Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Morning wood every morning?

• 06-11-2014 12:03am
    Registered Users Posts: 945 ✭✭✭

This is a serious question and not a joke, do you wake up with morning wood every morning? Personal trainer told me that it shows that your testosterone levels are low if you don't. So for gyming and general well being you should never wake up flaccid.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 181 ✭✭Scannal

I wake up hard but then I see my wife!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

I do most of the time, probably every morning. It's the least awful part of my day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭omerin

WhiteWalls wrote: »
    This is a serious question and not a joke, do you wake up with morning wood every morning? Personal trainer told me that it shows that your testosterone levels are low if you don't. So for gyming and general well being you should never wake up flaccid.

All well and good sticking up (pardon the pun) a thread about in on boards due to your anominity but talking to your trainer about it :eek:
    What next, asking him/her :eek: for advice on excercises to improve the tone of your bum cheeks which won't agrevate your piles :eek:
    Serious answer

Personal trainer told me that it shows that your testosterone levels are low if you don't.

Then it is probably lucky that there is no reason to be taking medical advice off a personal trainer. I have certainly read nothing in the medical literature suggesting that your erectile status upon awakening says a single thing about testosterone. At all.

To me the kind of statement your "trainer" made - is usually a forewarning that said charlatan is on the verge of recommending some diet or medical pill supplementation - at some bargain price - which they will be happy to see you take once or twice a day for the rest of your life.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 PoorPaddy

Yeah your trainer has probably read it on websites as I have (probably the same websites), it's a claim made by one or two very well respected but controversial strength and fitness gurus who haven't made much effort to verify their claims.

I wouldn't worry. While it is a healthy sign, I'm guessing its absence isn't necessarily unhealthy.

Personal experience, when I wake up of my own accord and have a good sleeping pattern I find it happens infrequently. When I'm waking up at obnoxious hours with bad patterns its much more common and feels like a titanium rod.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,915 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Then it is probably lucky that there is no reason to be taking medical advice off a personal trainer. I have certainly read nothing in the medical literature suggesting that your erectile status upon awakening says a single thing about testosterone. At all.

To me the kind of statement your "trainer" made - is usually a forewarning that said charlatan is on the verge of recommending some diet or medical pill supplementation - at some bargain price - which they will be happy to see you take once or twice a day for the rest of your life.

I don't think I've met a personal trainer. I've been to a fair few gyms and I've met plenty of supplement salesmen though.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

I don't think I've met a personal trainer. I've been to a fair few gyms and I've met plenty of supplement salesmen though.

I have met a few. Even considered having one myself back in the early days of re-inventing myself for the better (by which I mean stamping to metaphorical death the hateful lay about lazy old me and replace him with someone better in every measurable way hehehe). I even know one who - upon unpacking what he does day to day with his clients - seems really good at it to me.

I am all for the basic concept of them - personal trainers or life coaches - in terms of basic guidance - motivation - and assistance - but far too many of them - the majority in my subjective impression - feel that the only way to make a career out of it is to supplement it with all kinds of parallel or tangential nonsense. Supplements - mad dietry advice - and worse.

I guess they do not get enough business from the simply hand holding guidance that they are actually useful for - and have to instead create a kind of "Product you did not even know you needed" type product. Competition in a generally useful market can result in strange creations I guess.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,915 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I have met a few. Even considered having one myself back in the early days of re-inventing myself for the better (by which I mean stamping to metaphorical death the hateful lay about lazy old me and replace him with someone better in every measurable way hehehe). I even know one who - upon unpacking what he does day to day with his clients - seems really good at it to me.

I am all for the basic concept of them - personal trainers or life coaches - in terms of basic guidance - motivation - and assistance - but far too many of them - the majority in my subjective impression - feel that the only way to make a career out of it is to supplement it with all kinds of parallel or tangential nonsense. Supplements - mad dietry advice - and worse.

I guess they do not get enough business from the simply hand holding guidance that they are actually useful for - and have to instead create a kind of "Product you did not even know you needed" type product. Competition in a generally useful market can result in strange creations I guess.

Don't get me wrong, getting a proper trainer would be incredible. However, while I've never met one I'm sure they exist. I really wish there was a good Boards equivalent over here.

As an aside, I've read your other posts regarding your self-improvement but would you mind if I asked you to elaborate a bit. I know it's a bit off-topic and a bit of a daft question.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Daily morning wood is normal as an adolescent as one grows into their body. After that it shouldn't be happening as often, especially if you are sexually fulfilled.

• Registered Users Posts: 945 ✭✭✭WhiteWalls

I genuinely think its true. Try not fapping or having sex for a month and see how much more energy you have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Moomat

It was my understanding, following much scientific research, that the purpose of "morning wood" was to prevent oneself from rolling out of bed while in a semi concious state. An upside down keel if you like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

Fair bit of broscience being bandied about here. Having a boner upon waking is a function of what stage of sleep you're in when you wake up. Must people go through two complete sleep cycles per night, with a number of periods of REM as part of these. Men tend to get erections during REM sleep, so if you wake up during a REM cycle or shortly after, that's your morning wood right there. The guy who said that when he's well rested he infrequently has it is probably bang on because we're not supposed to wake during REM. I find the same myself, I usually only have throbbing hard-ons on mornings when I wake with an alarm.

As an aside, I've read your other posts regarding your self-improvement but would you mind if I asked you to elaborate a bit. I know it's a bit off-topic and a bit of a daft question.

Given the level of the subject matter of the thread I am not sure whether the OPs will particularly lament a derail this time. But I am sure they will seamlessly and efficiently create a split thread should it be an issue.

I guess I am not sure what to elaborate on. At some point in my life, near the end of college and just after it - I suddenly became obsessively disgusted by who I had turned out to be. I barely passed my course - spent inordinate amounts of time skipping lectures - porn - gaming - laying about. Eating crap speed food. And worse. Relative lack of - but not non existent - luck with women. So on and so forth.

My initial attempts to improve myself failed miserably. I would of a Tuesday decide that "next Monday" I would start getting up at 6am instead of 10am, and doing an hour run. You can imagine how massively I failed at both. And such failure does have a morale destroying affect no doubt. You feel even more a failure and worthless than what motivated you to the attempt in the first place.

In the end I hit on an idea of an incremental approach. Rather than set and fail genuine good goals - and feed my self loathing with my failure - I instead set stupidly easy ones. I incremented the change in my life not in "hours" starting "next week" - but in minutes and seconds starting "today".

So I did not get up the first day at 0600. Or 1000. I set my alarm for 0955. The next day for 0950. The next day for 0945 and so on.

I did not go for an hour run. I went for a minute. I literally got ready - ran down the road for 30 seconds - and ran back. The next day I ran down 45 seconds and 45 seconds back. The next day 60 seconds down - you get the picture. It felt ridiculous of course. Spending 10 minutes pulling on running clothes and shoes and getting ready - only to be pulling them off again 2 minutes later.

Rather than sitting down and trying to study for an hour - I studied one minute the first day and put the books away. 2 - 3 - 4 minutes - incrementing over the next days. Again it felt ridiculous! Opening a book - you read and take in 2 paragraphs at most in 2 minutes.

It took time of course - but rather than sit around lazy and/or failing in life for 3 months - after those 3 months - I was running an hour every day. Getting up hours earlier than I used to. Making and fulfiling appointments. Studying for an hour or two every night. And more. To the point I eventually hit a point in my life where I then needed to ADD things to feed the free time I had created for myself with getting up so early and performing all my tasks so efficiently. So I started doing things like maintaining a vegetable and Herb Garden and giving free Vipassana Meditation guidance to people who need it but can not afford it. And more (some of my DIY projects are frankly insane if you have followed any of my posts on the subjects).

It was also a morale boost from day 1. The initial goals were ridiculously easy to meet. But despite this amazingly setting a goal to run for 2 minutes and read a book for 2 minutes - and actually doing it - FEELS GOOD - because you met a goal for once rather than failing. You move so fast from "Why can I not do this and others can" to "I can actually do this - I can make this work".

SOME people can change their life around on a whim. Suddenly start attending a gym - getting up early - hit the books hard. I am just not those people. At all. I am the physical embodiment of the word "FAIL" whenever I ever attempt to achieve sudden life changes in this fashion - even today. I do not know who invented the meme of shouting "FAIL" as people on the internet but I would not be shocked at all to find out it was someone who knew me and had me in mind.

The incremental approach changed me entirely - into someone I am actually really thrilled to be.

On top of all that a perspective change helped a lot. I no longer judge myself against the standards of others. Am I as good looking as Joe - earning as much as Nathan - know as much knowledge as Stephen - or any of that. Instead I decided the _only_ person I would _ever_ compare myself against "Today" is the person I was the day before. And my goal in life can basically be summarized as wanting to go to bed each night somehow "better" or "improved" upon the person I was the night before.

Some new skill - new knowledge - new ethical insight - new physical limitation pushed - new meditation goal reached - _something_. Does not matter what. But SOMETHING about me today is better than the me yesterday.

And what I love about it is it is the kind of self help advice you can give in a few paragraphs like I just did. Not the convulated nonsense you get in 500 page self help Tomes in a whole section of the same in a book shop by people with more of a skill with linguistic filler than with actually changing lives.

Anyway that got long - hope it answered your question - if not by all means ask more. I like talking about myself as much as the next person :)

That's immense. I've decided to take a leaf out of your book which so far constitutes reading as opposed to television. It was when you stated that you attempted incremental improvements in any sense (physically, spiritually, mentally, etc....) which I found vague, not that you owe the users of a random, free-to-use forum anything of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,676 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Fair bit of broscience being bandied about here. Having a boner upon waking is a function of what stage of sleep you're in when you wake up. Must people go through two complete sleep cycles per night, with a number of periods of REM as part of these. Men tend to get erections during REM sleep, so if you wake up during a REM cycle or shortly after, that's your morning wood right there. The guy who said that when he's well rested he infrequently has it is probably bang on because we're not supposed to wake during REM. I find the same myself, I usually only have throbbing hard-ons on mornings when I wake with an alarm.

I set the alarm to avoid a clean-up...

does anybody see any worth in 'no fap'?

For what?

The gist I've gotten when I've read up on it is that the people who benefit from it were overindulging in onanism to begin with. It's a perfectly natural thing and as long as you're not taking it to extremes then there is no need to abstain IMO.

increased energy, over all well being

I went through lent once giving it up and noticed no benefit whatsoever.

Unless you expend an awful lot of energy doing it, then you'll be fine on the energy front.

how often is too often to ejaculate weekly?

If you have to use porn then chances are you're over-indulging.

It was when you stated that you attempted incremental improvements in any sense (physically, spiritually, mentally, etc....) which I found vague

Yeah it pays to remain vague on these things unless someone asks. Otherwise you risk turning into a preacher :) So I tend to make vague references to different aspects of my life - and if someone wants to ask for more - I am happy to open the flood gates on any particular subject.

I hope it works for you - do give some feedback after a few weeks on how it is going.

There is another thread on it at the moment where people are discussing uses and worth of it so the short answer is no - I dont. But I said more in that thread. Clearly if "fap" is causing some detriment in your life then "no fap" will have worth. But in terms of the "average joe" - I am not convinced there is a real benefit at all no.
    I went through lent once giving it up and noticed no benefit whatsoever.

That is likely because for _most_ people it does not cause a real reduction in energy and well being. But for some people it does. And when _those_ people stop then of course they will note an increase in both.

And this misleads them into thinking stopping per se brings such a benefit. So they - with heart in the right place - suggest it to others. And the majority of those others do not see the same benefit.

It is a bit like people with that flour allergy that makes them lethargic. They might stop eating bread and feel great - then go around telling people to stop eating bread because it makes them feel great. But it is not NOT eating bread that causes people to feel great - it is EATING it that makes THAT person feel crap. And I reckon the No FAP movement is built around a similar subjective error.

Anyone with low energy or well being should of course try it - to see if this is the cause of it - but we should not extrapolate wildly the conclusion that such a benefit is a general one for anyone who stops.

A bit like asking how many episodes of Walking Dead is too many. There is no right answer. If you are doing it so much that you are noticing a detriment to your free time - quality of life - or something else - then it is too much.

If you can live your life perfectly fine without negative effects doing it once a week - or 5 times a day - then that is fine.

So there is no straight answer - it differs from person to person and only you can judge.

Yeah it pays to remain vague on these things unless someone asks. Otherwise you risk turning into a preacher :) So I tend to make vague references to different aspects of my life - and if someone wants to ask for more - I am happy to open the flood gates on any particular subject.

I hope it works for you - do give some feedback after a few weeks on how it is going.

If you wouldn't mind, more info would be good. I'm restricted to reading and possibly meditating atm but I'll see how it goes.
    That is likely because for _most_ people it does not cause a real reduction in energy and well being. But for some people it does. And when _those_ people stop then of course they will note an increase in both.

And this misleads them into thinking stopping per se brings such a benefit. So they - with heart in the right place - suggest it to others. And the majority of those others do not see the same benefit.

It is a bit like people with that flour allergy that makes them lethargic. They might stop eating bread and feel great - then go around telling people to stop eating bread because it makes them feel great. But it is not NOT eating bread that causes people to feel great - it is EATING it that makes THAT person feel crap. And I reckon the No FAP movement is built around a similar subjective error.

Anyone with low energy or well being should of course try it - to see if this is the cause of it - but we should not extrapolate wildly the conclusion that such a benefit is a general one for anyone who stops.

I gave it a go as I was feeling down but to no avail. All it did was give me an almost overpowering urge to indulge. I went through a lent once breaking it about once or twice and I didn't feel any benefit whatsoever.

If you wouldn't mind, more info would be good. I'm restricted to reading and possibly meditating atm but I'll see how it goes.

By all means ask - I am always available. Though I reckon if you just work on what I have told you already for a couple of months - youll likely find your own path on where to go next at each point.

As for meditation - good article on it here aimed at the complete new comer - with book recommendations at the end - the third of which I quite enjoyed myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 PoorPaddy

Hahey, verification of my own observations pleases me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

It's a friggin' nuisance trying to pee accurately with a boner. I have to take a step back - since my boner won't bend to a 'safe' angle.

piss in the sink

By all means ask - I am always available. Though I reckon if you just work on what I have told you already for a couple of months - youll likely find your own path on where to go next at each point.

As for meditation - good article on it here aimed at the complete new comer - with book recommendations at the end - the third of which I quite enjoyed myself.

Thanks. I suppose it would be something that everyone would need to figure out for themselves.

To a point - but guidance always help. Just knowing what advice to offer is never easy - but if you throw out any questions or make it more specific what you would like advice on or about - as you have observed I will be quick to post reams of it :)

I'm sure I'll come up with several in due course. Mainly I'm wondering what specific activities you were using as tools for self-improvement. Reading and exercise are fairly obvious. I'm fairly introverted/somewhat jaded from moving about so much which is why I'm struggling somewhat socially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

piss in the sink

Mod:

Less of the messing, please.

Mod:

Less of the messing, please.

I wasn't messing

Mod:

Please don't post in this thread again.

This is my thread and I'll not be driven away, the people want me

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

WhiteWalls, you were warned. Take a week off to cop on. Any more of that upon your return and you'll be taking a permanent break

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

This is my thread and I'll not be driven away, the people want me

Attica! Attica! Attica!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Strobe, cop on, you're here long enough.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Ah here, give WhiteWalls a break.

Sometimes I notice a difference in things with no fapping. After herself had the babbies, there was no more sexy-time and no chance whatsoever for a shneaky aul fap. Eventhough I was dying for it, I think lack of sex sharpened me up a bit. It made me feel invincible again, like you feel when you're 20. I wasn't even aware of how "soft" I had gotten in recent years.

newmug wrote: »
    Ah here, give WhiteWalls a break.

Mod:

Arguing mod decision.

Please read the forum charter before posting again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭masculinist

without fail I wake up needing to pee very badly which kind of ruins any semi or full erection. I usually end up doing a handstand in the freezing cold to relieve the pain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭JasperGeorge.

Mostly mornings yes I do, particularly if I have been drinking the night before. If wake from a deep sleep or in the middle of a dream I notice it most or if I need to use the toilet very badly first thing weirdly. I have also woken in the middle of the night with one needing to go to the bathroom.

Apparently it's good for your health.

I'm sure I'll come up with several in due course. Mainly I'm wondering what specific activities you were using as tools for self-improvement. Reading and exercise are fairly obvious. I'm fairly introverted/somewhat jaded from moving about so much which is why I'm struggling somewhat socially.

Running and cycling were the first ones I started with. As I said it felt pretty ridiculous the first few days. Spending 10 minutes to go out for a 2 minute run. But it worked towards something more.

As for reading - I was studying at the time so that was my goal. I tried to study 1 minute the first day - 2 the next - 3 the next. But if you are not studying then reading would be the next equivalent. Or find something to study. Like a new language or science or something.

Meditation was one - as it is genuinely hard to do that for any period of time. So starting that off incrementally was useful.

Even house work. I was the kind of "clean up the mess once every two weeks" kind of person. So I started cleaning things incrementally too. 5 Minutes cleaning the house the first day - 7.5 the next - 10 the next.... and so on.

As my health and well being generally increased I started taking things up. I do capoeira and BJJ with the girls now for example. And cooking and gardening.

Really it comes down to _your_ goals that you would like to attain to make yourself feel you have improved yourself. Then tailor it to that.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,918 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

I wake up with one most mornings, Its a healthy sign nothing too worry about, I'd be worried if I didn't tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 andyirish

I get with a morning wood if my bladder is full. I thought that a natural so that men do not wet their beds. Usually it disappears after a leak..

Just do a load of bodyweight squats, should get rid of all but the most rockhard boners.

I don't see the need the worry about walking up with boners. At least it means there's no physical problem. Testosterone levels may have some effect but I doubt there's a direct connection. The position you're in before waking up, dreams, subtle bio-chemistry changes, tiredness, etc. will likely have more effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

lol! I'm hardly gonna do some squats to go soft...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

Isn't there a scene or two in The 40 Year Old Virgin where it shows his 'morning wood'? I'd imagine (given the nature of the film) that it's some attempt to insinuate that that sort of thing happens more often to guys who are single/not getting much/any. Erections while asleep are definitely normal and healthy - that I do know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭JasperGeorge.

Actually that's not it you don't expend energy that much per say it's just that your body secretes hormones after ejaculation telling you to sleep and to make you sleepy. But it should not affect overall energy levels if you are healthy and active.