Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IW/Anything Water Related-Warning in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

He actually spoke sense for the most part. The country would be royally f**ked if Sinn Fein et al ever got into power. He just went a bit far with the ISIS but he was right about the rest to be honest. Don't see what the fuss is about.

Was he right about this...

He also claimed that protesters in Dublin are “like parasites” and said they “live off country people as they have never acknowledged the role of country people”.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,861 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Here we go again.. Sean taking sides again - despite the fact he wasn't even listening and had to be told by the fella keeping the record in front of him :rolleyes:

mikom wrote: »
    What next?
    Somebody will be murdered, and then where are we?
    Drive by shootings in the night, it'll be like Boys in the Hood. And then they'll have whores selling their wares in the middle of the street and the pimps will be using crack cocaine to keep the whores under control.

Thats the type of language you would associate with Kenny or Hogan.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Pocoyo

Despite the media spin the public i deal with in work are not paying the charges.

I asked about 40 people and only one said they would pay because they were afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭SaveOurLyric

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Very true.. this nonsense of family dynasties and jobs for life in our political system is a massive problem. Being a TD should be a privilege, not a right - and certainly not because your Daddy was the local TD before you.

Solution: Limit consecutive Government terms to 2x4 years, and a max of 3x4 year terms for TDs themselves.

Its a free vote. Irish people vote for the family dynasties because its what they choose. So no problem to solve as far as they are concerned - if thre were, they woudnt vote for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭BigBrownBear

I'm still undecided whether I'll pay or not............I'll see in January.

But, and it's a genuine observation, I think the compliance rate from non Irish nationals ( working in the health service) will be extremely high.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

I expected to get a laugh out of the clip but actually, I think he's got a point about the element of extremism in these protests, albeit not made very articulately. Most of the protestors are all shouting about different things. IW, PPS numbers, happy with paying in "principle", straw that broke the camels back, cronyism blabla list goes on. And now the government has made the pill "easier" to swallow for those who insist on never letting their children fend for themselves (4 adult households wtf??), they've found something new to "peacefully" protest about. Screaming, while not physical, is nonetheless violent. It's called verbal assault.

It's laughable that they think this is socialism "I'll keep everything for me to spend on myself". That's actually capitalism so own it. Despite what's being said all the time, I doubt very much that many are starving. If you want socialism, be prepared to cough up a lot more. Also, the welfare bill for Dublin is probably covered by taxes well beyond the means of its own tax take, meaning that it does, in fact, get covered by the rest of the country.

Compare the tax take to other Western European countries. You can dress it up any way you like, but Ireland is still not paying the going rate in tax. Saying USC should be taken into consideration is also moot as other countries, including your beloved Germany, are also paying this at the moment.

To be honest I have a sneaking suspicion that the reason IW is such a fiasco might have something to do with economic sovereignty. I doubt very much that the Troika care about who used to teach 2nd year in the community school in Ballydehob in 1985. If the government have so little control over the decision making, how were they allowed out to play with all the money that's gone on IW??

Poll on revised water charges...Will you pay?

http://www.thejournal.ie/poll-water-charges-4-1789664-Nov2014/

people are voting no two to one and on a pro charge site for that matter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭BigBrownBear

Pocoyo wrote: »

It may very well be true but a poll is only accurate when its done within strict conditions with mathematically agreed parameters.
    Maybe its 'near to the bone,' but it MAY not give an accurate..to plus or minus 3%... independent sample of the electorate
    The fact there is multiple ways of voting would reinforce this argument

I expected to get a laugh out of the clip but actually, I think he's got a point about the element of extremism in these protests, albeit not made very articulately. Most of the protestors are all shouting about different things. IW, PPS numbers, happy with paying in "principle", straw that broke the camels back, cronyism blabla list goes on. And now the government has made the pill "easier" to swallow for those who insist on never letting their children fend for themselves (4 adult households wtf??), they've found something new to "peacefully" protest about. Screaming, while not physical, is nonetheless violent. It's called verbal assault.

It's laughable that they think this is socialism "I'll keep everything for me to spend on myself". That's actually capitalism so own it. Despite what's being said all the time, I doubt very much that many are starving. If you want socialism, be prepared to cough up a lot more. Also, the welfare bill for Dublin is probably covered by taxes well beyond the means of its own tax take, meaning that it does, in fact, get covered by the rest of the country.

Compare the tax take to other Western European countries. You can dress it up any way you like, but Ireland is still not paying the going rate in tax. Saying USC should be taken into consideration is also moot as other countries, including your beloved Germany, are also paying this at the moment.

To be honest I have a sneaking suspicion that the reason IW is such a fiasco might have something to do with economic sovereignty. I doubt very much that the Troika care about who used to teach 2nd year in the community school in Ballydehob in 1985. If the government have so little control over the decision making, how were they allowed out to play with all the money that's gone on IW??

You have an agenda.

"Screaming, while not physical, is nonetheless violent. It's called verbal assault."

What do you call what goes on in Dail Eireann,day after day,and week after week?

And they get paid for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

2 to 1 against paying - clearly the wrong demographic, poll sample or whatever you're having yourself once again. The denial is overpowering as are the embellishments, water balloons and verbal assaults.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

3 to 1 against paying - clearly the wrong demographic, poll sample or whatever you're having yourself once again. The denial is overpowering .

That poll is showing 2 to 1

• Registered Users Posts: 21,464 ✭✭✭✭Alun

3 to 1 against paying - clearly the wrong demographic, poll sample or whatever you're having yourself once again. The denial is overpowering .
    There's always going to be a bias in any online poll in favour of the anti-<whatever> camp, regardless of the issue at hand. Just the same as online reviews, people complaining about goods or services always outnumber those who are happy with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Do we have to devote ourselves fulltime to the caphilate does anyone know?
    it's just the farm takes up most of my day, and in the evening I just like a nice cup of tea

• Registered Users Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

Catherine Murphy ‏@CathMurphyTD 9h9 hours ago
    When I asked in Dail about who got the Water metering contract my mic was turned off. I asked a PQ & got this today

https://twitter.com/CathMurphyTD/status/535385187316932608/photo/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭masculinist

Stargate wrote: »
    Catherine Murphy ‏@CathMurphyTD 9h9 hours ago
    When I asked in Dail about who got the Water metering contract my mic was turned off. I asked a PQ & got this today

https://twitter.com/CathMurphyTD/status/535385187316932608/photo/1

Horrible
    Benteke wrote: »
    Can't be any worse than the corrupt suits we have now, After all how bad do you need to be when they start making FF look like a safe pair of hands, FG & LAB are going to get wiped out, Fantastic day for irish politics, Dec 10th get out and walk with the people and bring this shower of corrupt scum to their knees

NO TO WATER CHARGES

This pretty much.

And I got sick in my mouth when I heard moanface complaining on the radio today about ''language'' trying to rope in through deception some sort of victim politics allies who want no part of her.

Real politics and real life is about actions. Complaints about ''language'' is just an attempt to shut down debate and is a distraction from decisions and actions. Just like when debate was shut down in he Dail , an extremely shameful day for this government.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Alun wrote: »
    There's always going to be a bias in any online poll in favour of the anti-<whatever> camp, regardless of the issue at hand. Just the same as online reviews, people complaining about goods or services always outnumber those who are happy with them.

And anudder one from Denis O'Brien's Indo. 77% against water charges.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/water/irish-water-crisis/poll-the-water-charges-have-been-revealed-do-you-intend-on-paying-the-bill-30759503.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Alun wrote: »

So the polls are biased?

gladrags wrote: »
    You have an agenda.

"Screaming, while not physical, is nonetheless violent. It's called verbal assault."

What do you call what goes on in Dail Eireann,day after day,and week after week?

And they get paid for it.

What agenda? I don't even live in Ireland anymore.

I'm going to be coming back to Cork temporarily quite soon, taking an opportunity to spend some time with my family having emigrated over 7 years ago. I would like it if there was a direct flight into Cork, but because the DAA have strangled Cork Airport there isn't. I would like to be able to cycle to do my grocery shopping, but because everyone insists on driving everywhere all the time, it's too dangerous. I would like to feel safe enough to walk the 20 minutes back to my house from the city after a night out, but that's not possible either. I would like for my husband to be able to commute directly from Cork Airport to his job in Germany, but again, the DAA has other ideas. I would like for there to be a park close by where there are facilities for me to allow my dog a run off the lead without doing anything illegal or bothering anyone, but again, no.

I have no political affiliations in Ireland. When I was voting there, I voted mostly independent and I think once ever a Labour candidate. I would just like it if people stopped being so caught up in hysteria that they can't see the bigger picture. You know why in other countries in Europe they can see where their tax money is going? Because they have been paying a lot more of it, for a much longer time. We pay water charges, property tax, local taxes, waste taxes, pet taxes, national health insurance, private health insurance, income tax, pensions.... the list goes on. All mandatory, and if we don't pay it gets sent to a debt collection agency, no negotiation.

We live in a nice neighbourhood, with people of all socio economic backgrounds and professions, earning more than us and less than us. If someone becomes sick or disabled, they are looked after on the basis of their needs or the length of time they have contributed. No medical cards, no blanket grants, but on what they actually require to find a way to benefit themselves and society again. Trains are expensive but run on time. Students here get a small grant to cover their subsidised fees, then loans to pay for the cost of their study and pay it back when they begin working. Over half of our income goes to ensuring that society functions in this way. It takes getting used to, but it's a damn sight better than the alternative. I just really wish that the people protesting would stop engaging in this "groupthink" and start being a bit more rational about what it's going to take before things improve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Seems Burton has made an official complaint about the false imprisonment imposed on her on Saturday. Hopefully there will be some arrests and charges out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Tinkersbell

Seems Burton has made an official complaint about the false imprisonment imposed on her on Saturday. Hopefully there will be some arrests and charges out of it.

If so, she should prosecuted for wasting police time.
    What a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

What agenda? I don't even live in Ireland anymore.

I'm going to be coming back to Cork temporarily quite soon, taking an opportunity to spend some time with my family having emigrated over 7 years ago. I would like it if there was a direct flight into Cork, but because the DAA have strangled Cork Airport there isn't. I would like to be able to cycle to do my grocery shopping, but because everyone insists on driving everywhere all the time, it's too dangerous. I would like to feel safe enough to walk the 20 minutes back to my house from the city after a night out, but that's not possible either. I would like for my husband to be able to commute directly from Cork Airport to his job in Germany, but again, the DAA has other ideas. I would like for there to be a park close by where there are facilities for me to allow my dog a run off the lead without doing anything illegal or bothering anyone, but again, no.

I have no political affiliations in Ireland. When I was voting there, I voted mostly independent and I think once ever a Labour candidate. I would just like it if people stopped being so caught up in hysteria that they can't see the bigger picture. You know why in other countries in Europe they can see where their tax money is going? Because they have been paying a lot more of it, for a much longer time. We pay water charges, property tax, local taxes, waste taxes, pet taxes, national health insurance, private health insurance, income tax, pensions.... the list goes on. All mandatory, and if we don't pay it gets sent to a debt collection agency, no negotiation.

We live in a nice neighbourhood, with people of all socio economic backgrounds and professions, earning more than us and less than us. If someone becomes sick or disabled, they are looked after on the basis of their needs or the length of time they have contributed. No medical cards, no blanket grants, but on what they actually require to find a way to benefit themselves and society again. Trains are expensive but run on time. Students here get a small grant to cover their subsidised fees, then loans to pay for the cost of their study and pay it back when they begin working. Over half of our income goes to ensuring that society functions in this way. It takes getting used to, but it's a damn sight better than the alternative. I just really wish that the people protesting would stop engaging in this "groupthink" and start being a bit more rational about what it's going to take before things improve.

Tbh, you sound like a bit of a whinger.

Ireland might be very well rid of ye, and btw, I cycle lots of places, my wife walks home alone loads of times, and I live within a five min drive of TWO parks with lead free dog areas.

Au revoir.

Tbh, you sound like a bit of a whinger.

Ireland might be very well rid of ye, and btw, I cycle lots of places, my wife walks home alone loads of times, and I live within a five min drive of TWO parks with lead free dog areas.

Au revoir.

Yep, mé féin to the bone. Very conducive to socialism.

'Some dubliners want to behave like parasites and live off the country people'

****** idiot :D

We country people have not experienced the recovery like dublin if he thinks this rubbish will divide us hes mistaking dubs,galwegians,corconians and limerick people have never been more united the support and banter on social media for each others counties has been inspiring.

FFS i might even holiday in sligo this year. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭shinzon

looks like the ****s hit the fan in Europe there not happy apparently

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/1120/660891-water-charges/

Shin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

So the polls are biased?

They have to be - they're not coming up with the result the pro-side want.

Has any poll come up with the result they want.... dont think so??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

I hope the Guards spend their time getting all those ISIS bastards instead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Has any poll come up with result they want.... dont think so??

I'm pretty sure most of the polls both here and on the journal have had more people going to pay than not going to.