Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Charlie (RTE1 Charlie Haughey Drama)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭The_Captain

jezzer wrote: »
    Can anyone explain what the heck was going on when eating with the french president???? the bizarre ritual thing....it was very odd and disturbing

It's an otolan, a tiny songbird.

Pretty much everything they said about it, and the ritual with eating it is spot on unfortunately :(

It's illegal to capture and cook them in France today though :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

I dunno will it help any but here are some observations:

1. It was Jim Gibbons in real life and in the drama who was attacked after the failed heave (not Colley in either case).
    2. The guy who was asking for less regulation in the first episode and paid for the expensive meal in the second episode is 'everyman' rich person / developer. It is probably meant to be a representation of a particular individual who is known to have paid for Charlie's yacht repairs and other gifts for which "no favours were asked or given". As he is still alive the producers would obviously prefer not to use a real name in case of repercussions.
    3. The guy in the jacks is 'everyman' FF backbencher ie a thick gob****e on the make.
    4. Saint Tony Gregory the exalted socialist did for inner city Dublin exactly what the Healy-Rae's did for their constituency. When Saint Tony the exalted socialist went to his eternal reward he left an estate valued at approximately €1.25M.

The first three are to help with with the drama, the fourth point is my gift to your general education.

I am loving the drama. It is a pity it couldn't be 50 episodes but in a few short episodes it is capturing the megalomaia, craziness and downright fascism of Haughey's leadership. As a Haughey-hater I even have to admit his handling of Maggie at the time of the Falklands was spot on and that was very well portrayed last night.

There was another incident where some IRA priest was deported from Belgium to Ireland. Before he even landed Maggie was screeching for his extradition and demanding an immediate meeting with Charlie as they were at some EU summit. Charlie said he was too busy to meet her and if her officials could get around to issuing an extradition request, it would be processed in due course by the independent irish judiciary. Possibly his finest hour (not that there are too many of them).

PS the people who think Gillen is getting the accent and mannerisms wrong must remember a different Haughey to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users Posts: 29,347 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Seán Doherty's daughter on RTE one talking to Seán O'Rourke now.... not best pleased by her father's portrayal on Charlie by all accounts.

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭boosabum

Anyone remember the faithful Doherty interview on nighthawks with Shay Healy....from what i recall it was much more in keeping with his protrayl in Charlie

boosabum wrote: »
    Anyone remember the faithful Doherty interview on nighthawks with Shay Healy....from what i recall it was much more in keeping with his protrayl in Charlie

I had thought for years that the Nighthawks interview was when the phone-tapping story finally broke for real - but the show last night would say that it broke before that, and Doherty resigned.

Was I wrong?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭jezzer

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Seán Doherty's daughter on RTE one talking to Seán O'Rourke now.... not best pleased by her father's portrayal on Charlie by all accounts.

i'd say she is another good yoke too...

It was Jim Gibbons who was beaten up by Haughey supporters. Gibbons was Defence Minister at the time of the Arms Crisis and his testimony at the trial flatly contradicted that of Haughey. It caused the judge in his summing up to say that one of them (at least) must have committed perjury.

Haughey and Gibbons had much the same mutual loathing for each other as Haughey and Colley had. But Colley was a much more influential figure in the party.

Gibbons was a little guy that the bullies could get away with beating up.

Which makes me say a big **** OFF to all those who surmise that Haughey would have "stood up" to the likes of Merkel, Chopra, Draghi, Trichet etc

He would in his hole. The man was muck.

As too is this series. Very disappointing.

Did it actually happen where one of their own was beaten up by their own??? what a bunch of scumbags

• Registered Users Posts: 9,442 ✭✭✭Macy0161

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I had thought for years that the Nighthawks interview was when the phone-tapping story finally broke for real - but the show last night would say that it broke before that, and Doherty resigned.

Was I wrong?
    As was portrayed last night, up to nighthawks Doherty had said it was solo run. On Nighthawks he said that others in the Cabinet knew.

Macy0161 wrote: »
    As was portrayed last night, up to nighthawks Doherty had said it was solo run. On Nighthawks he said that others in the Cabinet knew.

Aha, that's the distinction.

Cheers!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Did it actually happen where one of their own was beaten up by their own??? what a bunch of scumbags

No doubt about the facts of it. Widely documented too. See "The Boss" by Joyce and Murtagh. It even carries a transcript of a conversation between McSharry and Martin O'Donoghue (a key Haughey opponent in the heaves) which was bugged by Garda equipment supplied by Doherty. The attack is mentioned in that conversation.

I'm sure it's in contemporaneous newspapers as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

I'm really enjoying this although last night was a big improvement on the first one. I think Gillen has Haughey spot on, speech/mannerisms etc, he could exaggerate the sleaze factor a bit more, I met Haughey twice in my life and what I remember most is how he made me feel, uncomfortable... Really interesting to see how the IMF would have come in and told us what cuts to make even back then and the whole Irac beef deal thing! totally forgot about all that. For me the person coming off the best is definitely Des O'Malley, I'm sure he wasn't perfect but I nearly clapped last night when he refused to sign that paper and stood up for democracy.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

why did the media keep quiet about it? for a seemingly smart man it was a stupid thing to do, become involved with her...

What reporter would dare, in the Ireland of the 80s, to bring the wrath of Haughey
    down on his/her head?? Also, then, as now, politicians having affairs could feel
    safe enough from having their shenanigans exposed by the embedded Irish
    media.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,187 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

If there was one politician i had great time for its Tony Gregory. Now there was a true socialist. Politics misses him badly today especially when the indepdendents need to bang their heads together.

The ironic thing is that when Jackie Healy-Rae struck similar deals with the government the media lampooned him as a country gombeen whereas Tony Gregory being a Dub was regaled as a true socialist.

Des O'Malley had a bit about him too. He wasnt afraid to risk power for what he believed in

Strange how he then had no qualms about going in to government with CJ a few years later.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,351 ✭✭✭katydid

Strange how he then had no qualms about going in to government with CJ a few years later.

Well, he went in on his own terms, I suppose.

It's an otolan, a tiny songbird.

Pretty much everything they said about it, and the ritual with eating it is spot on unfortunately :(

It's illegal to capture and cook them in France today though :)

It might be spot on, but was it really necessary? What was the purpose of it? To show how far Haughey was prepared to go to be an equal of the likes of Miterrand?

Agricola wrote: »
    Quite common for Kings and Emperors to have a wife/children/stable home life while having plenty of fun on the side. Haughey seemed to buy into that whole lifestyle.

Can't see Enda giving a mistress anything other than a high 5!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

why did the media keep quiet about it? for a seemingly smart man it was a stupid thing to do, become involved with her...

They didn't really. Keane's own ramblings in the SIndo at the time made it clear what was going on, though no names were named.

RainyDay wrote: »
    They didn't really. Keane's own ramblings in the SIndo at the time made it clear what was going on, though no names were named.

But no one dared say it openly.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Can't see Enda giving a mistress anything other than a high 5!

Enda couldn't countenance such dizgraceful behaviour I'd imagine.

In this instance, he certainly would NOT be saying "Boom Boom. Up ya boy ya!" :D

katydid wrote: »
    It might be spot on, but was it really necessary? What was the purpose of it? To show how far Haughey was prepared to go to be an equal of the likes of Miterrand?

yes i thought the same...a little bit too out there

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

The ironic thing is that when Jackie Healy-Rae struck similar deals with the government the media lampooned him as a country gombeen whereas Tony Gregory being a Dub was regaled as a true socialist.

Even us Dublin gurriers recognised a Tony Gregory stroke when we saw Jackie Healy Rae coming along. "Blackmailing a desperate government to look after your own" is neither socialist nor capitalist. It's opportunist.
    I hope they don't reconstruct the Nighthawks interview next week - just replay the original in full. Watching a drunken Doherty begin the end of Charlie will be fun for a whole new generation.

....just a little snippet of it here

brooke 2 wrote: »
    What reporter would dare, in the Ireland of the 80s, to bring the wrath of Haughey
    down on his/her head?? Also, then, as now, politicians having affairs could feel
    safe enough from having their shenanigans exposed by the embedded Irish
    media.

I doubt too many politicians are having affair nowadays or back then? where would you find the time?

geraldine kennedy didnt seem to afraid of haughey, i guess the paper wouldnt dare run with it?

who was that keane one anyway? wasnt her husband a judge or something? what used she write about in the Sindo? and why was she given the job?

surely the Haughey family knew of his ramblings??

I recall some of the LLS interview with Ms Keane, she said that Charlie often complimented her on her political nous when they discussed such situations, it always reminded me of the splitting image sketchs with Ronald and Nancy Regan in bed where she was telling him how to run the country.
    Possibly Terry believed that some of the policy and decisions he made were her ideas.

Even us Dublin gurriers recognised a Tony Gregory stroke when we saw Jackie Healy Rae coming along. "Blackmailing a desperate government to look after your own" is neither socialist nor capitalist. It's opportunist.
    I hope they don't reconstruct the Nighthawks interview next week - just replay the original in full. Watching a drunken Doherty begin the end of Charlie will be fun for a whole new generation.

....just a little snippet of it here

Whats that a tv interview show held in a pub?? wtf??? reg holdsworth there in the background at 1.0 minutes

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Whats that a tv interview show held in a pub?? wtf??? reg holdsworth there in the background at 1.0 minutes

Nighthawks was a classic of its time. It was shot in RTE but the drink was real and the guests were frequently locked. It helped that nobody running RTE seemed to be aware of its existence.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,888 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

who was that keane one anyway? wasnt her husband a judge or something? what used she write about in the Sindo? and why was she given the job?

She was a "socialite" and wrote a gossip column, the kind of thing that you still find in papers

She married Ronan Keane who later became a judge, but in her columns she was quite open about a relationship with a person she called "Sweetie".

Apparently dogs in the street knew all about it

They separated in the 1990s

surely the Haughey family knew of his ramblings??

absolutely

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I'm wondering if Sean Doherty was as colourful in real life as he is being portrayed.

From what I'v read, yep.

As Minister for Justice he was entitled to extra security around his home, so he got a new wall built around his bungalow. It was about 3 feet tall, wouldn't have stopped the boy scouts attacking, never mind the IRA!

An absolute disgrace as a Minister for Justice but very entertaining!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Nighthawks was a classic of its time. It was shot in RTE but the drink was real and the guests were frequently locked. It helped that nobody running RTE seemed to be aware of its existence.

who can forget Boris and Tanya plus the classic comedy sketchs of kevin McAleer and John Keogh
    There was a classic eurovision or song for ireland hour long sketch based on the continuity announcer one that used to be on it.....classic stuff