Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Newstalk - Breakfast Show

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

Here is another with Gilroy and 2 of those above campaigning for abortion before the referendum. on a sports show! I never watched since.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Don't forget that OTB had a representative from the Rape Crisis Centre on the night that Paddy Jackson was found innocent. I thought this was shameful, as they were essentially throwing an innocent man under the bus to make themselves popular with the feminist man haters in regular media and the social media. As was said, it's meant to be a sports show and they go WAY beyond their brief to force their non-sport related opinions down our throats.

I tell you, one day all of their virtue signalling is going to come back to haunt them. One of them will put a foot out of line, get caught saying something they shouldn't and they will be hoisted by their own petard.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

Did Williams get sacked?

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Here is another with Gilroy and 2 of those above campaigning for abortion before the referendum. on a sports show! I never watched since.

Brilliant, that’s one day. And I don’t see Ger campaigning for abortion, just that everyone gets out and votes.

Let’s see the rest of the days he was actively campaigoing since, as you said, he campaigned on a daily basis.

Faugheen wrote: »
    Brilliant, that’s one day. And I don’t see Ger campaigning for abortion, just that everyone gets out and votes.

Let’s see the rest of the days he was actively campaigoing since, as you said, he campaigned on a daily basis.
    Your lies have already been exposed, Andy Lee and Eamon McGee were on specifically because they campaigned for repeal the 8th and so did Ger Gilroy. Ger Gilroy also repeatedly attacked Mickey Harte for his Catholic and pro life beliefs calling him a dinosaur....:rolleyes:

Some balance that for a sports show!

Don't forget that OTB had a representative from the Rape Crisis Centre on the night that Paddy Jackson was found innocent. I thought this was shameful, as they were essentially throwing an innocent man under the bus to make themselves popular with the feminist man haters in regular media and the social media. As was said, it's meant to be a sports show and they go WAY beyond their brief to force their non-sport related opinions down our throats.

I tell you, one day all of their virtue signalling is going to come back to haunt them. One of them will put a foot out of line, get caught saying something they shouldn't and they will be hoisted by their own petard.
    Exactly the absurd lies from those defending Off The Ball here makes me think they work on the show. The evidence is there for all to see like you said.

And you are right, Ger Gilroy is a bully and a self righteous creep. He probably will be exposed for knocking his wife about or something, like most whiter than white types in the media who think they are better than everyone else.

https://twitter.com/leoie/status/1000123846618427392

Tweet retweeted by Gilroy after the referendum, telling Christians and pro life people to "**** off out of the country". And telling people if they disagreed to unfollow him. The man is a bigoted scumbag. And the types who defend him doing this on a sports show should be ashamed of themselves.

Your lies have already been exposed, Andy Lee and Eamon McGee were on specifically because they campaigned for repeal the 8th and so did Ger Gilroy. Ger Gilroy also repeatedly attacked Mickey Harte for his Catholic and pro life beliefs calling him a dinosaur....:rolleyes:

Some balance that for a sports show!

My lies? You said Ger Gilroy was campaigning on the referendum daily on his show. That is simply not true and you went completely over the top.

Sounds to me like you’re a bitter no voter. The referendum is over. Move on.

Faugheen wrote: »
    My lies? You said Ger Gilroy was campaigning on the referendum daily on his show. That is simply not true and you went completely over the top.

Sounds to me like you’re a bitter no voter. The referendum is over. Move on.
    So now you go from to pretending Ger said no such thing to attacking no voters.Your lies have been exposed and called out, you are a fraud like your hero Gilroy.
    Remember this a sports show using it's platform to push politics and attack Catholics. Another reason Newstalk is in the toilet and nobody listens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭jay0109

Moncrief's show is so basic, it's hard to believe it was made into a radio show. He's uber-liberal and his constant put downs of anyone not into his version of open borders, tolerance of all things Travellers and catholicism are beyond tiresome at this stage.
    I see over on his radio thread here that he referenced Hitler and Peter Casey in the same sentence during the week. That's the level your at with this guy.

Cuddihy cannot be given the morning slot. He's to the far left of Moncrief and that's saying something. He was all out during the week inf favour of Joan Collins' motion to put water ownership into the constitution. Coleman who doesn't want it privatised either said stuff like that has no place in the constitution as it'll cause problems further own the line. Cuddihy would hear none of it....he's just about at the level of a college debater who hasn't yet gone out into the real world.

Kelly is what she is. I see her show as being aimed at the female market and so be it. There's surely space on the airwaves for specialised shows like that.

Gilroy is a joke. Thought he was a big serious journalist but just another wet liberal PC drone who bore everyone to death. he was lucky to be taken back into the Sports Dept. He should stick to sport and leave the politics well alone or he'll end up out of Newstalk sooner rather than later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

So now you go from to pretending Ger said no such thing to attacking no voters.Your lies have been exposed and called out, you are a fraud like your hero Gilroy.
    Remember this a sports show using it's platform to push politics and attack Catholics. Another reason Newstalk is in the toilet and nobody listens.

You sound triggered, perhaps you should return to your safe place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

amcalester wrote: »
    You sound triggered, perhaps you should return to your safe place.

There are some very angry, right-wing men on this forum, for whom Newstalk probably is a 'safe place'. It seems to genuinely upset them that a couple of Newstalk's presenters aren't rabid right-wingers. Which is hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,462 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

So much of Boards decends into left wing,right wing.
    It really is tiresome.

I acknowledged the Eamon McGee and Andy Lee piece.

Meanwhile, you pretend that you didn’t say Gilroy campaigned every day on his show, despite the fact that you did, and despite the fact Gilroy didn’t.

And I didn’t attack any no voter. I just said you sounded like a bitter no voter. Like I said, stop crying about it. No lost, by quite a considerable margin.

Or, you can complain to the BAI. That’s what it’s there for. Either do that or stop whinging about something that happened 6 months ago.

You know, I thought it was ridiculous that Newstalk decided to finish the newsround every day with some academic report that supported their own agenda .i.e something about "huge" rape figures, or massive disparities in pay between sexes, or something negative about Irish treatment of migrants. But this morning they reached a new low. Heading the news stories, "An independently commissioned report FOR NEWSTALK has found that there is a disparity in the treatment in the workplace between men and women" (paraphrased). You simply cannot have the words Independent and Newstalk in the same sentence. I just simply don't believe that they have the independence to be involved in anything that portrays men in anything less than the role of oppressor. People need to see the station for what it is, and the BAI need to take action against them.

I'm finished with the morning show for about the last six months, seems like I may have to go back to RTE for the news now as well.

You know, I thought it was ridiculous that Newstalk decided to finish the newsround every day with some academic report that supported their own agenda .i.e something about "huge" rape figures, or massive disparities in pay between sexes, or something negative about Irish treatment of migrants. But this morning they reached a new low. Heading the news stories, "An independently commissioned report FOR NEWSTALK has found that there is a disparity in the treatment in the workplace between men and women" (paraphrased). You simply cannot have the words Independent and Newstalk in the same sentence. I just simply don't believe that they have the independence to be involved in anything that portrays men in anything less than the role of oppressor. People need to see the station for what it is, and the BAI need to take action against them.

I'm finished with the morning show for about the last six months, seems like I may have to go back to RTE for the news now as well.

Newstalk are paying Red C to deliver false polls to further their liberal agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,657 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

There's a few posts now talking about people's opinions being forced on them. Is it so hard to change the station? If the opinions being 'forced' on you are really so terrible, enough people will change over and the people expressing those opinions will end up off the air. The fact is though, this stuff just isn't a big enough deal to get the average person worked up. It just gets a few right wing people sufficiently annoyed to text in giving out, which I'd imagine is exactly what they're going for.

It's hilarious that people think a radio station that employs Ivan Yates (who goes on a wind up missions against feminists or the left in general at least once a day on his show) and George Hook (who, well, is George Hook) is rabidly left wing.

That RedC poll they were rattling on about this morning showed that 60% of respondents felt women were treated less favourably than men in the workplace.
    So all the women polled and a few feminist-wannabe men believe this to be the case. Hardly earth shattering news and yet they were reporting it as their main story. Yawn

They paid an independent body to carry out research. So yes, it is an independently commissioned report for Newstalk.

You honestly believe that women get the same treatment as men in the workplace? Really? Most of your posts are claiming men are being suppressed so women can have the same opportunities as them, and you seem to be against anything that suggests women be on a level playing field to men.

I would nearly say you aren't a fan of women leaving the kitchen, at this stage.

You then give out about when feminazi's get outraged and bitch and moan about snowflakes getting offended, yet here you are accusing Newstalk of corruption and fake news because the research data doesn't fit YOUR agenda.

If you want the BAI to do anything about it? Complain to them. There's no point sitting on your hands waiting for someone else to do it. Put your money where your mouth is and do it yourself if you have the balls to do so.

I can tell you how it will go, btw, your complaint will be rejected because you simply don't have a case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

I like how the Catholic Church has been replaced by message board posting. Thats progress I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,148 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

I’d say Shane’s stress levels have dropped significantly in recent weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,307 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

You simply cannot have the words Independent and Newstalk in the same sentence.

Now that's completely incorrect, the Independent and Newstalk are both owned by Denis O'Brien.... see i did it right there

:D:D:D

Btw i think your post is completely ridiculous

The feminist lunatics have taken over the asylum. Their own personal failures must be blamed on men always. Their childlike idiocy is now collapsing rape trials, waving their pants in the air and destroying the fabric of Irish society. Vile people.

Mod Note
    Posts like this will not be accepted on the radio forum, they will result in bans so you have all been warned.

Another anti-man report this morning. But it's all coincidence of course. Made the mistake of switching on at 7am, some sort of Pavlovian thing I'm gonna have to try to get myself out of.

To all the people who disagree with me, you are allowed an alternative view. This is boards.ie after all, not Newstalk. But I do wonder how the male presenters in Newstalk are so happy to have themselves and all their male relations presented as rapists and sex offenders.

note to self - listen to audiobook on the way to work, listen to audiobook on the way to work, listen to audiobook on the way to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,148 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Another anti-man report this morning. But it's all coincidence of course. Made the mistake of switching on at 7am, some sort of Pavlovian thing I'm gonna have to try to get myself out of.

To all the people who disagree with me, you are allowed an alternative view. This is boards.ie after all, not Newstalk. But I do wonder how the male presenters in Newstalk are so happy to have themselves and all their male relations presented as rapists and sex offenders.

note to self - listen to audiobook on the way to work, listen to audiobook on the way to work, listen to audiobook on the way to work.

I thought yesterday was your last day listening?

Edit: In fairness you did say you made the mistake of tuning in again but you can just switch it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,835 ✭✭✭Allinall

........ But I do wonder how the male presenters in Newstalk are so happy to have themselves and all their male relations presented as rapists and sex offenders.

Utter rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭5555555555

They are not sending their best are they ??

Student union president says she has been discriminated against.

Unable to provide one example.

It's amazing how simply first world feminist arguments can be destroyed with simple questions.

And it's understandable why men are afraid to ask those questions. Don't want to stir up the Twitter mob.

Even though this morning the lads were openly sceptical of the nonsense being spouted.

Larissa Nolan is a rock of common sense. She has no time for "victim" feminism.

• Registered Users Posts: 611 ✭✭✭redbuck

Had to switch over this morning after another gender discrimination debate. That and the ridiculous debate on Ivan's show were my breaking point.

We're going to live in a country soon run by the Journal.ie's agendas and all men will be made eunuchs and not allowed to leave the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,657 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

redbuck wrote: »
    Had to switch over this morning after another gender discrimination debate. That and the ridiculous debate on Ivan's show were my breaking point.

We're going to live in a country soon run by the Journal.ie's agendas and all men will be made eunuchs and not allowed to leave the house.

Ah yeah I'd say that's fairly likely all right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

The sheer hysteria of some posters on here about gender issues just being discussed... What is your problem? If you're not interested in an issue or topic, that's fine, but that doesn't mean it shouldn't be discussed.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

CatFromHue wrote: »

He not only sounds like Chris Donoghue, he looks like him too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Podcasts and Google Play Music it is then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,857 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Considering the turnover in presenters for that show I'd say when they looked at Cuddihy they saw someone who actually wanted the job and would stay at it for a few years at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

Was a quiet exit for Paul Williams, or did I miss any on air goodbye?

Was he sacked or did he leave?

Constant shilling for Hotels and booze I reackon did for him.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Think he was sacked, someone posted a link to an article behind a paywall. Got 24 hours notice!

As a side, anyone catch the word today for the Apple prize?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=108698786&postcount=3116

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

5555555555 wrote: »
    They are not sending their best are they ??

Student union president says she has been discriminated against.

Unable to provide one example.

It's amazing how simply first world feminist arguments can be destroyed with simple questions.

And it's understandable why men are afraid to ask those questions. Don't want to stir up the Twitter mob.

Even though this morning the lads were openly sceptical of the nonsense being spouted.

Larissa Nolan is a rock of common sense. She has no time for "victim" feminism.

Larissa is an actual eg of the 'strong independent woman' who these people claim to be.

Like you say she has no time for the victim mentality or being a narcissistic loser. Wallowing in self pity never got anybody anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

More gender shyte this morning, same as every morning at this stage...and of course the same with Ivan this evening. Been listening to this show for a long time but I think it's time to find something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Time to bring back Paul Williams?

Two little school girls on this morning giggling away about 'guilty pleasures, home & away and down on one knee proposals.'

Nauseating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭Azatadine

They are atrocious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jk23

Did anyone get the key word for the hard shoulder competition, completely missed the last part of breakfast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭buckfasterer

jk23 wrote: »
    Did anyone get the key word for the hard shoulder competition, completely missed the last part of breakfast

Sparkle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jk23

Sparkle

Thank you for the help.

This morning the lads had a chat about a United Ireland given the opinion pieces recently in the papers about middle class Catholics and Protestants up North are warming to the idea.
    Cuddihy you'll be surprised to hear has never ever had any particular desire for a United Ireland and he's never ever really considered it or felt a warm feeling at the thought of it. It's a 'foreign country' up there and anyways we can't afford it so he's against it.

jay0109 wrote: »
    This morning the lads had a chat about a United Ireland given the opinion pieces recently in the papers about middle class Catholics and Protestants up North are warming to the idea.
    Cuddihy you'll be surprised to hear has never ever had any particular desire for a United Ireland and he's never ever really considered it or felt a warm feeling at the thought of it. It's a 'foreign country' up there and anyways we can't afford it so he's against it.

Opinion of most folk I'd bargain.

Don't know, I've always felt a vote for UI in the South would pass easily. Maybe I'm out of kilter but I'd be surprised if it wasn't won