Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Mini Winter Matchplay Event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,345 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Fix are you Flex? Or was Felexicon there as well and it just wasn't that nice meeting you :p

Rembrandt was there too.

He's some man that Pcasso, he beats me, he gets a lift of Fix but starts calling him Flex. It's all mind games :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,001 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Fix are you Flex? Or was Felexicon there as well and it just wasn't that nice meeting you :p

No, Was going on about my flex so much - the poor lad got confused.

Then that pcasso lad - was going on about surrealism and cubisim. :o jaysus some of my jokes are awful.

Anyway , if i could just get my shaft flex right by the time I play PAR - I'll be grand.

By the way - to take PAR off his " perch " - worked out me and him would have been A/S if played today.

SO after PAR - saying he will leave me crying - this is him now.

This is turning into a grudge match.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTruqFjhFU256yNQsbVsDxTciSUSrZ9dL7UA0NwNd1yTzbOdj_0bA

Anyone know where I can get a set of 4 year old JPX800 R300 in a rush.

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭pcasso

:o:o:o:o:o:o:o:o:o:o:o:o:o:o

This is a crap comp anyway!!!

:) congrats to Fix, we both played fairly average to poor. Mine was more poor than average.
    Saving myself for tomorrow ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

PARlance wrote: »
    This is a crap comp anyway!!!

:) congrats to Fix, we both played fairly average to poor. Mine was more poor than average.
    Saving myself for tomorrow ;)

Good man Fix, Pcasso I am coming to get you !!!

J

I'll be finished by 15
    I'll be making you hole out everything so don't see why not
    Good luck getting to sleep tonight :)
    I should beat Fix handy enough.

Playing Fix next and I need a win, probably a good win at that. I reckon it'll be 4&3... I'll leave Mr. Corballis crying on the 15th ;)

Havent seen that many multiquotes in a good month or so ;)

Good man Fix, Pcasso I am coming to get you !!!

J

Mate you won't even need your "C" game to beat me.
    There is no way that I could get so lucky for a second match.
    :cool: ;)

Actually, a serious question.
    As my handicap has changed do I use the new mark for my remaining matches or the one that I started out with?
    I can see the merits in arguments for both and happy to abide by the organising committee's judgement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

pcasso wrote: »
    Actually, a serious question.
    As my handicap has changed do I use the new mark for my remaining matches or the one that I started out with?
    I can see the merits in arguments for both and happy to abide by the organising committee's judgement.

Organising committee, that's stretching it a bit! :pac::p

I think it's Par's brainchild but he may have lost interest recently ;) It's only a bit of craic, although I hear the intensity in yesterday's match could have rivalled a Ryder Cup :pac:

Pcasso. You free Monday ?

We haven't considered such brilliant play.
    I think it is GUI is first reaction.
    But as I'm playing you . I'll let PARlance make call.

My first reaction would be to go with GUI as well but I wasn't sure.
    I know in previous matchplay competitions I have played in the starting handicap was used for the entire competition.
    Besides, I doubt a single shot will make any difference to an easy win for you mate.:D
    Don't think I can make Monday but Tuesday is a possibility for me.

Do I look like I care!!!
    Sure anything goes when lads don't even bother calling their provisionals.....

:);)

Think it's fairer on the field if everyone plays off starting hc's.

Ok lads.

PARlance has ruled - starting handicap remains.

Time to wrap up round 1.

There are a total of 4 matches remaining in round 1

Group A
    Dar Versus Ryaner
    Big Versus Ryaner

Group B
    Fix V Pcasso
    Golfgraffix V Pcasso

The Semi Final - will be on the weekend of 13 March

The Final Will be on the weekend of 27 March.

I hope to be finished by Tuesday - Hopefully Group B will be finished by 6 March.

Ok lads.

PARlance has ruled - starting handicap remains.

Time to wrap up round 1.

There are a total of 4 matches remaining in round 1

Group A
    Dar Versus Ryaner
    Big Versus Ryaner

Group B
    Fix V Pcasso
    Golfgraffix V Pcasso

The Semi Final - will be on the weekend of 13 March

The Final Will be on the weekend of 27 March.

I hope to be finished by Tuesday - Hopefully Group B will be finished by 6 March.

Apologies again.
    In the unlikely event that I did make the semi finals I won't be able to play on the weekend of March 13th.
    I assume in that instance the third placed player in group b would take my spot. I am happy to play out my remaining two games to see how group finishes.

Pcasso.

It will not be like that - above are just the general shape.
    We will play the Semis whatever day suits.

If we can play as a 4 ball great - but if not the 2 parties will meet at a convenient time.

So we will - pm each other when the final 4 are decided.

You could have a bit of work yet but :)

Pm us - I look good for Tuesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭dar_cool

Sent you a Pm Ryaner, try get our match done this week, bit of stretch in evenings so can start late enough

dar_cool wrote: »
    Sent you a Pm Ryaner, try get our match done this week, bit of stretch in evenings so can start late enough

Yes dar - we were playing after 545 pm the other day and was fine. So it means after lunch matches are on now. If a 2 ball.

Ryaner - you face the full dar cool - needs a big win versus you.

dar _ has a new drive too.

Pcasso.

It will not be like that - above are just the general shape.
    We will play the Semis whatever day suits.

If we can play as a 4 ball great - but if not the 2 parties will meet at a convenient time.

So we will - pm each other when the final 4 are decided.

You could have a bit of work yet but :)

Pm us - I look good for Tuesday
    I did say in the unlikely event that I reach the semi finals.
    Perhaps I should have said in the very unlikely event:D
    Anyway, appreciate the flexibility.
    I will pm you re Tuesday.
    thanks mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭ryaner777

Dar and Big,

Is anyone free this friday or next monday to get our games sorted ?

I'm going to play the open in corballis friday and can play anywhere on monday.

ryaner777 wrote: »
    Dar and Big,

Is anyone free this friday or next monday to get our games sorted ?

I'm going to play the open in corballis friday and can play anywhere on monday.

I'm looking at the weekend after next, would you be able to get out on that Saturday or Sunday?

I could do next Monday ryaner before 10?

Yeah, I should be able too, Thats the weekend of the 7th/8th March ??

Would somewhere in Kildare suit you better ?

I could do next Monday ryaner before 10?

Super, so corballis monday morning ?

€9 on golf now for 10.04, we'll get out earlier if we arrive early

Super, so corballis monday morning ?

Yep sounds good, I'll pm you at the weekend to confirm times.

When yours truly met Mr Links there was always going to be only one winner and the only mystery is how the match needed to go down the eighteenth hole to reach it's conclusion.
    My obligatory poor start was met by solid golf from Fix and so he was three up after three. Easy.
    A nice birdie on the treacherous par three forth followed by a par on the fifth brought the match back to Fix one up and suddenly we were in a game.
    Or were we. A couple of OOB's off the tee on the equally treacherous par three sixth and a hack down seven were no match for pars from Fix and the game was back to three up. Cruising.
    A bit of Gentleman's golf followed, Fix would gift me a hole and I would gift the very next one back to him meant that he was still three up after thirteenth.
    Fix was cruising and in truth I think he was starting to feel sorry for me.
    Almost a big mistake Mr Links.
    A poor chip from on front of the fourteenth green allowed me to take the hole and suddenly I remembered how to play golf.
    My best drive of the day and a sharp five iron left me just off the green in regulation on fifteen. Fix unluckily in the bunker short of the green hits a beauty to twelve feet. I respond my hitting the pin from thirty feet but it still rolls four feet on. Fix's putt just doesn't drop and mine rolls nicely into the centre of the cup.
    One down. Is this a game we are having after all?
    Blow for blow up sixteen and another nerveless five footer for net par bring the match all square.
    Mr Links looks rattled.
    Seventeen is a monster at the best of times but into a three/four club wind it is an even more odious beast.
    An unconvincing iron from myself comes up a little short and that only means one thing on this hole, the ball rolling back down the hill to be a lot short.
    Fix, cool, calm collected, hits that little low punch shot that has served him well all day and finds the right level of the green stuff, fifteen feet past the pin. Form is temporary. class is permanent. Cometh the hour, cometh the man.
    A pro would struggle to make it up and down from the bottom of the hill on seventeen and I ain't no pro.
    Fix back to one up but incredibly we are going down eighteen.
    Good drives by both and Fix hits a great iron to fifteen feet.
    I try to respond but the wind doesn't bring my ball back as much as expected. Still pin high, just off the green and with a shot on the hole, two puts might just give me the win on the hole.
    Good putt but not quite hard enough. Four feet shy.
    Fix, killer instinct, going for birdie, to finally kill the game.
    Ohhhhhhhhhh
    Six feet by............
    Coolly rolls in the return.
    A putt to halve with Mr Links.
    Just one more decent putt.
    Not quite right.
    Catches the lip.
    Spins out.
    The anguish.
    Against the odds I could have halved with Mr Links. Damn.

While at times it didn't appear to be much of a match, in the end it turned into a great one.
    Thanks for a great game Fix.
    I didn't deserve anything from the game but I still wish I made that putt on eighteen :D
    Hopefully we get to play again, even if it isn't in the Final.:)

Mr Links :D - lol , who made that up, PARlance.

Another match that got to the last. Amazing - not one handy match in group.
    All played in good spirit - well, almost all.

The wind speed today was 14 m/sec - a bit crazy to be honest , but pcasso and I have had too many false starts of this match to call it off. I did feel a little guilty, as the conditions would suit me more - pcasso "claims" he doesn't play much winter golf - I sort of believe him, as a nice guy - but he keeps claiming he is going to lose easy and is putting up a bad show on this bluff - including a category win 2 weeks ago in winter conditions also.

Was great fun - real test to judge cross wind. 3 was hilarious - I won it with a 7 . Was just unplayable.

Pcasso did brilliant to keep hold of me on 4 and 5 - winning both with me getting pars. Class stuff.

The best shot of the day was by pcasso, a driver on the par 3 9th to about 8 feet - for a birdie - that is a class score any day of the week there - and in the conditions, one to take out of this winter.

This event is a bit of fun, to keep us all moving in winter - but has also been very useful for some of us, getting matchplay experience - as it is not something I have had too much exposure to. It truly is a different game - it is more like chess in a way - I love chess. :D

A lead of 2 or 3 - is a dangerous place, and haven't managed my leads well in this. The truth be known, pcasso started playing his best stuff at the right time - a sign of a ballsy golfer.

I had to pull everything out of the bag on 17 and 18 - and was happy to finish strong - a 1/2 would have been a fair result - and pcasso missed his only key putt all day on 18 - lip out.

After all that golf, the margins can seem amazingly small.

So, very enjoyable - the weather played a part today.

I'm glad I'm not meeting any fecker in this group again - unless I and the other, make it to the final. The other group has strong golfers too - so interesting Semis on the way.

Thanks group b - enjoyed it. See you - well, I don't know when or where or why. But........ I feel we will.

So Table important for last match in group B

Played HD Pts
    FixdePitchmark 3 6 3.00
    Pcasso 2 0 1.00
    Golfgraffix 2 -2 0.50
    PARlance 3 -4 0.50

Golfgraffix must win V pcasso in last game to get to semi.
    A 1/2 will do for pcasso for a semi.

HD (Hole Difference) - will not come into play in group b.

I'm into a semi - versus 2nd in group a.

I'll post group a after next match - Dar_cool must win to stay in. But all in group can still qualify.

Pcasso

I have time tomorrow afternoon and monday Tuesday next week.

J

Pcasso

J

No thanks j for keeping you in. ;)

Another man would have turned up and taken his chance to knock you out
    Mrs Links. :D

Pcasso

J
    I can't make tomorrow or next Tuesday but Monday would be fine.
    Will we give it a bit to see what the weather is like before we book anything.
    Fix reckoned that you will beat me handy:D

Lol,

Your game is up pcasso on that trick.

Monday will be my last day for at least a week. I am easy on the weather, dont mind what its like.

J

Monday will be my last day for at least a week. I am easy on the weather, dont mind what its like.

J
    Cool. Hopefully the weather is reasonably decent then.

You want to play it at Portmarnock Links ?

What happens in our group seems as Roomwrecker isnt participating?

Same . Top 2 of 3..
    Same format.

2 matches each.
    You need a win v ryainer.

A couple of combinations. But your still in.

The better the win the better the chances.

But even a win would do. If big wins his 2 games.

So all still to play for.

Same . Top 2 of 3..
    Same format.

2 matches each.
    You need a win v ryainer.

A couple of combinations. But your still in.

The better the win the better the chances.

But even a win would do. If big wins his 2 games.

So all still to play for.

Hey Fix,
    What happened the bloke who was originally organizing this?
    He seems to have lost interest:D
    Sorry A.:cool:

Hey Fix,
    What happened the bloke who was originally organizing this?
    He seems to have lost interest:D
    Sorry A.:cool:

Excuse me, I think I set the tone in the opening post
    "Not a lot of planning has gone into this but we'll run with this for the time being. If there's more/less interest we can change it around."

I now have less interest :)
    Mammy pitchMark took over ages ago ;)

No PAR. Doing all the work behind the scenes.

He has money. So still important.

Yeah, I should be able too, Thats the weekend of the 7th/8th March ??

Would somewhere in Kildare suit you better ?

Yip 7th or 8th, we better stick to the links seeming as that was the intention. So unless you fancy a trip to Lahinch or Belmullet ;) The enduring charm of Corballis will have to suffice :)

Great blow by blow pcasso, you transported me there. Not sure Fix's putt on 18 wasn't a rush of blood though :P

Well done on the win Fix, hoping I get the opportunity to test my skills against you

I've so little interest that I missed the 2 posts about the game today, didn't know ye played :(
    Well done Fix! Couldn't happen to a nicer man, prone to not declaring the odd provisional, but still a nice man :)

Picasso_The_Actor_1904.JPG

That's a painting called The Actor by Picasso... It's not as good as the act that you've been carrying on with on this thread Pcasso :D
    Mr Matchplay just lost out to Mr. Corballis (I never gave him the title of Mr. Links) today ;)

Ok so my two fixtures are sorted

1st V Dan Monday @ 10 am Corballis
    2nd V Big 7th or 8th Corballis

So both groups should be sorted by monday the 8th

Are the semi final dates set yet ?

Ok so my two fixtures are sorted

1st V Dar Monday @ 10 am Corballis
    2nd V Big 7th or 8th Corballis

So both groups should be sorted by monday the 8th

Are the semi final dates set yet ?

I like it ryaner - your making a name for yourself and could be taking on PAR's role now he has been dethroned.

Lads - I know links lads are up "their own links grass" - but surialist paintings on thread - sort of explains why semis are not set in stone.

Things will be clearer Monday - and we will organisie a date for semi early next week . It looks like most lads remaining are not tied to a weekend - this a good thing.

Anyway - I'll send PM to remaing golfers on Monday - the time being condiered is 12th to 16th.

We will target a 4 ball for semi - more fun , but will be down to availability.

On PM - we will talk if it should be neutral ground.
    A links for both ideally.

Myself and Pcasso wont get to play next week.

J

Myself and Pcasso wont get to play next week.

J

What date do you think you can get match played by ?

Hopefully playing next Monday.

Sorry dar but I'll have to cancel tomorrow. I've to go to a funeral. Are ye free on Friday for a game ?

No probs. I could do Friday would have to be early though

Perfect. Early suits me too.