Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Avoiding sausage fests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

There's one thing that is undoubtedly coming out of this thread: women and men enjoy, on a large scale, wildly different hobbies and activities and then complain about a lack of the opposite gender in whatever they do:D.

As for the OP, yes some of the language he used can be defined as immature at best, doesn't show much consideration and the likes; It has however to be said that every time a post about "hi ladies and gentlemen, I am struggling to meet women, what can I do?", the thread almost immediately becomes an original poster bashing fest, invariably descending into "OP couldn't get any girls if it rained them".

Most of the advice given is appalling to say the least; Joining "classes" and "courses" where women are? Do guys seriously think ladies are stupid and don't realize when somebody has zero interest in cooking/pottery/salsa dancing/painting but a lot of interest in their boobs?

I don't know you Lufties, have no way to judge your character or attitude, I can only go by what you say here; And from what I read, you might actually be trying a little too hard for your own good.
    Make no mistake, it's good to be proactive; It's just that in my experience, it's really easy to overdo it - which makes a guy undesirable; "Reek of desperation", as some might say. If you join a yoga class just to meet women, that's overdoing it.

You've been at a singles party, and from what I read you actually enjoyed it except for the part where you went home alone. As simple as it is you don't win all the time. Don't let it frustrate you. I'd try again, you are in London which has plenty of opportunities. Wouldn't want to wait for a "singles event" in most Irish cities :D.

Last but not least, if it's true that the OP put in some derogatory comments it's just as true that there have been quite a bit of remarks along the lines of "guys that do X in/at Y are creeps!". Nobody ever bats an eyelid about it, but it's an unacceptable attitude just like the ice queens comment.

I know such attitude is largely triggered by the "join a class for x to meet women!" ideas and, while I can't possibly understand the predicament, I am aware of the fact that most women are essentially offered c0ck as a side to anything on a daily basis. I agree it is annoying.
    Still, it doesn't give the right to stigmatize a guy's behaviour. The man trying to talk to a woman in the gym would probably be there exercising regardless, he's not there just to "creep", and the fact the two of you are doing the same thing points out to some quite obvious common ground. It's perfectly fine not to be interested, it isn't to label somebody because he just tried. If it was, nobody would talk to anybody in any setting.

In the end, if everyone from both sides relaxed a little bit about the whole "meeting women/men" thing, it'd be a better place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

There's a hell of a difference between someone who takes their own life, and someone who just comes off like a drama queen. To even equate the two on the same spectrum shows the annoying lack of perspective on your part that tends to rub people up the wrong way. Tbh, half the time I think you just post these kind of threads looking to be abused and rub people up the wrong way.

You claim you're intelligent, I'd love to understand who you're measuring yourself up against, because your posts certainly don't allude to intelligence of any description.

Blah blah blah..I couldn't give a rats arse what your opinion is, yoir obviously not capable of having a balanced view and choose to attack and sneer with your posts.

In ireland, people bottle opinions and feelings for fear of being shamed or outcasted suddenly they are gone and everyone wonders why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

lufties wrote: »

In ireland, people bottle opinions and feelings for fear of being shamed or outcasted suddenly they are gone and everyone wonders why.

Bikram yoga night?

Bikram yoga is amazing I love it. Jesus I wouldn't smile during it. I mean after or before when you key in at reception, I have smiled like a simple salute and I get a cold expression usually.

Might as well keep going and see what happens anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

In fairness, I'm not long out of a relationship and finding it hard to connect with women in a way that is romantic. I've had a few dates and either they weren't into me that way or vice versa. Im actually looking for a woman for a long term relationship.

Of course people here abuse me and bully me..saying I'm probably ugly, I only want sex, and so on..This is quite normal though here as people like to act the know it all. In ireland this kind off bullying is normal too.

Just because my opinions and experiences are different, it doesn't make me evil or less of a human. It doesnt suprise that so many people in ireland are taking their own lives.

You've actually managed to turn a thread about you not being able to chat to women and made it about suicide.

Jaysus. Way to spoil a fun thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

smcgiff wrote: »
    I was thinking more along the lines of...

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/143200463122611852/

Any chance of a non account required look.
    Thats actually a good suggestion though, the OP should join Pinterest, I've browsed it before for some Craft/Cooking stuff and I can't think of any site I have ever seen with such a off balance ratio apart from maybe some of the mens rights Reddits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Blah blah blah..I couldn't give a rats arse what your opinion is, yoir obviously not capable of having a balanced view and choose to attack and sneer with your posts.

Beam in your own eye there much?

Quite right though, I genuinely can't fathom why women aren't frothing for a bit of little lufties loving :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Beam in your own eye there much?

Quite right though, I genuinely can't fathom why women aren't frothing for a bit of little lufties loving :rolleyes:

Haha I do not give a yipedee fook what you can or can't fathom..ok? Seriously do you understand this? Not a ****e could I give.

HW100S wrote: »
    I hate sausage fests!

I wouldn't move to Germany then.

One of these days I'll remember how to post pics.

It was a picture of Jack Nicholson... but not the one you were just thinking :pac:

I could see it and I don't have an account on Pinterest.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    You've actually managed to turn a thread about you not being able to chat to women and made it about suicide.

Jaysus. Way to spoil a fun thread.

What he said.

Cheer up folks, otherwise it's going to be a blue blue Christmas.

Ah feck it, I'm going to reopen this one just cos.

There's no bullying going on, there's no "typical irish" attitude and there's no need to turn a thread about sausage fests into a thread about suicide cos who the fcuk needs that like.

Just be bloody nice will ye?

HO HO HO

Ah feck it, I'm going to reopen this one just cos.

There's no bullying going on, there's no "typical irish" attitude and there's no need to turn a thread about sausage fests into a thread about suicide cos who the fcuk needs that like.

Just be bloody nice will ye?

HO HO HO

Whoopsadaisydoodles The destroyer Resurrecter of threads :)

I'm really only reopening it to find out where these sausage fests actually are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

I'm really only reopening it to find out where these sausage fests actually are.

Don't you remember that one....you know....the night we....;)

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Don't you remember that one....you know....the night we....;)

We what?

WE WHAT?

Can't have been much of a fest if I can't even remember :(

superquinn sausages are pretty nice

bluewolf wrote: »
    superquinn sausages are pretty nice

Is that a euphemism - and can you give Whoops Mr Quinn's number?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,223 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

They dont really attract hot guys though

http://i0.wp.com/thelincolnite.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/Sausage-Festival.jpg?zoom=3&w=760

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

We what?

WE WHAT?

Can't have been much of a fest if I can't even remember :(

More of a cabaret than a fest. But it was the best game of chess ever. Probably why you don't remember it. A lot of red lemonade and crisps had been consumed.

http://www.elbertafire.com/festival/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Putinovsky

Haha I do not give a yipedee fook what you can or can't fathom..ok? Seriously do you understand this? Not a ****e could I give.

It's pretty evident that you do mate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

Putinovsky wrote: »
    It's pretty evident that you do mate...

Hmm. What's evident to me, after Lufties described having had a few nice chats with women in a bar but "failed to seal the deal" is that "the deal" is not coming across as particularly attractive and possibly consists of the one option of her continuing the night with him. If, perhaps, "the deal" was a genuine case of wanting to meet a certain woman again, for coffee or similar, perhaps he'd get someplace.

More haste, less speed and all that....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

mikom wrote: »
    Frank observations?

I presume you had/have a Grandmother, mother, and possibly a sister.
    Are they stuck up ice queens?
    Ask the OP what he thinks.

I have 4 sisters. If somebody called them a stuck up ice queen they'd have a hard job convincing me to give him a kicking, ill reserve my rage for an insult worthy of inducing rage.

Stuck up ice queens do exist. I think most men have met one or two.
    Is it that wrong to state they can be found at yoga??

And yes...men can be dicks too....(added for equality purposes)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

I have 4 sisters. If somebody called them a stuck up ice queen they'd have a hard job convincing me to give him a kicking, ill reserve my rage for an insult worthy of inducing rage.

Stuck up ice queens do exist. I think most men have met one or two.
    Is it that wrong to state they can be found at yoga??

And yes...men can be dicks too....(added for equality purposes)

Yes that's life. But we can't let that get us down. People will mostly not like you or be indifferent to you. That is life. There are very unpleasant people in the world.

But you know what it just means that when you meet someone who DOES like you eventually it is even more special.

By the way your sisters and you and me and even ****ing mother teresa have behaved like stuck up ice queens at some time or another. I mean just look at boards and this thread ...we all have grumpy days. Now lets just put the nasty posts in this thread down to christmass stress and lets help lufties get his end away.

It sounds like an interesting distraction.

Lufties...I have a cunning plan......

Wait here ....I have to ....something.

Now lets just put the nasty posts in this thread down to christmass stress and lets help lufties get his end away.

It sounds like an interesting distraction.

Lufties...I have a cunning plan......

Wait here ....I have to ....something.

Does it involve you dressing up as Elsa and dropping around to Lufties?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

smcgiff wrote: »
    Does it involve you dressing up as Elsa and dropping around to Lufties?
    No ....it might involve you dressing up as Elsa and dropping round to Lufties.

Or it might involve you dressing up as me dressing up as Elsa and dropping round to Lufties.

Don't worry Lufty we got this.

No ....it might involve you dressing up as Elsa and dropping round to Lufties.

Or it might involve you dressing up as me dressing up as Elsa and dropping round to Lufties.

Don't worry Lufty we got this.

Okay, but if I'm dressing up as somebody it'll be Anna. She was the real star of the show. Have you got the taxi money? Don't think I'm cut out for heels.