Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overwatch - Blizzard's latest game

• Registered Users Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

I dont see any point in people pointing it out anyway, its not like the dps player is going to offer to swap for being useless

Mei is a real nuisance now, you literally cant go near her

• Registered Users Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

IvoryTower wrote: »
    Mei is a real nuisance now, you literally cant go near her
    She's grand if you're on a high mobility hero. She can't freeze/headshot what she cannot catch.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,280 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

It's pretty rare to end a match of overwatch with a negative K/D though even if you're playing bad. They deliberately tried to make it a meaningless stat by not actually requiring that you get kills to get an elim. In most shooters only a "final blow" would register as a kill.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Mickeroo wrote: »
    It's pretty rare to end a match of overwatch with a negative K/D though even if you're playing bad. They deliberately tried to make it a meaningless stat by not actually requiring that you get kills to get an elim. In most shooters only a "final blow" would register as a kill.
    Yeah playing Battlefield and getting 99 point kill assists. The dark times.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,283 ✭✭✭fixXxer

Mickeroo wrote:

Not as in a negative K/D bit as in a ratio. Like, the closer you are to a 1:1 the worse you are playing.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

This season is going well so far, placed at 2187 from 6-4 and I'm now up to 2333, still climbing on a 1-1 WL so I'm taking that. Been hovering round 2300 for 10 games now but I know I can reach 2400.

Maining Winston atm, 70% Winrate, holy **** Point A Numbani Defense is good for the monkey, feel like my KD is regularly 10:1 if not better, don't think I've conceded the point this season.

Orisa is my No.2 this season, only 51% WR with her but I've less than 10hrs on her. I think she's going to really shine when Briggite is added, as Winston and Zarya will be hurt a lot by her, so I'm practicing my Orisa in anticipation of that. Really enjoying Orisa at the minute, the orb is so good against Reaper in general, displacing Bastion or Torb, or catch a diving Rein/DVa. The anti Winston as far as I can tell, suits me down to the ground.

Zen and Zarya are my specialists, Zen for Gibraltar, Defense Eigenwalde and attack Horizon, Zarya for Kings Row or Hanamura defense. 60% WR with each so I'll take that all day.

Does anyone play Winny on Gibraltar? Apparently the map is made for him but I can't work it, attack or defense. Would love some advice there.

How's everyone finding DVa this season? Saw there she's the most common hero, top pick in Bronze-Plat and then second most from Plat-GM. Play a decent DVa myself but haven't gotten a chance to play her yet, she's always my off tank but I've never had a main tank off my Zarya maps :D

I'm in two minds about bothering with keeping her up, she's so common I don't get to play her much and I play all the other tanks anyways so I'm not sure when I'd actually get to play her. Coupled with that, most of my improvements the last few seasons have been positioning wise, which suits Zarya, Orisa and Zen so well but DVas would be totally different, I think I'd be automatically at a disadvantage over everyone else I've been playing lately.

• Registered Users Posts: 853 ✭✭✭DeadlyByDesign

The climb is slow but sure this season. Flexed tanks at start of season, but fell into my groove with Mercy again. ill stay with her until I stop performing decent with her....or if we dont have a tank/2nd tank

What level are you playing at? Not having much joy with mercy, moira is keeping me in diamond

• Registered Users Posts: 853 ✭✭✭DeadlyByDesign

Just got into silver man. 1527 at the moment. I am trending up though so hope to get into gold this season.

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭Sight808

Did my placements, 1 tricking as sombra this season as I'm tired of tanking/healing. Went 7-3 and won two normal comp games after that. Wish I didn't mess around end of last season as I was placed mid gold. -__-

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭TheBoyFromAus

Just finished my placements 3-7 yet still hit 3084. My season high last season was 3098 and highest ive hit was s6 where i hit 3131. Must have had terrible teammates or something.

Well lads, just throwing a quick plug out there.

I don't know if any of ye have seen the Forum Games forum, we play a game called Werewolf, great craic, highly engrossing and will make you intensely paranoid while the game is running :D It's known on other parts of the net as Mafia, and there's a steam/browser game called Town of Salem that's essentially the same thing.

Myself, Partyjungle and Raze_them_all are running an Overwatch themed game next month if anyone wanted to sink their teeth in, I'll link the signup here when the time comes!

If you wanted to break the ice early, there's a Fr Ted themed game starting the weekend after next, which should be too notch, there's 2 seats being held for new players too.

If anyone doesn't think they can commit to the week long games shortly, there's also 1 night games every so often, I'll be running one this Wednesday, it'll run from around 7pm until 11pm.

What is Werewolf thread, explains the game
    https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057789174/1/#post106233950

Fr Ted Signup
    https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057848305/4/#post106403252

1 Nighter Signup
    https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057850216/1/#post106400081

Hope to see some of ye along :)

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,280 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Well lads, just throwing a quick plug out there.

I don't know if any of ye have seen the Forum Games forum, we play a game called Werewolf, great craic, highly engrossing and will make you intensely paranoid while the game is running :D It's known on other parts of the net as Mafia, and there's a steam/browser game called Town of Salem that's essentially the same thing.

Myself, Partyjungle and Raze_them_all are running an Overwatch themed game next month if anyone wanted to sink their teeth in, I'll link the signup here when the time comes!

If you wanted to break the ice early, there's a Fr Ted themed game starting the weekend after next, which should be too notch, there's 2 seats being held for new players too.

If anyone doesn't think they can commit to the week long games shortly, there's also 1 night games every so often, I'll be running one this Wednesday, it'll run from around 7pm until 11pm.

What is Werewolf thread, explains the game
    https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057789174/1/#post106233950

Fr Ted Signup
    https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057848305/4/#post106403252

1 Nighter Signup
    https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057850216/1/#post106400081

Hope to see some of ye along :)

Instead of a werewolf it's a Hanzo main I'm guessing? :pac:

Hanzo and Torb mains v solo healing Lucio's is how it's shaping so far

• Registered Users Posts: 6,283 ✭✭✭fixXxer

Sombra is a right pain in the hole at the moment, especially solo queuing when you're team isn't on coms. My support cries for help go unheeded. Any chance Brigette will drop this Tuesday I wonder?

I haven't touched my main account at all this season since placements, been trying to stick to McCree and Ana on my alt (and Rein or Orisa if we're awful stuck for a tank).

Managing a 60% win rate with Ana who I only ever manage about 30% on my "main" account!

McCree I've played considerably more time on but have been less successful, but I am seeing improvements and have managed to up the win rate from 35% to 45% over the last few days. Main issue is down to positioning and decision making more than anything I think as my aim is generally pretty good (for gold at least).

• Registered Users Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

I haven't touched my main account at all this season since placements, been trying to stick to McCree and Ana on my alt (and Rein or Orisa if we're awful stuck for a tank).

Managing a 60% win rate with Ana who I only ever manage about 30% on my "main" account!

McCree I've played considerably more time on but have been less successful, but I am seeing improvements and have managed to up the win rate from 35% to 45% over the last few days. Main issue is down to positioning and decision making more than anything I think as my aim is generally pretty good (for gold at least).

Wins will often come down to comms too.
    Try get your team on voice chat...even though it may pain you.

What platform are you playing on? If on Xbox I would suggest moving away from Mcree/Ana if you are in gold. They are much more difficult heroes on console and I think you might find the going easier opting for Soldier/Reaper for DPS and Lucio/Moira for heals.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,098 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

What platform are you playing on? If on Xbox I would suggest moving away from Mcree/Ana if you are in gold. They are much more difficult heroes on console and I think you might find the going easier opting for Soldier/Reaper for DPS and Lucio/Moira for heals.

He's on about PC there. He's too good for us Xbox lads anymore :pac:

TitianGerm wrote: »
    He's on about PC there. He's too good for us Xbox lads anymore :pac:

I saw CMOD of xbox section and had a guess haha. I stand by my point all the same. Both characters require a high degree of accuracy and it would probably be easier to have a crack at different heroes.

If I play McCree in free for all I mostly finish top 3 and will generally win most one on ones, I just lack discipline at times in ranked where I don't stick with my tanks or healers and go off trying to flank. I enjoy playing them anyway which is the main thing! I've a lot of hours on soldier on my other account and don't enjoy reaper at all.

Yeah thats fair, FFA is a whole different ball game though as you arent coming up against players being healed, theres no objectives etc so Mcree is one of the easier heroes to play.

Its more than fair to play what you enjoy, you just might not see an increase in SR if you dont adjust to what is better purposed to your team mates and possibly ability.

Personally my favourite hero is Reaper, however I get carried away and picked off in diamond so have had to mix it up. Having managed to rack 84 eliminations in a comp game with reaper its hard not to revert though haha.

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭Sight808

Looks like Sombra getting a hack nerf, cool down of 2 seconds if it's interrupted and a LOS fail in .01 second it takes to hack.

I've a 67% win rate with her over 20 games so far this season. Think the nerf will make her more balanced. While having a quick hack is amazing, the 10% reduction in weapon spread is unreal.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,178 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Brigitte won't be available to play in comp until season 10. That's in May. Load of crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,098 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

J. Marston wrote: »
    Brigitte won't be available to play in comp until season 10. That's in May. Load of crap.

You can still play her in quick play though?

Lousy, a week is plenty to break her in.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,178 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

TitianGerm wrote: »
    You can still play her in quick play though?

Quick play is a shít show.

When she comes out 2 out of 12 will insta-lock her, some will leave since they didn't get her and the rest will be salty because they can't play her.

Probably.

When is she live

J. Marston wrote: »

Far better off not introducing new characters and maps mid season.

The giving out that was done here over Orisa, Doomy and Moira being used in comp was unreal when they first came out

How's the season treating everyone?

Climbed from 2151 to a new career high of 2403 today, brought my Zen Winrate up to a very respectable 60%, with Winny and Zarya hovering round 58, Orisa on 52.

Highlights of the day include pumping 8k healing in a single round on Anubis while solo healing as Zen, and grabbing a 32 player Kill Streak on Eigenwalde as Winston

Really starting to feel Orisa now, my performances are pretty solid, regularly have <5 deaths a game with solid blocking and Elims, and I'm coming round to halt too, had a Reins heart broke today on Hollywood, pulled him into our Bastions LOS as he tried to retreat about 4 times :D Only have 7hrs on her compared to 35 on Zen and 42 on Winny so I'm very optimistic regards learning her and eventually breaking Platinum.

Most of my games now are with my mate who's about 200SR higher than me, our group rating finally broke Plat today, which was the next goal. Most of my games have minimum 2450SR per player bar me and possibly an opponent, finding a big difference verses Silver, better comps, less **** Widows and Hanzo, there's always a flex tank or healer and less wasted ults. Still loads of crap ults though :D

Enjoying it so far though, love being able to take Junks now