Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Mini Winter Matchplay Event

123457»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,001 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

The Big.

In The Island - many, many holes will be won with pars or more.

bg-8.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭pcasso

You are playing the semis in the Island?
    Damn.
    Now I am even more disappointed not to have made it through.:(
    Enjoy lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

pcasso wrote: »
    You are playing the semis in the Island?
    Damn.
    Now I am even more disappointed not to have made it through.:(
    Enjoy lads.

If you had of knocked me out it wouldn't have been the Island :)

All booked and sorted for 9:30, they have good practise facilities if you want to get there early.

Please be careful driving in, if you have not been on the road before it is quite narrow and blind in places.

J

If you had of knocked me out it wouldn't have been the Island :)

Should have beaten Fix then.
    No, that wouldn't have worked either:(
    I always enjoyed the Island any time i played it, even when I kicked it around. Which as you can guess is most of the time:)
    As luck would have it I appear to have crocked my back so I won't be swinging a club for a bit.
    Enjoy the day.
    I look forward to reading about it.

Great game with the lads, some very good golf from all.

It will be Golfgraffix Vs Fix in the final.

Course was in amazing condition

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,159 ✭✭✭benny79

who would of guessed! clash of the Titans!

Very enjoyable day out in The Island. My favourite course on the east coast.

In hindsight - the two lads The Big and Ryaner had a major disadvantage not having played the course before.

Many holes require experience and the pace of greens and off runs is a totally new experience.

I love course - finding it a bit easier every time - but today was as easy as it comes there - rough still down - wind down. I plan to play the course once a year every year.

So Golfgraffix in final - a lad who is a better player - better ball flight - better short game - a better putter - a better mental game - better equipment , but after all that, a higher handicap. So an impossible task.

I'm happy enough with my run - and will enjoy our day out in The European Club.
    I've at least won a free round.

So Golfgraffix in final - a lad who is a better player - better ball flight - better short game - a better putter - a better mental game - better equipment , but after all that, a higher handicap. So an impossible task.

You forgot better Looking !

Well done to the two winners and commiserations to the losers.
    There is no shame coming of second best against those two guys.
    The final is a hard one to call from my limited experience of both golfers but it should be a cracker.:)

I have taught you well Grasshopper.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Very enjoyable day out in The Island. My favourite course on the east coast.

In hindsight - the two lads The Big and Ryaner had a major disadvantage not having played the course before.

Many holes require experience and the pace of greens and off runs is a totally new experience.

I love course - finding it a bit easier every time - but today was as easy as it comes there - rough still down - wind down. I plan to play the course once a year every year.

I'm happy enough with my run - and will enjoy our day out in The European Club.
    I've at least won a free round.

Ah here Fix, this everyone is better than me shtick is getting harder to justify these days :D

Wish I'd had the time/flexibility to have gotten involved in this, sounds like a great bit of craic was had.

You forgot better Looking !

I did think of that - nicer car and life too :P:D

When are you getting to 5 by the way.

By the way - looked up that Chat we had about your plans next year - from wiki

" One competitive level down from the Challenge Tour are four third-level developmental tours—the Alps Tour, the EPD Tour, the PGA EuroPro Tour and the Nordic League "

Space - it was harder work than it sounds.

But lads who got to Semi and final - got a great run.

All joking aside - was logistically difficult - The League style.
    But most of us - were fairy inexperienced at matchplay. But we were saying to each other - it was worth it for the experience and it did focus the mind on the game during a time of year it is hard to keep yourself "course fit".

I honestly think it was great for all our games - well except J - who is perfect anyway.

PARlance leaned lots too.

Was fun - with only one match with real - emm - emmm - lets say, edge in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭dar_cool

Fair play lads, the 2 links gurus, parkland next time I might have a chance!!

" One competitive level down from the Challenge Tour are four third-level developmental tours—the Alps Tour, the EPD Tour, the PGA EuroPro Tour and the Nordic League "

I was talking about the Dutch Gold Northside Tour

When are yous thinking for the final?, think its only right me and Parlance should be the referees down at the euro club. :D 2 northsiders going head to head, could spell trouble, will take a southsider and a mayo man to sort it out:pac:

dar_cool wrote: »
    When are yous thinking for the final?, think its only right me and Parlance should be the referees down at the euro club. :D 2 northsiders going head to head, could spell trouble, will take a southsider and a mayo man to sort it out:pac:

Dar - date is not set yet - I'll work on it Tuesday.

We were thinking Easter week - Holy Thursday/Good Friday , maybe.

But some may be on holiday - I'll send pm.

Lads we are considering

Friday 17th April in The European Club for final. between 930 and 1030 - perhaps 1030 due to travel.

All welcome.

hopefully we get something like 2 4 balls or 2 - 3 balls,.

http://www.theeuropeanclub.com/

Lads we are considering

Friday 17th April in The European Club for final. between 930 and 1030 - perhaps 1030 due to travel.

All welcome.

hopefully we get something like 2 4 balls or 2 - 3 balls,.

http://www.theeuropeanclub.com/

Lads reminder of this - going to book two lines in am.

Will see who is going closer.

Again it is open.
    Both finalists free.
    50 euro is open rate with GUI.

Friday 17th Booked at The European Club.

1016 hrs
    1024 hrs

Full lines are booked - once we see who is going over next few days from mini league we will solid up exact numbers next week.

A few others have expressed an interest in playing.

50 Euro - GUI card required.

Great to get it at that rate - in spring condition. Course fully in play.

Hopefully we finish off a great few months of links in 1/2 decent weather.

Thank post if going - or serious interest in going.

Friday 17th Booked at The European Club.

1016 hrs
    1024 hrs

Full lines are booked - once we see who is going over next few days from mini league we will solid up exact numbers next week.

A few others have expressed an interest in playing.

50 Euro - GUI card required.

Great to get it at that rate - in spring condition. Course fully in play.

Hopefully we finish off a great few months of links in 1/2 decent weather.

Thank post if going - or serious interest in going.

I would love to mate but I am working.
    I look forward to having another chance at getting there when you organise next year's competition. :)
    Enjoy.

So a 4 ball Friday lads ?

If we are going as 4 can we please take the earliest time as possible, I have a game at 3:30 I have to make.

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,070 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

might fancy a bit of this... 1 if there is a spot and 2 if i can get the day off!

Seve OB wrote: »
    might fancy a bit of this... 1 if there is a spot and 2 if i can get the day off!

Dar are you still on.

If Dar is going
    seve we would need 1 more two make the preferred 2 - 3 balls.

I'll get an earlier time say just before 10.

I'll confirm final numbers on wed and ring then.

Dar are you still on.

If Dar is going
    seve we would need 1 more two make the preferred 2 - 3 balls.

I'll get an earlier time say just before 10.

I'll confirm final numbers on wed and ring then.

right so, leave it with me till wed and i'll know then if i can get day off.

I think ill have to backout lads, There is someone out sick in work and I wont be able to take a half day.
    Probably makes it easier now that Steve wants to play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Sorry lads, been off the grid the last couple of weeks.

Best of luck tomorrow to Fix and Graffix for the inaugural boards Winter Matchplay Event :)

It's a little too sunny to be playing the final of a winter event though :P

Enjoy it lads; sorry I can't be there with you :( Should be a cracking day on a cracking course; very jealous! :D

Well...............

dar_cool wrote: »
    Well...............

Postponed. A few things turned up.

Will post when we are playing next

Sorry my fault, was sick this week and wasn't up to playing.

J

Sorry my fault, was sick this week and wasn't up to playing.

J

get better for your interclub match next week dude :)

Seve OB wrote: »
    get better for your interclub match next week dude :)

Actually the match is tomorrow, metro cup against the local rivals Portmarnock GC. We took down the other locals Malahide GC in Barton Cup, so this would be a great double if we could beat them.

Not a chance with me playing two weekends in a row, that's why I had to pull out of Tullamore.

J

Ass m'a remis sur un plateau

Well - Golfgraffix and I - at last, got our diaries synchronised and played the final in Corballis today. The Euro was a case of sick leave , I'm now, the sick one.

With both of us playing our best, should have been a close match - but sadly for me, I didn't turn up, and along with the code of our first ever "Links" Matchplay Event - "the loser writes the write up". I'm blinded by the tears as I write this.

It ended 6 and 4 - Yes 6 and 4 :D , I never got going and Golfgraffix is a new golfer these days - he was always a strong Links player - but this a new level , composure, swing, ball flight , course management, solid short game - As Queen sang "I want it all".

I never got going , and graffix got solid 1/2s on 1, 2, 3, - From poor enough positions - I won 4 , but from then on, it was one way traffic. I hit poor shots at the wrong time and graffix, hit great ones at the right time - It all combines to a good lashing.

The irony that, I kept him in competition in round 1 - is only sinking in now.

Pcasso and Parlance - also kept him in it too. Lads, next time ye have Golfgraffix on the ropes - take him :D

But that is the sign of a great matchplay player.
    Most of us were new enough to matchplay , and if we take one thing from this competition - it is important how you are in adversity as well as strong positions.

SO congratulations Golfgraffix.

Was a fun winter - we had a hard time , with the wind , cold days of trepidation and car problems, but, for all the cold and wind , you sometimes get a day, when it is still and memorable when you play 2 and 3 and 4 and 5 there (stunning).
    You also, never forget when you beat the 3rd hole out there - so rare.

I seen some great golf and great shots over the winter - I seen smiles and frustration , victory and defeat , friendship and slight fights ;). It is a type of golf you get to know someone a little better , your inners and your mind exposed a little more.

But after all that - it was fun. It was important to keep the game moving . You know what! - I think it worked. I see many, if not all of the players that played, getting cuts this year.

That is what golf is about - getting as good as you can , in the time you have, as an amateur and worker and father and student and an unemployed genius and surrealist artist and pseudo socialist ;)

So it takes all sorts - But Golf in a way , is one of the few things most of us had in common . But the true commonality, is a love of this game - a game at times, that whilst we pretend it is just a game - it isn't behind it all. We haven't found out what it is about yet.

So - as The match came to an End - I told golfgraffix, that I was at Paul Brady on Saturday - He told me he sings "The Island as a party piece" :eek::D

I smiled and said, that is very romantic.

His reply was another cracking 8 iron to 10 feet for game over.

Golfgraffix - I don't want to take you to an Island and I don't want to trace your footprints in the sand. ***er. :D:D:D:D:D

But The Island will do again,.

Well after all the nice weather we have been enjoying, at least you got an icy cold windy winters day for your winter match play final

Well, you only have yourself to blame Fix as you had the chance to knock GG out earlier on and blew it by beating me.;)
    Hard luck mate but more importantly congratulation to J.
    Well done and well deserved.
    Thanks again for organizing the competition Fix.
    I look forward to your next one, next year:)

It was a great game today, I think Fix is being hard on himself, he was not at his best today but not too far off. The hard part was he was giving me 5 shots and 4 of them were on the front 9. All I had to do was try and match him for the holes were I did not have a shot and then play it safe on the ones i did. I think i was 3 up for those 4 holes, after that Fix had to push hard to get back. Matchplay can be a cruel fecker sometimes.

I really enjoyed the competition, great to play some competitive golf with new faces. Hoefully we can do it again next year.

J

It was a great game today, I think Fix is being hard on himself, he was not at his best today but not too far off. The hard part was he was giving me 5 shots and 4 of them were on the front 9. All I had to do was try and match him for the holes were I did not have a shot and then play it safe on the ones i did. I think i was 3 up for those 4 holes, after that Fix had to push hard to get back. Matchplay can be a cruel fecker sometimes.

I really enjoyed the competition, great to play some competitive golf with new faces. Hoefully we can do it again next year.

J

When the disappointment subsides. I do admit - I liked the format.
    Perhaps starting it in Dec/January is a bit early. But we were a bit unlucky this winter.

Well done all who finished games - was a serious commitment.

Perhaps - straight knock out would have been the easier way - but not a better event.

Thanks to PARlance for the idea - and the most excellent macro management.

J - You better get a big cut soon after all this.

I'm off, for a well earned rest.

Thanks again lads was a great laugh.

I'll never say never - A bit like number 17 in Corballis - Does anybody really know what is going to happen in the future.

Watching Interstellar here - and totally lost. But easier than 17. :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,256 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

How about a summer one?!!!

charlieIRL wrote: »
    How about a summer one?!!!

Jaysus - between , clubs - boards Soc - interclub - and many of us are in our own societies. This comes to mind.

burning-the-candle-at-both-ends1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,159 ✭✭✭benny79

beat on your own course and all Fix :p Now that is poetry in motion :D

Well done J hard to beat MR Corbellis :) Good entertainment of the cold winter months actually jealous I wasn't involved!

was the final not meant to be held in the European? but good to have it were it all began!

Well done again J! The new king of Corbellis all hail the king!!! :D (sorry Fix couldn't resist)

benny79 wrote: »
    was the final not meant to be held in the European? but good to have it were it all began!

Well done again J! The new king of Corbellis all hail the king!!! :D (sorry Fix couldn't resist)

TY

Yes we were meant to play the European but I was sick that week so we rescheduled for Corballis.

J