Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mary Berry Christmas Cake

• 15-11-2014 10:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭

Hi,

I've currently got the fruit soaking for the cake in this recipe:

http://www.maryberry.co.uk/recipes/baking/mary-berrys-classic-fruit-cake

Has anyone made this one before? 4 tbsp of brandy really doesn't seem like a lot of liquid for all that fruit :eek: That's only 60ml!

Also, I'm going to ice it by doing a buttercream on it (hate the taste of marzipan) and then sugarpaste over that. I've never worked with sugarpaste before and have a couple of questions about it, would be grateful if anyone could shed some light. First off, for a 9" round cake would I need about 1kg of fondant?

Also, do I need a plastic rolling pin or will a wooden one coated in icing sugar do?

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭phormium

I haven't made this recipe so can't comment on the amount of liquid. However regarding your plan to butter cream the cake, don't do it!

Buttercream is not really suitable for a fruit cake unless you are going to eat it all quickly, even then I wouldn't do it. There is no problem not using marzipan, you can just use the fondant, to stick it on just brush the cake with either apricot jam heated first to thin it or if you have it handy marmalade will do rather than buying a pot of apricot jam. Honestly who eats that stuff? I have only ever used it to stick on the marzipan, it's used for that as it has very little flavour.