Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Another fianna fail fraudster!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/ned-o-keeffe-given-suspended-jail-term-for-false-invoices-1.2021440

With another conviction of a Fianna fail stalwarth for fraud, why are the CAB and Revenue not investigating the party?

Surely its time we had a serious investigation into the criminality within Fianna fail!

Have we figures to the amount of Fianna fail politicians that have been convicted of fraud?

I am absolutely delighted that the hard work of the Gardai has resulted in a conviction of a TD for fraudulently claiming expenses. Not one bit of sympathy for him.

Now, let us hope that they

(1) finally get around to counting the printers in SF HQ and
    (2) teach the PSNI how they do it so that the MLA frauds can be convicted too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Godge wrote: »
    I am absolutely delighted that the hard work of the Gardai has resulted in a conviction of a TD for fraudulently claiming expenses. Not one bit of sympathy for him.

Now, let us hope that they

(1) finally get around to counting the printers in SF HQ and
    (2) teach the PSNI how they do it so that the MLA frauds can be convicted too

Have you seen the Disney movie "Frozen" yet?

There's a song in it that reminds me of you. It's called "let it go".

I'm wondering if you write for the Indo at this stage.

Seriously.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

He should be in jail next to that other Fianna fail fraudster Ivor callelly!

They could nearly re name a wing in mountjoy after the party at this stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Seems like such an odd thing for Ned O'Keefe to do. He owns a multi-million euro pig farm. This is a bit like Denis O'Brien trying to evade a taxi fare.
    why are the CAB and Revenue not investigating the party?
    If CAB and Revenue were to carry on in work based on politically-biased public popularity, I suspect white-collar crime detection rates would plummet.

Presumably CAB and Revenue are not investigating the Fianna Fail party because those agencies have no reason to suspect expenses fraud being organized from within the Fianna Fail party. Presumably the fraud that has been detected appears to been committed by individuals acting alone.

Having said that, it's interesting that Ivor Callelly's fraud was so similar to O'Keefe's, in terms of their modus operandi. I wonder if they are close friends? Ivor Callelly famously owned a home in Cork.

conorh91 wrote: »
    Seems like such an odd thing for Ned O'Keefe to do. He owns a multi-million euro pig farm. This is a bit like Denis O'Brien trying to evade a taxi fare.

If CAB and Revenue were to carry on in work based on politically-biased public popularity, I suspect white-collar crime detection rates would plummet.

Presumably CAB and Revenue are not investigating the Fianna Fail party because those agencies have no reason to suspect expenses fraud being organized from within the Fianna Fail party. Presumably the fraud that has been detected appears to been committed by individuals acting alone.

Having said that, it's interesting that Ivor Callelly's fraud was so similar to O'Keefe's, in terms of their modus operandi. I wonder if they are close friends? Ivor Callelly famously owned a home in Cork.

And the current leader of Fianna fail who stood by Bertie ahern to the end is also from Cork, are you saying we should be investigating a bit further?

Its shown once again that Fianna fail are rotten to the core!

Did fianna fail make any statement about this yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,994 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Godge wrote: »
    hard work of the daily mail to go through expenses and spot this and callely, took gardai/dpp 2 years to prosecute him

And NO jail time for him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

And NO jail time for him!

How many people go to jail for a first offence of this nature?

Hell, go further, how many people manage to not go to jail for 40-50 offences more serious, that often include physical violence.

People need to stop looking at everything as "he got away with it because hes a member of X political party". Theres no shortage of stories in the news of run of the mill scumbags taking much more time and offences before they see a cell.

How many people go to jail for a first offence of this nature?

Hell, go further, how many people manage to not go to jail for 40-50 offences more serious, that often include physical violence.there

People need to stop looking at everything as "he got away with it because hes a member of X political party". Theres no shortage of stories in the news of run of the mill scumbags taking much more time and offences before they see a cell.

Wasn't it 7 offences he was charged with?

He was a minister in the government, defrauding state funds. And the fact he's a millionaire with a massive pig farm makes the offences even worse.

It seems Fianna fail politicians feel they are entitled to rob and steal unhindered.

He should be in jail!

Looks like Michael martin has disappeared down a hole again today, and no sign of the Fianna fail press office either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

He should be in jail next to that other Fianna fail fraudster Ivor callelly!

They could nearly re name a wing in mountjoy after the party at this stage!

Callely isn't in jail anymore.

Phoebas wrote: »
    Callely isn't in jail anymore.

I think he was left out for the fianna fail Ard Fheis!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

I think he was left out for the fianna fail Ard Fheis!

Callely isn't in Fianna Fail anymore.

Phoebas wrote: »
    Callely isn't in Fianna Fail anymore.

Really?

Havent heard of him been thrown out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

O'Keeffe should be stripped of his massive pension and be made to live on the basic Old Age Pension.
    At the outset, TD's should be forced to sign an agreement whereby they forfeit their pensions if they are convicted of wrongdoing. Of course, this will never happen because turkeys don't vote for Christmas and there are all sorts of Constitutional rights and privileges that they can hide behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

He once urged the people of Ireland to boycott the movie 'Babe' saying it would have a detrimental effect on the sales of pork and bacon here.
    Must have spent a lot of time watching The Sopranos himself...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

washman3 wrote: »
    He once urged the people of Ireland to boycott the movie 'Babe' saying it would have a detrimental effect on the sales of pork and bacon here.
    Must have spent a lot of time watching The Sopranos himself...;)

Yet another gombeen man, in a Dail full of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Yet another gombeen man, in a Dail full of them.

Speaks volumes for those who vote for them...:confused:

washman3 wrote: »
    Speaks volumes for those who vote for them...:confused:

And those who will go out canvassing and campaigning for Fianna fail, knowing they are a corrupt party!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭rasper

Had to check out the babe boycott request , didn't believe it was real.
    Honestly who would vote for a clown like that , and that was a minister for state.
    Ff are a fecking joke

• Registered Users Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

What is going on with Fianna Fáil nua and the continuation of the corruption.

You have ex senator Francie o Brien released from his three year sentence for demanding money with menaces. Callely on bail after getting released from prison for fraud. And now o Keeffe getting a suspended sentence for fraud.

I said it before , Fianna Fáil should use their next ard fheis to deliver a seminar on corruption and ethics to halt the corruption in Fianna Fáil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

these people are paid excellent salaries and he fiddled 3,700 odd euro.
    how greedy did politicians become?

And these fraudsters will still get votes in the next election!

Still no statement from Michael martin. The coward refuses to come out and condemn this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭donaghs

these people are paid excellent salaries and he fiddled 3,700 odd euro.
    how greedy did politicians become?

As well as being a millionaire already. How low would this man stoop?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,533 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

A prime example as to why the expenses system needs to be completely overhauled. There needs to be far more oversight and everything should have to be vouched. Its pretty worrying as to how reform of the expenses system has completely gone off the agenda.
    Really?

Havent heard of him been thrown out!

Brian Cowen expelled him way back in 2010 immediately after the revelations came to light.

O'Keefe is no longer a member of Fianna Fáil either.

donaghs wrote: »
    As well as being a millionaire already. How low would this man stoop?

Well hes a convict and a member of Fianna fail, so you can't get much lower!

Which will bring more shame on he's family I don't know!

A prime example as to why the expenses system needs to be completely overhauled. There needs to be far more oversight and everything should have to be vouched. Its pretty worrying as to how reform of the expenses system has completely gone off the agenda.

Brian Cowen expelled him way back in 2010 immediately after the revelations came to light.

How long were your party Fianna fail running/ruining the country? And your complaining about the expenses system not being overhauled!

What good is it asking him to leave the party after the frauds have been committed, the money has been stolen by then.

Michael martin has disappeared again without a statement, obviously Fianna fail don't see anything wrong with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Couldn't have happened to a nicer guy.

In the past he refused to deal with a village in his constituency becasue his gombeen son polled badly there in a local election
    Outspoken Fianna Fail TD Ned O’Keeffe has confirmed that he told the chairperson of the parents' council of a local national school that ‘there are no votes for Fianna Fail' in the school’s village when approached for help in securing funding from the Department of Education.

Claire O’Flynn, chairperson of Rathcormac’s Scoil Bhride Parents' Council said that Deputy O’Keeffe made the ‘disgraceful’ remarks when she contacted him on the ongoing issue of overcrowding and the reliance on temporary classrooms at the school.

“He said that he had no votes in Rathcormac and that he would only speak to people in places where he had votes. He said that as far as Fianna Fail were concerned Rathcormac was ‘no use to us’ and asked me who I voted for,” Mrs O’Flynn said.

Mrs O’Flynn added that Deputy O’Keeffe suggested that his son, Cllr Kevin O’Keeffe, polled badly in the village at the recent local elections.

link

Then in the last general election he intended on standing down but didn't tell the local party until the last minute in order that his son could run for his seat unopposed. This created a huge rift in East Cork that led to a lot of other FF councillors refusing to campaign for his son (who thankfully wasn't elected).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,994 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

hi Sierra Oscar, do me a favour and tell us what your understanding of the process of "vouched" expenses is?

think the term is being misused by the authorities

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15 Scared Hitless

I cant get over the fact that this guy quit FF before the court case. Was he instructed to do so?

On a day a homeless man freezes to death on the streets outside the Dail, we have a multi millionaire member of the same Dail in court for defrauding the public!

Fianna fail dont really do shame do they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

On a day a homeless man freezes to death on the streets outside the Dail, we have a multi millionaire member of the same Dail in court for defrauding the public!

Fianna fail dont really do shame do they?

I thought he wasn't a TD any more.