Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 27

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

KatW4 wrote: »
    I understand that they don't want to miss work but surely their child is more important than a day docked from AL. They should at least have someone who can take care of them for the day if they're sick and not able to get the day off work.

I agree, they don't think about these things!

I completely agree.
    We'll just add it to the long list of things that people don't consider :P

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I'm now TA'd that I thought about annoying parents more than I wanted to today ha :p

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

There's nothing better than staying at home with your sick kids.

Sit on the couch, your kids show you affection and watch kids movies all day.

TA - You end up getting sick and have to stay at home feeling lousy wanting someone to serve your every need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

I completely agree.
    We'll just add it to the long list of things that people don't consider :P

Friday night, you find yourself in the dwelling of the one you've fancied for a long time. The lights are low, the music is mellow. There are candles everywhere and a full bodied rioja in your hand...He moves closer and eventually you can no longer resist...

...I don't know anyone who considers the school run or what happens when your child is snotting in those circumstances! :pac:

Boom_Bap wrote: »

TA - You end up getting sick and have to stay at home feeling lousy wanting someone to serve your every need.

You're the type of parent that teachers love. Thank you!

I went to the bank.

They have that holding cell carry on where you've to wait for one door to be closed before the other one will open. I held the door open to let a woman with a buggy into the holding cell and pushed the door closed.

Woman starts taking rain cover off buggy and unstrapping the kid while we're waiting in holding cell. I'm thinking "couldn't you wait til we're in". She then starts pushing the buggy into the door. I thought maybe she thinks it's automatic when one closes the other opens. So I said "oh, you need to push the button". "Oh no, she has to do it", so I'm stuck in this feckin holding cell for what seemed like an eternity so that her kid can push the bloody button.

Srsly.

I'm sure I sound like a cranky aul c u next Tuesday, but it's a bank at lunch time, people are busy.

The very reason I used to love babysitting. I used to allow the three kids I babysat to stay up on the condition that when they saw headlights in the driveway, they'd run to bed and pretend they'd been there all along. We'd spend the night eating junk food and watching kids movies. They thought it was cool because they were doing what they wanted. I thought it was cool because I got to be a kid again :) (albeit a kid who was responsible for all the others if the house was broken into or one of them spontaneously combusted or whatever)

...then you'd get fifty quid cash in hand at the end of the night :P

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

KatW4 wrote: »
    You're the type of parent that teachers love. Thank you!

sometimes I wished my boys teacher loved me, she is an absolute fox. awwoooggaaa

Hahahaha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

TA'd by the atrocious names some people inflict on children, the latest atrocity is 'Dollcienna':eek: Admitedly the family are part of the settled nomadic brethren, but still :eek:.

It's snowing :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

KatW4 Noooo! I hate snow :(

MsBubbles wrote: »
    KatW4 Noooo! I hate snow :(

I like to look at it but when I have to go anywhere, I hate it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

I went to the bank.

They have that holding cell carry on where you've to wait for one door to be closed before the other one will open. I held the door open to let a woman with a buggy into the holding cell and pushed the door closed.

Woman starts taking rain cover off buggy and unstrapping the kid while we're waiting in holding cell. I'm thinking "couldn't you wait til we're in". She then starts pushing the buggy into the door. I thought maybe she thinks it's automatic when one closes the other opens. So I said "oh, you need to push the button". "Oh no, she has to do it", so I'm stuck in this feckin holding cell for what seemed like an eternity so that her kid can push the bloody button.

Srsly.

I'm sure I sound like a cranky aul c u next Tuesday, but it's a bank at lunch time, people are busy.

That happened me in AIB on Baggot Street one day. I explained to the woman "No, I have to press the button because my mother overindulged me by allowing me to press all the buttons when I was a child and this is what I've turned into as an adult".
    She was not a happy rabbit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

That happened me in AIB on Baggot Street one day. I explained to the woman "No, I have to press the button because my mother overindulged me by allowing me to press all the buttons when I was a child and this is what I've turned into as an adult".
    She was not a happy rabbit.

This is brilliant! We should be friends :)

TA: Moving Home and everything to do with it, todays biggest TA is changing the address with all my stuff like banks etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Does anyone else accidentally drip toothpaste onto their tops when brushing their teeth? Somehow I manage to do this several times a week.:(

Pumpkinseeds yes I spill all kind of food along with toothpaste onto my clothes on almost daily basis

Does anyone else accidentally drip toothpaste onto their tops when brushing their teeth? Somehow I manage to do this several times a week.:(

Nope, but my mirror looks like a painters radio after I brush my teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

When you're on the bus and the person sitting on the inside seat wants to get out, they just stand up but don't say "excuse me" or anything. Jesus Christ, are some people fukking mutes or something?!

I pretend I don't see them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Reading thru this thread I am so glad I dont need to use public transport to get to work.

But TA is those people who drive in the middle lane on the M50 when they are not passing.
    So I am cruising along in the inside lane. But driving faster than someone in the middle lane.
    The law says that I am not allowed to pass them on the inside lane....I have to switch lane twice to the outside lane to pass them.

I break the law on that one sometimes and pass them on the inside.

I am sure some middle lane muppet will be along here to declare a TA that people pass them on the inside lane on the M50. :mad:

Thanks Boom_Bap I now have a mental image of you flexing your guns while brushing your teeth :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,651 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

The M50 is a complete free for all. People drive in the middle cos they don't know where else to go.

People on the left don't let you merge when you join the motorway for many reasons:
    a) They aren't even looking around them and are completely oblivious to everything except what's straight in front of them. Looking in mirrors is optional for them
    b) They see the road in front of them as being their special space, and nobody can touch their special space. They will speed up to stop you merging in front of them because they're assholes.
    c) They are aware and competent drivers and genuinely want to switch lane to allow you to merge, but cannot because the lane to their right is completely full of gombeens blocking them from doing so.

:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

Loud phone-talkers. It's not necessary to raise your voice above normal conversational level to be heard on the other end of the phone, yet some people think having a mobile to your ear means you have to shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

The M50 is a complete free for all. People drive in the middle cos they don't know where else to go.

People on the left don't let you merge when you join the motorway for many reasons:
    a) They aren't even looking around them and are completely oblivious to everything except what's straight in front of them. Looking in mirrors is optional for them
    b) They see the road in front of them as being their special space, and nobody can touch their special space. They will speed up to stop you merging in front of them because they're assholes.
    c) They are aware and competent drivers and genuinely want to switch lane to allow you to merge, but cannot because the lane to their right is completely full of gombeens blocking them from doing so.

:mad:

'Said, chief. I'd insert a fourth category there, b.1) They know perfectly well where you are and what you're trying to do, but have no idea that they're supposed to allow you to merge safely, either by adjusting their speed or changing lanes. They assume you'll just have to treat the merge as a left-turn. :pac:

Also: People who try to "help" you by surrendering their right-of-way. This happens a lot in the various one-way systems around Limerick city-centre for some reason. Some reprobate will stop dead and start waving and grimacing frantically for you to move ahead of him, whereas if he may just take his right-of-way when he has it traffic would flow properly the way it's supposed to and you'd have less fender-benders caused by amateur gawbeens like him directing traffic from inside his car!! :mad:

Loud phone-talkers. It's not necessary to raise your voice above normal conversational level to be heard on the other end of the phone, yet some people think having a mobile to your ear means you have to shout.

Some people also think they have to be mobile all the time ie; walk up and down with them. What is this? Have you ever seem someone standing still on a mobile phone?

I'm TA'd by the unexpected empty, sad feeling I have knowing that I'm not in the "family way" :( What the actual?? If it were positive I'd be in the shíts. I should be happy! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

My favourite girl from work. She is sex obsessed.
    She's watched the 50 shades trailer about 8 times today, that fire song from it and beyonces slowed down version of crazy in love is on loop all day. Enough!! Then we have a full and frank discussion on porn being healthy, how masturbation is healthy, how she hopes they didn't show all the hot parts in the trailer. Wondering how sex can be so passionate without leaving the woman paralysed. Good Lord.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

She's watched the 50 shades trailer about 8 times today, that fire song from it and beyonces slowed down version of crazy in love is on loop all day. Enough!! Then we have a full and frank discussion on porn being healthy, how masturbation is healthy, how she hopes they didn't show all the hot parts in the trailer. Wondering how sex can be so passionate without leaving the woman paralysed. Good Lord.

Wait until she goes to see it in the cinema, there wont be a dry seat in the house...................

Could you ...eh....pm me her number?

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Wait until she goes to see it in the cinema, there wont be a dry seat in the house...................

She's going to watch it at home because certain things might be frowned upon at the cinema.

Snort. She'll be stuck to the seat after :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    'Said, chief. I'd insert a fourth category there, b.1) They know perfectly well where you are and what you're trying to do, but have no idea that they're supposed to allow you to merge safely, either by adjusting their speed or changing lanes. They assume you'll just have to treat the merge as a left-turn. :pac:

Also: People who try to "help" you by surrendering their right-of-way. This happens a lot in the various one-way systems around Limerick city-centre for some reason. Some reprobate will stop dead and start waving and grimacing frantically for you to move ahead of him, whereas if he may just take his right-of-way when he has it traffic would flow properly the way it's supposed to and you'd have less fender-benders caused by amateur gawbeens like him directing traffic from inside his car!! :mad:

While we are on the subject of merging on to the motorway.
    Motorway speed limit is 120kmh which would indicate that traffic on it will be moving pretty fast in all lanes.
    Why then do some muppets decide merge on to the Motorway at 30kmph causing all sorts of chaos?

While we are on the subject of merging on to the motorway.
    Motorway speed limit is 120kmh which would indicate that traffic on it will be moving pretty fast in all lanes.
    Why then do some muppets decide merge on to the Motorway at 30kmph causing all sorts of chaos?

They're Driving Safely, by presenting a rolling obstacle out-of-the-blue slap-bang in the middle of the driving lane of a motorway. Because Speed Kills, chief! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,926 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Only they're not "supposed" to let you merge. It's up to the person merging to find a space to do it in; the person already on the mainline has absolutely no obligation to change lanes to let you in and I'd argue that people doing this is a large part of the reason half the idiots in this country have no idea how to merge safely in traffic conditions that mean the person in the driving lane can't move over even if they wanted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,651 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Some do that. But to be fair, many sliproads onto the M50 make it really tough to reach the speed limit by the time you join. Best example is the Dundrum northbound sliproad - it goes uphill. I find it hard to reach 100kph (the limit at that area) in my 1.4 Focus.

Drove around Italy two years ago. I was shocked at how well behaved the drivers were on the motorways, considering the awful reputation Italian drivers have. I couldn't believe at how accommodating they were for allowing merging. Didn't matter if it was an oul Italian granny in a Punto or an artic, they all moved aside for you. Also, all sliproads are downhill and feature a straight section allowing plenty of time to pick up speed and merge safely.

TA: Nation of drivers with a bad reputation being far better drivers as a whole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

I was waiting for a bus one evening in Baggot St when a girl standing nearby, waiting for a different bus, started yelling at the top of her voice into a mobile. She seemed to be trying to shout loud enough to be heard on the far side of the city, without the phone. People were actually looking at her, wondering why she was yelling.

The best bit was, as I boarded the bus, along with other bemused people, she shouted ' oh I'm getting funny looks here. People don't realise I'm on the phone'.
    It would almost have been worth my while to let the bus go without me, in order to point out that she was the one who didn't seem to realise she was on the phone.

Some do that. But to be fair, many sliproads onto the M50 make it really tough to reach the speed limit by the time you join. Best example is the Dundrum northbound sliproad - it goes uphill. I find it hard to reach 100kph (the limit at that area) in my 1.4 Focus.

Ah, I know that sliproad well-drive it every morning.
    If you stay in the left lane of the slip road you have a 200mtre straight stretch after the top of the hill to get up to speed before you have to merge.
    But if you stay in the right hand lane on the slip road you have to merge at the top of the hill which can be hard for a less powerful car.

Little scrotes on the luas. About 5 of them got on, two girls three lads. Scruffy little ****s, decked out in jd sports finest, hair cuts on people I've only ever seen selling carpet and I'm no mystic meg but the only thing I can see for their future is shooting heroin into their eyeballs and government funded sprigs. Pushing each other into other people and when one of them bumped into me I said excuse me do you mind and they all started laughing and the one standing on the step kept stepping back down onto my foot/into me on purpose. I'm raging I didn't say something else to them or push them back or something but I am a wuss

Dial Hard wrote: »
    Only they're not "supposed" to let you merge. It's up to the person merging to find a space to do it in; the person already on the mainline has absolutely no obligation to change lanes to let you in and I'd argue that people doing this is a large part of the reason half the idiots in this country have no idea how to merge safely in traffic conditions that mean the person in the driving lane can't move over even if they wanted to.

"Supposed" is the wrong word, yes. But most civilised people in most civilised jurisdictions show a level of courtesy in these cases, rather than the more typical clodhopper "I pays de tax Joe so dis here bitta road is mine, dammit!!" you get around here. :pac:

I just spotted what I took to be a lovely wedge of Gouda in the fridge. My yelp of delight morphed into the annoyed grunt of a bear getting stung while raiding a beehive as I discovered it was a quarter of a turnip. A fcukan turnip, I mean come ON!! :pac:

I just spotted what I took to be a lovely wedge of Gouda in the fridge. My yelp of delight morphed into the annoyed grunt of a bear getting stung while raiding a beehive as I discovered it was a quarter of a turnip. A fcukan turnip, I mean com ON!! :pac:

What kind of a sick fck would put a quarter turnip in the fridge. Wrong on so many levels.
    No offence intended like.

This whole "no regrets" thing. I regret everything, I'm like a heroin addict, or a compulsive eater or something. I know what I'm doing is wrong but I can't help myself. I get paid on Wednesdays. Which means I should have cash monies to my name right now considering I have yet to pay my phone Bill and buy food. I have 13 euro in cash, and about 8 euro left in my account. What do I have to show for my full time wage that I got today? I spent 55 euro on a Jo Malone candle, I bought two Mac lipsticks, I got a charlotte tilbury lipgloss and lipliner, and I got a pair of shoes. So for the next 6 days I'll be eating pasta and noodles and apples, and wiping my ass with 1ply bog roll but that's all fine because at least I have a ridiculous candle and a pair of designer shoes i probably won't even wear outside because I might damage the sole. I keep spending until I stand there HOPING my card doesn't decline or melt. And then when I walk out of the shop I just feel guilty. Not happy or excited. Just guilty.

What kind of a sick fck would put a quarter turnip in the fridge. Wrong on so many levels.
    No offence intended like.

<HARRUMPH> I'm afraid that's, er, classified! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

My TA, I'm on the edge, like the smallest thing could make me flip. I feel like your man off of Falling Down. I'd love to trash the house. Take that Mo' Fo's! Only I'd be the one cleaning it up again. I'd love to do it though just to see their faces. It started with getting a face full of dust and dirt earlier when emptying the Hoover into the bin outside. Then a f**king lamb chop spat fat all over me. I f**king hate lamb, it smells so bad :(. F*ck, f*ck, f*ckety f*ck , I think I'm getting Tourette's :(

I just spotted what I took to be a lovely wedge of Gouda in the fridge. My yelp of delight morphed into the annoyed grunt of a bear getting stung while raiding a beehive as I discovered it was a quarter of a turnip. A fcukan turnip, I mean come ON!! :pac:

I got a terrible amount of abuse in the US of A for mentioning that turnip is possibly my favourite veg.
    'Around these here parts, that's what we feed our donkeys' was the response I got.
    They didn't comprehend my witty response of having the best fed donkeys in the world.

Lexie take the shoes back buy decent groceries with that money. Ta I'm so fcukin sensible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

People (usually drunk) who ask the question "am I right?" In a loud annoying and often aggressive manner - fu¢kwads.

MsBubbles wrote: »
    Lexie take the shoes back buy decent groceries with that money. Ta I'm so fcukin sensible

I couldn't bring myself to do something like that. There's food like pasta and **** at home. I'm feeling much better. Look how good the lip enhancer is!!! Who needs fillers?!
    http://tinypic.com/r/96b49k/8

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭MojoRisinnnn

Knackers down the back of the bus spitting on the floor, playing awful tunes on their phones and being loud and annoying especially in the morning. Please go home and and drink a large amount of petrol as natural selection is not making you extinct quick enough for my liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy