Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IW/Anything Water Related-Warning in OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Pocoyo wrote: »
    If you go back and look over the thread you will see that on week days before 6pm this thread tends to 50/50 on the issue,After 7pm when the workers come home the thread dramatically becomes anti IW.

The people supporting IW tend to be doing so out of spite,Its either 'xbox warriors' or old out of touch sorts that seem to be advocating for the return of the blue shirts.

I'm none of the above so where does that leave your opinions..

Green Fish wrote: »
    It's clear to me that the days of the established parties are coming to an end. Their brands are too toxic now. The big question is what replaces them. I don't mind filling the Dáil with a load of Independents until we/they figure it out.

Ah yes the likes of Mick Wallace, he can do a great job of telling us how to avoid paying tax.
    But then again isn't that what the minority of anti water protestors lap up, how to avoid contributing to society and leave it to the rest of us.

Imagine the independants having to actually make hard decisions on a day to day basis, I reckon on day one the country would collapse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Did Mick Wallace have an Ansbacher account?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

yipeeeee wrote: »
    Ah yes the likes of Mick Wallace, he can do a great job of telling us how to avoid paying tax.
    But then again isn't that what the minority of anti water protestors lap up, how to avoid contributing to society and leave it to the rest of us.

Imagine the independants having to actually make hard decisions on a day to day basis, I reckon on day one the country would collapse.

Thank you for pointing that its a minority, cause the majority of us protestors are happy to pay tax. Its just a pity ye pushed it a bit far, we were getting along fine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 29 Green Fish

So you're a "better the devil you know" voter. Fair enough.

Green Fish wrote: »
    So you're a "better the devil you know" voter. Fair enough.

No but if you're advocating change at least try offer a better alternative??

• Registered Users Posts: 28,861 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

RobertKK wrote: »
    It is easy to be SF or the socialists or people on the sidelines and oppose everything while having no valid alternative to fix the economy.

I still not have heard a valid alternative, apart from 'we won't have to pay for this or that, that the rich will be made pay'.
    That is just ignorant economic policy.

While I don't agree with most of what SF say - and I certainly don't support the left-wing fringe elements - your counter-argument seems to be "let's support FF/FG cause.. er, at least they're not SF!"

Given the "quality" representatives of FF/FG over the last 15 years, could SF really do any worse, especially as they'd be tempered in a coalition.

Bottom line, flipping back n forth between FF and FG (with whatever minor party that hangs on with them) certainly isn't going to give us the reform and change this country badly needs.

We have a real shortage of options that's for sure.
    I pay for what i get. With you, it is 'I live in an urban area and I shouldn't have to pay'.

Actually as an urban dweller I pay too, and proportionally a lot more - rent, property tax, and house prices being the most obvious but right down to things like the cost of parking (generally free in the country), fuel (which is usualy a few cent per litre cheaper outside the city) and the price of a pint/entertainment.

It's also long proven that Dublin subsidises the rest of the country.

I see from the above that you're in farming. Strikes me as a bit ironic then that you're objecting to IW protests when the farming community are the first to get on the streets whenever they feel aggrieved over their "entitlements"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

A human right??

Well then just take the water that falls from the sky and process it into your house and you will have no problems.

Exactly.

We have been doing that since 5000 bc or thereabouts.

Satriale wrote: »
    Thank you for pointing that its a minority, cause the majority of us protestors are happy to pay tax. Its just a pity ye pushed it a bit far, we were getting along fine.
    the majority are happy to pay tax??

Of course..

gladrags wrote: »
    Exactly.

We have been doing that since 5000 bc or thereabouts.

Well then why are you giving out about water charges??

You should have no problems if this is what you have always done.

the majority are happy to pay tax??

Of course..

:confused: Why wouldnt they be?

Because I would take a guess now I could be wrong, that the majority of protestors don't pay tax.

Now before you scramble for that reply button,don't worry someone will get in before you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 29 Green Fish

But you see if you fill the Dáil with non establishment people, eventually consensus will emerge and a new political party or two or three will be formed. It's inevitable. It takes a little bit of vision.

Because I would take a guess now I could be wrong, that the majority of protestors don't pay tax.

Now bwfore you acramble for thatvreply button,don't worry someone will get in before you.

Are you backtracking? You said a minute ago "the minority"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭AboutaWeekAgo

Now before you scramble for that reply button,don't worry someone will get in before you.

Nice generalization.

Yes 200,000 protestors out of a population of 5 million is a minority??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Pocoyo

Any government that puts the people first is a better alternative,Any government that spends our tax money wisely and isnt corrupt,Working now is like being on the dole during the boom,I am supposed to be living in a first world country i expect more than 'just enough to eat' when i work a 45 hour week.

Im working 45 hours and i can only afford a treat of a chinese on a friday,I dont even have a mortgage and i live outside of dublin.

I and most people are living like this while these corrupt malcontents are building up a retirement fund while sorting out their families and billionaire friends...stop being a sheep and wake up.

Nice generalization.

I said I could be wrong but I have a right to make my own mind up on this matter unless someone can tell me I'm wrong??

Yes 200,000 protestors out of a population of 5 million is a minority??

That, of course, is not what you said, but it makes no difference, i see you are wrong on many counts :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I think some of these guys flip a coin to decide which script they will go with at any particular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Tinkersbell

Mick Wallace eh?
    Wallace construction, a company fawned over by da bert and his ilk.
    A company who owes the taxpayer somewhere around €1.4 million afaik.

Meanwhile enda and co make Ireland a tax haven for multinationals like apple and facebook and gets lauded for it by the shills on here....

Pocoyo wrote: »
    Any government that puts the people first is a better alternative,Any government that spends our tax money wisely and isnt corrupt,Working now is like being on the dole during the boom,I am supposed to be living in a first world country i expect more than 'just enough to eat' when i work a 45 hour week.

Im working 45 hours and i can only afford a treat of a chinese on a friday,I dont even have a mortgage and i live outside of dublin.

I and most people are living like this while these corrupt malcontents are building up a retirement fund while sorting out their families and billionaire friends...stop being a sheep and wake up.
    There is many people working more than 45 hours a week in this country, why are you feeling special and hard done by because of this?

Do you think this entitltes you to bettet treatment or entitlement?

Pathetic, you really are pathetic....and clueless.

There is many people working more than 45 hours a week in this country, why are you feeling special and hard done by because of this?

That would be 'are'....

My post stats most people are living like this, :pac:

I feel we as a nation of workers deserve better do you not agree?

Mick Wallace eh?
    Wallace construction, a company fawned over by da bert and his ilk.
    A company who owes the taxpayer somewhere around €1.4 million afaik.

Meanwhile enda and co make Ireland a tax haven for multinationals like apple and facebook and gets lauded for it by the shills on here....

Yes let's increase tax on these companies and watch them shut up shop leading to thousands of job losses??

Very cunning plan just like the shinners.

Nice generalization.

It's what they do.
    The majority of protesters are 'shinners' too.....:rolleyes:

That would be 'are'....

Ah here we are the grammar Nazis have come into it.

Please try debate the post not the grammar.

Yes let's increase tax on these companies and watch them shut up shop leading to thousands of job losses??

I agree with tinkerbell....Clueless. :rolleyes:

We could start by enforcing the 12.5% rate, the lowest in the EU afaik, in a proper fashion.
    But, no, much better to have a reputation as a tax haven....