Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 27/11/2014 to 10/02/2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

I'm gonna write a song about Done deal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,654 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Flukey wrote: »
    Well that rules out the "He hasn't a leg to stand on" line.

Ba dum tish.

Why in the name of jaysus is this man on liveline :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Lapin wrote: »
    Oh no.

Songs about bingo.

Mother of all fucking mercy. :(

The programme has just entered some form of event horizon...
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

signostic wrote: »
    is this an audition for Funny Friday?

If he gets as much as a tiny giggle or even a smirk, he's blown it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    He wasn't claiming it is!

He was pointing out the anomalies in the rules/legislation that say that someone who loses a lower limb can have a tax rebate on getting a car adapted, but someone who loses an upper limb can't, unless they've lost both limbs - and looking for support in a campaign to get those rules changed.

Were you even listening to him?

I would contend that driving a car, even an automatic car, with only one arm is inherently dangerous. It is perfectly OK to drive an automatic with only one leg because you only use one foot.

What are you doing in the Netherlands?

Have you been scammed lately?

Have you a disease?

What's your difference?

Will you blub on air for me?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Is he sweeping the wet floor of something?

Ba dum tish.

You could ask that about half the callers... and the presenter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

He wasn't claiming it is!

He was pointing out the anomalies in the rules/legislation that say that someone who loses a lower limb can have a tax rebate on getting a car adapted, but someone who loses an upper limb can't, unless they've lost both limbs - and looking for support in a campaign to get those rules changed.

Were you even listening to him?

He must have some useless TD in his area, this is the sort of thing TDs should be doing , lobbying for change in legislation like this , but he's only one vote I suppose .

• Registered Users Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Fujitsu10

I might need to be on standby with the Cork Subtitles after the break I think.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I would contend that driving a car, even an automatic car, with only one arm is inherently dangerous. It is perfectly OK to drive an automatic with only one leg because you only use one foot.

Well luckily you don't get to make the rules.

That's why adaptations have to be made.

And again, you've missed the point. It's the unfairness of the anomaly in the rules that he has a problem with.

Roger_007 wrote: »

If it were inherently dangerous there would a slew of crashed one-armed drivers. I don't see them.

SLOW DOWN ffs...

gthy hjjujuj hyj hy h hhhhh bank. tttyf gmogtogtg gktog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

translate for us Joe

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    If it were inherently dangerous there would a slew of crashed one-armed drivers. I don't see them.
    yes , and they wouldn't be insurable , so adapted vehicles for upper limb amputees must be available and proven to be safe.

It's a mystery. A random caller to tease us.

"Robbery? That would be a civil matter."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Thare is absolutely nothing talented, humerous, interesting or notable about writing songs about bingo.

But because some salt of the earth eejit bumps into Joe somewhere and asks him if there is any chance of a plug on the show sometine, it becomes facinating and entertaining listening for us all.

Well done for moving on Joe. You did your favour.

Just please don't sign off at the end with one of his frigging songs.

snubbleste wrote: »
    gthy hjjujuj hyj hy h hhhhh bank. tttyf FFFFFF gmogtogtg gktog

FYP :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,451 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Pat got robbed of €1400 and Joe had no time for him.

Woman from Limerick who is a single mother with a disabled son gets robbed of €480 and she gets a half an hour.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Them 2 bottles of water could be worth 500 euro in a few years time with all these rates!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Any mention of the T word yet?

Business went into 'lickidation' , so insolvency can be fun then!

They must have awful nimble fingers, these guys.

A black toyota corolla 00..

If they were actually T guys, you can bet someone would have slipped it in "by mistake", mar dhea, by now.

We had tears twice already today.

I wonder would all these bad lines be anything to do with people ringing in on stolen iPhones?

DoneDeal plug.

Do these people not realise that they are probably dealing in stolen goods.......why would anyone be selling an iPhone 6 when they are only on the market a few months. And most are bought as part of a package which lasts for 18 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

Ba dum tish.

Sad to inform you but Joe has been on de Lavlahn for years :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Finbar it lucky he's only coming on now, otherwise Joe will go to town on him demanding he's personally responsible for all these scams.

Done Deal desperately doing de-Joeing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,171 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Really hope they give that poor lady the iphone 6...would be really nice thing to do

As per usual, callers trying to defend their reputations get squeezed into the last three minutes.

DellyBelly wrote: »
    Really hope they give that poor lady the iphone 6...would be really nice thing to do
    Whoy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

A black toyota corolla 00..

Hi-ace?

Can't see them doing it publicly, the scammer's would be on to it pronto

This guy (whom I happen to know) hasn't listed a single thing that the first caller didn't do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Joe is not happy with the site

I'd probably agree with that if she made her begging call with a little more dignity.

Also, I'd like to see the phone returned to the true owner first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

Jeez, what a shoyte episode.

BPKS wrote: »
    Cheap Chinese look-a-likes.

Careful now.

If I want a cheapy Chinese smartphone there's no shortage on ali-x and some of them are pretty good.

"And Brenda Donaghue is next".

Oh no she isn't.

Lapin wrote: »
    As per usual, callers trying to defend their reputations get squeezed into the last three minutes.

It's not that. The man is in the whole of his health, so there was no condition to extract gory details about. You need more time for those calls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

I fix TVs in my spare time and am frequently looking up Adverts for second hand tellys to fix.. There was one guy up there who had bought a brand new 3D TV from a lad dressed as a security guard.. paid near a grand for it I think... Got it home and plugged it in and the screen was just black... On closer inspection he noticed that the screen was actually cracked and the guy painted over the front of the screen with black matte paint so as to hide the crack....

I buy stuff from Adverts but you always have to assume that the guy you are buying from is a crook and organise the transaction on that basis..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,171 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Whoy?

I felt sorry for her. She sounded so upset by the ordeal. I think it was a bit of a lost opportunity for donedeal to do something at Christmas...ah well