Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Arcade and Retro Chat - Insert Coin -

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,653 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Thargor wrote: »
    Absolutely love this art from the cover of Battletech: Mercenaries, its so perfect! What are the chances of finding it as a poster I wonder? Id frame it for my future games room. From a good 4 part series Polygon just did on the history of Mechwarrior.

Battle_Scene_3.jpg

I really hope Mechwarrior V is good.

I was a player of Battletech in college, back in 89/90, great game.
    The PC games from the mid 90's were superb, particularly 2 and 3, had them both on my Windows 95 machine, with a MS Sidewinder stick, just brilliant!
    The same engine was used in Interstate 76 as well.

And here's a quick search for high res battletech art
    link

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,036 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I really miss that genre of pseudo sim games. Loved mechwarrior 2 and the tie fighter games.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,036 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Mr.Saturn wrote: »
    Just saw CeX are selling Paper Mario: Thousand Year Door for 78e. Was about to lambaste them as thieves and scoundrels 'til I saw that was the general ballpark for what it goes for these days. I don't understand the discrepancy between its PAL price and its NTSC release. The latter can be gotten relatively cheap but the PAL version gains a tenner every time I look away. Is there a reason why one version out-prices the other so dramatically? The PAL version didn't seem to have experienced any limitations in supply compared to its US equivalent.

Like, hell, even a pre-owned, Player's Choice copy can comfortably sell for 83e and that's with the merchant having 22 copies readily available:

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/PAPER-MARIO-THE-THOUSAND-YEAR-DOOR-GAMECUBE-GAME-PAL/271933940486?hash=item3f5086a306:m:mM1FGbnjqxmQ67_2KcB-H5w

It's a RPG for an unpopular console. People seem to equate that to rare and expensive and then the market slowly reflects that. Paper Mario 2 sold relatively well and is in no way rare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,388 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Holy crap, anyone see how much Ronnie just listed a Pony III for??? -2495 :eek:

That's quite literally twice the price I bought my one from him for a few years ago. (And I thought that was expensive!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

Hey All,

I'm buying a particular Gameboy Advance Game for my reddit secret santa, I picked one up on ebay which I'm guessing by the wild variation in prices and just from the few minutes of research I've done on GBA games that it's a knockoff.

Is there anything to look out for or check? I don't think I have anything that can play GBA games so I won't be able to test it before forwarding it on, are they generally ok? Worth including any warning with it?

I'm also making a nice enclosure for it, I'll share when they have received it (worried they might be one here!)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,653 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

GBA games on Ebay are cursed with knockoffs.
    But there are ways to determine if it's genuine, from the label to having a peek at the circuit board.
    Here's a link to some telltale signs

https://www.wikihow.com/Tell-if-a-GBA-Game-Is-Fake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    GBA games on Ebay are cursed with knockoffs.
    But there are ways to determine if it's genuine, from the label to having a peek at the circuit board.
    Here's a link to some telltale signs

https://www.wikihow.com/Tell-if-a-GBA-Game-Is-Fake

Cheers for the links.

Without even receiving it I'm going to give it a 95% chance of being fake :P

Has anyone had much issues with the fake stuff?

Cheers for the links.

Only fake gba game I got was from Rage.... :mad:

Try Lukiegames on ebay, his gba games have been all genuine from what I bought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

Cheers for the links.

Eh if you can make it through all the Youtuber-ness, the young one here runs a game shop and gives a few good pointers for spotting fake stuff

Anyone ever into the Pokemon GBA games knows the agony of going from "awesome, I can forward my team to the new games" to "oh, wow, this thing doesn't even save."

Master of the Universe

Don't mean to keep banging on about the price of things, but christ, everything has gotten a little bit..over the top hasn't it?

I've been out of the arcade collecting scene since my cabs were in storage - now that I'm getting them out soon I've been looking over the value of a few items.

My Pony went into storage worth €1300, now apparently it's coming out worth €2500 (?!)

Ibara was locked away in there too after I'd bought it a year previously for €275, looks to be selling on AO and ebay for €700-800! (thought that might be some special 'black label hyper japanese super otaku r@@re version' but no, it's the regular PCB.

Loads of other PCBs, including MVS carts have jumped too. What gives? Are videogames the new bitcoin??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Inviere

I'd say availability has gone down over the years, with people storing/hanging onto their items...while demand has increased in that same time...so essentially a supply and demand thing imo. It's gone nuts though, I'm glad I'm mostly out of it now. I've kept a few treasures, and stuff that actually means something to me, but hanging onto games/consoles that live in storage boxes 365 days a year is something I began to see as madness. If I'd room for everything it'd be different, but I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

You'd think with things like PCB's they're sufficiently enthusiast that the audience for them wouldn't balloon but apparently not. Like I'd never buy a PCB but Youtube and just the internet in general seems to have put people up on what's what. All the people who 10 years ago would have been like "Oh, let me buy an XArcade stick for the real experience" are now versed in what sort of gates the Korean customs have.

My bosses son came into the office today and started rattling off Marvel superhero lore at 300 miles an hour, and he's football playing jock. I never envisioned a world in which most people are far nerdier than me!

You'd think with things like PCB's they're sufficiently enthusiast that the audience for them wouldn't balloon but apparently not. Like I'd never buy a PCB but Youtube and just the internet in general seems to have put people up on what's what. All the people who 10 years ago would have been like "Oh, let me buy an XArcade stick for the real experience" are now versed in what sort of gates the Korean customs have.

My bosses son came into the office today and started rattling off Marvel superhero lore at 300 miles an hour, and he's football playing jock. I never envisioned a world in which most people are far nerdier than me!

Blame the internet.
    A decade ago, finding much of this information would have required a person to read enthusiasts press, fan sites, heaven forbid even read the source material.
    Now a quick dab on a keyboard and you've access to the kind of topic minutiae that would have certainly got you, back in school,
    1. No friends
    2. Beaten up
    3. Never know the touch of a woman

Plus, we're living in an age of trivia, when having this sort of detail has social value.
    And mobile smart devices has made actual learning moot in many casual interests.
    "How do I install Pacman on a PC?"
    Tappity tap
    And off they go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,850 ✭✭✭geotrig

o1s1n wrote: »
    ****ing hell retro gaming

Tell me about it ,my purchases have come down 10 fold in the last few years to be nearly non existant now ,early 2000's when no one wanted this **** was great ! now as you said Ibara is being put up for 700-800 ,also note not many are selling for that.

Thing is its all become real cool as oppossed to the old "state of that thing " information is readily available and all the hip IT guys with money to burn are buying in and constantly paying over the odds ! its the same cycle happening ,someone puts up a pcb at an inflated price and everyone "used" to laugh and think, never gonna sell , 20 mins later some noob ,lol, /me just jealous of their riches!! comes along and offers the asking , those crazy ebay prices of old all seem reasonable now ...and dont even get me started on the crazy zone that is yaj , i dont even bother to browse there anymore :(

i have all those regrets of the odd pcb i really wanted and put on the long finger to pick up later on down the road and just cant justify the price or afford any longer !

i used to buy games for older consoles as it was cheaper now i just get the new games !

I'm hoping it's a fad like hipster donuts but I very much doubt it.

Retr0gamer wrote: »

Cronuts FTW!

Master of the Universe

I find it hilarious that people who wear skinny jeans would make donuts a fad.

I look forward to the new incoming hipster craze of sweat pants and mumus.

I appear to be at least half way ahead of the curve,
    Woohoo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭smurf492

o1s1n wrote:

Come to galway... You get free donuts when you buy skinny jeans and vice versa... Plus our new new Starbucks is growing hipsters at an alarming rate

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,512 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Doughnut ya lazy Americans! :P :P

But what the feck is a hispter doughnut? Do you mean those doughnut shops popping up all over the place with crazy flavours?

The only doughnut shop in Dublin I recognise is the little kiosk place on O'Connell St. Sugar or chocolate or gtfo! :D

This place (donut...:rolleyes:):

Screen-Shot-2016-05-19-at-10.48.01-e1463651560909.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭Jack burton

I have eaten doughnuts in Dublin, While wearing a slim cut of denim slacks, I'm sorry lads.

Come to Waterford though, we have a good strong shell suit scene in the town. Plenty of Roma's and knackers too.

Oversize sportswear is the mark of a true hipster for a few years now since skinny jeans became ubiquitous. Velour is this years major trend. [/recoveringhipster]

I should have hung onto my Ellesse gear from growing up.

I'm only waiting for those full length Umbro coats that football managers used to wear come back. Mad to wear of them while I vape outside Starbucks and read a hardback book and drink single source coffee

Football manager swag is definitely a thing.
    http://turboisland.bigcartel.com/product/cloughie-jumper

Master of the Universe

Moving my two cabs up to the apartment tomorrow. :eek:

If I don't check in later in the day with photos, you can take it as a sign that neither I, nor the cabs, made it through the day.

I wonder what bizarre way the Pony is going to fall this time...

Moving my two cabs up to the apartment tomorrow. :eek:

If I don't check in later in the day with photos, you can take it as a sign that neither I, nor the cabs, made it through the day.

We'll have to update the O1s1n disaster thread with the results.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,832 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

This, but accidentally and with an arcade cab:

https://twitter.com/westmidsfire/status/938831999770521600

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,512 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

This, but accidentally and with an arcade cab:

https://twitter.com/westmidsfire/status/938831999770521600

Read about that, the idiot could've easily killed himself.

Best of luck o1s1n, watch out for those elevator shafts. ;)

Master of the Universe

And they're in!

I can't feel my arms and my calves feel like I ran a marathon but they're in!

May I just reiterate, that was five storeys from ground level. Five! Fair play to the lads from vantasks, they really know how to work a dolly :eek:

Master of the Universe

Both monitors powered up without even a hint of a struggle.

Pornography, sheer pornography :pac:

[IMG][/img]IMG_20171209_171111715.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭eddhorse

Wow well done, they look great

Master of the Universe

Thanks dude! Was weird taking the packaging off them, almost like opening a present from myself two years ago!

Can't believe everything just worked. There was still a Raiden II PCB in the pony, had forgotten to take it out with the other PCBs. So that fired up the moment I switched it on.

I have it all wired up now the way it used to be, took a while to remember how everything connected up :D - now has a six slot switcher again with Raiden II, a Gnet, Ibara and one of those vertical classic multiboards. Trying to figure out how I fit in two more boards previously :eek:

Interestingly, it seems my AVP board is still running strong off the same suicide battery. Thought that would have expired while it was in storage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,106 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

The Crash Christmas Annual has started to be delivered. Haven't got mine yet, and if I do get it before Christmas, it'll be getting wrapped and put under the tree.

He's doing a Zzap 64 one next year if any Commie fans are interested.

Link here for any one that does the face booking
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1834975080096034/permalink/1925066227753585/

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

Master of the Universe

Well this is kind of fun, first time in all these years my consoles and arcade machines have actually met :D

Couldn't manage a photo of them all on a title screen with my phone (that's PS2 outrun on the Sony monitor!)

IMG_20171215_223437644.jpg
    websites for upload images

Nice to see it all humming along!
    The cabs look amazing.

Mini C64 preorders for £65.
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Koch-International-RGL001-UK-HW-THEC64-Mini/dp/B0764BK6L1?tag=hotukdeals062-21
    Before my time but i'm tempted at that price. Never used one before

Well this is kind of fun, first time in all these years my consoles and arcade machines have actually met :D

Couldn't manage a photo of them all on a title screen with my phone (that's PS2 outrun on the Sony monitor!)

First time in ages I miss having a candy :0

Master of the Universe

First time in ages I miss having a candy :0

You sold off your Egret II? :eek: nooooooooooooo!

No more 'BOMBA!' in your house then? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,105 ✭✭✭Doge

So The 8-Bit Guy created his very own Commodore 64 game called Planet X2 with help from some friends,
    and made this really nice “Making of” video here, which is really worth watching:

You sold off your Egret II? :eek: nooooooooooooo!

No more 'BOMBA!' in your house then? :(

its gone ages! 2+ years.
    Its in safe hands,someone on here has it.
    I sold it to buy pinball machines :D

Just saw the price mega drive castlevania goes for.... always wanted to replace the ****ty censored PAL version but I think I can live with it. Hard Corps is bananas prices as well. Insane for fairly common games.

**** sake! Just had a look there, people are dumb.

Everdrive here I come!

Sega does what Nintendoes?

And that’s leads me on to this next video, I never knew a UK company cloned the Mega Drive and sold it in the UK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,465 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

And had it promo on national television, what did they think it was?

Anyone familiar with or have played the MS-DOS based Castlevania clone called Rusty?

I was discussing the quality of Sega Mega Drive soundtracks VS Adlib soundtracks on a chiptune group and someone suggested this soundtrack to me.
    And what an awesome soundtrack it is! It even has a similar style to a lot of Mega Drive Soundtracks we know.

Looks like a decent clone too, although I’m not one to judge since I’ve never played Castlevania games! :pac:

Never realised it got a MS-DOS port. It's originally a PC-98 game. I played a bit of that version and really enjoyed it. I prefer the PC-98 soundtrack but the MS-DOS one is surprisingly great.

Full size Sega Mega Drive clone with HDMI and composite out:

That RGB to hdmi upscaler he's using with the original mega drive for 40 pound from Amazon looks awesome too.

Good alternative to the OSSC if you don't need scan lines.