Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feminists 1, lingerie 0

• 04-12-2014 9:57am
    Registered Users Posts: 10,965 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

It would appear that there's at least one feminist that isn't finished burning bras! McTeirnan over at the IT seems to think doing your job at a fashion show is women hating. (link)

To quote "Hozier is au fait with the word misogyny. Hozier should not be standing on a London stage as the inert backdrop to a bunch of breasts. He is worth more than that. More than Victoria’s Secret were paying him anyway."

I guess if you want to sell underwear you probably shouldn't display it.

Kudos Ms McTeirnan, you clown.

wtf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I think some people's lives would be far less stressful - and AH far more easier to read - if we simply accepted that the edicts delivered by some columnists in some liberal middle class media may be at worst, plain wrong, and at best, a minority view.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,224 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Could someone explain the gist of the article. All the melodrama was a bit overpowering. I got halfway through and had to give up. At that point I still had no idea what was going on.

(is she related to Niamh Horan perhaps?)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

image.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

Can we round up all these gender war pugilists and just fire them in the general direction of the US via a rocket?

• Moderators Posts: 51,799 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Grayson wrote: »
    Could someone explain the gist of the article. All the melodrama was a bit overpowering. I got halfway through and had to give up. At that point I still had no idea what was going on.

columnist is a fan of Hozier + his music. Hozier sings at a runway show for Victorias Secrets. Columnist dislikes the runway shows. Is upset Hozier did something (sing at the runway show) she doesn't think he should have. Decides to suggest he is somehow engaging in something that is misogynistic. :rolleyes:

If you can read this, you're too close!

image.jpg

Definitely an expert commandeering of the high ground there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,597 ✭✭✭newport2

Can we round up all these gender war pugilists and just fire them in the general direction of the US via a rocket?

Just make sure you wear an acceptable shirt when doing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

Yes, fire them off. The US is welcome to the increase of angst between the genders.

I consider myself a feminist, a strong independent woman who is a great example of equality to my sons and I also like sexy underwear and Hozier (not necessarily in that order). These elements in myself are not incompatible, nor do they require any cognitive dissonance.

I fail to see the problem. In fact Hozier's name is quite apt for the job, no?

hosier (ˈhəʊzɪə) n
    1. (Clothing & Fashion) a person who sells stockings, etc

Collins English Dictionary – Complete and Unabridged © HarperCollins Publishers 1991, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2003

ho•sier (ˈhoʊ ʒər) n.
    a person who makes or deals in hose or goods knitted or woven like hose.

anncoates wrote: »
    Definitely an expert commandeering of the high ground there.

Just putting a face to the joyful writing.

Shrap wrote: »
    Yes, fire them off. The US is welcome to the increase of angst between the genders.

I consider myself a feminist, a strong independent woman who is a great example of equality to my sons and I also like sexy underwear and Hozier (not necessarily in that order). These elements in myself are not incompatible, nor do they require any cognitive dissonance.

I fail to see the problem. In fact Hozier's name is quite apt for the job, no?

hosier (ˈhəʊzɪə) n
    1. (Clothing & Fashion) a person who sells stockings, etc

Collins English Dictionary – Complete and Unabridged © HarperCollins Publishers 1991, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2003

ho•sier (ˈhoʊ ʒər) n.
    a person who makes or deals in hose or goods knitted or woven like hose.

Plot twist: he's secretly wearing the latest Victoria secret laundret while on stage himself

• Registered Users Posts: 2,597 ✭✭✭newport2

Zulu wrote: »
    To quote "Hozier is au fait with the word misogyny. Hozier should not be standing on a London stage as the inert backdrop to a bunch of breasts. He is worth more than that. More than Victoria’s Secret were paying him anyway."

I love how she uses the word "misogyny" in her disapproval and then goes and refers to these women as "a bunch of breasts" herself in the next sentence.

Just putting a face to the joyful writing.

If that picture is trying to imply that any gender obsessed crackpot online is, by default, unattractive, you seen blissfully unaware of the parallel implications that has for you and your coterie.

Plot twist: he's secretly wearing the latest Victoria secret laundret while on stage himself

*Fans self with nearby prospectus before heading for cold shower* Thank you, I shall just be a minute.....

"Take me to church...."

• Registered Users Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

What was the quote about. "Why did I groe up in a homophobic place? Why did I grow up in a misogynistic place?"

newport2 wrote: »
    I love how she uses the word "misogyny" in her disapproval and then goes and refers to these women as "a bunch of breasts" herself in the next sentence.

I think we can all safely agree that it's a ridiculous article.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,869 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Grayson wrote: »

Journalist tries to make a name for herself by going overboard on the obfuscation to insinuate misogyny where there is none, using language like the following little gem -

We had come to love you and your steadfast support of difference. We saluted your penetration of the more conservative markets - here and in the US - with your rapier lyrics.

I imagine she'd a good giggle to herself at how clever she was that she came up with that all by herself.

Oh, attn. OP - One feminist (singular), does not represent the views of all people who identify as feminist. It shouldn't really need to be pointed out to you at this stage, unless you willfully engage in a bit of sensationalist headline grabbing yourself, while criticizing a journalist for doing so.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,134 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I'm so ****ing lost. Why was this written?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

What a stupid article. It's actually an incredible opportunity for Hozier to perform at the VS Fashion Show - it's broadcast to millions of people worldwide, that kind of exposure is priceless to an artist who is fairly new to the industry.

I'm so ****ing lost. Why was this written?

Paper never refused ink. "Reporters" who court controversy sell papers. Sad, but true.

If that picture is trying to imply that any gender obsessed crackpot online is, by default, unattractive, you seen blissfully unaware of the parallel implications that has for you and your coterie.

Oohh such assumptions, much conclusions!

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I will be happy if I don't hear the words 'misogyny' and 'feminism' throughout the entire calendar year of 2015.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,224 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

SW wrote: »
    columnist is a fan of Hozier + his music. Hozier sings at a runway show for Victorias Secrets. Columnist dislikes the runway shows. Is upset Hozier did something (sing at the runway show) she doesn't think he should have. Decides to suggest he is somehow engaging in something that is misogynistic. :rolleyes:

So Hozier is a musician. He sounds like a type of underwear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Irish times throws in a few wtf articles a week. Such as the women who caught her husband chreating on her. He actually was just watching porn and masturbating to it, as she didnt have sex with him for 6 months.

But every other Irish papers is completely full of ****. At least the Irish times is mostly unbiased

Oohh such assumptions, much conclusions!

I think you've found your perfect profile summary.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,443 ✭✭✭tritium

Ah its the Irish times, they have two or three writers who I suspect make most people who identify as feminists cringe (the IT troika-mulally/ mctiernan/ Clarke).

Stupid article, I was under the impression that women shouldnt be subject to abuse for what they choose to wear.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

You’ve told us your sins and we’ve sharpened our knife, Hozier.

Oh f*ck off. The man is a wildly popular musician, I don't think he's going to sh*t himself because of a shower of whinge bags at the Irish Times. Christ above.

I think you've found your perfect profile summary.

Just because you seem to feel she's unattractive doesn't mean I do. I think she's a strong, beautiful woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Two Irish artists with a song of the same title out in the last year. That's the only interesting thing I took from that article.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

The word misogyny is beginning to lose it's meaning to me when every day I've been hearing and seeing it for pretty much every single subject a blogger / journalist can think of.

Tomorrow in an opinion piece / Someone's blog:
    Smart Phones - The true face of misogyny

EDIT: Googled it for the craíc and sure enough some eejit actually wrote an article about smart phone technology and misogyny :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭valoren

"Professional" Musician in high profile Gig shocker.