and you're back on track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Good luck today J.

Best of luck today J! Hopefully the ol bisto worked and you're back on track.

Cheers lad - best of luck today. I see you're up bright & early this morning - not taking any chances with the alarm ;)

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Good luck today J.

Thanks P - hope the roads are alright getting down to Trim. Best of luck

67:58 :D report to follow

Still have ya, well done man. Seen your name in the results earlier.

Nice one J, well done there... Looking forward to the report :)

Saturday 31st - 3.07 @ 8:50
    Bit of a shake out for the legs to keep things ticking over.
    Brings up 276 miles for the month.

Sunday 1st - Dungarvan 10 mile - chip time 67:58, 3+ minute pb :D
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/687969064

Last year when I couldn't run this race due to injury I was gutted. I'm originally from about 30 minutes out the road on the other side of the Comeraghs and as a young fella John Treacy was a real hero of mine.
    Race start time (1:30pm) was at a great time for travelling as it meant I didnt have to be up too early & could eat breakfast at a reasonable hour. Even at that the roads were still a bit tricky when I was leaving home. On the way down in the car I was feeling pretty good about the race. Something Ososlo said in her log recently struck a chord with me about pre session negative thoughts and putting them to one side. Once I put my own usual pre race negative feelings to one side I had a few reasons to be optimistic. Training since Christmas had gone well as I'd been able to incorporate some quality into my routine whilst maintaining mileage. The only 'real' negative was that I'd had a bit of a stomach bug during the week and there was always the possibility it could have sapped a bit of strength outta me.
    Got down to Dungarvan in plenty of time and with no fuss. West Waterford AC couldn't have bought a better day weather wise, perfect for running - 6 degrees, bright with a little breeze. Did a bit of a warm up (1.22 @ 9:20 :o) which I could hardly claim to be too vigorous! with a few lads I hadn't seen in many years. Got to the start about 5 minutes before the off which meant I wouldn't be standing around too long. Took my place beside the 70 minute pacer and before long we were off. There was no timing mat at the start line which cost me 10 seconds at the end.

Mile 1 - 3
    6:53, 7:00, 6:51
    I had decided to go with the 70 minute pacers as I find it hard to get up to race pace & didn't want to over cook things trying to find a rhythm. It was a bit crowded in the first mile around the streets with a couple of 90 degree turns. A bit of pushing and a few crossed in front of me but I managed to stay upright:) After the tight section in around town we got out on to the main road albeit on the hard shoulder. As usual it was a bit crowded around the pacers but that's what I'd expect. After this we turned off on to a country road and it got quite narrow so had to keep the concentration levels up with the crowd. There was a race clock at the 2 mile mark and I think it read around 14:07. The first half of the 3rd mile was a bit of a drag but the 2nd half there was a bit of a downhill and the road widened out. On the downhill I passed the pacers maintaining effort & that was the last I saw of them.

Mile 4 - 7
    6:54, 6:50, 6:49, 6:42
    Got into a nice rhythm during this section and the route was relatively flat as we went out the Aglish Road but there was a slight breeze. Was beginning to pass a few even at this early stage and was progressing from small group to small group. Wasn't paying too much attention to the watch but did look when it beeped at the mile markers. Was racing a tight enough line and there wasn't too much of a difference between the watch and the mile markers. The clock at halfway was 34:40ish and I was happy I was moving well. Got to 10K sub 43 (around 42:55 I think). Shortly after this there was a nice downhill section and it was nice to freewheel a bit. Didn't over gun it here as I was wary of a pull in the 9th mile.

Mile 8 - 10
    6:35, 6:43, 6:24
    By the looks of the split for the 8th mile (6:35) it looks like I just maintained a bit of pace from the downhill section. This part was flat and I suppose with 3 to go 'twas time to start to see what was in the tank. The 9th mile started with a sharpish bit of a pull up to the main road and you could see the drag on the main road that lay ahead. Was just in behind a guy in a white top as we hit the main road. It was a bit breezy here and I sat in behind him for a little bit. We were passing people all the time at this stage. Once we got onto the drag proper I took the front and he sat in behind. About half way up the drag we tacked on to a group of 3 and I got a bit boxed in. I decided to just sit a bit and take a bit of a breather rather than checking and going around the outside. After about 50 metres a gap opened naturally and I pushed again and didn't think anyone was coming with me. Kept pushing on into the last mile which was a rerun of the start of mile 3 onto the narrow country road - loads of room this time round ;) At around 9.4 miles my friend in the white shirt came alongside and said he'd take the front & do a bit of the work and for me to tuck in. I thought to myself I'm after doing the work for the last mile you fcuker - where were you then? I tucked in but when we got to the downhill he pulled a bit ahead of me - maybe 5 metres. Was still passing bodies all the way - some easier than others. Got to 800 to go marker and started to wind it up. Thought there wasn't a 400 marker as it seemed to take so long to come round but there was a girl there with her Dad ringing the bell & calling us home. Turned in the final straight and I could see another target and I was really busting a nut to catch him. I just managed to pip him about a metre short of the line:D

Crossed the line and had a bit of a dry heave on the way up the finishing chute. I'd be lying if I didn't say I'm delighted with the way this race went. I felt comfortable & strong all the way round and it gives me a nice confidence boost for the rest of this cycle. I now know I'm capable of a sub 90 half at some stage whereas up to now I felt it was that little bit beyond me.
    Congratulations to all involved in the organisation of this race in West Waterford for a great race experience!

Delighted for you, well done. Cant have been easy during the week with the stomach bug either, you got stronger as the race went on which is great.

Well done Joe :D Very nicely paced. It must be a great feeling to be finishing the race so strongly!

Are you doing a HM before Limerick?

Well done J! Cracking race all round and some last few miles to boot.

Well done Joe :D Very nicely paced. It must be a great feeling to be finishing the race so strongly!

Are you doing a HM before Limerick?

Thanks Kate. Yeah the plan at the moment is to do Kinvara on the 7th of March which is 8 weeks out from Limerick. Would nearly prefer to do one maybe 6 weeks out but I haven't done much looking yet

Mullingar harriers have a half in Mullingar on Mar 17th. One of the lads I work with is in the club. Don't know of any others around then.

Tralee is on the 15th as well as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭PDCAT

Well done Bulmers, great running. that's a nice improvement.