Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What do you consider normal social drinking

• 15-12-2014 1:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,630 ✭✭✭✭

I don't drink much and would be happy to go to a pub and have 2 or 3 drinks now and then or a few glass of wine at the weekend, my husband does not drink much, I come from a family of light or non drinkers so maybe my view of this is a bit squid. I was listening to a discussion on this and drinking 8 pints in one go every weekend was seen as normal by a lot of people??

So as I said what in your opinion is normal social drinking by amount.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

2 or 3 maybe 4 pints of a night out, glass of vino with a meal or as a nightcap. IMHO 8 pints in one go is asking for all sorts of trouble.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I did all the mad nights out in my 20s and then moved down the country for a few years where having to drive home most of the time meant no drinking anyway.

Didn't really bother me and these days I don't get out as much anyway so I can take it or leave it really, but on those rare occasions where I do have a drink now it's usually only 2-3 pints

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

While I don't drink nearly as often as I used to, when I do I go at it hard.

I went to a gig Thursday night, met a mate around half 6 so between then and the time I left the pub after the gig (around 12 or so) I drank ten or eleven pints of Guinness.

There are a couple of buddies I go out with every couple of months and when we go on a session it wouldn't be unusual for me to sink 15 pints and perhaps a couple of gin and tonics.

That's a disgraceful amount of alcohol to consume in a weekend never mind in a single night, I know.

When I was in my mid 20s (I'm 35 now) a usual night out incorporated on average 10 to 12 pints of bulmers followed by easily 10 to 15 vodka and red bulls, that would be on a Friday and Saturday night with the occasional Sunday session thrown in too.

I know looking back and looking at myself now, that level of alcohol consumption is alcoholism of sorts. I could go a month without touching a drop, I can't remember the last time I drank at home but when I'm out, I'm feckin out.

When I drink I feel free. In social settings I feel terribly self conscious when sober but when I've had a few jars I'd talk the hind legs off a donkey.

I'd love to be able to go for a few pints and leave it at that but tbh I doubt I ever will be so it's a case for me of avoiding goin out altogether to evade the shyness rather than trying to combat the problem itself.

A cop out?

Probably, but sure who knows, maybe some day I cop myself on.

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭Sonderkommando

Always have 10 maybe 12 pints on a night out, although I don't get out that much anymore. I'm a big fellow so I can handle it well and it's rare I indulge in spirits.

I would drink a good few beers at home during the week which is probably worse as it is regular and I usually never miss a week.

nothing wrong i dont think with drinking that amount i know a lot of people can handle 8+ pints not a bother to them, you'd think they'd had one pint.I rarely drink so three four pints does me,although nothing worse than someone downin a naggin or something and jus being messy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I would spend nearly 50 on a 'normal' night out. I'd walk home merry and warm but I'd be fine the day after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭johndaman66

I'd generally go out almost every weekend on a Saturday night, skipping maybe the odd weekend here and there or else being designated dessie the odd time. For me 4-5 pints would be my limit. Enjoy that number but wouldn't particularly enjoy drinking anymore than that on the one session. Having said that I go out late, don't drink at the house first and wouldn't really have time to drink much more unless I gulped them down. Maybe if I was out earlier I'd be able to pace myself and drink a few more on top of that.

Anyway I'm just a slip of a guy and after drinking them 4 or 5 I'm possibly spending more time in the gents weeing them out than talking to people.

Open to correction but I think technically speaking drinking more than 2 pints in one session is considered binge drinking

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,797 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

If I'm out I wouldn't drink anymore than 3 or 4 pints these days, same if I'm drinking at home, 3 or 4 pint bottles max, I was able to drink alot more when I was 18-24 (28 now) but I don't like drinking too much these days, I hate hangovers, my best friend on the other hand would drink 10-12 pint on a friday, saturday and sunday :eek: and still be able to get up for work on monday :eek: too much Imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,600 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Usually around 4 or 5 bottles before I head out, then another 2 or 3 pints and then 4 or 5 mixers (captain morgans etc). I only drink on a nightout, I never drink at home (unless it's "pre drinking") or I never have a casual pint, so when I drink I usually go fairly hard. I can also go a month or two without drinking so I don't really feel too guilty when I do go out boozing. I don't really get hangovers either unless I get completley wrecked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,776 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Thread is making me re-evaluate my opinions on my own "normal" drinking :(

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭Seriously?

Not one to normally drink at home, though may have the odd glass of wine or bottle of beer with a meal from time to time.

When I go out 6 or 7 pints would not be unheard of over the course of a number of hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

The terrible Irish relationship with alcohol summarised in 12 quick posts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,652 ✭✭✭✭fits

Bit shocked at some of these! Female but I'd be legless after three pints and I would be sick after 5. I could drink more over a long period of time eg at a festival but I think I manage it pretty well nowadays. Was out until 6 am last friday. Stuck to wine, had lots of water, danced my socks off and no hangover the day after. Delighted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭JaseBelleVie

I go out at least once a week (usually Saturday) with friends. Starts in a pub, ends in a club and we all go home pretty legless. Usually 8 pints or so in the pub, then into a late-bar/club for about 6 shorts/mixer. Kebab or something similarly greasy and grotesque on the way home. Then a day of lounging around in Canto's and watching football for Sunday.

It is a lot to drink, and it is happening once a week, but I essentially work 6 days a week and it really helps me blow off steam. But I do realize that it is a huge amount to drink in one sitting. But I'm able to handle it. I don't get messy. I don't get blindly randy. I just eat things that I would never eat when sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭skallywag

Quite a lot of lads I know would be drinking around the 8-10 pint mark on a night out. You would tend to drink less though if staying in, it always seems to end up higher when one goes out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I'm 26 and would head out at least once a weekend and I usually put away about 3 beers before I start feeling anything. I also have a few beers during the week as well.

It really depends on who I'm out with. Some of my friends hit it hard and I can easily end up having somewhere between 10 and 15. I'll be honest, there's been plenty of times when I've lost count so not entirely sure.

If I'm out with my girlfriend and her friends, it's all a lot calmer (as is the Spanish way) and I wouldn't drink as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,630 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

What I am getting from this thread is that some people must be spending serious amount of their income on alcohol and perceive this to be normal socialising.

mariaalice wrote: »
    What I am getting from this thread is that some people must be spending serious amount of their income on alcohol and perceive this to be normal socialising.

I would agree completely, though those who are doing so may perceive those who are not doing the same as being in the abnormal group :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,606 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

fits wrote: »
    Bit shocked at some of these!

I am as well. I've moved about a lot and am quite introverted so I never go out. When I do, it's one or 2 then off home.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

keane2097 wrote: »
    Thread is making me re-evaluate my opinions on my own "normal" drinking :(

Me too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭newport2

Several posters here seem to think that once they can handle 8-12 pints, then it's ok. It's not about how drunk you get on this amount of drink at one sitting, it's about the damage you're doing to your liver, amongst other things. Unfortunately you mightn't find out about this until it's too late and the damage is already done. Chances are, the more you can "handle" on a night out, the worse state your liver is in, because you've practiced drinking at this level enough to build up a tolerance to this amount of pints.

(I'm no saint, used to binge drink a lot like this myself. But getting married sorted that out for me...........)

I think that there is a considerable difference though between someone going out once a week and having 8 pints and someone doing it multiples times a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭JaseBelleVie

I would personally never drink during the week. Unless I know full well I have a whole day to chill and relax afterwards, I don't do it. I could not envision myself going out to work the next day after a rake of pints/shorts. I am going to slow down a bit on a Saturday night. It's not good for me, but it is a great way for me to just unwind.

During the week, my socialising consists mostly of going to the cinema with friends, going for a bit to eat, playing football, having game nights (playing XBox and stuff) or something along those lines where alcohol tends not to get involved.

The financial impact of drinking doesn't affect me much at all (not trying to sound snobby at all, but it genuinely doesn't) so that is not a factor for me. I just am concerned that maybe I am hitting the piss a bit too hard at weekends.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

I used to be able to sink 7+ pints on a night out, but waking up the next day used to be the worst, didn't help that i smoke as well, haven't had a proper ''piss up'' with friends in 2 years. Though i had 1 pint at all the gigs i went to this year.

And i'm only in my early 20's, drinking on a Saturday night doesn't work for me, say unless it was a special occasion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭The Wild Bunch

I couldn't go for a casual 3 or 4 pints - only teasing myself and I haven't the willpower to stop

I'll either hit it hard (10+ pints) or I'll stay off it completely

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

I dont drink at home, drives the wife mad.

have a 5 month old, so normally stay at 4 pints, but even pre baby i wouldnt have had that many heavy nights - 6-8 pints, maybe a few shorts (mad for me anyway)

Now its just not worth the pain the following day!

dont miss it, tbh now its very much for the social aspect rather than the lets get blotto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Nights out are rare enough but if I was out it would be 6-8 pints. Catching up with the buddies and a bit of banter and you could sink a fair few pints without really knowing it.

I don't do spirits unless its a hot whiskey for a cold. More so a placebo that one. Might have a couple of glasses of wine on a saturday night at home after a take away or one or two of bottles of craft beer. That would be maybe every second weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Starokan

I tend to stay off drink 90% of the time, I have no off switch , once I start I cant stop, would drink 5/6 pints and am pretty wasted at that stage which is when I should head home problem is I tend to keep going until I drop.

I love the buzz of a few drinks, I just don't get the same joy out of a night when stone cold sober, not sure why really though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

In college, five years ago, I used to drink a 70cl bottle of whiskey with ease. I'm not so robust now. Went out tonight with my housemate for the first time in ages. I had five pints. That was enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

mariaalice wrote: »
    perceive this to be normal socialising.

Thats a pretty big assumption to make, no?

People haven't said drinking to excess is "normal" socialising, people are just saying what they drink. I sure as hell know that what I pack away on an average night out is a helluva long way from normal and is way too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,630 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Thats a pretty big assumption to make, no?

People haven't said drinking to excess is "normal" socialising, people are just saying what they drink. I sure as hell know that what I pack away on an average night out is a helluva long way from normal and is way too much.

Cultural expectation can normalised problem drinking.

• Registered Users Posts: 345 ✭✭DAZP93

I'm 22 and I still feel the need to have at least 30 pints over the weekend (possibly more if theres a "lockin" at the local).

I also have a box of fags at the weekend, but wont touch one from Monday to Friday. I gave up about 3 years ago and couldnt quite kick the habbit while on the beer.

Once Monday morning comes its back in the office and I wont touch a drop again until the following Friday.

I presume I'm not the only one with this type of routine??

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

I can go through a box of cigarettes like it's nothing when i sink the pints

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

MrCreosote wrote: »
    The terrible Irish relationship with alcohol summarised in 12 quick posts...

dry sh1te:pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Don't go out much anymore.
    Generally stay home and share a bottle of wine with the Mrs.

Tis very expensive and only the headache and hangover are guaranteed in my view.

I'm just getting old I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,652 ✭✭✭✭fits

Why do people drink ten rather than leave it at four or five? Would you prefer to have less? And is there anything that might help?

Personally, I find the rounds thing terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Definitely slowing down in my old age. In college I used to drink a shoulder of vodka before going out, then 5 or 6 pints and whatever shots were going. I've slowed considerably now. I'd have a naggin before going out and only a pint or two. The pain the next day just isn't worth it anymore. I only tend to go out once a month or so anyway, since I started working Monday to Friday I find my days off too valuable to waste sitting on the jacks trying not to vomit and **** at the same time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭braddun

drinking every day is not light drinking

if you had 2 drinks in pub at weekend maybe twice a week

would be ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,004 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Age is a factor too.

Young people can do it, and get over it relatively quickly. But sometimes they can get in trouble, not health wise, if you get me.

Me... older and bolder, on the other hand cannot anymore. Although I try on occasion, I am days recovering.

So I don't very often, for obvious reasons!

Stay safe folks, enjoy but don't get hurt or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Between 4 and 6 pints would be what I would consider a social drink, personally any more than 4 and I'd feel it the next day.

Social drinking for me means going drinking as much as your social circles demand it - and staying sober enough while doing so to remain usefully sociable :)

A lot of people appear to be great at the first - but maybe a little too many fail a bit at the second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Age is a factor too.

Young people can do it, and get over it relatively quickly. But sometimes they can get in trouble, not health wise, if you get me.

Me... older and bolder, on the other hand cannot anymore. Although I try on occasion, I am days recovering.

So I don't very often, for obvious reasons!

Stay safe folks, enjoy but don't get hurt or anything.

I would say the opposite of myself. As I mentioned earlier in the thread I am most likely a lightweight compared to many and always have being. A serious session for me would be 7 or 8 pints

However, being 33 now it would seem that hangovers are less severe if I get them at all now compared to my early 20's and my choice of drinks have not changed,

I think it may be due in no small part to a higher intake of water not just before or after I drink but all the time. I was poor enough for drinking water until a few years back.

On a side note I would highly recommend as high a possible intake of water on a daily basis. My general health and energy levels have improved considerably since I upped my intake immensly. I'm sure most of ye know that already though:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

There are a couple of buddies I go out with every couple of months and when we go on a session it wouldn't be unusual for me to sink 15 pints and perhaps a couple of gin and tonics.

Dude. :eek:
    When I was in my mid 20s (I'm 35 now) a usual night out incorporated on average 10 to 12 pints of bulmers followed by easily 10 to 15 vodka and red bulls, that would be on a Friday and Saturday night with the occasional Sunday session thrown in too.

DUDE! :eek:

Have been out the last 6 days/nights until today and drank a disgraceful amount. Very surprised not to have the shakes today. Think I'll be leaving it for a little bit. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Depends completely on your age (and locale to some extent). Expect 18-24 year olds down the country to be putting away 10+ pints a weekend easily. Anybody in college could be drinking 8 cans a night a few nights a week on top of this, and this time of year is another drinking bonanza.

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭AdFundum

Normal has a big variance in this instance. I am noticeably tipsy on three, drunk by 5 and capable of all sorts after 6. I tend to keep it at 5 max and that happens fortnightly or thereabouts. That keeps hangovers in check also and hangovers are not worth it. No amount of shenanigans is worth the fear - no way, never!

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭no money honey

Been a heavy enough binge drinker since I was 16, am 22 now and I'm sorry to say age is already kicking in with hangovers, not just with myself but with many friends.

Consistency gives Binge a bad name :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

I'm amazed so many if you would only have 4 or 5. Generally speaking I have one every half hour or so starting fro 9ish going straight through to 3 or 4am. It does slow down toward the end but that's not including shots. And pretty much everyone I know that I go out with is the same. I'm 26 and for the last year have been putting in 70+hours a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

6-8 pints or 20cl and 3 or 4 pints (plus a couple of shots in the club/bar) would be normal for me. If I'm drinking just spirits then 40cl, but I've over done it before and have ended up drinking a lot more (full 70cl bottle plus pints/shots in the club). I try to avoid drinking spirits when I drink socially now (to avoid binge drinking and just getting completely fucked, incoherent etc). I find 6 pints is probably ideal for me, although if it's a long night it can be hard to keep the buzz going with just that.