Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Local Thug Died

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

The man probably leaves a family who are grieving for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 gary gary

Someone in your family could end up choosing a lifestyle like that too you know.I bet his parents didnt expect him to turn out like that, but he did.I wonder would you like the death of someone belong to you to be treated with such disrespect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭DeadHand

The man is dead, that's the end of it.

Let those who wish to greive greive.

He'll be forgotten about by most in a few weeks just like most of us.

Why be sore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

gary gary wrote: »
    Someone in your family could end up choosing a lifestyle like that too you know.I bet his parents didnt expect him to turn out like that, but he did.I wonder would you like the death of someone belong to you to be treated with such disrespect.

But surely there is a point at which you have a choice about which road to follow in your life?

I can only speak for myself, and maybe it's cold of me, but I just can't make myself have any sympathy for some-one who chooses then drug/gangland lifestyle, particularly if they end up complete thugs like so many of them do.

How can you expect anyone to show any sort of respect for such people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Breffnigolfer

branie2 wrote: »
    The man probably leaves a family who are grieving for him

So what?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,037 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Cnt beleve ur gone bud. Gonna miss dem mad nites we used 2 have. God takes d gud 1s 2 early.

RIP. Rest in Paradise bro xxxxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

The Mig wrote: »
    Cnt beleve ur gone bud. Gonna miss dem mad nites we used 2 have. God takes d gud 1s 2 early.

RIP. Rest in Paradise bro xxxxx

He's wit de angels now. xxx

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

He was just a misunderstood individual. When you got to know him, he was really a luvly chap ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,220 ✭✭✭SeanW

If someone in my family or circle of friends decided all he/she wanted to do was be a scumbag, I would disown/disavow any relationship with them.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Breffnigolfer

Someone in your family could end up choosing a lifestyle like that too you know.I bet his parents didnt expect him to turn out like that, but he did..................

If his parents are as wonderful as you say, their pain started long ago and this would only come as a relief to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭LuckyFinigan

Karl Stein wrote: »
    lovd hes dogs, always wel fed fat fukers, lol. Hes ata rave in d sky now wit god off he's face on stardust, ha ha. RIP.

He's up there smoking joints with 2pac and Bob Marley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

If his parents are as wonderful as you say, their pain started long ago and this would only come as a relief to them.

Actually a mother of a boy who hanged himself expressed that relief to me. She said they had spent so long following him looking for him trying to find him going to neighbors he had stolen from to apologise and compensate. But most of all was the knot of dread permanently in her stomach of that knock on the door that eventually came. She said it was heartbreaking but there was immediately a sense of relief. The worst thing that could happen had happened.all over. Also her sons misery was over forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Noobascious

In fairness it's the attitudes above that spurn these lads on. They know every human is capable of evil or a cursory glance at the news of the world and bang fuk me what a ****ty world we live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Am I being harsh or does an unbelievably filthy past one of bullying, terrorising, beatings and assaults, drug use, robbery, vandalism and many many more be forgiven just like that?

Have to admit I don't think you're being harsh, have had dealings with scumbags in the past myself, one chap that I knew in secondary school, he got kicked out of our local CBS for assaulting classmates and being abusive, he was a right scumbag. Ended up in our school which the school wasn't as great as the really good one he got turfed out of.

This scummer ended up in my class where he made my life hell for 2 years, stealing from me, kicked in my locker, blatantly firing out homophobic insults at me (I'm not gay) beating the shyte out of students in years under us he landed a few in hospital, being an abusive wanker to teachers and disrupting the class. His weekend antics weren't great either, skanger drinking cans of Dutch Gold and getting into fights and getting arrested, putting pictures of himself on (back when it was popular) Bebo of himself smoking and skinning up joints, he was just a convict in training as far I was concerned and the sooner I finished school the better so I wouldn't have to encounter him again. He was in prison for assault just after we left school.

Not long after he drove a car drunk and crashed and killed himself, have to admit I didn't shed a tear or was grief striken in any shape or form, didn't bother attending the funeral. Reading Bebo comments afterwards made me sick, "RIP hun we had sum gud times in de arms of de angels nw so u are" "Always de gud dat die yung" and friends of his putting these pictures up of him with angels at either side and a lovely sunset and all this other shyte. I'm sitting there thinking "They are talking about the same person?? He was a complete dickhead going by my knowledge of him."

I don't care, if you're a dickhead in life, you're a dickhead in death. I'll save my funeral attendances for people I like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    Have to admit I don't think you're being harsh, have had dealings with scumbags in the past myself, one chap that I knew in secondary school, he got kicked out of our local CBS for assaulting classmates and being abusive, he was a right scumbag. Ended up in our school which the school wasn't as great as the really good one he got turfed out of.

This scummer ended up in my class where he made my life hell for 2 years, stealing from me, kicked in my locker, blatantly firing out homophobic insults at me (I'm not gay) beating the shyte out of students in years under us he landed a few in hospital, being an abusive wanker to teachers and disrupting the class. His weekend antics weren't great either, skanger drinking cans of Dutch Gold and getting into fights and getting arrested, putting pictures of himself on (back when it was popular) Bebo of himself smoking and skinning up joints, he was just a convict in training as far I was concerned and the sooner I finished school the better so I wouldn't have to encounter him again. He was in prison for assault just after we left school.

Not long after he drove a car drunk and crashed and killed himself, have to admit I didn't shed a tear or was grief striken in any shape or form, didn't bother attending the funeral. Reading Bebo comments afterwards made me sick, "RIP hun we had sum gud times in de arms of de angels nw so u are" "Always de gud dat die yung" and friends of his putting these pictures up of him with angels at either side and a lovely sunset and all this other shyte. I'm sitting there thinking "They are talking about the same person?? He was a complete dickhead going by my knowledge of him."

I don't care, if you're a dickhead in life, you're a dickhead in death. I'll save my funeral attendances for people I like.

Everybody makes mistakes in their lives. Nobody is perfect, maybe you are??? Maybe he was a dickhead in life but he was somebody's baby so his death should not be a time for you to spout your hatred of him, it says a lot about you as a person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Volvoair

lets hope he is heaven an half hour, before the devil finds out he is dead.....;-)....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

lukesmom wrote: »
    Everybody makes mistakes in their lives. Nobody is perfect, maybe you are??? Maybe he was a dickhead in life but he was somebody's baby so his death should not be a time for you to spout your hatred of him, it says a lot about you as a person

It does say a lot: and it's all good. Unless the scrote he referred to was cultured in a test tube he was definitely born of a mother. So what? Exactly what does that establish? And nobody is perfect. But most of our imperfections aren't on the scale of a thug, a violent bully and a destroyer of others lives. Some peoples imperfections become other people's wounds. So the post does say a lot about the poster as a person and all of it makes him a better human being than the scrote he described. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,867 ✭✭✭Demonique

Inwardly all the people displaying outward grief are probably thinking 'good riddance'

I think good riddance is an apt expression in this case, I certainly wouldn't miss someone like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,867 ✭✭✭Demonique

Couldn't have said it better T/B. Just look at the send off we gave that durty thief Charlie Haughley. Sure we never speak ill of the dead.

They were expecting 50,000 people to show up for Haughey's funeral, apparently only about 1000 'ordinary' people showed up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Packrat

Never mind.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

He was their dickhead so. Not the nations dickhead, there are too many candidates. No loss by the sound of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

d

Ah just a little query there now if you don't mind there about this 'mistake' business. So lets say wan fella now makes wan mistake in say 6 months like and another makes 20 mistakes in wan week like are they still the same like after the 6 months or wha in your eyes like ?

Oh and another thing, like say if a serial killer died somehow and say one of his victims parents 'spouted haterd' at him after the news of his death does that make the parent just as bad or worse than the dead baby serial killer somehow, cause that would 'say a lot about the parent' like ?

zcorpian88 wrote: »

<snip>...

I can't think why you'd want to attend his funeral ...unless there was some kind of party afterwards with the possibility of a few freebie beers : )

It does say a lot: and it's all good. Unless the scrote he referred to was cultured in a test tube he was definitely born of a mother. So what? Exactly what does that establish? And nobody is perfect. But most of our imperfections aren't on the scale of a thug, a violent bully and a destroyer of others lives. Some peoples imperfections become other people's wounds. So the post does say a lot about the poster as a person and all of it makes him a better human being than the scrote he described. Get over it.

Get over what exactly?
    I get what your saying but I don't see the point in holding onto hatred and negativity when the 'thug' has passed it really serves no purpose.

Get over what exactly?
    I get what your saying but I don't see the point in holding onto hatred and negativity when the 'thug' has passed it really serves no purpose.

The fact that some human beings are better than others and you can't tell the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

The naivety on this thread is shocking.
    Oh people dont shed tears and hate cringy FB tributes for absolute scumbags. Deal with it. It's the sensible reaction when criminals and thugs get whats coming to them.
    ahhhh but weren't they someone's baby though that makes the rest of us terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Something similar happened a well-known ne'er do well in my town a few years ago. This guy was so well known for his antics that he became a perverse kind of institution. If you happened to spot him in town, you'd mention it to someone else that day. He was so "famous" that visiting friends complained when they didn't spot him about the place. One of his most beloved party tricks was when he's spit at people in the hope of passing on his AIDS. A real nice guy. :rolleyes:

Anyway, he passed away from a drug overdose. Nobody in town really celebrated the fact, but there wasn't all that much grief either. Until the local paper printed a long article in which all the ills and woes of this man was the fault of the local population. We created him; it was out fault that he turned out that way. I understand that he had a pretty miserable childhood, and that some of the institutions of the state could have done better by him, but to lay the responsibility for his horrible actions at the feet of the local population was pretty outrageous, and an insult to the many people who are born into difficult circumstances, and manage to make good, decent lives for themselves.

There's always this nonsense spoken about these people, that they never have a chance. But they always hav a chance, they just need to seize it. Plenty of people do. So while I have some sympathy for the situation in which these people find themselves, I have absolutely none for the fact that, in general, society is solely responsible for their actions.

Don't forget we are also living in an age of grief junkies. Twitter et al has magnified this

The fact that some human beings are better than others and you can't tell the difference.

Of course I can. Doesn't mean I'm going to MOAN about it after they die just because I can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

You don't see that happening to often. Even in car chases the scum always seem to walk away unhurt.

Of course I can. Doesn't mean I'm going to MOAN about it after they die just because I can.

Your posts here indicate you can't. This post describing attitudes to violent scum as a "moan" show no grasp of the reality suffered by the victims of violent crime. Nauseating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

I see the usual boards victim group have found another thread to keep alive

I didn't choose to be a victim of crime. Others did. You seem to think it's an insult to be called a victim of crime. As if it's my fault. But then again you probably think that.

Yep! ;)

It's incredibly noble of you refrain from moaning about people who are dead and instead moan at people on here who are alive and victims of said thugs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭fiachr_a

Send a mass card to his family saying good riddance. That's what happened to a neighbour I never liked.

colossus-x wrote: »
    It's incredibly noble of you refrain from moaning about people who are dead and instead moan at people on here who are alive and victims of said thugs.

not moaning but what's the point in slating a dead person,?????? They are gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Its Only Ray Parlour

not moaning but what's the point in slating a dead person,?????? They are gone.

So we're not allowed to slate the likes of Fr. Brendan Smyth because he's dead?

Yep! ;)

I see that you want to link yourself to a post that describes victims of crime as having a "moan". We should all shut up and be grateful to thugs who brutalised us shouldn't we? After all, we wouldn't want to upset their mothers.

So we're not allowed to slate the likes of Fr. Brendan Smyth because he's dead?

We are talking about a local thug not a child molester

No, we're talking about criminals.

I knew introducing child molestation into this equation would catch you out. It's a very controversial crime that disgusts the vast majority of people.

The problem here is, you and your ilk think with your morals moreso than using logic. If you think only certain criminals deserve abuse after they die, then you just contradicted everything you previously posted on here.

Explain to me why the families of child molesters are exempt from your protection of deceased criminals? Child molesters have families, too, so how come it's OK to criticize them after they die?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

@OP, Another scumbag gone?! Good.Reign of terror of thug has ended (until another lowlife takes over), Gene pool has improved,quality of life in the town has gone up a notch, obligation to be nice to assholes has decreased, burden on public purse (gardai, courts,etc) reduced. All round, things are better, so it's a bonus. You personally don't have to be nice to his family or any else about this guy so win-win all round.

No, we're talking about criminals.

I knew introducing child molestation into this equation would catch you out. It's a very controversial crime that disgusts the vast majority of people.

The problem here is, you and your ilk think with your morals moreso than using logic. If you think only certain criminals deserve abuse after they die, then you just contradicted everything you previously posted on here.

Explain to me why the families of child molesters are exempt from your protection of deceased criminals? Child molesters have families, too, so how come it's OK to criticize them after they die?

No you didn't catch me out. I just can't see why anybody would be peed off at others expressing their grief be it for a thug or not a thug. If people get wound up that easy by others displays of grief they really need to get out more. It is nobody's business how or why another person grieves. You should mind your own business. Not everybody thinks or feels the same way as you do.

No you didn't catch me out. I just can't see why anybody would be peed off at others expressing their grief be it for a thug or not a thug. If people get wound up that easy by others displays of grief they really need to get out more.

Yes, I did catch you out by using your own logic against you. You even dodged my question.

Child molesters have families, too. Going by your logic, we are not allowed to criticize deceased child molesters because they have families, too.

How come we're allowed to criticize deceased child molesters and not deceased thugs who terrorised a community of people?
    You should mind your own business. Not everybody thinks or feels the same way as you do.

Isn't that a bit rich coming from the most unpopular person in this thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

Its all fun and games until the child molesters come along.

Yes, I did catch you out by using your own logic against you. You even dodged my question.

Child molesters have families, too. Going by your logic, we are not allowed to criticize deceased child molesters because they have families, too.

How come we're allowed to criticize deceased child molesters and not deceased thugs who terrorised a community of people?

Ah no need to resort to bullying tactics singling me out as the most unpopular just because I don't need to run with the flock.

its nobody's business how others express/don't express their grief about another human.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

tbf though the standard of morality is pretty low on here

Time for another big flood ?

But look here's a hypothetical. If the guy had no family , no friends, no one turned up at his funeral ( you get the idea )- would it be okay then to gloat , dance on his grave etc? And if not , why not?