Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 27

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Women using buggies as battering rams

I read that as budgies :). Time to go to Specsavers ......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

I was told to expect a trivial annoyance last night and I actually got annoyed when it didn't happen. The head builder who is working on a shop next door told me he'd be leaving a machine on all night to dry a new wall and warned that it would be a noisy night. But he must have forgotten to turn it on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

People who don't listen. Went to a coffee shop this morning. Was asked twice if my order was eat in or take away, answered that it was take away both times. Still got charged eat in prices. Then the girl who makes the coffee starts yelling "regular americano" having an absolute conniption because it doesn't belong to anyone. Then the same with the hot chocolate, both drinks in mugs. She asks me what I'm waiting for and when I tell her t-a-k-e-a-w-a-y she dumped both drinks into takeaway cups. Grr.

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Zemuppet

Women using buggies as battering rams

^^^
    This, plus multiple women (and men also) blocking footpaths and forcing you on to the roads without a care in the world. Grrrrr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dog of Tears

Waiters who take your order in a restaurant, don't write it down and invariably bring you the wrong food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭lolo62

People chucking their January blues all over the place in the form of road rage, passive aggression and control of others. Get some self awareness people we're all in it together!

People who can only walk in straight lines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

People who still have their outdoor Christmas lights switched on, what is that about:confused:

Having to explain your business to a receptionist within earshot of all in sundry. Might as well take out an ad in the Sunday world and announce it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

Munster getting whipped at the mo, (half time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

The pineapple head on Garth Crooks and his banal interviewing style.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

Realising that Katie Taylor talks like she's under hypnosis and that David Attenborough looks like a puppet on strings when he makes hand gestures and not being able to look at them anymore without chuckling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

Crumpets wrote: »
    A very silly and immature trivial annoyance from me today but sure here goes:

I want to wear my new heels out to this party tonight but this guy I fancy is shorter than me when I wear heels :pac:

Stupidest "problem" I've ever had in my life but it's been eating me up all day :pac:

And my latest trivial annoyance: I wore feckin' flat shoes but the prick wasn't at the party :pac:

Having a stuffy nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Looking at some of the drivel and absolute bolloxology sprouted on this thread is a trivial annoyance of mine :o

We are doing our job right then ;).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

Having a stuffy nose.

having the same and two clicky ears when you blow/breath/sniffle/swallow, have it last few months now and 2 courses of antibiotics still haven't worked. driving me mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Hoorah! Another convert.

Grind them down folks, grind them down.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Having tonsillitis for the first time ever. I sound pitiful when I talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

After a hectic week, looking forward to having a lazy Saturday, relaxing. Now that it is here I just feel useless and bluesy, like i've wasted the day. I even got up early, exercised had a good breakfast but it was all for nothing I feel grumpy and miserable. Any suggested cures?

But yet.... here you are

People making bull**** conversation. I had the most horrific day, the hardest and most emotional day ever, and just trying to get myself home is a huge effort yet some aul one starts in my ear about how Her daughter asked her to get X and Y for her grandchild and she couldnt find X despite searching all day and her day was ruined and her daughter is very overbearing but doesn't get it from her, she's overbearing like her father.

Hello. Shut the **** up. I don't care that you couldn't find a pair of slippers. My mind is in mush, and she seemed quite overbearing too, just as an FYI so I'm not so sure she can lay all the blame on the daughters dad.

And idiot selfish self centred idiots who reply to a message when they know you're mad with "lol who pissed in your cheerios?". ****ing lol? I'll lol you when I see you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Doctor's receptionists asking what's wrong with you when you call to make an appointment.
    I mean, I don't particularly want you to know..I'd rather tell the doctor if that's alright.
    One time I rang for an appointment (it was a woman's thing I was a bit embarrassed about) and she starts:

"What's the problem?"
    Me: "Well I'd prefer to tell the doctor, if that's alright."
    Her: "Well I need to know if it's a priority as we're quite full with appointments already."
    Me:"Well it's not an emergency. I mean, if it was I'd have gone to A&E, but if you can fit me in, I'll see the doctor and tell him."
    Her: "Sigh. Fine, ok."

Every evening this week I've fallen asleep watching stuff on telly that I have been waiting to watch for ages. The head nods and I miss little chunks of programmes , and always the very end. I feel like an auld wan :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

fussyonion wrote: »
    Doctor's receptionists asking what's wrong with you when you call to make an appointment.
    I mean, I don't particularly want you to know..I'd rather tell the doctor if that's alright.
    One time I rang for an appointment (it was a woman's thing I was a bit embarrassed about) and she starts:

"What's the problem?"
    Me: "Well I'd prefer to tell the doctor, if that's alright."
    Her: "Well I need to know if it's a priority as we're quite full with appointments already."
    Me:"Well it's not an emergency. I mean, if it was I'd have gone to A&E, but if you can fit me in, I'll see the doctor and tell him."
    Her: "Sigh. Fine, ok."

The receptionists in our practice are witches for this type of thing.
    Talking loudly discussing patients ailments and test results, face to face at the hatch or over the phone.
    I reckon Mrs O'Reilly doesn't want half the area knowing her smear was abnormal or the fact that the chiropodist couldnt get the ENTIRE root of of Mr Byrne's big toenail as it was in tatters so he'll need another appointment.

I have been asked over the phone "what's the appointment for?" to which I reply "That's between me and the Doc thanks very much" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Smidge wrote: »
    The receptionists in our practice are witches for this type of thing.
    Talking loudly discussing patients ailments and test results, face to face at the hatch or over the phone.
    I reckon Mrs O'Reilly doesn't want half the area knowing her smear was abnormal or the fact that the chiropodist couldnt get the ENTIRE root of of Mr Byrne's big toenail as it was in tatters so he'll need another appointment.

I have been asked over the phone "what's the appointment for?" to which I reply "That's between me and the Doc thanks very much" ;)

"I hope Mr. Goose doesn't have to have a fifth penis-reduction surgery, we really can't afford any more doorframes!" :)

*Second receptionist replies*
    "Oh you've just reminded me.... Dr Burke said not to fill Mr Goose's script for Viagra until we get the grant for the new building extension" :p

*Second receptionist replies*
    "Oh you've just reminded me.... Dr Burke said not to fill Mr Goose's script for Viagra until we get the grant for the new building extension" :p

"Right you are. Are we still calling it Hangar 18??" :)

jimgoose wrote: »
    "Right you are. Are we still calling it Hangar 18??" :)

*First receptionist hands over reams upon reams of building blueprints to second receptionist*
    "Didn't you get the updated plans? Had to go to An Bord Pleanala in the end"

*First receptionist hands over reams upon reams of building blueprints to second receptionist*
    "Didn't you get the updated plans? Had to go to An Bord Pleanala in the end"

"Ah, 'Langer 18'. That makes more sense!" :)

jimgoose wrote: »
    "Ah, 'Langer 18'. That makes more sense!" :)

*Disclaimer*
    All of the above may or may not be true but I have never know Jim to be anything but an honest man, never prone to exaggeration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Characters in comic books getting killed,
    it means nothing,
    eg captain america ,superman were killed ,
    they came back to life.
    and every comic gets rebooted every few years .
    When i was a teen i bought alot of marvel comic books ,
    something happened that was it.
    it was part of the characters life story .
    wolverine was kiiled recently,
    he will probably come back in a year .
    if they need to launch a new comic book,or get a boost in sales,
    eg new wolverine.
    comics used to be numbered up to 100,s of issues,
    eg xmen 250,
    Now they reset the comic numbering ,
    to get a new issue no 1,
    there seems to be a new no 1 comic book every month,
    instead of xmen, its new xmen no1,
    knowing that collectors will buy any no issue of say the avengers .
    Writers will reboot a comic book character, and just forget about something that happened 5 years ago,if it suits them.

*Disclaimer*
    All of the above may or may not be true but I have never know Jim to be anything but an honest man, never prone to exaggeration.

Ah sure and begorrah that's the skull of Brian Boru an' he a youngfella, of course 'tis smaller than the one I sold you last year!!

Snakes

Snakes

It was all of the discussion of JG that made you think of that one, wasn't it? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,181 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Self ritious vegan and vegetarians.... c#nts think there great.. well im a farmer and i fatten cattle and don't tell me what to eat.. go f#ck off somewhere else ye shower of hippies !!! And f$#k them PETA sh1ts aswell... nothing but a bunch of deluded gobsh1tes going around the place saying meat is murder.. well guess what it is... get over it !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,307 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Ignorant b@stards who wear rucksacks in shops especially Discount Stores and Music stores where the aisles are narrow
    Turn around then and put the person behind them flying.
    FYI - They are equipped with a loop so you can carry the feckin thing
    Use it!!!!!!!!!!

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Self ritious vegan and vegetarians.... c#nts think there great.. well im a farmer and i fatten cattle and don't tell me what to eat.. go f#ck off somewhere else ye shower of hippies !!! And f$#k them PETA sh1ts aswell... nothing but a bunch of deluded gobsh1tes going around the place saying meat is murder.. well guess what it is... get over it !!

It's 'self-righteous', at least spell it right if you're going to insult us. Incidentally, most vegans/vegetarians know that PETA are full of sh*t.

My complete inability to roll a cigarette irritates me a lot. :mad: I've watched "how to" videos online but I still end up with a big lump in the middle, nothing at the end and a filter that falls out if you hold it the wrong way. >__<

I don't smoke regularly (usually only with alcohol and the occasional one with a coffee) and I don't particularly want to take up a 20-a-day habit just to get more practice.

When nostalgia over-rules good taste. I gave into temptation and ordered some candy-striped flannel sheets.:o Anyone remember those from their childhoods? I'm showing my age now.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 204 ✭✭shuffle65

When nostalgia over-rules good taste. I gave into temptation and ordered some candy-striped flannel sheets.:o Anyone remember those from their childhoods? I'm showing my age now.:D

Yep, I've got them on my bed! I guess we must be 'of an age' :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

I've just made a royal balls-up of pasting a screen cover on to my smartphone.

Air bubbles everywhere now. Far too footery for me. I am TA just looking at the fecking thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I'm tired even though I have done nothing all day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

shuffle65 wrote: »
    Yep, I've got them on my bed! I guess we must be 'of an age' :)

I think they appeared here in the late 50s. You're not that old are you.

Nothing beats the comfort of flannel sheets. TA that I no longer have any. Blasted duvets!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

family members leaving skid marks down the toilet bowl....no shame

• Registered Users Posts: 204 ✭✭shuffle65

I think they appeared here in the late 50s. You're not that old are you.

Nothing beats the comfort of flannel sheets. TA that I no longer have any. Blasted duvets!

Not quite that old no, my username gives away my age :)

Flannel sheets for the winter, always. Cotton in the summer (if the weather is summerlike that is!)

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭mickoc

people that drive and look for things at the same time with absolutely no thought for the people behind them. prick#.

Old people elbowing everyone out of their way to jump ahead in bus queues

The ridiculously loud anti smoking announcement on Dublin bus while people smoke heroin/cigarettes/joints upstairs