Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Aston Villa vs Manchester United Match Thread 20/12/'14 K/O 3pm Setanta 1

• 19-12-2014 11:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Aston-Villa-vs-Manchester-Utd-Prediction-and-Betting-Tips.jpg

PAST THREE MEETINGS…

Man Utd 4 (Rooney 2, Mata, Hernández) Aston Villa 1 (Westwood), Premier League, March 2014

Aston Villa 0 Man Utd 3 (Welbeck 2, Cleverley), Premier League, December 2013

Man Utd 3 (Van Persie 3) Aston Villa 0, Premier League, April 2013

STATS…

Aston Villa average the lowest shots-per-game ratio in the Premier League this season with just 9.6.

Manchester United possess the best passing success ratio in the league with 85.6 per cent.

There has not been a goalless draw between the two sides in the last 12 fixtures.

Manchester United historically dominate this fixture – winning 95 to Aston Villa’s 49.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Can we will the leauge?

Will it to do what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

Posted this a few days ago in reply to a comment, we haven't had anything less than a win against Villa since November 2010.

7Zx5zRf.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,564 ✭✭✭✭CSF

advertsfox wrote: »
    Posted this a few days ago in reply to a comment, we haven't had anything less than a win against Villa since November 2010.

7Zx5zRf.png
    Was almost sure I remembered a 1 nil Agbonlahor win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

CSF wrote: »
    Was almost sure I remembered a 1 nil Agbonlahor win?

Think that was '09 or '10

I'm sure Young swung in the ball to Gaby too.

Ooohh and Utd will win by a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,564 ✭✭✭✭CSF

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Think that was '09 or '10

I'm sure Young swung in the ball to Gaby too.
    Jesus, that does just show how long it has been. Heading tomorrow, not expecting the run to change too much with all the players out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

If there is one team I tend not to be concerned about its Aston Villa. Famous last words perhaps but its the simple truth, I never expect anything less than a win against them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Hopefully its in the loan deal that Cleverly can play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Hopefully its in the loan deal that Cleverly can play.
    Suspended and cuptied :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Suspended and cuptied :cool:

Typical useless Tom. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

We go again

7 times, make us dream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

RVP & Rooney love playing Villa,they can't help scoring against them,from his Arsenal days through to now RVP has scored regularly against them.Rooney has a good record too.

In the past few seasons we've outscored them 26-3 and tomorrow they are missing 4 players.No messing around,get the goals as City are playing before us & bar a miracle they'll beat Palace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭SherlockWatson

Hoping for Falcao to kickstart his season against villa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Rob Thomas

Fellaini ill should mean a start for Herrera. With DiMaria on the bench he could leave Rooney out and start Falcao to get him off and running right. Would probably make more sense to leave RVP out if Falcao plays but he has played himself into form so it's worth keeping him in the team.

If he wants to play Rooney it could be Mata to lose out?

But maybe he will stick with the team in general and leave Falcao on the bench again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Expect a United win.

• 7 in a row, RVP to do the damage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

As a villa fan I'm not looking forward to this and expect a loss. United are one of our bogey teams. Even when they are not playing well they seem to get something against us.

But I'm just holding out hope that we can see something like
    Kirsten_Benteke.gif

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    7 in a row, RVP to do the damage

This does not slip.

4-0 to United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,769 ✭✭✭dmc17

matrim wrote: »
    As a villa fan I'm not looking forward to this and expect a loss. United are one of our bogey teams. Even when they are not playing well they seem to get something against us.

vanpersiegoal_original.gif?1366666927

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

dmc17 wrote: »
    *cough* offside *cough* ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Hello my friend @bentekechris20 good new for you:-). I don t play today. Good luck my team #mufc http://t.co/FyKJTW3CPn

Straight from Fellaini's twitter

Hello my friend @bentekechris20 good new for you:-). I don t play today. Good luck my team #mufc http://t.co/FyKJTW3CPn

Straight from Fellaini's twitter

It was confirmed yesterday that Fellaini is sick.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭Chagan

Horrible sense of a banana skin about this one. 2-1 Villa.

Or maybe Falcao will eat them alive.

• Chagan wrote: »
    Horrible sense of a banana skin about this one. 2-1 Villa.

Or maybe Falcao will eat them alive.

Still unconfirmed if he's starting, although with fellani missing he could drop Rooney in mid and leave rvp n falcoa as a front 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

matrim wrote: »
    As a villa fan I'm not looking forward to this and expect a loss. UNITED ARE ONE OF OUR BOGEY TEAMS. Even when they are not playing well they seem to get something against us.

Kirsten_Benteke.gif

Who isn't one of your bogey teams?:-P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭Chagan

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Still unconfirmed if he's starting, although with fellani missing he could drop Rooney in mid and leave rvp n falcoa as a front 2

We really need to bite the bullet and start him at some point. Even it is to keep RVP rested for Spurs.

Giving him 15 minutes here and there is of no benefit to the team, his form or his fitness at the his stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Not on the box?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I'm seeing on Twitter that Herrera has also been taken unwell. He was in line to start.
    Dunno how true that is though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

py2006 wrote: »
    Not on the box?

Setanta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭statto25

Not on the box?

It's in the thread title.

statto25 wrote: »
    It's in the thread title.

oops my bad

City haven't had a shot on target yet,could be our chance to capitalise if they mess up today.

zerks wrote: »
    City haven't had a shot on target yet,could be our chance to capitalise if they mess up today.

They just scored

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

They just scored

I blame zerks :P

Once United win today that is the most important thing.

They just scored

Yup,watching it.Maybe if I say Palace might slip up,they'll equalize.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Don't know if Livescore is right but Fletcher starts in midfield for Fellaini and Falcao for Wilson. Rest is the same. Herrera would have started but for illness today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,372 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Don't know if Livescore is right but Fletcher starts in midfield for Fellaini and Falcao for Wilson. Rest is the same. Herrera would have started but for illness today.
    I think they normally have placeholder teams until they get the actual team news.

Edit: or you know, are right :p

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Mata, Rooney, Falcao and RVP

Brace yourself, goals are coming....

Jaysus. That's one attacking team. 2 defenders on the pitch.
    Oops didn't see young there.
    5 at the back, or fletcher and the poor mans Leon Britton in midfield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Mata, Rooney, Falcao and RVP

Brace yourself, goals are coming....[/QUOTE

This time last year i dont think any fan would think that line up could happen

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Jesus, that attacking line up and we're still missing Di Maria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

That's a mad team selection, there's like 7 attackers

Jesus. We have di Maria out as well. This hangover is making me so forgetful.

Worst utd team ever. Be lucky to get 5th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I have you down for a 2-1 win in Super Six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nolars

Nice to see Falcao finally starting. Come on United :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

I have you down for a 2-1 win in Super Six.

Looking at that lineup, you were good to go with us conceding a goal. Benteke 11/4 anytime looks nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Utd are going to score about 42 goals today.

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Utd are going to score about 42 goals today.

Feck off ya jinx.:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Disappointed that Herrara is out, would have liked to see him play. Fletcher playing concerns me greatly he hasn't got he legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

With that line up, United shall win 7-3 :cool: