Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Miserable Git?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Esp when you have F all to do with the gaa.....hate when they turn up to your door and you've never spoke to them before, but might know to see and their all best friends tryna have the craic with you...hoping you'd just hand over some money....and the next day they dont know you at all :pac: rather give my money to people and animals in need, not some sport ****e where alot (not everyone) of the people involved are cocky and just full of it

C'mon, that's a bit of a sweeping statement. I spent two days away(over 50 miles from home both days) around 5 or 6 yrs ago raising money for a community sports centre/sports field here locally. Believe me it's no fun knocking on strangers doors looking for money for something like this, but we knew it was a genuine good cause, and most of the people we met did too,a few rude people as well but by and large a day or two like that would restore ur faith in humanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

I have a local man who helps me out on the farm whenever I need a second pair of hands. It normally amounts to a few hours a week. Sometimes he works a full day with me. I pay him in cash. Yesterday I handed over 300 euro to him. I asked him to buy a ticket for a fundraiser for my local rugby club. The ticket cost is 20 euro. His response wasn't too positive so I said nothing and decided not to pursue it. However I believe he has shot himself in the foot. He is always collected and dropped back to his house and eats meals here on the farm when working more than a couple of hours. I don't think I could be bothered now offering him any more work? What are your thoughts?

20 yoyo's is a fair whack out of 300. He is more than likely a good GAA man and dislikes supporting foreign games:D. I would not be advertising that I pay cash on a website Ip addresses can be followed. It is your responsibility to register him and deduct Tax and PRSI.

I am sure he is not earning 300 every week. You also have to remember that he seems to suit you. It might be harder than you think to find a suitable replacement. Now maybe he should have but that is life it was his choice to do with his money as he sees fit. It is your choice to do with yours as you se fit. Like you state sometimes he gets a full day so he is flexible and comes when you want him and for as long as you want him. yes if he is around at dinner time he gets fed. I suspect that he is on around 10/hour.

It si your choice but business is business
    Used to buy a lot of stuff from one particular guy, farm mess and mins. Asked him to buy a €20 ticket for my own club. He refused as is his right I paid what I owed him and haven't not will I again.

Yer man is on the dole and well paid collected to and from work and fed the least he could do was buy a ticket

If he is on the dole Op is silly bringing it up here. Maybe he is a local lad taht has a small bit of land. who knows. Scruples only work one way I see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

The ticket cost is 20 euro.

Thats how it starts, if he handed the €20 he'd be signing up for a lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

I was just thinking how many farm labourers were paid €300 and offered a rugby fundraiser ticket they didn't want for €20 lately. Not many id guess. If they're on here their not going to appreciate being called a miserable git. Then it might be the op shooting themselves in the foot.
    (I've assumed that this thread was started as a complaint rather than a confession).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Too much for op to handle, closed his account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,224 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Sam Kade wrote: »
    The gaa are the worst offenders, they always make sure they send on your nearest neighbours in case you have any thoughts of refusal :mad: Then you have the ones chancing their arm from neighbouring parishes they will usually send a former neighbour that changed parishes. The ones further afield that are really taking a risk they will send two very talkative men and a lovely car as first prize.
    no the worst is tickets being sent home through kids, whether its from school, gaa, rugby, scouts or whatever kids are told tickets MUST be sold , puts an awful amount of pressure on the families involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Buying a ticket is optional. If it wasn't it would just be a tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 tomatofruit

Ted from the Fast Show keeps popping into my head sayin " No thanks, i dont want a ticket Sir."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Mod Note:
    Alright, seeing as the OP has closed his account, there's no point in letting this continue. Thread closed.