Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mini Winter Matchplay Event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,386 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

pcasso wrote: »
    Sorry, I can't do this Friday.
    I can play Monday or Wednesday next week and pretty much any day bar Monday the following one

I'll play Fix this Friday so and we can play next Weds?

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭pcasso

PARlance wrote: »
    I'll play Fix this Friday so and we can play next Weds?
    Sounds fine to me.
    Just the small matter of the weather to sort out now:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,067 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Lads ,

It looks like we could be turning a corner with temperatures.
    We will try get things moving again soon - we have been a bit unlucky so far.

http://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Leinster/Corballis/long.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭dar_cool

Hopefully will pick up soon, getting a bit brighter in the evenings!!

dar_cool wrote: »
    Hopefully will pick up soon, getting a bit brighter in the evenings!!

Sorry on that one dar.

I can play pretty much any day next week bar Monday if that suits anyone.

I'm around next week too, Weds morning would suit me best.

Sounds good to me.
    It's a date. :D

I'll be available Monday - Tuesday - Wednesday next week,

Will head out to play with ye too , if I have no match.

BTW - dar found a great deal I have used - there is a 9.99 option on golf now most days at 10:04

I'll be available Monday - Tuesday - Wednesday next week,

Will head out to play with ye too , if I have no match.

BTW - dar found a great deal I have used - there is a 9.99 option on golf now most days at 10:04

Teetimes.ie usually have a €10 green fee every day around mid morning as well.
    As both are pre pay it would probably be wise to wait a while to book in case the weather decides to take another turn for the worse.
    hopefully it won't

looks class this week lads.

I hope to get my second match in on Mon - Tue - Wed morning , all from about 930 to 1000 hrs ?

Lads could someone give group a, a push. Thanks. I know we were unluck with weather January, but things improving now.

We hope to get group matches all finished by end Feb - Semi early March - Final mid March.

lads, don't forget you can get out at weekends there no problem - Golf now or tee times.

Every time I stick this up it gets worse. :D

Anyway - hail rain or snow - we are trying to get 2 matches on in out group next week.

We hope to have all at 2 games by Feb 15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭ryaner777

Can anyone from group 1 make a game on monday ?

I'm off all day so anytime will suit me. Let me know and I'll book it.

Even though it looks Baltic I can play tomorrow. Probably be better to tee off later in the morning as there is a hard frost due. it might be nice to have temperatures above freezing too. ;).
    I could also play Wednesday but conditions look similar to tomorrow.

I'll be around Wed, will pm.

Even though it looks Baltic I can play tomorrow. Probably be better to tee off later in the morning as there is a hard frost due. it might be nice to have temperatures above freezing too. ;).
    I could also play Wednesday but conditions look similar to tomorrow.

Pcasso - a bit of luck for once and temperatures improving on Wed.

When you say tempratures improving I assume you mean above zero :)
    Unfortunately I am still having issues with my motor. I should find out tomorrow morning how I am fixed for Wednesday.
    I will pm you then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Looks like my goose is cooked, myself and parlance played this afternoon and the result was a draw.

He had me on the ropes all day, was 3 down after 11 but managed to get a win on the last to scrape a draw.

I had to get dirty on the last but I will get over it !

J

Looks like my goose is cooked, myself and parlance played this afternoon and the result was a draw.

He had me on the ropes all day, was 3 down after 11 but managed to get a win on the last to scrape a draw.

J
    Well, you are pretty much guaranteed a win when you play me so don't give up hope just yet. :cool:

I wouldnt be too sure, I had at least 3 bad shanks today.

J

J

Good luck getting to sleep tonight :)

Fell like I blew it but you stepped up a gear on the back 9. I'll take the draw and run.
    I should beat Fix handy enough so I'll take a draw against Pcasso.

First singles matchplay. Think I've got the bug.

Good luck getting to sleep tonight :)

Fell like I blew it but you stepped up a gear on the back 9. I'll take the draw and run.
    I should beat Fix handy enough so I'll take a draw against Pcasso.

First singles matchplay. Think I've got the bug.

Sounds a great match lads

Where was it played ?

Anyway delighted a match was played.

Fair play lads,
    Do you fancy playing our Match this week Ryaner? I'm free every morning this week.

Fair play lads,
    Do you fancy playing our Match this week Ryaner? I'm free every morning this week.

I'm free in the morning ?

Sorry Ryaner I've booked my nct for the morning, should have said, any other day suit?

Nah, I'm in work the rest of the week. Sorry

I might be able to get out Weds morning if Pcasso or Fix want to get a game completed

I'm not sticking this up as I'm on top - without pcasso playing yet :D

But wanted to remind all of the scoring system (HD = hole difference)

The 1/2 makes things more interesting.

Pts most important
    Then match between the 2 players in question
    Then HD

The idea of HD was to stop people throwing the towel in on a bad day - always something to play for.

So even if you are gone by last match (hopefully this does not happen) - keep trying as - every score and result has an impact on table.

Thanks lads - hopefully I've explained it well. But will talk to most of you. I'll post tables - nothing like seeing a table to get lads thinking :)

By the way, top 2 from each group to semi. Semi in Port Links we think ?.

Played HD Pts
    FixdePitchmark 1 2 1.00
    PARlance 1 0 0.50
    Golfgraffix 2 -2 0.50
    Pcasso 0 0 0.00

I can play Tuesday or Friday this week if anyone can make that.

I may be able to do Tuesday.

Great. Let me know if/when you can and I can make a booking.

My day has now filled up, sorry !

No worries mate. Another time

pcasso - could you play tomorrow at 1330 ?

Or Parlance can you take that match ?

Or I can play Friday ?

pcasso - could you play tomorrow at 1330 ?

Or Parlance can you take that match ?

Or I can play Friday ?
    Half one is probably a bit late too for me.
    Presuming that we could get round in four hours max I could probably tee off at one at the latest.
    Not sure if that is any good to you mate.
    I am good for Friday though as well at the moment.

Half one is probably a bit late too for me.
    Presuming that we could get round in four hours max I could probably tee off at one at the latest.
    Not sure if that is any good to you mate.
    I am good for Friday though as well at the moment.

I'l pm you now.

lads anyone want to play in am as 10 euro.

We are there from 920 am.

Could The Room Wrecker give us a pm.

Anyone playing on Friday?
    Fix, Pcasso?

Anyone playing on Friday?
    Fix, Pcasso?

Me and pcasso are , weather looks a mixed bag - improving later.
    Me or you will give this poor lad a game.

He is flexible - so maybe best if you get your match in as me and pcasso live near and work similiar hours.

Perfect, I'm good to go on Fri so. I'm easy re time. Ideally not first thing..... Don't want to be late

"My Oh My".

What a day of winter golf - a day you look at weather and go, is this worth it ?

But witnessed a fantastic match today - another one still in mix on 17 - every match has been in the mix on 17 - 4 matches I've seen.

Every weather going - the day you justify all the gear in your bag - wet gear , thermals , gloves . Hot, cold, wet, lovely. Ireland.

It was pcasso's first match - try to explain! meeting 2 lads for the first time, from the internet, down a lane, the day before Valentine's :D,

But our love, is of a different type - Links golf. There are more out there than you think.

Pcasso started poor - but there was a constant in his game, from early on - up and down or near it most times. This game is all about getting the ball in the hole. Pcasso put together a round to be proud of (39 points).

Parlance - his usual consistent self. But, just that bit of magic he normally produces when needed, was not there on front 9 - maybe just once on 4 .

We had all entered the Friday singles too, perhaps it takes away from the whole matchplay feel and flow - but glad we did, as pcasso had a run of threes a small forest would be proud of.

Thankfully I was just there as an observer, as my front nine was embarrassing. Couldn't do anything right.

Then just like a cigarette lighting up - PARlance can turn it on. Par - Par - Birdie , All square. Then pcasso hits back with the unusual long putt Birdie on the feared 13. Then a Par from PAR , then another PAR, then another PAR.
    Unreal stuff.

It was a joy to watch the two lads give it everything , it is only a friendly little Matchplay. But, It was a par or better most holes - good golf at any standard , handicap or course.

So on the dreaded 17 - PARlance (1up), was maybe 10 feet short with club - rolled down the hill, pcasso long right.

At this stage , I feared for pcasso keeping it going, as he genuinely looked a bit nervous. PARlance, well PARlance, Ice. Fag and all.

Great up and down to get match back to A/S by pcasso.

Last hole - both lads got away poor enough - it was no longer the score, it was now pure dead heat - pull for pull , punch for punch. At this stage for some bizarre comedic interlude to the palpable tension, a Terrier entered the scene and wanted to take PARlance's ball twice. Was funny - but death was at risk for the poor dog.

It was only right - that another up and down from pcasso , won it for him, putter from the dip behind 18, great hard shot to judge.

A cracker - the Terrier ran away. He had his fun too.

So with onlt 3 games remaining in group b - brilliantly - all can still qualify - all can still end up on 1.5 pts.

Sadly for pcasso - his bluff of him being an easy game, is well and truly called.

Interesting 2 weeks ahead - we hope to have finished up. If anyone makes a semi - I wouldn't fancy beating any of the lads in this group I've seen.

Played HD Pts
    FixdePitchmark 1 2 1.00
    Pcasso 1 1 1.00
    PARlance 2 -1 0.50
    Golfgraffix 2 -2 0.50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Any word from Roomwrecker?

At this stage no. It means group a will be 3 men - That is fine too.
    Makes things easier considering it is mid feb.

So Big - you've one game to go.

Still 2 men from group a into semi - 3 games to go to. Same as group b.

Sorry Room Wrecker - tried a good bit.

I just hope I didn't embarrass myself :o

Big shout out to Flex and Parlance.
    Two top top blokes and I couldn't have had had a better introduction to Boards golf.
    Flex was even good enough to give me a lift out.
    I suspect I may need to make my own way out next time.:D

It was a super game to be involved in, one of the best matchplay game I have ever played in. My game wasn't pretty unless you want to describe it as pretty ugly but I scrambled well and often got it in the hole ahead of expectations,
    I feel guilty having prevailed over such a fine golfer as Parlance.
    I doubt if it will ever be anything but a rare event.
    Cheers again lads.
    I look forward to golfing with you both again.

Great game Pcasso and a pleasure to meet & play you. Can't feel bad about the loss, 35 points around there is a good day so I'm happy for that. You're a bugger to play against :) anywhere close to the green and you were up and down no bother.

I thought I had you after coming back from 3 down at the turn to AS standing on the 13th... but a sh**k put pay to that. Fair play for getting a 2 there... it meant the sh**k was easier to take.

I think we only halved 4 holes? 1,2,4,16? It was far from boring anyway :)

My loss was made a little easier to handle after picking up a €50 voucher from my last visit. Won the closest to the pin and a 2 on 13.... I could have done with repeating that today... it would have only got me a halve though.

That's only my 2nd singles matchplay, both have been crackers. I've got the bug.

Playing Fix next and I need a win, probably a good win at that. I reckon it'll be 4&3... I'll leave Mr. Corballis crying on the 15th ;)

PARlance at risk of becoming the Liverpool of group b.

Great game Pcasso and a pleasure to meet & play you. Can't feel bad about the loss, 35 points around there is a good day so I'm happy for that. You're a bugger to play against :) anywhere close to the green and you were up and down no bother.

I thought I had you after coming back from 3 down at the turn to AS standing on the 13th... but a sh**k put pay to that. Fair play for getting a 2 there... it meant the sh**k was easier to take.

I think we only halved 4 holes? 1,2,4,16? It was far from boring anyway :)

My loss was made a little easier to handle after picking up a €50 voucher from my last visit. Won the closest to the pin and a 2 on 13.... I could have done with repeating that today... it would have only got me a halve though.

That's only my 2nd singles matchplay, both have been crackers. I've got the bug.

Playing Fix next and I need a win, probably a good win at that. I reckon it'll be 4&3... I'll leave Mr. Corballis crying on the 15th ;)

It was only till you won fourteen and fifteen to go one up in the match that I thought my goose was cooked. Especially when initially on fourteen when we were struggling to find your ball I thought that I was going to go two up.
    I did dig in a bit though and made two decent putts on sixteen and seventeen.
    In truth a halved match probably would have been a fair result.
    Thankfully I wasn't thinking that as I stood over my putt on the last :)
    Thanks again for a great game. It was really nice meeting you and Flex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Fix are you Flex? Or was Felexicon there as well and it just wasn't that nice meeting you :p