Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

NBP: National Broadband Plan Announced

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

There's an obvious tilt to your reasoning... I'm a professional programmer who writes web applications and contributes heavily to open source (i.e. free to use) software. I'm a member of two international bodies, one a standards organisation, for my programming language of choice. I'm not a farmer, but I do live in a rural area where Eir's standard service has been unchanged since I first had an internet connection established. My house is in the amber category of the recent NBP map.

Seriously though, there are professional working folk out in the country. We just commute to your urban areas, and/or contribute to rent problems, office shortages, traffic congestion, put up with high time/operating costs, and generally curse the broadband gods for confining us.

And yes, it would be nice to use Youtube at home. It does something with videos? Like...like...a TV?

You chose to live in an area with limited connectivity and yet there is a obvious tilt to my reasoning and not a obvious bias to yours? If you choose to live in an area without a specific service, why is it the state's problem to provide it to you.