Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IW/Anything Water Related-Warning in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

Frog Song wrote: »
    You were there, how many people did you think were there out of interest? Radio One just now saying 200, local radio saying 500.

Sorry late getting back to you Frog Song , busy day.
    Will be a while before i can catch up on the thread. I guessed myself 400 initially .
    When you factor in the torrential rain bucketing down ALL day here ( It was bad ), the crowd would/could have been double that .
    I spoke to a lot of people who couldn't get near the exact location as Gardai had routes blocked due to Kenny's entourage driving from place to
    place in the city.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭shinzon

Looks Like SIPTU are finally joining the protests. about time to

https://www.facebook.com/siptu/photos/a.195769962961.131389.195232927961/10152936244202962/?type=1&theater

from there Facebook page

Statement by the National Executive Council of SIPTU in response to the Government’s policy announcement of 19th November 2014 on the public water supply.

The Government’s initiative of 19th November 2014, while offering clarity and certainty on water charges, will not provide a comprehensive long-term solution for the challenges confronting the development of the public water system.

Its most immediate flaw is that the charges regime remains regressive in character. The objective should be to provide every household with an adequate supply of water to meet all their domestic needs at no direct cost, while retaining the option of a tariff on non-essential use only as a conservation measure. The Government should announce its intention to do this.

Policy on the development of the public water supply should not be decided in the context of a fiscal austerity programme, which is now totally unnecessary in any event. It calls for a properly informed and structured public debate. If the current projections for economic growth are achieved, Irish Water could be re-designated as a democratically controlled Water Authority or a non-commercial semi-state company within the lifetime of the next government, without further increasing taxation or cutting public spending. This would enable charges to be dispensed with altogether, retaining a tariff on non-essential use only.

We must have a Referendum to insert a provision in the Constitution prohibiting the privatisation of the public water supply. Otherwise, there is a real danger that we will drift into privatisation due, for example, to the inability of Irish Water to collect its revenues. In this regard, we welcome the decision of the Executive Council of the Irish Congress of Trade Unions to support, promote and campaign for such a referendum.

Therefore, in the absence of a declaration by the Government of its intention to provide every household with an adequate supply of water to meet all its domestic needs at no direct cost, while retaining a tariff on non-essential use only and to legislate for a Referendum to prohibit privatisation, we will work with other trade unions and civil society organisations, including those involved in Right2Water, to campaign through peaceful protests and other democratic actions, to achieve these objectives.

Shin

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

BBJBIG wrote: »
    Someone ought to tell the stooopid little man that when the Hole is deep enough, ya need to stop digging ... ... ... :D

No no the more of his ilk that open their ignorant mouths the better. At the moment the Government are their own worst enemies and they are providing the fuel to the fire themselves.

This man is an example of parish politics at it's worse. We need to fundamentally change how we elect our national politicians otherwise we will keep electing people of this caliber to the Dail and the real issues of the day will be swamped by local issues that should be dealt with by County Councillors.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Stargate wrote: »
    Will be a while before i can catch up on the thread. I guessed myself 400 initially .
    When you factor in the torrential rain bucketing down ALL day here ( It was bad ), the crowd would/could have been double that .
    I spoke to a lot of people who couldn't get near the exact location as Gardai had routes blocked due to Kenny's entourage driving from place to
    place in the city.

Be careful ,you might start to sound like a TD

• Registered Users Posts: 4,863 ✭✭✭omega man

gandalf wrote: »
    I gave FG a first preference vote in the last election. I did that because they promised to reform the Public Service, because they promised to end croyism and cut down on quangos. They have done a lot of good in bringing us back in line financially and yes it has hurt (I myself suffered 16 months of unemployment).

However the main reasons for me giving them my vote have not occurred, if anything with the whole set up of IW and the staffing of it they have gone the other way. There is even a question mark about the awarding of the meter installation contract that veers into the realms of corruption especially given the identities of the major players in this farce.

I have no idea who I will vote for next time. All the parties are toxic to me because of their actions, their values or their ideologies. I know one thing I will not be paying any water charge as long as IW exists and I will be trying to get the day off to march on the 10th of December.

At least you're honest who you voted for, refreshing.

I would take the exact same view after voting FG. I wont say I don't give a toss about water rates because I do have concerns about how IW was set up but my real anger lies in the fact there has been negligible political and public sector reform as promised.

I'd also agree on what alternatives will be available come the next election. The country is crying out for a new party with little to no attachments to current or past parties. I desperately want to see more qualified politicians with respect to finance, economics etc. People with real life business experience but also people with moral and family values. That's probably asking a lot but I suspect there's so many good people out there who could really bring this country on but sadly politics is seen to be for a privileged few, particularly those with "connections" be it family or the wink wink nudge nudge types.

Politics should be an attractive career path for so many of our intelligent, hard working, honest and competent citizens. Some day.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

omega man wrote: »
    At least you're honest who you voted for, refreshing.

I would take the exact same view after voting FG. I wont say I don't give a toss about water rates because I do have concerns about how IW was set up but my real anger lies in the fact there has been negligible political and public sector reform as promised.

I'd also agree on what alternatives will be available come the next election. The country is crying out for a new party with little to no attachments to current or past parties. I desperately want to see more qualified politicians with respect to finance, economics etc. People with real life business experience but also people with moral and family values. That's probably asking a lot but I suspect there's so many good people out there who could really bring this country on but sadly politics is seen to be for a privileged few, particularly those with "connections" be it family or the wink wink nudge nudge types.

Politics should be an attractive career path for so many of our intelligent, hard working, honest and competent citizens. Some day.......

I have the same viewpoint as you Omega and think a new party is badly needed. There are many qualified accountants, lawyers, economists, tech specialists, entrepreneurs and others of various skillsets who have no political experience but can empathize with working people out there. People are needed that want a more accountable and transparent politics and see the huge failings from the outside and have the appetite for huge reform. These type of people need to be brought together in a project like approach and discuss what we need to do to fix the country and make contributions to high level project documentation. Control systems need to be put in place to ensure any mistakes that are made never happen again.

The day of the career politicians needs to come to an end also. Too many get comfortable and forget what its like to struggle in the real world and that is one of the reasons we are where we are today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

shinzon wrote: »

https://www.facebook.com/siptu/photos/a.195769962961.131389.195232927961/10152936244202962/?type=1&theater

from there Facebook page

Statement by the National Executive Council of SIPTU in response to the Government’s policy announcement of 19th November 2014 on the public water supply.

The Government’s initiative of 19th November 2014, while offering clarity and certainty on water charges, will not provide a comprehensive long-term solution for the challenges confronting the development of the public water system.

Its most immediate flaw is that the charges regime remains regressive in character. The objective should be to provide every household with an adequate supply of water to meet all their domestic needs at no direct cost, while retaining the option of a tariff on non-essential use only as a conservation measure. The Government should announce its intention to do this.

Policy on the development of the public water supply should not be decided in the context of a fiscal austerity programme, which is now totally unnecessary in any event. It calls for a properly informed and structured public debate. If the current projections for economic growth are achieved, Irish Water could be re-designated as a democratically controlled Water Authority or a non-commercial semi-state company within the lifetime of the next government, without further increasing taxation or cutting public spending. This would enable charges to be dispensed with altogether, retaining a tariff on non-essential use only.

We must have a Referendum to insert a provision in the Constitution prohibiting the privatisation of the public water supply. Otherwise, there is a real danger that we will drift into privatisation due, for example, to the inability of Irish Water to collect its revenues. In this regard, we welcome the decision of the Executive Council of the Irish Congress of Trade Unions to support, promote and campaign for such a referendum.

Therefore, in the absence of a declaration by the Government of its intention to provide every household with an adequate supply of water to meet all its domestic needs at no direct cost, while retaining a tariff on non-essential use only and to legislate for a Referendum to prohibit privatisation, we will work with other trade unions and civil society organisations, including those involved in Right2Water, to campaign through peaceful protests and other democratic actions, to achieve these objectives.

Shin

if this doesnt push enda to agree to a referendum, then i could see him being forcibly ejected soon.

Well the one option is to start up a new party.

Just to round off.

When he arrived.

When he left.

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=902191186466695

Remember people stood in pouring rain for hours to get the chance to see him off .
    Incredible really.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

place in the city.

Cork does democracy proud again.

Well Done

So it's seems Noel Coonan was just looking for a bit of attention.

Protester's are now described as "Anarchists".

Such a stupid little man.

??? little man???? One too many free Dail dinners there! Noel Coonan looks rather fat and bloated to me :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭sjb25

I've said I'm on the no side now but this is going to far from this man more protests like cork please not this kind if thing http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/irish-water-man-arrested-armed-4668786

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

There are many qualified accountants, lawyers, economists, tech specialists, entrepreneurs and others of various skillsets who have no political experience but can empathize with working people out there. People are needed that want a more accountable and transparent politics and see the huge failings from the outside and have the appetite for huge reform.
    Why would they be bothered? They'd be paid less than they can make now, and they'd have to put up with endless abuse on social & other media, and have constituents pestering them about medical cards or broken pavements. They'd also have to give up their current careers, and possibly find it hard to return.

There's a reason the Dail is full of "community workers" (little or no skills in the real world) and teachers (can return to their old job).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

sjb25 wrote: »
    I've said I'm on the no side now but this is going to far from this man more protests like cork please not this kind if thing http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/irish-water-man-arrested-armed-4668786

shame the meter installers in dublin arent all this level headed
    A worker said: “A man came out of the house with a rifle so we just dropped everything and moved away.
    "To be honest, I don’t think he really pointed it at anyone, he was holding it upwards but there were no shots fired.
    “We know to expect problems and we know people are angry.
    "Just because we are installing meters doesn’t mean we’re happy with the whole water charges fiasco.
    "If a person tells me he doesn’t want me to dig a hole and install a meter, I’ll just walk away. Simple as that,” he added.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

shinzon wrote: »
    Isn't it amazing that SIPTU would want a referendum which will ensure that IW remains a public quango, stuffed with overpaid and excessive numbers of workers.

I don't get the anger from a few people who want a referendum against privitisation - I can barely name any public sector organisation that I consider to be well run or value for money.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Jesus the country is really been turned on its head when ...

CORK is showing us how to do things right

Only joking ,well done the people of Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,617 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

The level of anger of those people in Cork is amazing. The PR men will say it was only 200, the number doesn't really matter.

There will always be a few crackpots holding vigils out side the dail etc, but to get 200, 300, or whatever people all turning up on a non discript rainy & cold Friday just to boo the Taoiseach. I can't recall this happening too often in the past.

When you compare the level of goodwill and hope after the 2011 GE, given that FF had been so comprehensively booted out, it is a massive turnaround in such a short space of time.

Has any other main stream leader had such a negative impact as Kenny?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

Leroy42 wrote: »
    The level of anger of those people in Cork is amazing. The PR men will say it was only 200, the number doesn't really matter.

There will always be a few crackpots holding vigils out side the dail etc, but to get 200, 300, or whatever people all turning up on a non discript rainy & cold Friday just to boo the Taoiseach. I can't recall this happening too often in the past.

When you compare the level of goodwill and hope after the 2011 GE, given that FF had been so comprehensively booted out, it is a massive turnaround in such a short space of time.

Hs any other main stream leader had such a negative impact as Kenny?

The top members of government need huge security operations to keep the public away from them at every appearance, I can't remember anything like this before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

hmmm wrote: »
    Why would they be bothered? They'd be paid less than they can make now, and they'd have to put up with endless abuse on social & other media, and have constituents pestering them about medical cards or broken pavements. They'd also have to give up their current careers, and possibly find it hard to return.

There's a reason the Dail is full of "community workers" (little or no skills in the real world) and teachers (can return to their old job).

They would be bothered for the love of their country. Not everybody is motivated by money you know. Part of the attraction would be seeing change implemented and various reforms pass for the greater good of the country. Its an idea in my head that may work. First of all bring people from various skillsets together in a project like environment and let them contribute in their free time. Out of all these contributions there will be a document produced like a party manifesto. Eventually the movement may grow and take on full time members and donations towards local elections and take it from there. Some may aspire to be politicians and others may not. Who cares as long as they are contributing. Ready to go for GE 2021 then:pac:

Also I would say it would be very hard to receive the same level of abuse T.D.s are facing at the moment.:o

TBH if someone told me 3 years ago that Kenny would be more unpopular than Brian Cowan I would have laughed at them. Yet here we are today and Kenny can't go anywhere in the state without a cohort of Garda to keep the crowds away from him.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

TBH if someone told me 3 years ago that Kenny would be more unpopular than Brian Cowan I would have laughed at them. Yet here we are today and Kenny can't go anywhere in the state without a cohort of Garda to keep the crowds away from him.

Is he as unpopular as Bertie?

If Enda really thinks it's case closed and everything has been put to bed he's going to have a bit of a shock on December 10th :)
    We in Cork are getting ready to welcome him to tonight.
    A good rebel county welcome i hope .

Safe to say , he got his ass kicked in Cork :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Allyall wrote: »

I'd say YES.

I've never seen a time in Irish politics like this.

And when I see the crap put out by the Indo, RTE, various radio stations etc I thank f*ck we have social media to expose the lies and bias put out by mainstream media.

Exciting times.

Dean0088 wrote: »
    I wouldn't expect Irish Water to pay for itself within the decade. Not because of corruption but because it's massive, long-term investment. We'll be into the 2020s by the time it's paying its way. It wasn't a revenue generating scheme for the government - it was a long term plan recommended by the ECB, Troika and IMF so Ireland won't fall on it's arse again in ten, fifteen year time.

You seem to be implying that Ireland fell on its arse because we weren't paying directly for water? Hmmm...

Allyall wrote: »

Even at the worst of Berties reign I never remember him having to surround himself with the numbers of Gardai that Enda had in Cork this morning to attend a routine appearance.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

BBJBIG wrote: »
    Someone ought to tell the stooopid little man that when the Hole is deep enough, ya need to stop diggin ... :D

LITTLE man !!!:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Even at the worst of Berties reign I never remember him having to surround himself with the numbers of Gardai that Enda had in Cork this morning to attend a routine appearance.

Bertie had his sleezy used car saleman charm, Enda has all the warmth and charm of pencil sharpener.

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Enda has all the warmth and charm of pencil sharpener.

A very very lonely pencil sharpener :(

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Bertie had his sleezy used car saleman charm, Enda has all the warmth and charm of pencil sharpener.

They both have that same smirk though, the superior, knowing smirk of a person who secretly believes that any and all protestors have mental deficiencies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

http://www.rabble.ie/2014/11/19/a-topaz-down-society/
    What frustrates me is the constant bad news in the media. It drives me mad. I feel what we need is a five year period of dictatorship, sort it all out, give it back to us and not allow anyone to have an opinion.

Emmet O'Neill (nephew of Denis O'Brien and on board of Topaz)