Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Southampton vs Manchester United match thread 8/12/2014 8PM Sky.

• 07-12-2014 8:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

monday-night-football-southampton-man-utd_3235819.jpg?20141201083218

Wayne Rooney is fit after missing the win against Stoke and Jonny Evans could return to the United matchday squad for the first time since September. Rafael da Silva is also available.

Phil Jones, Daley Blind, Luke Shaw and Angel di Maria are all ruled out.

Jack Cork and Morgan Schneiderlin are definitely ruled out for Southampton while Toby Alderweireld is struggling with a hamstring strain.

Southampton (from): Forster, Clyne, Yoshida, Gardos, Alderweireld, Fonte, Bertrand, Davis, Mayuka, Mane, Wanyama, Pelle, Reed, Targett, Long, Tadic

United (from): De Gea, Lindegaard, Rafael, Valencia, Smalling, Rojo, McNair, Blackett, Evans, Young, Herrera, Carrick, Fellaini, Fletcher, Mata, Rooney, Wilson, Falcao, Van Persie.

Time for United to cop on & sort out our away form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

I know Southampton have the best defensive record in the league this season but I fancy United to score a few here. Although United's performances have not been very convincing they have now won 4 in a row and I think they will build on that tomorrow.
    1-3 United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

4 in a row, we can't let this slip now

Our week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

United's title winning form to be brought to an end by Southampton's title winning form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Harvey Low Fat Milk

It'll be tight, think Pelle's dip in form could cost Southampton though as I don't think there'll be many chances. Defensively they're good but Koeman sets them up to win so they'll be susceptible on the break and Rooney, unlike Pelle, is in good form so hopefully they'll take advantage when the chances fall their way. So United just to edge it.

0-1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

If Utd can keep Tadic quiet they should have enough to beat Southampton who are missing their best player. Schneiderlinn has been far more important to the Saints than Di Maria has been for Utd.

• Fellaini will sort out Tadic, give him a few 'Elbows'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,125 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Huge week for United if we're to mount a title challenge. Two very winnable games. If Rooney starts United might just sneak a 2-1 win.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Bi test for the United resurgence. I'm happier to be facing Suthampton right now as apposed to a month ago as they are showing a slight dip in form.

A win would be huge for either side.

Going to go with a narrow united win. 1-0.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

K4t wrote: »
    If Utd can keep Tadic quiet they should have enough to beat Southampton who are missing their best player. Schneiderlinn has been far more important to the Saints than Di Maria has been for Utd.

Is he fit to play? As per Physioroom here is no return date.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

2-0 to Southampton.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Van Persie and Rooney to score...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Falcao to score 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Southampton's style of play could catch out our use of wingers as defenders,they tend to push on their fullbacks and we could see our weakness in those positions exposed.
    Still,I'm going for a 2-1 win for United.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

I'd say both teams will want to score more than the opposition but will be wary of conceding a higher amount than their adversaries tonight. Could go either way (or a draw)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Too tight to call and don't give a toss about the scoreline. 3 points for Utd and I'll be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

B4WuNADIcAErQuF.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

B4WsZVPCYAAo4Gb.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,372 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

McNair playing and Herrera on the bench is a little annoying. Looking like they're setting up for a draw.

Southampton playing without Alderweireld too. There to be got at, think LVG is seriously overrating them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Southampton look a real threat down the wings Young and Valencia as wing backs could be our downfall

Hoping we have enough in attack to score more than they will

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

What in sh!tes name does Herrera have to do to get a start

• Registered Users Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭madcabbage

Ah Jaysus lads, I'm nervous now. Why 3 at the back, my heart can't take this!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Disappointed with Herrera on the bench but will put my trust in LVG.

I hope we go for the 3 points but we have a far superior bench if we really need to get a goal.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Southampton a very decent side. United on a bit of form. Good one for the neutrals.
    I think United will win, yoshida is a real weak link.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

I'm glad Mata is getting a bit of a run , will he be straight out when Di-Maria come back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Disappointed if thus turns out to be 3 at the back

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

Falcao to come off the bench and score the winner,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭shano_88

Southamptons bench looks very poor. United to score a winner in the last 10 mins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

At least I won't miss eastenders tomorrow.

Still have about 15 years to catch up on

It's hard to see that as anything other than 3 at the back, disappointing given our recent good run. It's almost a sign that LvG fears Southampton a little bit....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭madcabbage

It's hard to see that as anything other than 3 at the back, disappointing given our recent good run. It's almost a sign that LvG fears Southampton a little bit....

It's not LVG playing games again? He did this at Arsenal if I remember correctly, warmed up with 1 formation and changed at kickoff.

madcabbage wrote: »
    It's not LVG playing games again? He did this at Arsenal if I remember correctly, warmed up with 1 formation and changed at kickoff.

Did he..? Either way, I really prefer 3 in midfield over 3 in defence

Fellaini walking around throwing shapes like he's some sort of midfield general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,945 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

worrying by how easy Long just beat Young for that header

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

Fellaini walking around throwing shapes like he's some sort of midfield general.

Wanyama getting the better of him so far.

• Wayama v fellani battle is on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Well done McNair

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Has Mata touched the ball yet?

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Wayama v fellani battle is on

I agree . Should be great contest. Fellaini has better quality around him though .

• That's just poor from rooney

• Has Mata touched the ball yet?

Yep.....

And its gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Rubbish from Rooney in that last passage of play

Mané looks decent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

unbelievable away support

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar