Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IW/Anything Water Related-Warning in OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

Why?

The gards will be having the craic tomorrow, there will be no animosity shown towards the gards (going by previous protests in the city)

I'm sure many Gardai are opposed to water charges also.

i was chatting to an on-duty Garda on the street in Galway last week and he was tellin me he was going up on Wednesday. they're only human ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Really, we will see, I think they will get a fair load of abuse (all large gatherings attract people just looking to cause trouble).

At least one guard will be accused of doing something untoward by tomorrow evening based on one sided evidence.

Plenty protestors get accused of all sorts of things too. As long as the Gardai don't let the air out of anyones tyres they will be fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

shinzon wrote: »
    So based on 3 buses that have been knocked on the head your drawing the conclusion that momentums been lost, bit of a stretch no, in Waterford there is at least 4 busloads going all full so I call shenanigans on your post tbh, and just because the buses arent going doesn't mean the people on them wont go

Shin

Nope. Hardly. Any of the sources i had been using on twitter, facebook, other sites, even here. It all seems to have dried up. There was huge momentum a few weeks back. But over the last 2 weeks there hasn't been much going on at all. I haven't even heard many talking about it.

A few people in my job have cancelled their day off for tomorrow and changed to another date. Didn't ask for reasons but they were lads that had been vocal about the charges. However have quietened down lately.

And i know about the 3 buses being cancelled as i need 3 buses tomorrow and the guy i always use had 3 of his buses full to bring up to Dublin from various towns in counties around Dublin. But he called last Friday to say he now has them available as he said 3 or 4 people would cancel, and then another 2 or 3 and so on.

You can check my post history in this thread and you'll see where i stand on the issue. I agree with water charges in principle, but hope Irish water is completely dismantled and well over 100,000 people turn out tomorrow. But i'm being realistic. Very little mention of water charges in my business and it seems to have died down among friends too. Nearly everyday there was stuff being shared about it. Over the past 2 weeks, i'd be hard pressed to find one thing.

Also now factor in the bad weather forecasted. Momentum seems to have slowed a lot and it's mainly down to the large gap between the last one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Grandpa Hassan

shinzon wrote: »
    And that's not going to happen so id just get used to it at this stage, nothings going to get ramped up on you, itll be exactly the same as before.

Shin

We'll see.

All I see is people trying to get out of paying for something that should be treated like a utility. I've no time for anyone at the gathering tomorrow at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Really, we will see, I think they will get a fair load of abuse (all large gatherings attract people just looking to cause trouble).

At least one guard will be accused of doing something untoward by tomorrow evening based on one sided evidence.
    Bit ironic ending that post with "based on one sided evidence"

Don't you love that even crystal balls are now coming with a biased options now a days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

The only people in a no win situation tomorrow will be sitting in the Dail.

I'd say many of whom were planning on "chucking a sickie" for tomorrow, but now can't! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

Feel for the Gardai tomorrow, really in a no-win situation.

Why?

Is the government finally publishing the report into Gardai corruption.?

And if that doesn't happen you'll undoubtedly come back here and hold your hands up that you were wrong, and offer your apologies to the peaceful protesters I presume?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

And if that doesn't happen you'll undoubtedly come back here and hold your hands up that you were wrong, and offer your apologies to the peaceful protesters I presume?

The majority of protestors will be peaceful, it is in everyones involved interests for it to be peaceful.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Will the day have the usual speeches about "mobilisation of the working class" from rich socialist TD types and union leaders on 150 grand? I get the impression that a tipping point has passed a few weeks ago, and there will be a lot of disillusionment tomorrow as people realise the "usual suspects" have hijacked their protest, which has been the pattern with previous protests about other issues.

I'm not expecting much trouble, althought the usual Eirigi/hard-left crowd will start a few fights towards the front. It should be a good day for businesses in the city centre as people up from the country use it as an opportunity to get a bit of shopping in.

Hopefully too the Eirigi mob will not try and disrupt commuters/PAYE workers heading home. It would really be putting the boot in if they're asking us to pay for their water and stop us getting home after being at work all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

naughtb4 wrote:

you mean the same way peaceful protesters have been accused of doing things untoward for months? based on little or no evidence. .?
    I can't wait until tomorrow. Dublin will also be getting 60 or 70 euros off me for the local economy.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭shinzon

Nope. Hardly. Any of the sources i had been using on twitter, facebook, other sites, even here. It all seems to have dried up. There was huge momentum a few weeks back. But over the last 2 weeks there hasn't been much going on at all. I haven't even heard many talking about it.

A few people in my job have cancelled their day off for tomorrow and changed to another date. Didn't ask for reasons but they were lads that had been vocal about the charges. However have quietened down lately.

And i know about the 3 buses being cancelled as i need 3 buses tomorrow and the guy i always use had 3 of his buses full to bring up to Dublin from various towns in counties around Dublin. But he called last Friday to say he now has them available as he said 3 or 4 people would cancel, and then another 2 or 3 and so on.

You can check my post history in this thread and you'll see where i stand on the issue. I agree with water charges in principle, but hope Irish water is completely dismantled and well over 100,000 people turn out tomorrow. But i'm being realistic. Very little mention of water charges in my business and it seems to have died down among friends too. Nearly everyday there was stuff being shared about it. Over the past 2 weeks, i'd be hard pressed to find one thing.

Also now factor in the bad weather forecasted. Momentum seems to have slowed a lot and it's mainly down to the large gap between the last one.

Name the facebook and twitter sites and I can show you just as many with busloads going, just wishful thinking and as I said there is other forms of transport to get to Dublin, you don't have to go by organised buses but nobodies counting them are they

Shin

• Registered Users Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Satriale wrote: »
    Thats ok then, the rest of the EU has poor people too. :rolleyes:

i thought you were living in a country with outstanding services,
    but if you are living in Ireland, my sympathies, its not a nice place to be poor.

Racing to the bottom again.
    I've lived and worked in many parts of Europe thanks, including France and The Netherlands, i dont need you pointing out their inequities to me.

Anyway, ill let you get back to your scoffing.

Not really, its just interesting for example people think that Ireland has a poor quality of life.

Whereas in Poland items are still relatively expensive and you have to make do with 600-800 euros a month.

Also growing up in Dublin in the eighties and Scotland in the nineties, todays definition of poverty is crazy.

Second Hand Clothes are a sign of poverty .. or a hipster.

If anything it was FAR worse to have no money in the boom years than it is now.

And even by your supposed numbers, its nowhere near 1/3rd of the population.
    Is someone, not even in this country for 50% of the year, Seriously comparing the love feckin Ulster March to the water protest one?

Ah, banging that drum again, how very closed minded and almost xenophobic of you ;) Guess I'm lucky I'm not German or some other type of foreigner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

Second Hand Clothes are a sign of poverty

you'll find that most people will dress themselves from penny's before they'd go to a 2nd hand store... and they'll most likely come out with more change in their pocket.

ive seen my missus spend 20 in there and come out with a lot more than you'd ever get for 20 in a charity store.

just because someone looks like they're dressed well, doesnt mean they're better off. half those clothes that look great now will be thread bare in 8/9 months.

there are a lot of people doing badly but managing to keep up appearances because of sweatshop prices.

there is genuine reason for pennys/primark's massive expansion over the last 8 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,278 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Ah, banging that drum again, how very closed minded and almost xenophobic of you ;) Guess I'm lucky I'm not German or some other type of foreigner.

Yet more fake offence.

You still don't get the point do you.

aw c'mon..... cold and wind so we all stay at home? You sound like my granny of 94! I think people are made of stronger stuff at this stage:)

maybe wherever you live buses have been cancelled but not in my neck of the woods, Drogheda - which has a big population (no reduction on Property tax in Co Louth either - yet we are in and out of the Meath border in lots of areas here and Meath got 15% reduction - my neighbours 3 minutes away live in Meath in a bigger house than me but pay less property tax - such an unfair system but don't get me started :mad:)

You don't think it's relevant that you reside and pay income taxes in another country?

Reasonable.

But what's with the "German or some other kind of foreigner" bollox :confused:

Your rebuttals are becoming increasingly difficult to take seriously tbh.

you'll find that most people will dress themselves from penny's before they'd go to a 2nd hand store... and they'll most likely come out with more change in their pocket.

ive seen my missus spend 20 in their and come out with a lot more than you'd ever get for 20 in a charity store.

just because someone looks like they're dressed well, doesnt mean they're better off. half those clothes that look great now will be thread bare in 8/9 months.

their are a lot of people doing badly but managing to keep up appearances because of sweatshop prices.

there is genuine reason for pennys/primark's massive expansion over the last 8 years.

Also in Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Portugal, Spain, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom

I've also bought plenty of stuff from a second hand shop (Kringloop)

Tony EH wrote: »
    Yet more fake offence.

You still don't get the point do you.

Small minded little man. :rolleyes:
    You don't think it's relevant that you reside and pay income taxes in another country?

Reasonable.

But what's with the "German or some other kind of foreigner" bollox :confused:

Your rebuttals are becoming increasingly difficult to take seriously tbh.

If I was German it would be xenophobic, but because I'm Irish and you immediately think I have no stake in the country.

So which would you prefer ?

Do I have to be an Irish Tax Payer ?
    What nationality should I be ?
    What percentage of my time do I need to spend in Ireland to qualify for an opinion.

Also in Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Portugal, Spain, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom

I've also bought plenty of stuff from a second hand shop (Kringloop)

ive no problem with 2nd hand stores myself. i just got a red tab levis jacket from one. the cheaper the better as far as im concerned.

my point is that you cant tell if someone is feeling the pinch because of how they look. i can dress myself from pennys for less than the cost of a big mac meal.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

And what does he/she do?

Bangs on the xenophobic drum.

What happened to you'r earlier post on marches?

Gave up and just moved to another hot topic have we.?

Small minded little man. :rolleyes:

If I was German it would be xenophobic, but because I'm Irish and you immediately think I have no stake in the country.

So which would you prefer ?

Do I have to be an Irish Tax Payer ?
    What nationality should I be ?
    What percentage of my time do I need to spend in Ireland to qualify for an opinion.

If you were paying all your income tax, levies, charges etc in this country, I'm just curious if you'd support more of your cash propping up a huge quango tbh, you are on record of saying you pay for services where you're based, but equally, you're on record as saying the services are first class.

Not so in Ireland.

As for the xenophobic insinuations, that's just a cheap shot from someone who has clearly ran out of coherent arguments to make.

Actually, scrap that, you did put the word "almost" in front, and you underlined it too, which obviously means you weren't inferring anything at all.

(am I doing it right?)

If you were paying all your income tax, levies, charges etc in this country, I'm just curious if you'd support more of your cash propping up a huge quango tbh, you are on record of saying you pay for services where you're based, but equally, you're on record as saying the services are first class.

ive visited berlin a number of times. if we had their services there'd be no need for tomorrow at all (though im not saying their system isnt without problems... they just pale against ours).

unfortunately ireland is a joke in comparison.

roll on tomorrow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

MOD

Lads, anyone with an account here is entitled to post their view if it adheres to the charter, whether they live here or not.

I ask again that both sides remain civil, attack the post, not the poster. Report any posts you feel breach the charter, thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭AboutaWeekAgo

Do you have confidence in Taoiseach Enda Kenny?

No: 74%
    Yes: 21%
    I Don't Know: 4%

http://www.thejournal.ie/confidence-in-taoiseach-enda-kenny-poll-1823125-Dec2014/

Not looking like it's going to be the best week for Enda, hopefully he can come out tomorrow for a chat and explain to the people how "all the problems and worries they had about Irish Water have been delt with".

Not so in Ireland.

As for the xenophobic insinuations, that's just a cheap shot from someone who has clearly ran out of coherent arguments to make.

Actually, scrap that, you did put the word "almost" in front, and you underlined it too, which obviously means you weren't inferring anything at all.

(am I doing it right?)

I pay for the services where I live.

Because I work in Germany I have no Income in the Netherlands so direct payment means I contribute to those great services you mention.

Living in Ireland I contribute nothing because councils are funded by central taxation.

Hence why I have a problem with the system

Explain to me how that is fair on someone paying tax in Ireland that doesn't live in Ireland or vice versa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭SaveOurLyric

Do you have confidence in Taoiseach Enda Kenny?

No: 74%
    Yes: 21%
    I Don't Know: 4%

http://www.thejournal.ie/confidence-in-taoiseach-enda-kenny-poll-1823125-Dec2014/

Not looking like it's going to be the best week for Enda, hopefully he can come out tomorrow for a chat and explain to the people how "all the problems and worries they had about Irish Water have been delt with".

Not looking good for the capability of the Irish to govern themselves. Only 21% have good judgement. The rest just like electing someone new everytime they get the chance and they get the hump when it turns out they havent elected a miracle worker.

Disappointed with you people of Ireland. Disappointed. So much potential, but must try harder.

There's a mod Warning on thread about discussing where you do, or do not pay tax, so I'll leave it, if it's all the same to you. :cool:

Not looking good for the capability of the Irish to govern themselves. Only 21% have good judgement. The rest just like electing someone new everytime they get the chance and they get the hump when it turns out they havent elected a miracle worker.

Disappointed with you people of Ireland. Disappointed. So much potential, but must try harder.

Maybe Ireland will beat Belgium for a world record.

Or maybe Ireland will just vote Fianna Fail again.

Not looking good for the capability of the Irish to govern themselves. Only 21% have good judgement.

but yet when we demand kenny resign we get thrown the old 'democratic process' line.

im beginning to think you're a little biased @saveourlyric. surely in a democratic process (that you all so love to harp on about whenever FG is questioned) the majority is right. otherwise it wouldnt be democracy, would it?

unless you're suggesting that FG continue to 'rule' and absolutely, with no mandate? that would be a different discussion altogether now, would it!