Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Game-week 18 Transfers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Are people bringing in Downing not worried about Song, Kouyate & Sakho leaving for the Acon in the New Year?
    That is a big part of their team missing for a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Went Berahino/Costa to Benteke/Giroud minus 4

Line up for friday is:
    Forster
    Bertrand - Ivanovic - Chambers
    Eriksen - Hazard (v) - Silva - Mata
    Benteke - Kane - Giroud (c)

Bench

Schmeichel :rolleyes: Siggy - Wisdom - Schlupp

Hopefully good enough, have resisted going for Downing, Sanchez, Austin Bony, as i'm only imitating the top teams then and after making up 60 points in last two GWs with slightly off centre choices (silva captain last week, Hazard Week before) I've to differentiate to compete.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Deco99 wrote: »
    Went Berahino/Costa to Benteke/Giroud minus 4

Line up for friday is:
    Forster
    Bertrand - Ivanovic - Chambers
    Eriksen - Hazard (v) - Silva - Mata
    Benteke - Kane - Giroud (c)

Bench

Schmeichel :rolleyes: Siggy - Wisdom - Schlupp

Hopefully good enough, have resisted going for Downing, Sanchez, Austin Bony, as i'm only imitating the top teams then and after making up 60 points in last two GWs with slightly off centre choices (silva captain last week, Hazard Week before) I've to differentiate to compete.

Really exciting differential front three!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Officer999

Hey guys. Just a quick question.

Thinking of selling Eriksen for Sterling.
    Good idea?

Liverpool have some really nice fixtures coming up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Officer999

Good idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 kolczastyy

I have a few doubts over my team. I did well last GM, but in general I'm still in 52k so need improvement.

My team:
    Forster - Hamer
    Baines - Chambers - Bertrand - B. Davies - Hutton
    Sanchez - Hazard - Downing - Silva - Barkley
    Bony - Costa - Austin

tempted to get rid of:
    - Baines to Zab
    - Chambers keeps me in suspense...I worry he'll get some rest.
    - Sanchez the same as above
    - Costa case with YC and no bonus points. Really consider to get rid of him to Benteke.

0.0 ITB and 1 FT.

I read that entire topic and nobody thought about James Milner? Isn't good sub? he could be good in Barkley place in my team I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭FrClintPower

Officer999 wrote: »

Good idea?

Speaking as Liverpool fan I would say don't do it. Liverpool have nice-ish fixtures, but those teams will also be looking at Liverpool as being a nice-ish fixture too. Sterling doesn't look as dangerous up front by himself either, he needs someone ahead of him to make space for him to run into or to pass to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Really exciting differential front three!

At 1.1%, 9% and 6% ownership I'll certainly gain ground if they perform. I've been reading a lot of whats posted here since I got knocked out NFL fantasy and i've gone up from 600k to top 100k in past two weeks. It seems making decisions early in week and trying to guess ahead of curve can pay off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭El festino

Officer999 wrote: »

Good idea?

I was considering this too. I captained Eriksen last week - bit of a gamble - and while he didn't return anything, he was heavily involved so think I will give him another chance. I then read this this morning from FFS which made up my mind to keep him.

8 chances created by Christian Eriksen in Tottenham’s win over the Clarets. The Dane goes on presenting himself as the complete all-round Fantasy midfielder, offering strong creativity and goal threat on a weekly basis. Eriksen created more opportunities for others than any player on show in the Premier League this weekend. That’s no fluke: over the last six Gameweeks, Eriksen tops the midfield stats for chances created (22). His goal threat is also consistently strong: Eriksen had another four attempts on goal against Burnley. Over those last six Gameweeks, he’s fired in 19 goal attempts – only Santi Cazorla and Yannick Bolasie can better the Spurs man over that same spell. Eriksen has, however, relied on efforts from range, with only four of those 19 attempts arriving from inside the opponents box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Just noticed that the Chelsea-West Ham game is at 12:45 on Friday. Might hold my transfer until Friday morning incase team news leaks of players missing from the squad for the day.

kolczastyy wrote: »
    I have a few doubts over my team. I did well last GM, but in general I'm still in 52k so need improvement.

My team:
    Forster - Hamer
    Baines - Chambers - Bertrand - B. Davies - Hutton
    Sanchez - Hazard - Downing - Silva - Barkley
    Bony - Costa - Austin

tempted to get rid of:
    - Baines to Zab
    - Costa case with YC and no bonus points. Really consider to get rid of him to Benteke.

0.0 ITB and 1 FT.

I read that entire topic and nobody thought about James Milner? Isn't good sub? he could be good in Barkley place in my team I think.

- Baines to Zab
    I think Zab is perhaps the second safest from rotation, Hart being first.

I think they would like to, but they have other injury worries. He'll play both over Christmas IMHO

He could easily get a rest. Have a strong bench.

I'm like a broken record regarding Benteke. I don't rate him in FPL as he is an 11-million striker who cannot be relied on as a captain. Benteke and 3 million >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Costa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

All this talk of rotation is making my head hurt. I'll be doing the same as I've done every other season -Picking my best eleven to start and the best captaincy option available. Whatever happens after that happens.

You might as well be pissing into the wind trying to predict it e.g. Bony being rested last weekend before the madness even kicked off.

- Baines to Zab

I think they would like to, but they have other injury worries. He'll play both over Christmas IMHO

I'm like a broken record regarding Benteke. I don't rate him in FPL as he is an 11-million striker who cannot be relied on as a captain. Benteke and 3 million >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Costa.

Cheers for reply. What dies anybody think about Milner?

- Baines to Zab

Cheers for reply. What does anybody think about Milner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

El festino wrote: »
    I was considering this too. I captained Eriksen last week - bit of a gamble - and while he didn't return anything, he was heavily involved so think I will give him another chance. I then read this this morning from FFS which made up my mind to keep him.

8 chances created by Christian Eriksen in Tottenham’s win over the Clarets. The Dane goes on presenting himself as the complete all-round Fantasy midfielder, offering strong creativity and goal threat on a weekly basis. Eriksen created more opportunities for others than any player on show in the Premier League this weekend. That’s no fluke: over the last six Gameweeks, Eriksen tops the midfield stats for chances created (22). His goal threat is also consistently strong: Eriksen had another four attempts on goal against Burnley. Over those last six Gameweeks, he’s fired in 19 goal attempts – only Santi Cazorla and Yannick Bolasie can better the Spurs man over that same spell. Eriksen has, however, relied on efforts from range, with only four of those 19 attempts arriving from inside the opponents box.

I had eriksen capt also and watched the game he didn't have any real chances and apart from one chance for Kane wasn't overly involved. I'm not saying this as in he is a bad option as I think he is a great option. More that I'd be wary of relying on a lot of these stats that ff sites are producing. The stats often don't paint a true reflection on the reality.

SantryRed wrote: »
    Just noticed that the Chelsea-West Ham game is at 12:45 on Friday. Might hold my transfer until Friday morning incase team news leaks of players missing from the squad for the day.

While teams aren't officially announced there does seem to be an increase in correct info being leaked out eg wilson starting against pool mig being dropped. Costa not on the bus before palace .

I had eriksen capt also and watched the game he didn't have any real chances and apart from one chance for Kane wasn't overly involved. I'm not saying this as in he is a bad option as I think he is a great option. More that I'd be wary of relying on a lot of these stats that ff sites are producing. The stats often don't paint a true reflection on the reality.

but are you sure is sort of quite consistent player? I'd think about him like a volcano which erupts once in a few GW. I have Downing, it might be a little bit gambling and I could be bias, but still is Spurs players, never knows...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Ddg (pantilliom)
    Zaba azpil vlaar Taylor (ncastle) yun
    Tiote bridcutt Sanchez Erikson hazard
    Costa sakho bony

I'm shifting 3 players Tiote bridcutt and most likely costa

Looking at jedinak kane and either di Maria or cazorla have 1.8 banked. Any thoughts lads?

kolczastyy wrote: »
    but are you sure is sort of quite consistent player? I'd think about him like a volcano which erupts once in a few GW. I have Downing, it might be a little bit gambling and I could be bias, but still is Spurs players, never knows...

I think eriksen is a great option and well worth keeping. I'm saying the stats don't tell the full picture I watched the game as I had him capt and didn't feel hard done by with his 2 points despite what those stats indicate. Earlier on against arsenal I had silva and he got 2 pts I came away from that game cursing my luck as he had great chances and created great chances

Lemlin wrote: »
    All this talk of rotation is making my head hurt. I'll be doing the same as I've done every other season -Picking my best eleven to start and the best captaincy option available. Whatever happens after that happens.

You might as well be pissing into the wind trying to predict it e.g. Bony being rested last weekend before the madness even kicked off.

Yep. All you can do is have a strong squad and let it happen. A number of rivals needs to take lots of hits or get incredibly lucky to avoid a disaster of a week.

While teams aren't officially announced there does seem to be an increase in correct info being leaked out eg wilson starting against pool mig being dropped. Costa not on the bus before palace .

We will know about Hazard which is gold.

Ye there should be a tweet about whether he arrives with the team. I just hope ben dinnery doesn't take his xmas holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

sanket wrote: »
    Hi guys i dont post here regularly but i read abt 90% of the posts here..congrats to all those who broke into the top 1k in the weeks passed..

Need some insights..shd i keep adrian or get hart for a 3 week punt..since i already have clichy im concerned..also i want to get benteke but im not sure whom shd i sell bony or costa...sanchez and haz seem rotation risks and downing seems in 2 pts for the next 2 games..

Adrian ..myhill
    moore clichy chambers hutton n taylor.
    downing haz sanchez yaya cork
    austin bony costa
    I would keep Bony. He had his rest. We heard nothing about the smallest injury so he should now start the next 3 games.
    Hart is not a bad option in goals. Clichy gametime is a worry alright, especially if Pelligrini sticks to his last year plan (play Kolarov against weak teams and Clichy against strong teams).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭El festino

Thanks - didn't see the full game but from highlights thought he was involved more. Will keep him anyway and monitor sterling this week.

iroced wrote: »
    I would keep Bony. He had his rest. We heard nothing about the smallest injury so he should now start the next 3 games.
    Hart is not a bad option in goals. Clichy gametime is a worry alright, especially if Pelligrini sticks to his last year plan (play Kolarov against weak teams and Clichy against strong teams).

Yep Bony has had his rest and should be kept until ACoN imo.

Hart is the most rotation proof City "defender".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭FrClintPower

Suggestions welcome - more City coverage? Ship Yun? Bank transfer?

Lloris - McCarthy

Yun - Naylor - Terry - Zabaleta - O'Shea

Eriksen - Sanchez - Hazard - Downing - Boyd

Austin - Bony - Rooney

3.7m in the bank

Got Benteke in two weeks ago and then shipped him for Rooney last week as part of a -8. Thinking back one of the reasons for the move was that I simply had too much cash in the bank and wasn't sure what to do with it. Really wish I'd just left him in now, but don't want to use my transfer to simply reverse that mistake.

So, do I need Yaya and, if so, for whom? Is Giroud worth going for or is he more likely to be rested/in less need of a rest having only just come back from injury? Should I ship Rooney for someone because of his deeper position, even if I feel he's likely to be rested least of all Utd's forwards?

Haven't got a clue what to do at the moment.....

For the moment I've decided to bank the transfer as I'm happy with my first 11 going into Friday and have Boyd and Naylor to come off the bench if necessary. Only doubts at the moment are over Hazard and/or Sanchez being rested. Once again I'll be hoping Yaya, Costa and Fabregas have quiet-ish games.

Yep Bony has had his rest and should not be kept until ACoN imo.

Hart is the most rotation proof City "defender".

You mean should :p ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭JR6

Waynama, RVP out -> Silva, Giroud in.
    Leave me with a front 8 of..
    Yaya, Silva, Sanchez, Hazard, Downing,
    Giroud, Costa, Austin
    I think this should cover me incase of players being rested. Normally not a fan of having a strong front 8 but I think over the Xmas its a good idea and I can sort it out in the wildcard.
    Is there more of a chance of Costa or RVP being rested?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Harvey Low Fat Milk

Green - Myhill
    Azpi - Zabaleta - Hutton - Duff - Moore
    Sanchez - Eriksen - Hazard - Downing - Ward-Prowse
    Austin - Bony - Costa

1.3M in the bank. 1 FT.

I'm looking to offload Moore and/or Duff over the next 2 GWs but Hazard is the potential spanner in the works. Not sure who to replace Moore with, Ben Davies possibly? Anyone see anything pressing otherwise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

Green - Myhill
    Azpi - Zabaleta - Hutton - Duff - Moore
    Sanchez - Eriksen - Hazard - Downing - Ward-Prowse
    Austin - Bony - Costa

1.3M in the bank. 1 FT.

I'm looking to offload Moore and/or Duff over the next 2 GWs but Hazard is the potential spanner in the works. Not sure who to replace Moore with, Ben Davies possibly? Anyone see anything pressing otherwise?

Pretty much in the same boat as yourself! Hazard injury doubt, but I can also see Costa being rested. My defence is in worse shape than yourself.

Need to offload Duff and get someone in that will play.

I'm staying away from Spurs - have Chelsea & Utd coming up in next 3 games so point taking a hit to get in one of their defenders.

For some strange reason I'm considering a Liverpool defender or even doubling up on City (I have Clichy and I'm not happy with this now)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Harvey Low Fat Milk

Chesty08 wrote: »
    I'm staying away from Spurs - have Chelsea & Utd coming up in next 3 games so point taking a hit to get in one of their defenders.

For some strange reason I'm considering a Liverpool defender or even doubling up on City (I have Clichy and I'm not happy with this now)

Good point.

I was contemplating Liverpool defense myself but they've been so bad defensively this year but their fixtures are very tempting, but who to bring in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,468 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

no Jovetic for St Stephen's Day.

may take a 3 GW punt on Milner.

Green to Hart done. Robert, I can safely say you were one of my worst transfers of the season.

Captain picked. Vice captain picked. Subs in order.

Now to get my toy building tools out....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Green to Hart done. Robert, I can safely say you were one of my worst transfers of the season.

Captain picked. Vice captain picked. Subs in order.

Now to get my toy building tools out....

Wait and see Willy get a game over the Xmas now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

Good point.

I was contemplating Liverpool defense myself but they've been so bad defensively this year but their fixtures are very tempting, but who to bring in?

Skrtel might have found his heading boots! Like buses, they all come at once? He scored 7 last season. Liverpool playing with alot of width now, more potential corners?

I was considering Sakho (due to funds and not taking a hit), not much of a goal threat as Skrtel tho.

Double up on City with Demichelis either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,336 ✭✭✭✭km79

finding it hard to shake the urge to do Rooney to falcao..........

Yep. All you can do is have a strong squad and let it happen. A number of rivals needs to take lots of hits or get incredibly lucky to avoid a disaster of a week.

I'll add that the biggest worry is not particularly players being rested but the 1 pt cameo (e.g. Bony this week) which would kill the strong squad argument and be a disaster captain-wise...
    Ah well hopefully managers will leak some info. When are the press conference scheduled on?

I'll add that the biggest worry is not particularly players being rested but the 1 pt cameo (e.g. Bony this week) which would kill the strong squad argument and be a disaster captain-wise...
    Ah well hopefully managers will leak some info. When are the press conference scheduled on?

There is nothing we can do about those decisions so I'm cool as a breeze about it :) I'll be careful about the captain this week and will probably put it on a Chelsea player once we get team news.

I'll lose points on some rivals and I'll gain on others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭Ziegler1988

"Pressers today then? Nice surprise -

From 9am: Steve Bruce (Hull)
    From 9.30am: Paul Lambert (Aston Villa), Arsene Wenger (Arsenal)
    From 10am: Alan Pardew (Newcastle)
    From 12.45pm: Manuel Pellegrini (Man City)
    From 1pm: Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham)
    From 2pm: Ronald Koeman (Southampton), Gus Poyet (Sunderland), Alan Irvine (West Brom)
    From 2.30pm: Nigel Pearson (Leicester)
    From 4pm: Louis van Gaal (Man Utd)"

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    Wait and see Willy get a game over the Xmas now.

I wouldn't be surprised if he does but **** happens.

I've always had the same mantra: you pick the best squad you can on the info available to you. After that, you've very little control.

That's why you won't see me on here complaining if Willy does get a match.

Those cameos can work the other way though. Ramsey for example came on against Hull last year and scored two. RVP did it against Sunderland a few seasons back. Aguero at the start of this year. You're better off playing your top players - they might only need 20 minutes or a half hour for a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,956 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Seriously thinking of taking a 12 point hit, and if it goes wrong will sort out in WC.

Pulled the trigger on this,

out goes: RVP/Costa/Cork/Wilson and Boyd,
    In Comes: Austin/Giroud/Silva/Sterling and Zabelta

If needs be can sort out in WC.

Guzan
    Baines, Zabelta, Hutton
    Silva, Yaya, Sterling, Fab, Sanchez
    Austin, Giroud, Kane

At the moment Kane is on the bench but may change this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭larchielads

considering cazorla 8,14,6 in last 3 games. Santi for Xmas anyone? ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭kevinroche3333

considering cazorla 8,14,6 in last 3 games. Santi for Xmas anyone? ;-)

Legit pick but just be aware that he is on 4 yellows.
    Without Wilshere Ramsey and Arteta in the middle he is more box to box than usual and therefore picking up the odd yellow. But his form has been a bright spot for Arsenal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,214 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Pretty sure ill bank my transfer this week and do Chambers to Zab and Rooney to Austin for gw19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭theRB

Clichy to Zabaleta worth a 4 point hit? What do ye reckon?

theRB wrote: »

I wouldn't do it myself. Clichy could play and Zab could not such is City's wealth of options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Is there any player worth a points hit this week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Dempsey wrote: »

Depends on the player going out. Sanchez would be the obvious one if you don't have him but who knows what will happen with rotation! If you are looking at a zero if you don't bring someone in then there are a good few who look decent value to bring in.

Dempsey wrote: »

Bony perhaps because he has already been rested but he only has 3 GWs until he's gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

theRB wrote: »

Definitely not imo. I have Zaba and am expecting him to sit out at some point. For free maybe if you don't have anything important to do but not for a hit.