Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IW/Anything Water Related-Warning in OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Sobko wrote: »
    The protests have already had an effect and has the government on the run. And it has kept money in their pockets as the fees are now less and there is no limit on what you can use or have you not been watching the state propaganda sponsored station?

It is a subtle card trick that has been used to trick the people of Ireland by the Labour and Fine Gael Traitors. The unit cost has reduced slightly and they claim a cap on cost for a period of 3 years but state this won't be available till next year.

But they have removed the free allowance so that in a years time when they do away with the €100 allowance and have raised the tax above what it was on Tuesday last they will be making even more from the gullible Paddies Maggies and Patsies of Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Water is obviously a crucial resource. Delivering it to 4.5 million people and managing the huge infrastructure and staff of a wide variety of skills is a very complex and skilled job. Not many people can do it successfully. We need our most experienced and most capable people like Mr. Kearns and Mr. Tierney managing such an operation. Paying them figures like that is a minute fraction of the operating costs, and in truth, represents excellent value for money for the quality of service they provide to the rest of us.
    With lengthy and wide of experience and success in public service management, they are both ideally suited to implementing the particularly technically and politically difficult challenge, of drawing together and implementing a single, economically viable, 26 county water authority. Exactly the type of men we need in such positions.

You have a strange interpretation of the word success. These lads would never have made it to levels they are at in a private company and even if they did, they would have got the chop by now.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,820 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Water is obviously a crucial resource. Delivering it to 4.5 million people and managing the huge infrastructure and staff of a wide variety of skills is a very complex and skilled job. Not many people can do it successfully. We need our most experienced and most capable people like Mr. Kearns and Mr. Tierney managing such an operation. Paying them figures like that is a minute fraction of the operating costs, and in truth, represents excellent value for money for the quality of service they provide to the rest of us.
    With lengthy and wide of experience and success in public service management, they are both ideally suited to implementing the particularly technically and politically difficult challenge, of drawing together and implementing a single, economically viable, 26 county water authority. Exactly the type of men we need in such positions.

Most capable people? Kearns wouldn't be capable of running a bath, never mind a public utility company.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Pocoyo

This year the the government are pumping 700 million into IW next year it will be 1,08 billlion on top of the 1,2 billion we already pay if you include the water charges we are paying for water 3 ******* TIMES!!! these Absolute crooks will be thrown out on the 10th!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Widely reported now about the spin included in the new figures released by the government for IW. Fact is the free allowance is gone and in a few years time we will have massive water charges throughout the nation. Thank god the message is getting out there and we aren't depending on Irishwatertalk and state media to keep us informed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Tinkersbell

Widely reported now about the spin included in the new figures released by the government for IW. Fact is the free allowance is gone and in a few years time we will have massive water charges throughout the nation. Thank god the message is getting out there and we aren't depending on Irishwatertalk and state media to keep us informed.

Absolutely.
    The 'free' allowance has been scrapped, paving the way for massive increases in years to come.
    After the troika's slap down yesterday, that'll be way sooner than 2018-2019.
    Enda thinks he can buy off the electorate with a 'fantastic introductory offer' and '€100 cashback' when you sign up....

It's like the 'half price for 6 months' SKY and the rest of them are offering, but without the option of cancelling the contract when you realise you've been had.

RobertKK wrote: »
    Noel Coonan spoke the truth about the socialist party. They never cared that rural people always paid for water.
    Now we are finally getting €100 towards the cost and these parasites as he called them are against it.

that's it mate, you're easily taken in by the divide and conquer ideal!!
    The implication is that all DUBS are villains (considering that's where the largest marches have been) If they turn us against each other, they win out!!

These marches are from a united Ireland against one policy, all counties equally but you are sooooo easily taken to bed by anyone who plays on your prejudice!!! guys like you are the reason Kenny smiles everyday!!

Hope you enjoy your time in the bed with them cos you're the one holding his ankles and lubing up mate!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,861 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Absolutely.
    The 'free' allowance has been scrapped, paving the way for massive increases in years to come.
    Enda thinks he can buy off the electorate with a 'fantastic introductory offer' and '€100 cashback' when you sign up....

It's like the 'half price for 6 months' SKY and the rest of them are offering, but without the option of cancelling the contract when you realise you've been had.

Some people aren't doing too bad out of this though...
    Siteserv, the utility support services group owned by businessman Denis O’Brien, has increased its turnover by almost a quarter over the past year.

The group produced a pretax profit of €6.9 million on a turnover of €171 million during the eight months to the end of 2013, according to accounts filed recently.

The directors’ report accompanying the accounts said that unaudited results for the group’s businesses for the two most recent 12-month periods showed an underlying increase in revenue of about 23 per cent.

Mr O’Brien bought the Siteserv business for €45 million in 2012 using an Isle of Man company called Millington. The sale involved the State-owned Irish Bank Resolution Corporation getting just €40 million of the €150 million it was owed by the former plc.

Still, at least we'll be getting some of that back now....... oh wait...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Woodville56

Well grounded piece by Arthur Beesley in today's Irish Times Business Section on the anti water water charges movement - required reading for all would be revolutionaries, lest they lose the run of themselves! Or can the grand conspirator Denis O'Brien be blamed for this too ?

Absolutely.

YES and the worst thing is that Irish Water will be a MONOPOLY!

No choice if they put the prices up - no chance to "shop around" for a better deal.

At least with SKY we have options.... UPC, Saorview, etc

Well grounded piece by Arthur Beesley in today's Irish Times Business Section on the anti water water charges movement - required reading for all would be revolutionaries, lest they lose the run of themselves! Or can the grand conspirator Denis O'Brien be blamed for this too ?

haven't seen it Woodville, any good? though well grounded and Irish times are mutually exclusive in my eyes I have to say. why is it in the business section?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

adrag wrote: »
    Firstly I wasn't crying about anyone leaving, secondly we are paying banks in Germany (bailout) which benefits your economy.now why dont you do us all a favour and stay wherever the fcuk u are cause we've plenty of moanbags and Irish bashers here without u adding to it, Go raibh mait agat

Husband works in Germany. We reside in the Netherlands and thus I work and we are both paid here. Good job on the geography. I will go where I please and will pay what is required of me to live in Irish society.
    jonnny68 wrote: »
    social media might have it's pitfalls but at least you are guaranteed seeing things how they really are on facebook that you wont see on the shambles that is RTE and the equally as bad gutter press who put a massive spin on anything,and come out with bull****,day in,day out!

morning,noon and night there are people protesting countrywide,people leafleting,putting up posters and having meetings, this is a mass campaign that will never back down until this toxic quango and even more toxic government are gone.

roll on 29th November outside IW offices on Talbot street and the big one on December 10th.

I don't think there is any guarantee on this either. I don't have any access to RTE so my opinion isn't based on the state controlled media. For example, the video of bollard lady was conveniently missing what happened beforehand, and also missed what was going on on the left hand side ie, the Garda trying to stop her from smacking her head on the bollard. That's just one example.

What's really struck me about the protestors blocking the installation of meters and screaming "peaceful protest" is how aggressive they are. Them, and even some (and I mean some not all) of the anti water charges posters here, don't seem to be able to string a coherent sentence together, let alone have a reasonable conversation about what they want, what is possible, and what should be compromised on. The reason I raised the issue of groupthink earlier is because they're all backing eachother up, and if one anti says something another agrees with, it doesn't matter to them if they say 10 things that they disagree with, or even if a pro says something that they half agree with. This is hysterical. They can't see beyond the problems to come up with a realistic solution, and don't want to listen to anything else that might ask even a tiny amount of compromise on it.

And now the government have come up with something so convoluted that it's not fair or sensible for anyone, let alone the future management of the most important resource in the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I don't have any access to RTE so my opinion isn't based on the state controlled media

www.rte.ie

Seems legit.

Great article that sums up perfectly my feelings on the issue recently:

http://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/protest-and-be-damned-water-activists-demonised-1.2007599?page=2
    The “clashes” and “threats” over the past few weeks don’t amount to a hill of beans. The incidents have been grossly exaggerated to portray serious opponents of the current political order as little better than terrorists.
    Meanwhile, the role of the law-and-order arm of the State is prettified to an extent which renders it unrecognisable.
    The Government and its supporters are inviting the people to look at themselves in a distorting mirror.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,335 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

rusty cole wrote: »
    haven't seen it Woodville, any good? though well grounded and Irish times are mutually exclusive in my eyes I have to say. why is it in the business section?

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/water-charge-hysteria-a-pseudo-crisis-1.2009459

Most sensible thing I've read/heard in ages.

Bit of perspective.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,277 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

shinzon wrote: »

Video here I guess ISIS extremists go round water ballooning there victims

Christ almighty tbh

Shin

When there are people in positions of power, who possess that limited caliber of brain calculation, you know something is very wrong indeed.

:(

Prattling on and on about "socialists" as well and Fine Gael are in power with Labour.

What a stupid c*nt.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

www.rte.ie

Seems legit.

Ya, touché, although it's really not something I'd bother with. I read a lot of links posted on Facebook (for example, Rabble) and if someone makes claims about something that are extreme or ridiculous then I google and see what I can come up with. I'm avoiding the Independent aswell as it's claimed that it's biased in the same way RTE is.

What I'm trying to say is some antis are just looking at the black and white. They're not seeing the grey, and are too stubborn to do anything else. This is what makes people unreasonable.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Ogham

The abolishing of the free allowance was kept very quiet - not mentioned in any speeches (apart from P Murphy) as far as I can see.
    Some figures here on the affect of the removal of the free allowance - seems many pensioners / lower income people will be worse off under the new scheme.

http://www.moneyguideireland.com/water-did-you-notice-the-free-allowance-was-abolished.html

• Registered Users Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

Off to battle lads...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,482 ✭✭✭tigger123

Looking at the Arthur Beesley piece in the IT, Paul Murphy seems to be in possession of an exceptionally smug demeanour.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

• Registered Users Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭sky6

It's very simple really. If the Government believe their right in enforcing Water charges against the peoples will, Then they should just call an election with a one page Manifesto Water Charges. But they won't because they know in their Hearts people are strongly opposed to it. Now that would be the Democratic thing to do.
    There is no Democracy in this country, And that won't change until people force change. ( Turkeys don't vote for Christmas.)
    The peoples power to call on the President to dissolve the Government in the face of Mass Public opinion and opposition needs to be re installed in the Constitution after it was conveniently removed by the Gov of the day in 1938.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,277 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Stargate wrote: »
    Catherine Murphy ‏@CathMurphyTD 9h9 hours ago
    When I asked in Dail about who got the Water metering contract my mic was turned off. I asked a PQ & got this today

https://twitter.com/CathMurphyTD/status/535385187316932608/photo/1

Barrett needs to be done away with. His bias is appalling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Oh dear...pathetic really. Heavily blinkered or connected?

OK let me try something. Lets say a new private water utility company is coming to Ireland and they have the budget to hire the best and brightest.
    These 2 gentlemen come in for interview with these CVs...

Hubert Kearns (ex Council Manager Sligo, now Irish Water)
    => Left the Sligo council in debt of €80 million after hugely controversial 17 years in charge.
    => Quoted as saying "It's not the end of the world, nobody died"
    => Refused to attend council meetings in a dispute. Spent 50k hiring delegate to represent him.
    => Retired on massive payout and annual pension (think future motivation here)
    => When asked why his salary was more than the prime minister of Spain, responded "I am surprised that the Spanish prime minister earns so little"
    => Hated by the other Sligo councillors, only 1 attended his retirement party.

John Tierney (ex Dublin City Manager, now Irish Water)
    => Wasted €96m on the Poolbeg incinerator project
    => Appeared before the PAC because "this represents one of the most outrageous uses of public money, considering that not a single brick has been laid" (John McGuinness quote)
    => Poolbeg project: €32m has been spent on consultancy services
    => Poolbeg: More than €30m was spent relocating a firm that had its premises on the Dublin 4 site chosen for the incinerator.
    => Poolbeg: Mr Tierney's successor as Dublin City Manager, Owen Keegan, has banned any further spending on consultancy until the results of an EU investigation into complaints against the Poolbeg project are received.
    => Irish Water: €50m has been spent on consultancy services setting up secretive quango
    => IW: Oversaw bonus scheme for the company’s employees, which could see them earning up to 14% extra on top of their salaries even if their performance is under par.
    => IW: Managed a new company where operational policy is made up on the fly
    => IW: Managed a new company where the customer service ranges from the functional to the awful.
    => IW: The new company was overstaffed by approx 2000 local authority people who are endemically overpaid
    => IW: No apparent focus on water network renewal
    => IW: As a CEO considered extensive political interference with his role to be acceptable and became a puppet for the government.

Which one would you hire???

Oh and don't forget, some people benefit from consultancy...
    Both Jerry Grant, Irish Water’s head of asset management, and Elizabeth Arnett, head of communications and corporate services, previously worked for RPS Group, a consultancy firm that had advised the state in the setting up of Irish Water – part of a consultancy package that has so far cost the state €85m. RPS also made some €30m out of its consultancy contract on the Poolbeg project, a contract the European Commission described as “an illegal situation.

Vote RPPP #1, he is your old chance...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/water-charge-hysteria-a-pseudo-crisis-1.2009459

Most sensible thing I've read/heard in ages.

Bit of perspective.

From that article talking about people who wont pay: "The bill will be added as a charge on the property"

This simply isn't true, it's a utility and it's a private company and they will want their money. The same thing was said about property tax "It'll be a charge on the property and you wont be able to sell a house until the charge is cleared" and then revenue said fcuk this, and just took it from people's wages.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

smash wrote: »
    From that article talking about people who wont pay: "The bill will be added as a charge on the property"

This simply isn't true, it's a utility and it's a private company and they will want their money. The same thing was said about property tax "It'll be a charge on the property and you wont be able to sell a house until the charge is cleared" and then revenue said fcuk this, and just took it from people's wages.

I agree. This isn't a tax/Revenue affair, I'm guessing the threat to place a lien against the house would have very dodgy legal standing.

What utility bill would be next?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

little issue in Waterford ,
    Protest march planned for this Saturday the 22nd and the local Radio Stations according to reports from organisers have not broadcast any information even on their public notices section
    There seemly have been numerous requests from the organisers but still nothing has been announced .

Shameful behaviour if its true.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 479 ✭✭In Lonesome Dove

shinzon wrote: »

Video here I guess ISIS extremists go round water ballooning there victims

Christ almighty tbh

Shin

I watched this late last night and the words that came pouring out of his mouth is severely sickening.

People are beginning to wake up and rise against austerity and the government to. It's happening in many other European countries too and in other countries they are not very kind when protesting. Here in Ireland many people have the intelligence that there's no point in going about destroying things like with petrol bombs in other countries. Such behaviour is just going to harm people and send Ireland down further into a hole due to straining an already over worked emergency services and the budget to go with fixing things too.

These protesters here at home in Ireland is showing their displeasure and disappointment towards their elected representatives and this guy is standing up in the dáil and comparing protesters to a group of people in Iran or Iraq or somewhere that beheads people. Like WTF.

ISIS is a group that wants power and control and goes about beheading people.

This fcuk has compared Paul Murphy (who I never heard of until last week, but I admire him) to ISIS. Pretty much implying that Paul Murphy is going to go around and behead people or hurt people or cause damage if people don't comply to his views on water charges and austerity.

Stargate wrote: »

Holy Jesus. That's some level of anger out there.

I don't see how Enda can survive this, he must be the most unpopular man in Ireland by the looks of things.