Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Computing (DT211) vs Computer science (228)

Options
  • 03-12-2014 12:19am
    Registered Users Posts: 21

I am an aspiring software engineer, and when i complete my leaving cert this year i am choosing TUD (tech uni Dublin) as the place to go, the question is what are the primary differences between computing and computer science, i also have to ask how are your grades decided in DIT? are they CA or standard examination or a mixture of both with bias towards one or the other. Witch is the more "practical" one. What can i expect of these two coarses, and finally what are the drop out rates of these coarses.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭bpb101

I am an aspiring software engineer, and when i complete my leaving cert this year i am choosing TUD (tech uni Dublin) as the place to go, the question is what are the primary differences between computing and computer science, i also have to ask how are your grades decided in DIT? are they CA or standard examination or a mixture of both with bias towards one or the other. Witch is the more "practical" one. What can i expect of these two coarses, and finally what are the drop out rates of these coarses.
    little differences , a little bit more hardware and networking in computing.
    Very similar modules and towards 3 and 4 years , we mix
    One of the main differences was that computing did 2 days a week work experiences in 3 and 4th year and comp sci did 6/7 months full time in 3rd year
    Computing is going to follow suit.

Nobody has ever called university, uni. Go off to england :)