Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newstalk - Breakfast Show

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Someone said to me this week that Williams is there 3 years now. :eek:

He announced that on Monday alright I thought it was odd, he certainly hasn't been on air that long

https://www.newstalk.com/Newstalk-welcomes-four-new-prime-time-presenters

Autumn 2016 according to their own website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Paul Williams.... I just cannot listen to him, he's terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Murt10

I hope when he "leaves" (the sooner the better) they replace him with Andrea Gilligan. She's an awful lot easier the ears at that time in the morning, and seems an excellent journalist to boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Murt10

I hope when he "leaves" (the sooner the better) they replace him with Andrea Gilligan. She's an awful lot easier the ears at that time in the morning, and seems an excellent journalist to boot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Dick Pickle

Let’s play “Paul trys to use a big word he doesn’t quite understand” bingo

Immiscible

Languid

Visceral (a big favourite)

It’s like he has one of those word of the day calendars. The lad can hardly string a sentence together coherently ffs

Febrile....febrile.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Febrile....febrile.....

I would imagine he’s borrowed it from Joe Duffy. Joe also adds his own “unique” pronunciations to his newfound words, which only adds to the comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,397 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Good god tuned in for 2 minutes this morning and I hear Paul calling for an Irexit due to the EU pushing tax harmonisation. Yeah its not gonna be great for us if it happens but Irexit would be catastrophic in comparison. The ignorant stupidity he displays on a daily basis is simply astounding. How Coleman hasnt punched him repeatedly in the face while on air I will never know.

Had to go to Belfast yesterday and decided to listen to Newstalk for the first time in ages as my usual slew of podcasts hadn't updated before I departed. I listened from about 7:00 - 8:45 so didn't get the whole show but most of it.

Quinlan was all at sea talking about or rather trying to talk about The Ladies GAA, he sounded even more lost than he usually does talking about anything other then Rugby Munster Rugby. I suspect he didn't watch the matches he attempted to discuss but that's "Quinny" for you. When he moved onto soccerball he was engaging in some "bants" (I think that's what the young people call it) with Coleman about the weekend results with "ye won too" etc.

But Williams was actually hilarious (unintentionally of course) discussing the Balaclava-ed removal men and Gardai. He kept referring to the Gardai as "cops" and claimed he was "proven 100% right" or words to that effect in saying the "cops" were right to wear them. Coleman interjected and said things like it was setting a dangerous precedent and that the Gardai shouldn't be wearing them (as well as other arguments) but Williams kept going with it. Minister for Defence was on then and Williams was giving it all sort of bravado - I LOL'ed a few times. The highlight was probably the humblebrag about him (Williams) trending on twitter a few times in recent years. I'm not doing it justice - you really need to listen back if you want to hear how bad it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,471 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Had to go to Belfast yesterday and decided to listen to Newstalk for the first time in ages as my usual slew of podcasts hadn't updated before I departed. I listened from about 7:00 - 8:45 so didn't get the whole show but most of it.

Quinlan was all at sea talking about or rather trying to talk about The Ladies GAA, he sounded even more lost than he usually does talking about anything other then Rugby Munster Rugby. I suspect he didn't watch the matches he attempted to discuss but that's "Quinny" for you. When he moved onto soccerball he was engaging in some "bants" (I think that's what the young people call it) with Coleman about the weekend results with "ye won too" etc.

But Williams was actually hilarious (unintentionally of course) discussing the Balaclava-ed removal men and Gardai. He kept referring to the Gardai as "cops" and claimed he was "proven 100% right" or words to that effect in saying the "cops" were right to wear them. Coleman interjected and said things like it was setting a dangerous precedent and that the Gardai shouldn't be wearing them (as well as other arguments) but Williams kept going with it. Minister for Defence was on then and Williams was giving it all sort of bravado - I LOL'ed a few times. The highlight was probably the humblebrag about him (Williams) trending on twitter a few times in recent years. I'm not doing it justice - you really need to listen back if you want to hear how bad it was.

Williams is a complete shill for the Guards, it's embarrassing and obvious.

kneemos wrote: »

But only the low level ones who he likes to sidle up to for the goss so he can fill his column inches, however as soon as you get into the upper echelons you instantly become "part of the problem" as they stop talking to him then.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

embee wrote: »
    Paul Williams.... I just cannot listen to him, he's terrible.

I listened to the Breakfast Show for years commuting to work through different presenters. Williams is the guy that finally spurred me to change to Rte for my morning commute. Shame as I like Coleman a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

fWdmIw1.png

Had it on in the background earlier this morning. Williams’ anecdotes and “top banter” stories are utter cringe. Why does he feel the need to interject with these at almost every opportunity, no matter how inappropriate and tedious the link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Had it on in the background earlier this morning. Williams’ anecdotes and “top banter” stories are utter cringe. Why does he feel the need to interject with these at almost every opportunity, no matter how inappropriate and tedious the link?

It's made even worse by his smug, irritating voice. You just know he thinks he's so witty. Gobshíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭bot43

Talking about parents being worried about their kids getting concussions while playing sports, he deemed them all "snowflakes". Coleman called him on it and the response was "ill say snowflake when I need to" or something to that effect.

He not only comes across as a poor presenter but also, he comes across as a complete asshole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

Dunno how Coleman and Williams are still on this show. They are both absolutely awful on the radio. Williams is clearly a complete gob****e, in no way funny. Coleman clearly hates him, any joke Williams tries causes Coleman to rush him along with the show. Absolutely no chemistry between the two of them. There is no more horrible way to wake up in the morning then to listening to Coleman whinging and moaning, or Williams trying to be smug but come across like a real life Alan partridge but not funny..Thank god for internet radio to get away from these bellends..

I get the feeling Bobby Kerr thinks he’s an idiot too. Bobby was on the business segment this morning and you could almost hear him cringing (or grinding his teeth) at Paul Williams constant smartass interjections.

UsBus wrote: »
    Dunno how Coleman and Williams are still on this show. They are both absolutely awful on the radio. Williams is clearly a complete gob****e, in no way funny. Coleman clearly hates him, any joke Williams tries causes Coleman to rush him along with the show. Absolutely no chemistry between the two of them. There is no more horrible way to wake up in the morning then to listening to Coleman whinging and moaning, or Williams trying to be smug but come across like a real life Alan partridge but not funny..Thank god for internet radio to get away from these bellends..

I think Coleman sans Williams could be ok. Williams however is the worst presenter on Newstalk (Ciara Kelly thread followers please note this is not the first time I've said this). He may even be the worst presenter on radio in Ireland.

I get the feeling Bobby Kerr thinks he’s an idiot too. Bobby was on the business segment this morning and you could almost hear him cringing (or grinding his teeth) at Paul Williams constant smartass interjections.

He was audibly annoyed at Williams' bolloxology this morning for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭fire_man

Coleman really annoying with sports news.Keeps interrupting Quinlan.I always switch off at that time.

fire_man wrote: »
    Coleman really annoying with sports news.Keeps interrupting Quinlan.I always switch off at that time.

What? He's the crutch Quinlan needs to get through it - otherwise you'd be listening to dead air. Quinlan hasn't a clue about anything other than Rugby Munster Rugby. When he tries to talk about soccerball, you can hear he's reading a prepared script - and given the number of errors, mispronunciations and surprise in his voice sometimes when he reads stuff out (or the balls up he makes of it) it's clear he does zero prep for the show. This morning they were talking to Joe Molloy from The Ryder Cup venue in France and it was Fawlty Towers-like stuff. He's atrocious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,150 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

I still think Coleman is the best presenter is the stations 2nd best Current Affairs presenter (after PK). If he was to leave to another station I’d probably “move the dial” to follow. He can be a bit too PC at times but overall I think he’s a very sharp and intelligent journalist/presenter.

It sounds that Williams really annoys him at times with his persistent nonsense. As for the “interruptions” on the sports bulletins I can see why he has to step up. Williams hasn’t a baldy about sport and Quinlan still seems to struggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭fire_man

I have been saying Quinlan was terrible for years but Coleman won't give him a chance.He will ask a question and answer it straight away .

fire_man wrote: »
    I have been saying Quinlan was terrible for years but Coleman won't give him a chance.He will ask a question and answer it straight away .

No other sports reporter on any bulletin across Newstalk has to be helped as much as Quinlan. Everyone else can just come in and talk about the sports stories of the day without interruption or interjection from the host. There's a reason Coleman is involved in it - they know Quinny can't cope on his own.

It's just filler to have him on, he's the equivalent of a Page 3 busty babe to attempt to attract female listeners....except he's on a radio programme. :rolleyes: Why is Quinny never on Off The Ball - same station after all? Because even though the quality has slipped enormously, the lads there are far too professional to have him on.

Anyone remember the incredibly short-lived "Quinny Shoutouts" feature? Are you an U-12B Camogie team playing an irrelevant friendly match this weekend? Do you have an upcoming tiddlywinks tournament? Text us now to have Quinny give you a shoutout. I'm not making that up, that was a real thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Paul Williams is the man who has finally forced me back to Morning Ireland. He's by far the worst morning presenter Newstalk have ever had.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,601 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

PW has from the very start been nothing but disruptive to the flow of the show. When the other presenters are attempting to do their job he's interjecting with nonsense and when he's interviewing he takes such an age in setting up the question it leaves the guest with little time to answer him and even when they're attempting to answer he's butting in saying "I'll have to hurry you up there..., C'mon right-now, ok I'm out of time here...". .
    He's such an unprofessional messer that surely no producer or co presenter hasn't tried to address this with him or the bosses.
    I'm convinced he's been given a favour from INM somewhere along the line.

GOOD MORNING!

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭NotVeryHappy

I heard a "me love you long time" in an stereotypical Asian accent this morning. I have no idea what the context was but the whole thing sounded like amateur radio

It was in relation to Trump's declaration of love for Kim Jung Un.

Dunno what they're aiming for with the guy.

Jesus paul was on form with his casual racism this morning, they were talking about the 3 new michelin star restaurants in cork, one of which is a Japanese restaurant called Ichigo Ichie and his co presenter, a woman who's name i didnt catch, made a point of clarifying she may not be pronouncing it right, Paul immediately interjects with "you need to say it like the japanese" and procedes to just say it really fast several times

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 302 ✭✭Muscles Schultz

VinLieger wrote: »
    Jesus paul was on form with his casual racism this morning, they were talking about the 3 new michelin star restaurants in cork, one of which is a Japanese restaurant called Ichigo Ichie and his co presenter, a woman who's name i didnt catch, made a point of clarifying she may not be pronouncing it right, Paul immediately interjects with "you need to say it like the japanese" and procedes to just say it really fast several times

I don’t think he’s well actually.

Pat Kenny can’t stand hm either, barely concealed contempt this morning at Paul Williams childishness (saying selfie app couldn’t make him more beautiful than he is) !

The man is like a Father Ted character.

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭Alicano

It was absolute cringe and awful stuff. So bad and so unprofessional. It was referring to Kim Jong and Trump. Coleman as usual, immediately followed with "I can't believe you just said that". PW is really really unfunny. And not suited to radio at all. Don't read his journalism efforts. Perhaps they are better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭5555555555

You know what I think is one of his worst traits ?

Sometimes Coleman and himself will both speak at the same time and he will continue talking until Coleman stops.

Makes for really cringey radio.

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭El Diablo Blanco

Paul Williams is the man who has finally forced me back to Morning Ireland. He's by far the worst morning presenter Newstalk have ever had.

Reached that point this morning, myself. His interview skills (or lack thereof) and constant interruption of guests, commentators and contributors is incredibly irritating. Sick to my back teeth of the self righteous Shane Coleman too. Done with NT Breakfast until the line-up is permanently changed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Williams showing his limitations again this morning.

In a conversation about pornography, the ease of access to it and the effect it is having on relationships, Williams throws child porn into the mix as being "in the same paradigm". You could sense Coleman thinking "Jesus, another conversation ruined because this clown misses the point." Undeterred, Williams ploughed on talking about child porn as if it was the same as regular porn and relevant to the discussion.

I'm not sure how to feel about Williams. I feel a lot more intelligent now that he's on the air because he genuinely doesn't seem to grasp the basics of most arguments. If I'm more intelligent than a fella they put on the radio, I must be great. Then I start thinking that maybe this is the way forward for society and he is more indicative of how most people think than someone like Coleman. That thought fills me with no end of dread.

DeanAustin wrote: »

In a conversation about pornography, the ease of access to it and the effect it is having on relationships, Williams throws child porn into the mix as being "in the same paradigm". You could sense Coleman thinking "Jesus, another conversation ruined because this clown misses the point." Undeterred, Williams ploughed on talking about child porn as if it was the same as regular porn and relevant to the discussion.

I'm not sure how to feel about Williams. I feel a lot more intelligent now that he's on the air because he genuinely doesn't seem to grasp the basics of most arguments. If I'm more intelligent than a fella they put on the radio, I must be great. Then I start thinking that maybe this is the way forward for society and he is more indicative of how most people think than someone like Coleman. That thought fills me with no end of dread.

People that think like Williams are probably listening to 2FM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

All I took from that segment was that Paul's word of the day was ubiquitous.

Must be on a calendar or something.

I agree it’s hugely depressing. I hate that about PW , his inability to grasp the subject matter, his rush to interrupt and talk over everyone constantly breaking the meaning and sense of the topic and derailing everything .

You can sense Pat Kenny’s contempt at the handover most days as PW insists on a “witty” quip !:mad:
    Jesus does PW never listen seen back to himself and cringe ?

I love Pat Kenny for his research, intelligence , ability to be articulate , measured speed of speech - everything Paul Williams doesn’t have! His level is 2FM or Sunshine radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

it was dreadful.
    apparently child porn is "just one click away from" watching legal porn. :rolleyes:

better be careful the next time I'm on youporn, one wrong click and I'll be a paedophile and having my door bust down by the Gardai. :eek:

it was dreadful.
    apparently child porn is "just one click away from" watching legal porn. :rolleyes:

better be careful the next time I'm on youporn, one wrong click and I'll be a paedophile and having my door bust down by the Gardai. :eek:

I'm genuinely getting worried about him.

There's no way someone who's right in the head would come away with some of the stuff that man does.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Outstanding again on the drugs debate this morning. Speaking to a councillor, he was winding up for some big question and said “Now we can all agree that the war on drugs has been lost so...”

Yer man interrupts with “Excuse me. We don’t all agree on that because I don’t think there has ever been a proper war on drugs.”

It wasn’t one of Williams most obvious stupid moments but through his own ignorance and myopia he lost complete control of the conversation because the councillor took up the remaining time to explain why he thought the war on drugs has been nothing but a token gesture.

I’d stopped listening ages ago because of him but have had the chance over the last week to hear the show a couple of times. He’s as inept as ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭bot43

He has become self aware - "a total lack of class, style and maturity" he said this morning.

He may have been talking about Conor McGregor, but I know what I heard.

Terrible segment actually from Coleman. Let his bias lead the interview.

I thought he was out of his depth speaking to Vicky Phelan this morning. He was "so how are you now"? And again "how do you feel about Emma's passing?" Emotionally Vicky must be beyond devastated at the death of 2 women over the weekend from cervical cancer (Emma and another lady).

Physically it must be very hard to answer that question when you have terminal cancer. It must be so terribly frightening. Paul Williams seems to lack an emotional depth or emotional maturity for these type of interviews. Its not like you're just saying "hi, hows it going"?
    Maybe you don't feel these things unless you have been through something? Maybe I'm being too hard on him here, but I was just so aware of how fragile Vicky Phelan must be feeling right now and Paul Williams would not be my choice of interviewer on a day like this.

Vicky Phelan is beyond brave. She (& Emma) have done women a huge favour in highlighting Cervical cancer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

The show has never been great since Yates/Donohue, but it's never been as bad as since Williams started. People need to just stop listening to the show if they don't like Paul Williams.

If you had somebody beside you in the car who acted like Williams (i.e.negative, cynical, sarcastic), you would open the passenger door and tell them to get the f**k out. So why would you let him on your car radio?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭5555555555

bot43 wrote: »
    He has become self aware - "a total lack of class, style and maturity" he said this morning.

He may have been talking about Conor McGregor, but I know what I heard.

Terrible segment actually from Coleman. Let his bias lead the interview.

Coleman had a great chance there to say "enough about you Paul, what about the McGregor fight ?"

The show has never been great since Yates/Donohue, but it's never been as bad as since Williams started. People need to just stop listening to the show if they don't like Paul Williams.

If you had somebody beside you in the car who acted like Williams (i.e.negative, cynical, sarcastic), you would open the passenger door and tell them to get the f**k out. So why would you let him on your car radio?

Radio 1 is insufferable though. It takes them fifteen minutes every half hour to do the news,sports,it says in the papers and an ad break.

Radio 4 has been my poison of choice lately. Can't listen to Williams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,174 ✭✭✭1huge1

Radio 1 is insufferable though. It takes them fifteen minutes every half hour to do the news,sports,it says in the papers and an ad break.

Radio 4 has been my poison of choice lately. Can't listen to Williams.

Assume by Radio 1 you mean RTE Radio 1? I've considered making the switch lately as I always liked Dobson. Still hoping Newstalk can turn it around though as I do like Shane Coleman and Andrea Gilligan.

As for Radio 4, do you mean BBC radio 4?

1huge1 wrote: »
    Assume by Radio 1 you mean RTE Radio 1? I've considered making the switch lately as I always liked Dobson. Still hoping Newstalk can turn it around though as I do like Shane Coleman and Andrea Gilligan.

As for Radio 4, do you mean BBC radio 4?

BBC 4 and RTE. Everyone on the RTE morning show talks really slowly for some reason. That and the extended news bulletins every half hour means they don't really cover that much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

BBC 4 and RTE. Everyone on the RTE morning show talks really slowly for some reason. That and the extended news bulletins every half hour means they don't really cover that much.

They talk so slowly, has to be a production decision though I can’t see why.

Very annoying listening to it.