Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Belfast 24hr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Did you have to type up again from scratch? Amazing feat Ed. The running wasn't bad either:D

Wow! What a fantastic achievement. Fair play to Mick too. That must have been hard going on his own and he seemed to look after you very well. Huge congratulations. It's so exciting to follow your training and achievements and to watch you getting better and better and starting to win stuff now. The future is looking very bright indeed!

How is the recovery going and what's up next?

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭Ed Mc Groarty

tang1 wrote:
    You'll have to go back and defend the title next year!!

Suppose I'll have to. Looking forward to it already.

Ososlo wrote:
    Did you have to type up again from scratch? Amazing feat Ed. The running wasn't bad either

I don't want to talk about it ☺

Ososlo wrote:
    How is the recovery going and what's up next?

Recovery is good. Back running tomorrow.
    Gonna jump in with a group at the club training towards DCM. The goal being sub 2:50.

I don't want to talk about it ☺

Recovery is good. Back running tomorrow.
    Gonna jump in with a group at the club training towards DCM. The goal being sub 2:50.
    haha, harder to cope with than the race I'd say:D

Best of luck with the training!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,481 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Simply fab. Congrats, Ed. Great choice for your first win, hope there will
    be many more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Great report, Ed and fantastic performance. Delighted for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Fantastic! I love reading reports like that. Well done and good luck with the DCM training.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

That's fantastic, thanks very much for the report. Conn 100 winner, massive congratulations.

aquinn wrote:
    That's fantastic, thanks very much for the report.

You're welcome. I've benefited from others report so just trying to pay it forward. Id be a bit scarce on detail in them but for anyone wanting to do an ultra I'm always happy to answer any question as best I can.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

You're welcome. I've benefited from others report so just trying to pay it forward. Id be a bit scarce on detail in them but for anyone wanting to do an ultra I'm always happy to answer any question as best I can.

Yeah, that won't be me :D

Recovery going well I hope.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Well done Ed some performance and great report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Feckin brilliant! You are just going from strength to strength. And watchless??! I'm speechless. Nearly ;) Congrats to the crew too!

Dubgal72 wrote:
    . And watchless??! !

I thought you'd like that part alright. Quite liberating really. Already thinking watchless for the next ultra.

You might be on to something there. I remember chatting to Eddie Gallen in the wee small hours of Sunday morning in Belfast and I asked him what distance he had covered. He said he didn't have a clue, he just runs for as long as he can't run anymore. I guess that guy with all his experience is pretty tuned into his paces/effort at this stage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Wow what an amazing achievement, am completely in awe, fantastic report too, really interesting to read the different stages etc in a race that length. Thanks for sharing.

Ed Mc wrote:
    During my first year of running whilst training for DCM13 I came across the Connemara 100 On Facebook. I followed the event through the night. To me what these runners were accomplishing was amazing and exciting. From that moment it became a goal of mine to make it to the start line one day.At this stage I had already entered the conn ultra. Ultra running was the direction I wanted to go.

Opening paragraph from this log.
    ☺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Savage stuff, and thanks for the great report.

Sat 6th
    100 miles @9:33

Sun 7th- Tue 9th
    Rest

Wed 10th
    5 miles @8:45
    Hr 130

Thurs 11th
    6 miles @8:34
    Hr 155

Fri 12th
    8 miles @8:25
    Hr 136

Sat 13th & Sun 14th
    Got a knock on the chest causeing some difficulty breathing, probably just bruising and tissue damage. Attempted a run both days but initial deep breaths caused alot of discomfort so knocked them on the head.

Mon 15th
    8 miles @ 8:05
    Hr 134

Tue 16th
    9 miles @ 8:23
    Meant to be 12 but pain in ribs so cut it short.

Wed 17th - Fri 19th
    No running. Doctor said I'd pulled a muscle between two ribs.
    Two steroid injections, difene, diazepam and lidocaine plasters.
    Can't say any of these have given much relief.

Sat 20th
    5 miles @9:00

Sun 21st
    5 miles @8:35

Mon 22nd
    8 miles @7:50

Tue 23rd
    Club session
    2 mile w/u @7:20

2mile @hmp
    5:49
    5:52
    2 min. recovery

4x1 mile @hmp off 90sec. recovery
    5:52
    6:22
    6:15
    6:08

Pretty much fell apart after the first one.

Wed 24th
    9 miles @7:37
    HR 141

Thurs 25th
    Rest

Fri 26th
    2.6 miles
    Got caught short, made it home in time,didn't manage to get out again.

Sat 27th
    10 miles w/middle 8 @mp 6:20 (garmin pace)

w/u 8:22

6:22
    6:25
    6:26
    6:31
    6:27
    6:23
    6:19
    6:14
    Avg. HR 170 which is about right for MP.

c/d 8:22
    Really struggled to hit 6:20's

Sun 28th
    12 miles @7:09
    HR 150

Mon 29th
    Rest

Tue 30th
    5 miles @8:09
    Including 4X3 min. hill repeats.
    Meant to be 8 repeats but time was scarce, so ran hills the following day.

Wed 31st
    15 miles @7:51 Hilly run
    Elev. 2070ft.

Thurs 1st
    8 miles @6:49 progressive

7:02
    6:40
    6:39
    6:35
    6:42 (uphill)
    6:23
    7:11
    7:26
    Wanted a quicker progression but found it tough.

Fri 2nd
    5 miles @8:32 recovery run
    Hr 129

Sat 3rd
    6 miles @6:53
    Even pace

Sun 4th
    12 miles @7:32

Mon 5th
    Rest

Tue 6th
    1.5 w/u 7:28

2x2 @hmp 2 min rec.
    6:00/5:56
    5:56/5:55

2x1 @hmp 90sec. rec.
    6:15/5:54

1.5 c/d 8:06

Wed 7th
    8 @8:14

Thurs 8th
    2 w/u @8:00

10x1km @10k pace 90sec. rec.
    Avg rep 3:41k
    Started at 3:30k but every second rep was into a strong which eventually wore me out.

2 c/d @8:00

Fri 9th
    6 @8:26

Sat/Sun
    No running.

Mon 12th
    10 miles @6:36

2 w/u 7:07/6:49

6:13
    6:18
    6:15
    5:59

2 c/d 7:35/7:16

Tue 13th
    6 miles @7:25

Wed 14th-fri 16th
    No running

Sat 17th
    10 miles @8:25

Sun 18th
    3 miles

Unmotivated this week.

Mon 19th
    9 miles @6:20

Tue 20th
    6.5 miles @7:55

Wed 21st
    10 miles @8:13

Thurs 22nd
    22 miles @8:23
    Hilly

Fri 23rd
    16 miles @ 8:19
    Less hilly

Sat 24th/Sun 25th
    No running

Mon 26th
    6 miles @ 6:56

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

I see the name is listed on the tracker, has to be you. All the best Sunday Ed, hope it goes to plan for you, run well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,481 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

All the best, Ed. Mcgrattans for a pint?

Really hope it all goes well for you tomorrow, Ed! Have a good one!!

Murph_D wrote:

Cheers,
    I don't think I'll make Mcgrattans.

Murph_D wrote:

Forgot to say good luck, really want to see you nail it.
    Ososlo wrote:
    Really hope it all goes well for you tomorrow, Ed! Have a good one!!

Me too,(don't feel to confident) Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭UM1

tang1 wrote: »
    I see the name is listed on the tracker, has to be you. All the best Sunday Ed, hope it goes to plan for you, run well.
    Thought ye werent usin pulse anymore...

So I'll begin logging again at the end of this weeks training, currently week 1 of 8.

It's an eight week plan I've done once before completely for Belfast 2015 and attempted this year but failed to Hit the back to backs(not enough recovery between races I suppose).
    It's milage elevates quickly so a good base is needed, which I haven't managed. December has been extremely busy for me, I've ran a couple of long runs and a good bunch of intensive 1 hour runs but no consistency.
    I'm a bit sick at the moment but gonna get stuck in anyway.
    I've entered the 24hr race, the shortest race in the event, 1000 miles being the longest event of the festival.
    I've 2 of my past crew confirmed to support me with a further 2 on the fence which is great.
    My goal is 230km which I'm reluctant to state as I'm not very confident of a successful training block at the moment but hopefully I'll get through it and give it a good go.
    I'll update weekly(in great detail of course).