Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IW/Anything Water Related-Warning in OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

First court appearance from the "riot" in Jobstown.

What is the charge from the "riot", when "violence" and "anarchy" hit the streets and the Tánaiste was practically "kidnapped"?

Answer...
    Letting the air of of a tyre.........

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/district-court/water-protester-charged-with-letting-air-out-of-t%C3%A1naiste-s-car-1.2029926#.VIWmtqe1Y_o.facebook

Lol.

The usual hysterical far fetchers on this (and other threads) must feel very deflated at the news they've still not to a single criminal damage or violence related charge yet. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Lol.

The usual hysterical far fetchers on this (and other threads) must feel very deflated at the news they've still not to a single criminal damage or violence related charge yet. :D

But the article seems to suggest that one's in the works? Or am I misreading that, he's been remanded on bail pending DPP action.

Are you saying that people who cause criminal damage shouldn't be charged or prosecuted behind the veil of water charges?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 29 Green Fish

Will there be a protest by the Pro-IW folks who are annoyed at the climbdown by the government?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭AboutaWeekAgo

donvito99 wrote: »
    But the article seems to suggest that one's in the works? Or am I misreading that, he's been remanded on bail pending DPP action.

Are you saying that people who cause criminal damage shouldn't be charged or prosecuted behind the veil of water charges?

Letting the air out of a car tyre..

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Green Fish wrote: »
    Will there be a protest by the Pro-IW folks who are annoyed at the climbdown by the government?

No,they support anything the government does or says.

The DPP would do well to dismiss it tbh, what they would even charge someone with for
    Glen Carney is alleged to have let air out of the tyre of a garda car that Ms Burton was transferred to during the heated incident in west Tallaght a month ago.

Read it again....
    alleged to have let the air out of the tyre of a Garda car
    That read to me like he let the air out of a tyre, not slashed the tyre. So it'll be interesting to see what charges could be applied to such a heinous crime tbh.
    DonVito wrote:

No, I'm saying with all the various threads on water charge protests, the words criminal damage and violence get bandied about all too readily imo.

Surely if it was as widespread and common as many here would have us believe someone would be charged by now?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

New government guidelines on media mergers have been introduced today

They are up for discussion for a month, before they pass into legislation.

The guidelines are intended to limit the influence of media owners on , cultural,current,and political affairs.

Was not aware that the NUJ had raised concerns regarding this issue.

They are not retrospective.

Journal.ie & Irish Times.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Grandpa Hassan

I think you'll find that we are just getting on with our lives

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Cant have been too important then.

So just online protests then?

No, I'm saying with all the various threads on water charge protests, the words criminal damage and violence get bandied about all too readily imo.

But's that's not to say that we haven't witnessed evidence of it ourselves in previous threads. Remember the video posted previously of a Dublin Says No protest which ended with a patrol car escorting a contractor's car out of an estate, with the latter's car being kicked in by local youths. The video was then taken down after it was pointed out to the youtube channel that the people involved were clearly identifiable. We've also infamously seen a brick being thrown at a patrol car, and a water balloon being thrown at the Tánaiste's neck.

So no, in my view it's right to categorise some of the protests as being wholly unpeaceful and violent in nature. I would characterise others as being peaceful with unlawful actions which feature torrid verbal abuse and intimidation of IW contractors and Gardaí alike - an arrestable offence in its self.

The action that will take place this Wednesday is the right way to go about opposing water charges if not in the Dáil. The objective thuggery that we've witnessed is the wrong way to go about it.

A few words from our beloved leader about the protest on Wednesday

“I’ve had information today of buses being sent from various parts of the country where people have their fares paid by particular organisations.”

He said the “issues that caused genuine concerns to people have all been dealt with” and added: “I expect Irish Water to be out there in front explaining the very good story that they have to tell people.”

http://www.thejournal.ie/enda-kenny-detroit-water-protesters-1821646-Dec2014/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

But's that's not to say that we haven't witnessed evidence of it ourselves in previous threads. Remember the video posted previously of a Dublin Says No protest which ended with a patrol car escorting a contractor's car out of an estate, with the latter's car being kicked in by local youths. The video was then taken down after it was pointed out to the youtube channel that the people involved were clearly identifiable. We've also infamously seen a brick being thrown at a patrol car, and a water balloon being thrown at the Tánaiste's neck.

So no, in my view it's right to categorise some of the protests as being wholly unpeaceful and violent in nature. I would characterise others as being peaceful with unlawful actions which feature torrid verbal abuse and intimidation of IW contractors and Gardaí alike - an arrestable offence in its self.

The action that will take place this Wednesday is the right way to go about opposing water charges if not in the Dáil. The objective thuggery that we've witnessed is the wrong way to go about it.

So that's all you've got? Someone kicking a car, and someone who had nothing whatsoever to do with a water protest, threw a brick.
    It's pathetic at this stage that people are still trying to insinuate that the protests are violent in any way. Absolute tripe.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,278 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

“I’ve had information today of buses being sent from various parts of the country where people have their fares paid by particular organisations.”

He said the “issues that caused genuine concerns to people have all been dealt with” and added: “I expect Irish Water to be out there in front explaining the very good story that they have to tell people.”

Translation:

"Labour have failed to sell this bucket of shite for us, so now we have to fall back to the next line."

So that's all you've got? Someone kicking a car, and someone who had nothing whatsoever to do with a water protest, threw a brick.

You're also forgetting the assault of the Deputy PM.
    It's pathetic at this stage that people are still trying to insinuate that the protests are violent in any way. Absolute tripe.

I've provided evidence of violent protest. This isn't to mention the abuse contractors have faced around the country, but of course, any media reports whatsoever aren't to be taken seriously for various reasons including; something something Denis O'Brien meeja, IT liberal elites, RTÉ eating out of FGs hand, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭shinzon

Could ye imagine the conversation Right John, Right Enda, well of ye go John tell them lads out the front there everything good about Irish Water, eh Enda there just not out the front, there round the back and sides as well, ah sure look John heres a bull horn now get on with it.

Umm Enda what will you be doing, looking for a new job John looking for new job

Shin

I've provided evidence of violent protest.

Any chance you could provide it to the DPP? Cause all they have so far is a young fella letting air out of a tyre...

I've provided evidence of violent protest. This isn't to mention the abuse contractors have faced around the country, but of course, any media reports whatsoever aren't to be taken seriously for various reasons including; something something Denis O'Brien meeja, IT liberal elites, RTÉ eating out of FGs hand, etc.

I think the vast majority of protesters are peaceful. It can be difficult to control anger but I think so far the larger protests have been fantastic in terms of behaviour and dignity.
    I really don't know what point you are trying to prove in relation to the quango that is Irish Water. You should come along on Wednesday and chat to people - I think you would learn a great deal about the protests and even yourself.

In relation to IW I've made my grievances known here. I support the introduction of water charges and was vehemently against the recent step down by the Gov.

I probably would check the demonstration out on Wednesday if I didn't have an exam...:(

On message boards

gladrags wrote: »
    On message boards

Your sense for irony is actually appalling.

I know of a bus organised for free from Donegal. There are also 3 or 4 buses paid by the passengers leaving Letterkenny. The free one was arranged as there was a lot of people who said they would love to attend but couldn't afford the bus fare. They still have to give up their entire day to attend. Enda tries to spin this into some sort of shady organisation, coercing people into attendance.
    I don't think he fools anyone these days, except 4 or 5 posters on this thread.

Slightly off topic but I just saw this picture of the woman who wants to bring in water charges....looking down the end of a massive joint. Explains a few of her comments anyway :D

joan-burton-23-333x500.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Slightly off topic but I just saw this picture of the woman who wants to bring in water charges....looking down the end of a massive joint. Explains a few of her comments anyway :D

joan-burton-23-333x500.jpg

An ould toke would improve her.
    No such luck though.

With the amount of gardai at all these events, it's truly astonishing that so far the only charge is for letting the air out of a car tyre. For the numbers involved in the protests, the very worst has been some pushing and shouting, and even that is very isolated. But sure you continue on with the "assault", "violence", "abuse" and whatever other nonsense you like, because no one believes it. The reason we don't believe it, has nothing to do with "Denis O'Brien meeja, IT liberal elites, RTÉ eating out of FGs hand, etc.", it's because having attended many of the so called violent protests, and seeing with my own eyes the reality, I know there is no violence.

I thought this line of debate had been put to bed, but I guess not. How about after Wednesday, when again the is no violence, will you finally stop trying to drag protesters reputations through the mud.

There has been two incidents within the last 3 days involving Gardai assault,
    reported in the media.

They were found GUILTY.

That does not mean all Gardai are violent...

"Two Gardai who seized a car from a man who later had a heart attack have been disciplined.

Seamus Duffy, (50), collapsed complaining of chest pains after being stopped by Gardai in Ballybofey, Co Donegal on April 7 this year.

Doctors later confirmed he had suffered a heart attack."

"A Dublin Bus driver has been awarded €49,000 damages after a High Court judge found he was assaulted and wrongfully arrested by a garda who "lost his temper".

Valentine Ticu, aged 38, of Palmerstown Drive, Dublin, claimed he was forcibly removed from his bus, arrested, placed in handcuffs, and pushed against a patrol car by Garda David Maguire in an incident after 11pm on October 4, 2011, at the junction of Kimmage Road"

Try a little perspective,the protests have been peaceful,they are ordinary citizens.

Just like you.

gladrags wrote: »
    There has been two incidents within the last 3 days involving Gardai assault,
    reported in the media.

They were found GUILTY.

That does not mean all Gardai are violent...

"Two Gardai who seized a car from a man who later had a heart attack have been disciplined.

Seamus Duffy, (50), collapsed complaining of chest pains after being stopped by Gardai in Ballybofey, Co Donegal on April 7 this year.

Doctors later confirmed he had suffered a heart attack."

This says 'disciplined' i.e. internal punishment, and I can see no assault. What you've written suggests the man had a heart attack after they seized his car for whatever reason. The articles would be great.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/gardai-disciplined-after-seizing-car-from-man-who-subsequently-had-heart-attack-30807319.html

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/bus-driver-awarded-euro49k-following-assault-by-garda-301227.html

The Examiner,The Irish Times and other tabloids covered both stories in full.

His car had his cardiac medication in it.

You can go find them yourself.

I am quoting directly from the sources.

Do you know when the recent Garda Inquiry report into criminal activity within the Gardai will be published.?

About Wednesday, will there be many from this thread attending?

I have a day off for it, despite the business I'm in being traditionally mental busy at this time of year.

I'll head in early, Grab a coffee, bite of brunch, then head over towards the Dail.

Maybe treat myself to a few drinks and a dinner afterwards. (thus contributing to local businesses with my cash, and helping the economy)

I'm looking forward to it :D