Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IW/Anything Water Related-Warning in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

Holy Jesus. That's some level of anger out there.

I don't see how Enda can survive this, he must be the most unpopular man in Ireland by the looks of things.

You can feel it in the crowd too . Its intense .

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=379598042199818

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=379601705532785

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Can someone link muse uprising up here?

Can't do it on this phone but very apt for the situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Stargate wrote: »

Wait Enda will spin it and make out these are some of the many people him and Joan have been talking to up and down the country ,And their look for clarity etc etc .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

The anger has not abated.There is no coming back from this. They are finished.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Listen to how unreasonable those people are

• Registered Users Posts: 24,062 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Just heard about Noel Coonan's comment.

I'm willing to let the house go for whats left on the mortgage. Apply within. I'll be in a cave in the Canadian Rockies if anyone wants me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    Wait Enda will spin it and make out these are some of the many people him and Joan have been talking to up and down the country ,And their look for clarity etc etc .....

Or that they're cheering and chanting in support of the government.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭omega man

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/water-charge-hysteria-a-pseudo-crisis-1.2009459

Most sensible thing I've read/heard in ages.

Bit of perspective.

Good read. Sadly some won't read it as it won't fit their agenda.

yipeeeee wrote: »
    Can someone link muse uprising up here?

Can't do it on this phone but very apt for the situation.

Just for you :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭sjb25

A lot of very angry people there that's a proper protest no argy bargy or anyting just the people voiceing there opposition the gardai have the area well set up aswell double barriers so no chance of it escalating nice buffer zone

This is how all protests should be and hopefully there will be plenty more like it i have been kind of in the middle ground on this iv defended the gardai and that's all but after the rubbish spouted over the last few days by FG and Labour and mainly the arrogance of leaving the dail the other day after they made the announcement (it was like this is what we are doing now do what you are told good luck than a debate)

I'm firmly on the no side now fcuk them!!!! Il still stand up for the gardai just doing there job but fcuk labour and FG I would never have voted Sinn Fein or independents but you no what I will now shower of wasters tge lot of them Sinn Fein mite be aswell but feck it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

omega man wrote: »
    Good read.
    So is this. From the same site. http://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/why-the-irish-government-is-not-required-to-implement-water-charges-on-households-1.2009288#.VG8IoxiItmw.facebook
    Sadly some won't read it as it won't fit their agenda.

Some here will prob skip past once they see the headline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Woodville56

@ Red Pepper - Big research there into Messrs Kearns, Tierney & IW . On the issue of the 2000 local authority staff transferred over to IW who are "endemically overpaid" - I know a graduate engineer transferred to IW ( no relation ) with a partner and young kid, can't get a mortgage, on a salary of just over €32k - endemically overpaid ? Really ? How many of the 2000 employees are on Tierney/Kearns type salaries - did your research tell you or is it more convenient and soundbite friendly to lump them all together as "endemically overpaid" ? Would a disbanded IW as has been mooted elsewhere here with 2000 more on the dole appeal more to your socialist leanings ?
    Edit: I have no family or work related connection with IW, just in case I'm accused of being a pro IW sympathiser

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

@ Red Pepper - Big research there into Messrs Kearns, Tierney & IW . On the issue of the 2000 local authority staff transferred over to IW who are "endemically overpaid" - I know a graduate engineer transferred to IW ( no relation ) with a partner and young kid, can't get a mortgage, on a salary of just over €32k - endemically overpaid ? Really ? How many of the 2000 employees are on Tierney/Kearns type salaries - did your research tell you or is it more convenient and soundbite friendly to lump them all together as "endemically overpaid" ? Would a disbanded IW as has been mooted elsewhere here with 2000 more on the dole appeal more to your socialist leanings ?

I know a urologist who got transferred over, no kids, 2 houses and hes on 96k per annum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Woodville56

Fuhrer wrote: »
    I know a urologist who got transferred over, no kids, 2 houses and hes on 96k per annum

Point being ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

sjb25 wrote: »
    A lot of very angry people there that's a proper protest no argy bargy or anyting just the people voiceing there opposition the gardai have the area well set up aswell double barriers so no chance of it escalating nice buffer zone

This is how all protests should be and hopefully there will be plenty more like it i have been kind of in the middle ground on this iv defended the gardai and that's all but after the rubbish spouted over the last few days by FG and Labour and mainly the arrogance of leaving the dail the other day after they made the announcement (it was like this is what we are doing now do what you are told good luck than a debate)

I'm firmly on the no side now fcuk them!!!! Il still stand up for the gardai just doing there job but fcuk labour and FG I would never have voted Sinn Fein or independents but you no what I will now shower of wasters tge lot of them Sinn Fein mite be aswell but feck it

Take note.
    It is lashing rain here in Cork- soaked to skin- people are angry - they are waiting for him to come out , he is going to UCC next !!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

Good read. Sadly some won't read it as it won't fit their agenda.

I have read the article,it is another opinion.

You can take or leave it, no agenda,no big deal.

See you on December 10th

• Registered Users Posts: 24,062 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Im with you BS, as you know, but Im skipping past it because its Kathy Sinnott. Urgh.

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭ThinkAboutIt

Would I be right in saying even if the water charges were ripped up, the costs would still come out of income tax, so everyone would pay anyway just be too thick to realise.

Or that they're cheering and chanting in support of the government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

sjb25 wrote: »
    I would never have voted Sinn Fein or independents but you no what I will now shower of wasters tge lot of them Sinn Fein mite be aswell but feck it

Calm your tits, lets not try and completely destroy the country just to get Enda out of power...

smash wrote: »
    Calm your tits, lets not try and completely destroy the country just to get Enda out of power...

I agree but who do you suggest I vote for I'm in Wexford my options will be Brendan howlin Paul keogh Sinn Fein candidate or the one and only mr mick Wallace!!!! Or few other independents O and a nob from FF

smash wrote: »

Dame Edna's time is up. More out of touch with the ordinary joe soap than even Bertie at this stage.

Don't see how Sinn Fein would "completely destroy the country" any more than FG, given our unemployment rate is still 11% even after taking into account emigration.

Funny how despite our supposedly stellar economic turnaround under FG they never mention the unemployment statistics.

Dame Edna's time is up. More out of touch with the ordinary joe soap than even Bertie at this stage.

Don't see how Sinn Fein would "completely destroy the country" any more than FG, given our unemployment rate is still 11% even after taking into account emigration.

Funny how despite our supposedly stellar economic turnaround under FG they never mention the unemployment statistics.

If you think Enda's sums are bad. Wait until you see Sinn Feins magical money tree sums.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

It's good to see so many people have so much free time on a working day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Edit: I have no family or work related connection with IW, just in case I'm accused of being a pro IW sympathiser

Please reply to my post so I can see what I am replying to.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=93125664&postcount=2305

Fine Gael’s Fergus O’Dowd, who helped set up Irish Water, claimed yesterday it is carrying 2,000 staff that are simply not needed.He added: “There are four-and-a-half thousand workers in Irish Water. They may be at least 1,000 overstaffed, maybe 2,000, overstaffed. “But those people had jobs already and if they can’t be deployed in local government we have to offer a constructive way to get them off the payroll.

Overstaffing by 2000 people is a lot of wasted payroll.

I don't have the payroll details but the fact that most are are longterm local authority employees, they have a rediculous bonus scheme and based off the starting salaries of the top men I would suggest that many people in IW are endemically overpaid. One graduate case does not prove me wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,955 ✭✭✭Daith

hmmm wrote: »

Aren't all days working days?

I'm working nights all weekend sorry for being on here on MY day Off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Tinkersbell

I have never seen anything like this in Ireland in my 46 years on this planet.
    The Irish people have finally awoken from their FF induced slumber.

#feelingproudtoday

I have never seen anything like this in Ireland in my 46 years on this planet.
    The Irish people have finally awoken from their FF induced slumber.

#feelingproudtoday

Funny how they're blaming FG! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Tinkersbell

Have you ever heard the term 'shift work' or 'day off'.

Your insinuation that all protesters are unemployed is about as pathetic as your Dear Leader.