Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The flyover at Newlands cross is open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

I don't know why they don't have "KEEP LEFT UNLESS OVERTAKING" as the default message on the big displays along the M50. Why is there next to nothing being done about improving driver behaviour? As others have said, what's the point in spending millions on a 3 lane road when the left lane is then just left empty.

Driving on the autobahn leaves no comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I put a new battery in the Zetor today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

LOL

the M50 was supposed to bypass Dublin or that's that they told the EU when they got the money originally

Of course it was to be used primordially for Dublin commuters , there is no other way to explain why it has so many junctions. If it was a proper motorway rather than a ring-road rights it should only have 5 junctions M1, N2/N3 , N4 , N7 , N11

What's your definition of a proper motorway? The US version, the UK version, the German version?

Plenty of legitimate motorways in other countries have exits at places, where a very significant number of motorists can be expected to want to go, such as the main suburban centres, or satellite towns of a city. They don't just put the exits where Motorway/National Road A runs into Motorway/National Road B.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

I put a new battery in the Zetor today.

Did it start?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

TheZohan wrote: »
    We need more fast lanes, that's what we pay road tax for.

I have an amp that goes all the way to eleven, can't see why the gubbimint can't give us more fast lanes. Why are we paying taxes to the culchies and the immigrints, it's a disgrace Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

Good stuff. Now all we need is a dedicated road/motorway/bridge connecting the M1 with the N/M11 that has on and off ramps through the city*

*Dublin, Ireland. In case anyone is confused.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Credit were it's due.

Well better late than never I suppose.

But credit for Ireland's first flyover should have been due at least 20 - 30 years ago.

But at least its there now.

They could do with a second one on the Headford road. Right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭cnoc

xabi wrote: »
    It's well signposted, you will need the left lane heading M50N

Thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

Regarding driving in the middle lane, drivers in general will have to change their habits.

If you drive in the left lane at present you'll soon come on a very slow driver ahead, but you won't be able to overtake because there's no safe break in the middle lane.

Thus you're tempted to hog that lane when you get a chance to overtake the old dear driving at 40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

katemarch wrote: »
    Wouldn't it be a good idea to line the edges of the motorway with a double line of trees? The Squirrel's Way!

The edges of motorways have become very important nature habitats and wildlife corridors (despite road kill) in many countries where intensive agriculture has damaged natural countryside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I have now drove over it 4 times. Each time the left most lane has been completely empty with people crawling along in the 2 overtaking lanes like they are confused with the layout. It's a straight fecking road. The layout is the same as the M50 or N7 that most of them just left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Uncle Ruckus

Meanwhile the M50 becomes more and more choked, and we are pandering to these culchies?

Ridiculous.

Cork? That's the place where they breed heroes, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Uncle Ruckus

Meanwhile the M50 becomes more and more choked, and we are pandering to these culchies?

Ridiculous.

Cork? That's the place where they breed heroes, right? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Where's the catch?

Completed ahead of time and significantly under budget.

Give it a year and we'll find out it was surfaced with the industrially reconstituted bones of workhouse orphans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭mrskinner

It is not the first flyover. The flyover at the Kinsale Road junction in Cork was opened in 2006!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

First hard frost and the cracks will start to appear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

First hard frost and the cracks will start to appear

Doubtful, they put some depth of asphalt on it. Worst case scenario, all the feet upon feet of 804 settle a bit and it starts getting "dippey"..btw, the transition from the "old" road to the new flyover is a bit rough lads, jasus, could ye not have rolled it a bit better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Where's the catch?

Completed ahead of time and significantly under budget.

Give it a year and we'll find out it was surfaced with the industrially reconstituted bones of workhouse orphans.

I thought it was on budget rather than ahead of.

And the catch is they got it done early so didn't have to pay as many weeks' wages or plant hire yet charged the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I thought it was on budget rather than ahead of.

And the catch is they got it done early so didn't have to pay as many weeks' wages or plant hire yet charged the same.

350,000 yards of hardhats and 75,000 rubber ducks though...they didn't skimp..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Mully_2011

If your working in the Belgard Road area and your heading Northbound are you quicker to hop on the M50 at Ballymount or continue down to Newlands Cross now ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,093 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Mully_2011 wrote: »
    If your working in the Belgard Road area and your heading Northbound are you quicker to hop on the M50 at Ballymount or continue down to Newlands Cross now ??

Ballymount.

The middle lane is the 'easy' lane. You don't need to worry about merging traffic or changing lanes. You can just switch your brain off and cruise.
    I always thought that MLM's were brain dead!
    Míshásta wrote: »
    Regarding driving in the middle lane, drivers in general will have to change their habits.

If you drive in the left lane at present you'll soon come on a very slow driver ahead, but you won't be able to overtake because there's no safe break in the middle lane.

Thus you're tempted to hog that lane when you get a chance to overtake the old dear driving at 40.

With the middle lane full of drones who tailgate each other, that's understandable, if all motorists actually followed the rotr then this situation wouldn't happen.
    On a properly driven motorway the left lane will have vehicles travelling at a slower than average speed, middle lane at average speed and overtaking lane at above average speed.

Note the use of average speed rather than "at the limit", as it depends on the conditions & traffic load.

Doubtful, they put some depth of asphalt on it. Worst case scenario, all the feet upon feet of 804 settle a bit and it starts getting "dippey"..btw, the transition from the "old" road to the new flyover is a bit rough lads, jasus, could ye not have rolled it a bit better?
    Maybe the "old" road is going to get resurfaced.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,350 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

It's great that the Newlands Cross flyover is now open.

Ireland's very first flyover is the UCD flyover bridge on the Stillorgan dualler that opened back in 1974.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭shabalala

Day 1- Crash outbound at Kill (huge volume of cars coming to this point)

Day 2- Big crash outbound at rathcoole

Day 3- Crash inbound at Red cow approach, Big crash outbound at rathcoole.

Anyone see the pattern????

Yes Newlands is clear, but now instead of the traffic being broken up with the lights, its now a constant big volume of traffic and is certainly causing accidents with people lane hopping in a desperate attempt to get home that 2.5mins earlier.

shabalala wrote: »

**** driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Yes Newlands is clear, but now instead of the traffic being broken up with the lights, its now a constant big volume of traffic and is certainly causing accidents with people lane hopping in a desperate attempt to get home that 2.5mins earlier.

This is the M50 every day. Yesterday I came close to crashing twice because people cut in on cars in front of me where there was no real room to cut into with no indication at all from the drivers switching lane. Irish People are dreadful drivers.

I don't know if it's because people are day dreaming driving but there seems to be a small number of drivers who don't seem to be able to plan getting in lane with enough time to exit on the off ramps. They cut in at the last minutes and have the potential to cause absolute chaos with their ignorant road use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭missierex

I travelled that way on Friday as I was heading to Listowel for the weekend. The flyover was grand, but as soon I came off it I was stuck in traffic. It took me an hour and a quarter to get from there to junction 9 (Naas). NIGHTMARE.

JupiterKid wrote: »
    It's great that the Newlands Cross flyover is now open.

Ireland's very first flyover is the UCD flyover bridge on the Stillorgan dualler that opened back in 1974.

Thats not a flyover.

Its just a bridge, or overpass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

Lapin wrote: »
    Thats not a flyover.

Its just a bridge, or overpass.

Genuine question, whats the difference?

• Administrators Posts: 54,834 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

missierex wrote: »
    I travelled that way on Friday as I was heading to Listowel for the weekend. The flyover was grand, but as soon I came off it I was stuck in traffic. It took me an hour and a quarter to get from there to junction 9 (Naas). NIGHTMARE.

There is always traffic there.

Traffic around Newlands cross, then you thought you were grand as you got moving a bit and then inexplicably you'd hit more traffic a few miles up the road.

I used to go out via Saggart to avoid Newlands Cross but the traffic afterward was unavoidable. :(

A flyover is a section of retrofitted elevated roadway that allows traffic to cross over another road junction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I dont think they do it for laughs. I reckon they see the left lane as a 'slow' lane for slow drivers and they dont belive they should drive in that lane as they are 'normal' drivers.
    We need some serious re-education of a lot of drivers on our roads. And some proper enforcement.

People drive slowly in the middle lane because it means they can avoid doing change lane manoeuvres. Driving on the inside lane means you have to constantly adjust for merging/demerging traffic.

..while screwing it up for the rest of us! :mad:

Driving a car involves constantly adjusting position and speed, if you can't do that you shouldn't be driving.

Lane 1 ends up being a dedicated merging lane when it should be the driving lane, totally defeating the purpose of adding the third lane. Stay left unless overtaking is a basic rule everyone shoild follow whether it suits you or not.

Another Crash yesterday at Naas, it couldn't be a coincidence that this is happening every evening in rush hour???

So were now 4 working days, 5 crashes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Tom Cruises Left Nut

Another Crash yesterday at Naas, it couldn't be a coincidence that this is happening every evening in rush hour???

So were now 4 working days, 5 crashes.

The traffic was a bit slower before due to the traffic being bunched up from the lights at Newlands

I can only imagine that because the traffic is flowing better, and faster, that accidents are happening because of the extra speed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭johnty56

The problem is that the traffic corps need to concentrate on bad driving for a solid six month period.

Tailgating , inappropriate lane usage, downright dangerous driving etc need to be clamped down on in an ongoing manner.

Driving in Ireland is a little like the Wacky Races, I have been driving for 20 years and it is definitely getting worse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Blue Whale

M50 should be made double level on its entire length. They have it like this on the road to Bangkok's domestic airport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

This post emphasises so strongly why the m50 and all this new road infrastructure will continue to be wasted until the cards get their finger out.

In fairness I seen a gard on a bike in the middle lane directing middle laners to move into the left lane.

Of course because they have no clue they pulled over thinking he was stopping them.

So many epic fails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Got chatting to a lad in work who openly admitted to going straight into the middle lane.

His reasoning was 'I'm doing the limit so if people want to overtake me, they can overtake me. He stayed in the middle so there was room for any merging traffic (whether it existed or not).

Didn't say a word because there's nothing you CAN say to convince them otherwise until their hit with a ticket or pulled over.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 24 anticonscience

No proper people live down that way anyway. Waste of money.

I dont think so ..someone is doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Tom Cruises Left Nut

Half the time I end up passing them out in the left lane cause they are in the middle lane doing 80kmh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Caliden wrote: »
    Got chatting to a lad in work who openly admitted to going straight into the middle lane.

His reasoning was 'I'm doing the limit so if people want to overtake me, they can overtake me. He stayed in the middle so there was room for any merging traffic (whether it existed or not).

Didn't say a word because there's nothing you CAN say to convince them otherwise until their hit with a ticket or pulled over.

You can't fix stupid.

A flyover allows a continuous stretch of road, free of obstructions such as lights or roundabouts to pass over a junction below, thus allowing motorists unhindered travel free from interruption by local traffic at the junction.

The bridge at UCD is simply an elevated access road with traffic lights at both ends for the college and the local area from the N11.

One road going over another doesn't make it a flyover. Its simply a bridge or overpass in this part of the world. (Confusingly, flyovers are called overpasses in the US).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Re: merging traffic - a large number of Irish drivers need a lesson in how to do this. Every day I see, or have to avoid, someone who thinks there is only one place to merge and that is right at the end of the merge lane. No matter that I have slowed to let them in ahead of me, they continue in the slip lane until the very end and then pull out into the main road regardless.

The Newlands Cross flyover has played havoc with northbound traffic fro the M50 coming off onto the Red Cow. There will be an accident on the M50 one morning soon and it could well be a nasty one.

Here's an idea, if we remove all warning signs in all walks of life.

Let the stupidity sort itself out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Here's an idea, if we remove all warning signs in all walks of life.

Let the stupidity sort itself out.
    yeah ,natural selection all the way , let the dopes die , although in fairness most of the dopes can't read or understand warning signs, they just float along in a fog of dopiness and what happens happens , they're too dopey to understand afterwards that it could have been different, so it doesn't really matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

DAY 4 CRASH

Dubliner28 wrote: »
    DAY 4 CRASH

see post 87