Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IW/Anything Water Related-Warning in OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Does it mean more when you add lots exclamation marks?

It Does ... ... ...
    This guvement is Done. It's goose is cooked.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

BBJBIG wrote: »
    Bankers, Builders, Crooked Politicians (now on big pensions), Banks, Bond Holders, EU, ECB, IMF - !!! 65 Billion Shamrocks !!!! - dodgy French Letters from Trichet - there's your problem right there.

The game is UP ... ... ...

Time to REVOLT !!! !!! !!! !!! !!! !!!

:mad:

Is that morse code?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭opinionated3

As much as it kills me to say it i reckon this tax is coming in no matter what we do. As i said to the missus our only democratic option is not to give labour or fine gael a vote next time around. I don't even want their election manifesto put into my letter box. I made the mistake of giving them a vote the last time but i won't make that error ever again as long as I'm alive. ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Fianna Fáil would never have done this to us.

As much as it kills me to say it i reckon this tax is coming in no matter what we do. As i said to the missus our only democratic option is not to give labour or fine gael a vote next time around. I don't even want their election manifesto put into my letter box. I made the mistake of giving them a vote the last time but i won't make that error ever again as long as I'm alive. ....

Who would you rather have instead?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Exactly... v soon there will be literally nobody to vote for.... or at least nobody one can vote for. FF, FG, Labour have all completely sh1t the bed. And no I am not voting for that other shower run by the bearded one.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Those lads who promise only to tax other people.

They seem on the ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Am I hearing things or did someone shout f**king eejit across the Dail at Barry Cowan? Fairly unparliamentary language if so.

Those lads who promise only to tax other people.

They seem on the ball.

We are already being taxed for Water. This is the second tax on water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Exactly... v soon there will be literally nobody to vote for.... or at least nobody one can vote for. FF, FG, Labour have all completely sh1t the bed. And no I am not voting for that other shower run by the bearded one.

I feeL strongly that if SF offloaded Adams, they would romp to 30+ seats in the next election. With Adams I don't see them getting more than 25.

Am I hearing things or did someone shout f**king eejit across the Dail at Barry Cowan? Fairly unparliamentary language if so.

Neither f**k or eejit are explicitly included in the list of unparliamentary words.

Yahoo and corner boy are though, make of that what you will.

Fuhrer wrote: »

An insightful & original response

Thank you, my friend.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,212 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Do you really think the water charge will be €160 for long? If that was the case Irish Water would be running up huge deficits, which would beg the question why set it up in the first place.

You see, what the government are trying to do now is fool the people into signing up now with these lowered charges and once it is in you will see prices rocket up and maybe the company even getting privatised.

It's in the legislation that the charges won't be changed until 2018. Also if it is ever to be privatised there will have to be a referendum.

No PPS numbers are needed anymore. I think they said the bonus structure for IW employees has been totally removed and the current board are going as well, they'll be replaced with a new board. Although I imagine they'll have serious difficulty finding anyone to run it now after all that has happened. They must be the most hated organisation in the country, who would want to work for them?

I'm not sure tbh. My constituency is clare. I'd consider myself Centre right in political terms and I'm not a person who explicitly always voted for a certain party. I vote for who i think i can trust. In clare at the moment I'd Trust none of our candidates unfortunately. ..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

All this country has is bloody insight, we need more action. Whatever your opinion, it's great to see people finally standing up for themselves

• Registered Users Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

MadYaker wrote: »
    It's in the legislation that the charges won't be changed until 2018. Also if it is ever to be privatised there will have to be a referendum.

All it needs is it to be signed off by 2 ministers for it to be privatised.

MadYaker wrote: »

No PPS numbers are needed anymore. I think they said the bonus structure for IW employees has been totally removed and the current board are going as well, they'll be replaced with a new board. Although I imagine they'll have serious difficulty finding anyone to run it now after all that has happened. They must be the most hated organisation in the country, who would want to work for them?

The 'legislation' ref the capped charges can be changed between now and 2018.

There has been no mention of 'referendum' in terms of privatisation, Kelly used the word plebiscite instead, for a reason.

I look forward to seeing how they remove the bonus structure when contracts of employment with them in them are in place.

A massive complete cluster**** as per usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

at the end of the day it's obvious that the government realise they have made a massive mistake. of course they have no way of backtracking now as hundreds of millions has already been spent setting up a quango and installing meters.

they could have admitted their mistake, rolled back and let the country decide if they were genuinely remorseful. but they have chosen the politicians path.....tell all your party members to say the same thing over and over again to try to convince the public. defend it to the end, even though they know it's a cluster f*ck.

i'm glad in a way that it has come to this.
    it finally awoke the Irish people after 7 years of austerity to actually get out and protest. and it will be the end of FG and Lab for a few years at least.

i have no affiliation to any party. in fact, i think party politics is kinda pointless as the individuals aren't allowed to express their own opinion, but I hate liars in all walks of life. i hate that they lied to get into government and that they continue to lie.

this really isn't about water charges at all. It's about 7 years of being sold down the river by successive governments. what would really have happened to us as a country if we had burned (some) of the bondholders??

i'm glad the politicians are getting a hard time. i don't agree with them being verbally or physically harassed, however I am fully in favour of peaceful protests. this is what i mean by giving them a hard time.

Pat Rabitte on Prime Time last night making a complete fool of himself. backtracking on Labours pre-election promise of not introducing water charges and giving out about protestors. This, the same Pat Rabitte who was president of UCG students union and subsequently president of the USI who no doubt attended many's a protest in his time.
    I used to have a lot of time and respect for him when he was in opposition.

we are finally as a nation waking up and standing up for ourselves.

apologies for the disjointed waffle!!

I'm not sure tbh. My constituency is clare. I'd consider myself Centre right in political terms and I'm not a person who explicitly always voted for a certain party. I vote for who i think i can trust. In clare at the moment I'd Trust none of our candidates unfortunately. ..

I don't think the current government have done a bad job & I know I'm leaving myself open for a load of abuse but I don't have an issue with the water charges. Personally I'd hate to see FF back in power & I don't trust some of the other parties to not make a complete mess of things.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭shinzon

jaysus I cant believe how many people have posted on this thread saying those charges aren't bad there drawing you in not forcing you to sign up just offering sweetners, can you not see this.

This government wont be in power in 2016 so anything he says as regards legislation can be all rolled back on.

Don't be fooled FFS

Shin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

Two out of the three TD's in Dublin North East are now Independents, I would have voted for both - more in a negative sense to help oust FF though. No way will I vote for any of these three parties in the next election, particularly Labour as they have forgotten their socialist roots.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Fuhrer wrote: »

really???? last time i checked, the water service costs about 1.5% of the entire budget. it is, in my opinion an excellent service for most of the year.

meanwhile, our public sector and social welfare takes up 44% of our budget and the vast majority of the private working force in Ireland dont see very little of this apart from child welfare.

yet, all the outrage is over some apparent tax we allegedly pay on water.

I don't think the current government have done a bad job & I know I'm leaving myself open for a load of abuse but I don't have an issue with the water charges. Personally I'd hate to see FF back in power & I don't trust some of the other parties to not make a complete mess of things.

Presumably you have some limits on what you'll be willing to pay for water charges though?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,095 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Clowns, all they proved that this is nothing more than another tax which is why we were marching the streets and will continue to, nothing about conservation or leading to a better infrastructure. Everyone saw through this from day one and now they have shown there hand.
    How much was spent setting up this? Completely pissed down the drain, the final nail in the coffin for FG/Labour.

This was there last play, if people don't accept this it will be abolished. The revenue it will generate VS the damage to the parties is miniscule.

at the end of the day it's obvious that the government realise they have made a massive mistake. of course they have no way of backtracking now as hundreds of millions has already been spent setting up a quango and installing meters.

they could have admitted their mistake, rolled back and let the country decide if they were genuinely remorseful. but they have chosen the politicians path.....tell all your party members to say the same thing over and over again to try to convince the public. defend it to the end, even though they know it's a cluster f*ck.

i'm glad in a way that it has come to this.
    it finally awoke the Irish people after 7 years of austerity to actually get out and protest. and it will be the end of FG and Lab for a few years at least.

i have no affiliation to any party. in fact, i think party politics is kinda pointless as the individuals aren't allowed to express their own opinion, but I hate liars in all walks of life. i hate that they lied to get into government and that they continue to lie.

this really isn't about water charges at all. It's about 7 years of being sold down the river by successive governments. what would really have happened to us as a country if we had burned (some) of the bondholders??

i'm glad the politicians are getting a hard time. i don't agree with them being verbally or physically harassed, however I am fully in favour of peaceful protests. this is what i mean by giving them a hard time.

Pat Rabitte on Prime Time last night making a complete fool of himself. backtracking on Labours pre-election promise of not introducing water charges and giving out about protestors. This, the same Pat Rabitte who was president of UCG students union and subsequently president of the USI who no doubt attended many's a protest in his time.
    I used to have a lot of time and respect for him when he was in opposition.

we are finally as a nation waking up and standing up for ourselves.

apologies for the disjointed waffle!!

Nice post.

Pat Rabbitte is now the poster boy for all that is wrong with Irish politics/politicians, an incompetent 20/20 hindsight mouthpiece who does not know what a days work is, with the completely unjustified ego.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

So, there's no incentive to save. None. Well done FG, well fúcking done.

Fair comment. My frustration comes from the fact that both my wife and i work (in albeit not high paying jobs) and the tax we pay both in our wages and stealth taxes is just neverending. We simply cannot get ahead. I know who originally caused all this but I'm certainly not going to reward the current shower with a vote bearing in mind the pain the continue to cause

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

donvito99 wrote: »
    So, there's no incentive to save. None. Well done FG, well fúcking done.

......are you really surprised at this?

Fair comment. My frustration comes from the fact that both my wife and i work (in albeit not high paying jobs) and the tax we pay both in our wages and stealth taxes is just neverending. We simply cannot get ahead. I know who originally caused all this but I'm certainly not going to reward the current shower with a vote bearing in mind the pain the continue to cause

Plz God this will never be forgotten by ALL.