Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm too young for a midlife crisis

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Still coughing and carrying a wee bit of a respiratory infection. I'm sure it's just a massive coincidence that this hit just after coming off a 9 week perscription. I still feel fine, no tiredness or fatique and have been back out running.

Monday - AM Plan 40 min easy run. Done, 40 min pre work run. Not as easy as it should have been (HR wise) but it was fine.

PM - coached swim. Only two of us for this and everyone else learnt that RQ cannot count to 8 for 200's.

Tuesday - AM Plan was for 3 x 1.5 mile AT run. Resting HR a bit too high and I was smashed on Tuesday morning. I wanted to get a good run in so opted to miss the morning run and try slip it in at lunch, or, abandon Tuesdays swim and do it in the evening instead. I went out at lunch and did a 40ish min run @ 8 min mile pace. It was a nothing run really. Not recovery pace. Not a tempo pace...but nice enjoyable run. Sometimes just running is nicer than following a plan.

PM - club swim. Well if I had trouble counting to 8 for 200's imagine my stress when left leading the lane for 250's!! :)

Wednesday I'd hoped for another run/swim double. 60 min run was in the plan but I decided to go for my 1.5 mile AT run instead. Went into work early and fell asleep when I got home. Took the night off!

Thursday - AM swim session. 6 x 100m off 2:00 - coming in on ~1:50 > 7 x 200m off 4:00 - coming in on around 3:50 on these. Felt the fatigue on the last two.
    Shoulder getting niggly again, so may drop tomorrows planned swim. Swimming tomorrow will bring me to swim 5 in 7 days so perhaps a bit much for my crappy shoulder :mad:

Doing 6 x 1000m tonight and will slot in what should have been an easy 60min yesterday, tomorrow morning.

Just realised that it is now December and I need to up it from one cycle a week now and start getting on the turbo too. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Just realised that it is now December and I need to up it from one cycle a week now and start getting on the turbo too. :(

Less running more cycling needed alright. You wont run for sh1t coming off the bike if its neglected any longer. There, hope that scared you into action:)

Whoa! Have you not seen my log? 3 spins in November. Over 250k. November has like doubled my entire bike Km's for the year ;)

Baby steps. Baby steps!

'Turbo bike' and turbo wheel moved to the front of the shed today for easier access. Planning on playing with the turbo on Saturday. Birthdays and party's will be taking away from cycling time for December ;)

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

'Turbo bike' and turbo wheel moved to the front of the shed today for easier access. Planning on playing with the turbo on Saturday. Cycling time will be taking away from Birthdays and party's for December ;)
    FYP

Woah...stop ganging up on me :(

Thursday Plan 6 x 1k > 6 min steady > 3 x 200m
    1K's done at 8 - 10k pace...no idea what this is for me but I suspect it is a fair bit faster than what I ran. HR's would confirm that I guess.
    Really not the best run, was a tad too comfortable on this and pace not steady enough for me.
    4:20 / 154 / 162
    4:31 / 159 / 165
    4:24 / 98 / 140
    4:27 / 161 / 168
    4:23 / 157 / 163
    4:38 / 159 / 167

Last one felt tough - tried to push out the last one and obviously failed miserably! :o

Friday - went to a swim in the PM. Some drills and some straight swimming. Shoulder felt fine.

Saturday - marshalling at Jingle Bells race in the AM, followed by my nephews birthday party and a nap. Auntie RQ is great for playing hide and seek and makes a great climbing frame. Knackered when I got home. 60 min run in the PM after a nap.

Fridays swim brought me over 10,000 m for the week and about 13,000 for the 7 days. I'm sure thats a record for me. Really enjoying being in the water at the moment. Would have happily made time for it every day this week.

Plan was to get out early for a spin on Sunday. Alarm went off at 7am and I knew people were meeting at 10...figured I could spare another 2 hours and decided I'd get an hour in then meet them.
    Woke up again just before 10 for an 11 hour sleep :eek:

Anyway, too much to do yesterday to stress myself out squeezing in a spin...got a quick hill run done and finally put the turbo together (more or less - can't get it to read cadence) and had an easy 50 min spin. Almost felt pointless without cadence...but could have kept this going for ages...really not as bad as I remember!
    Setting it up however, my dear jesus christ, I remember now that that was why I hated the turbo. What a pain in the face. My crap bike will now be staying on the turbo for the foreseeable future. I even had to oil the chain while the bike was on the turbo. :pac:

Hill run plan was:
    4 x 3:30 uphill at 85% - upper glen road is perfect for this. ~800m was expected for this and pretty much bang on. HR's don't really equal 85%, went a bit too easy for this, no idea what 85% should be...but the motivation to get out. Jeez.
    Followed by some drills and 4 x 100m uphill (done on chapelizod hill on the way home. Steep, slow, hard)

Monday - am plan was 50 - 60 min easy run. Out before work and bloody hell was it cold. Would usually wear shorts and a tshirt for any weather even I couldn't hack it this morning and I love the cold! Gunna be needing some running tights for the morning runs I think. :eek:
    Anyway about 44 minutes easssssy running. Loving the morning running!

Bike now set up on turbo, I may go crazy and get a turbo session in on Wednesday :pac: Plan was to do it Thursday but my work christmas party is on and they're making me go and socialise with them. :(

Monday PM - coached swim 4 x 100, 2 x 200, 4 x 100 - completely tailed off at the end of the second 4 x 100 I think. Was doing hypoxic sets in the pool a couple of weeks ago and got a stitch on the breathe every 9 section. It keeps coming back. Hit me with a vengeance towards the end of this. Seems to kick in when I start to fatigue.

Tuesday AM - sleepless night, missed AT run

Tuesday PM - club swim. Sloooow pace...funny how ~2 minutes feels so painfully and uncomfortably slow when you're in a group, even when leading or with a nice gap between you and the person in front...but feels like such a good pace when on your own. :pac: Didn't love this...

Wednesday AM - plan was for 60 min run...55 min pre work run done...was on the way to work and remembered I'd forgotten a run jacket. When RQ is wearing a cycling jacket and 3/4 lengths to run, you know it's cold out there. Freezing!

Plan is for a turbo session tonight. Let's see how that pans out... :pac:

Well I got the cadence sensor to work! :cool:

20 min w/u
    10 x 30 sec hard 30 sec easy
    20 min at 'IM' pace (no idea what IM pace would be obviously and no current targets really) ~27kph
    5 min easy
    10 min @ 85%
    10 min w/d

70 min total

We'll call that an introductory turbo session. Was fairly easy to be honest..need better music for this though...spotify cycling playlist is a right pile of sh*t

Work xmas party was yesterday, had planned to get out and do my run session at lunch but couldn't squeeze it in in the end. To be honest, had mile repeats to do anyway and doing them in the roaring wind and rain wasn't very enticing.

Home and in bed for 2am...bringing my dinner back up at 3am...and out on the road for 7am for the run back to work this morning. Car was left in work, no lights on the available bike so run was the only option anyway. Lovely 10 miler as the world woke up.

Friday PM - 90 min swim
    I got off early and wasn't sure I was bothered hitting this...what with 4 hours sleep the night before and a 90ish min run already in my legs. Got off work early to full increase my last of interest as the Friday pool is pretty much on my way home. Knew I wouldn't go back out if I went home so just went straight to the pool.
    Was an ok swim, some balance drills working on our weaker side.
    Main part of main set was 16 x 100 - led our lane out for this and no idea where the motivation or energy came from.
    4 off 2:05 in just under 1:55
    4 off 2:00 in about 1:47/8
    4 off 2:05 in just under 1:55
    4 off 2:00 in about 1:47/8

Saturday - Thursdays sleep, nausea hit me in the morning and I had a lie in and my nephews party and subsequent sugar crash left me missing anything in the evening. Not a big deal to be honest. Foot was sore and I would have just run on it.

Sunday - watching the XC so no long morning spin despite the good weather. Hit the turbo for 2 hours and followed it with a 25 min run.

Monday AM - run plan was a 40 min easy run - 39 min done.

Monday PM - coached swim and a 400m tt was on the plan. I spent my entire drive home from work trying to convince myself I was rather tired and it would probably be best to miss the swim. Alas, I couldn't find a reasonable excuse so went anyway.
    Didn't really know what to expect from this to be honest...my last one was pretty slow at 7:08 and was comfortable enough. From my 33m pool 'TT' at the end of November I knew that I could break the 7 easily enough. So just went out hard but controlled...I knew I could push 6:40 if I *really* tried so tried to keep an eye on the clock...think my second 100 was a bit slower and that put me off. Tried to bring my kick into the 3rd and lashed out the 4th which was my fastest of the 4 @ 1:37.
    Still plenty of improvements to make to my stroke so plenty more improvements to make on a 400m TT - seriously doubt I can hold them for 3.8 though :D
    Edit: 6:44 for the 400 for a 15 second pb

Tuesday AM - too lazy to get out of bed for run. Brought gear to work and thought I'd try get out at lunch.
    Tuesday lunchtime - plan was 15 min w/u 30 min steady 15 min w/d
    I knew I'd have to cut the w/u and w/d short...started getting ready and realised I'd left my watch at home. Crap. Seriously considered binning the run or just taking my 55 min route. I'd been planning on hitting a stretch of road and doing laps of it for this, knowing it was ~.75 of a mile I figured 'sure 5 of them will be near enough to 30 minutes at AT pace I guess' - more worried about getting back to work on time so did 4 and then kept up the pace for some of my warm down route to bring the steady section to just under 3.5 miles (I map my runned it). Prob about a mile short of what I should have been hitting. Got back to the office with 20 minutes to spare. D'oh.
    Good workout but no idea what pace I hit or HR I hit. Was meant to be an AT run but it beats missing the session.

Tuesday PM - club swim. Tired legs after todays run. Lots of kicking to make me feel the run and contemplate sliding to the back of the lane then;
    6 x 25 off 30
    6 x 50 off 60
    6 x 75 off 90
    6 x 100 off 2:00

Steady on the odds, fast on the evens. I took over for the 75s and 100s and surprised I could hold it. Got competitive with the lanes next to me which is the only reason I managed to hold the pace really!

Swimming going well...whats annoying me over the last couple of weeks now is how much I can feel where my stroke is weak. Never felt that before and still find it kind of odd...but mostly annoying. I know what I want to work on over the next couple of weeks training on my own anyway. Still going to try hit the 4 swims if I can over xmas.

Wednesday AM Run plan was 50 - 60 min easy. Legs heavy and tired - a slow and sluggish 58 minutes done and dusted.

Wednesday PM Had some baking to do for work so a quick turbo session. 10 min w/u > 10 x 2 mins w/1 min recovery > 10 min w/d

Thursday had a loose run/swim day in the plan but this could be changed around with Friday. Went bouldering at lunch and traffic was mental on the way home from work so took day off instead. :)
    The climbing was great craic...think I've found a new easy day activity...lats a bit sore today though so I'm going with that means missing the swim and not completely overworking them was wise :)

B5KwXwBIQAEuXp0.jpg:large

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

That wall makes you look tall....must be a weird angle.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭BTH

That wall makes you look tall....must be a weird angle.

Maybe you should try it out as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

Saw this:

B5KwXwBIQAEuXp0.jpg:large

Though of:

Screen+Shot+2013-10-18+at+18.36.51.png

Batman is such a rubbish superhero. All he has is his utility belt and his homoerotic relationship with robin. I'd be better and I can actually climb. The dude that showed us how to do it was like Spiderman - new goal in life is to be like him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Solobally8

But but you could fall off! No harness

Solobally8 wrote: »
    But but you could fall off! No harness

I did. That was great craic!

You probably shouldn't try it though. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Batman is such a rubbish superhero. All he has is his utility belt and his homoerotic relationship with robin. I'd be better and I can actually climb. The dude that showed us how to do it was like Spiderman - new goal in life is to be like him.

But Catwoman was so cool! :cool:

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

I'll be channeling this attitude at my next IM. ;):)

Friday Christmas shopping day. Total failure. 45 min easy run.

Saturday AM 80 min swim. Paddles and pull buoy pulled out for this. Swimming muscles not feeling the love entirely after the climbing.

Saturday PM Thursdays run session
    4 x 1k
    4:04 / 152/164
    4:15 / 161/169
    4:05 / 157/166
    4:14 / 161/168
    6 min steady
    3 x 800
    3:05 / 162/173
    3:08/ 162/172
    3:08/ 161/173

Foot very sore after this.

Sunday AM Stuck for time. 98 min easy bike. Stuck to the park for this. Not very easy to be honest - head winds, cross winds. Park is great for when stuck for time, you've got gentle and long climbs. Head winds. Cross winds. Fast flats.

Sunday PM Foot too sore on Sunday so gave running a miss.

Monday Foot still sore. Took day off as a precaution. Went for a swim. PB and paddles again as a recovery swim, although I'm not sure what I was recovering from!

Tuesday Off. Had a hospital appointment and scope so no training. Had treatment with ecoli too for foot.

Wednesday AM Foot much better but another day off running on what is my recovery week anyway no big deal. Headed to the pool gym shut at 3pm, luckily I was off today so could hit the pool...normally wouldn't get Christmas eve off and these hours annoy me. Other people have to work christmas day and people have payed their memberships...gym should be remaining opening.
    Pool was quiet but gym was busy.
    400m > 4 x 100m > 2 x 200m > 400m
    Not a great swim. Was a little sluggish - presume from sedation yesterday. Feeling rough after the swim though.

Wednesday PM Had hoped to do a FTP test today to see what all the fuss is about :pac: but doubled over in pain most of the day after the swim, again, presume it's just from the hospital yesterday. Opted for a easy 45 min spin on the turbo instead.

My own fault for running round like a mad yoke yesterday after I got home rather than resting.

Back out for a run tomorrow I hope. Nice early one to prepare me for the rest of the day.

Blooming tired. Spend more time getting ready for Christmas. Finally sitting down and chilling out. Relief!!

Happy Christmas boardsies. Hope no one gets a lump of coal in their stocking. :D

Merry Christmas, RQ!!! I hope you and yours have a wonderful day, and I hope Santa makes it down your chimney with everything your scribbled on your list. ;):)

Dory Dory wrote: »
    Merry Christmas, RQ!!! I hope you and yours have a wonderful day, and I hope Santa makes it down your chimney with everything your scribbled on your list. ;):)

I just asked Santa for a good, fun day with my lovely Dublin based nephew. :)

Have a great Christmas DD!

Thursday
    Easy 30 minute run before breakfast. Foot had been ok but ended up sore after this. :( Great day in Casa Racoon and lots of fun with my little buddy. Best part of the day is him running and leaping into my arms when he arrived with a big cuddle for Auntie Racoon. :D
    My gift from him this year was a set of cookie cutters which he got so that I could make biscuits for him.
    ''Ah sure buddy, of course I'll make you some biscuits''
    ''Will you make them NOW and I'll help''
    ''ummmm not today, sure don't you have your toys to play with today...maybe next week''

Friday AM
    Easy 40 min run. Sore foot but not still really felt when running once I run properly.

Friday PM
    Turbo
    55 min of some intervals. Hard work.

Followed by plenty of stretching to ease out the calves and foot. Feels a bit better now but need to keep on top of the self care to get over this. Don't wanna stop running. :(

Not sleeping well this week so not getting the most out of early morning training (I'm not early morning training as I'm unable to sleep till 4/5am so I'm not getting up at 7). Pretty tired again today and with gym hours and working next week I won't get in the pool again until Friday unless I can find somewhere with non bullsh*t hours. :( What do pure swimmers do at this time of year?? Surely swim squads don't take 2 weeks off?!

Saturday Hit the pool
    20 x 100m off 2 mins

1:46, 1:47, 1:45, 1:45, 1:46
    1:47, 1:46, 1:49, 1:49, 1:48 (uhoh I've another 10 to do...)
    1:46, 1:49, 1:48, 1:49, 1:48
    1:49, 1:48, 1:44, 1:43, 1:43 (someone else got in for last 3 and I got competitive again) :pac:

I felt like these times were pretty crap, not sure why thats a good session especially when on my own, in my slow pool with only three wall push offs :pac:
    Could feel my stroke had gone to pot on number 13 and tried to regain focus. Switched my mind to concentrating on finishing off the stroke and the recovery.
    Last 3 probably prove you don't push yourself enough when you're on your own!

Saturday PM Easy 30 minute run. Stretching last night seemed to do the trick. Not feeling much pain in the foot today. Stretching sometimes works, who'd have thunk it. :)

Need to get out on the bike...haven't done a proper long spin at all in December but weather forcast not looking promising for early morning. Put my 'winter wheels' (my crappy shimano wheels with good winter tyres) on the my bike today. Last week bike nearly went from under me going downhill, at speed, towards traffic lights that were going from amber to red which I'm hoping was the tyres on my 'good wheels' (ha as if I have good wheels) at fault. Luckily my bike handling skills are impressively superb and I got the bike to come to a stop at just the right time. :cool:
    Need to be home early so need to be out early and really do not fancy over 2 hours on the turbo. Most I've managed for a long turbo spin previously is 90 minutes...though if I don't get out in the morning that would free up time for another swim... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭griffin100

20 x 100 off 2 brining all in under 1.50 is a bloody good set and bodes well for 2015. I'd be delighted with a set like that at the minute.

griffin100 wrote: »
    20 x 100 off 2 brining all in under 1.50 is a bloody good set and bodes well for 2015. I'd be delighted with a set like that at the minute.

The sensible part of me knows that you're right...I think I could have done better though :pac:

Up early this morning (for once on a Sunday)...the road outside looked ok and then a quick check of Facebook I see clubs all over the place calling off their cycle...be ok to go out anyway though, right?
    Lol...no, nearly broke my neck in the driveway. Back to the house and back to bed with a book. :pac: and out for a walk with the mutts. Needed to get out early so no time to wait till it thawed out. Driving through Meath this afternoon, where I'd be usually cycling I realised it was probably a good call... 2 hour turbo session this evening instead. Considered going for a swim...but feck that, last day off for me so plenty of chilling.

6 months to go. How'd that happen?? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Kurt Godel

griffin100 wrote: »

Swimming's your calling all right... comparatively much faster than running (and don't get started on biking). OW races for 2015, great fun.

Kurt Godel wrote: »
    Swimming's your calling all right... comparatively much faster than running (and don't get started on biking). OW races for 2015, great fun.

Wouldn't agree with that at all. I've to work hard at swimming to be an average swimmer. I definitely wouldn't say my swim times are comparatively faster than my run times. I'm a poor racer which is more due to a fear of getting ill if I run too hard, running is affected by health issues a lot more than swimming is.

I actually think I would be a comparatively stronger cyclist than I would be swim and run if I trained correctly for it.