Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tipperary GAA (Club and intercounty) Discussion thread 2015

• Registered Users Posts: 17,988 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Double header in Nolan Park. Should be a decent crowd I'd say. I'm away at a wedding that weekend but at least tg4 have confirmed that they will be showing both games live.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭evolving tipperary

Tipperary defender Kieran Bergin is facing up to six weeks out of action after sustaining an ankle injury in Sunday's Allianz Hurling League quarter-final win over Offaly.
    Bergin was stretchered off the field after 44 minutes in Tullamore and looked to be in considerable discomfort.
    Match Report: Tipperary battle past Offaly
    A spokesperson for Tipperary GAA has confirmed to GAA.ie that he sustained ankle ligament damage and will be out of action for four to six weeks as a result.
    Bergin, therefore, is unlikely to play any further part in the Premier County's Allianz League campaign, with the GAA this morning confirming that Tipperary will play their semi-final clash with Waterford at Nowlan Park on April 19.
    Meanwhile, Tipperary footballer Colin O'Riordan is facing up to three weeks out after sustaining concussion in the Allianz Football League Division III win over Sligo on Sunday.
    Colin O'Riordan scan shows up clear
    However, a CT scan confirmed that the 19-year-old JK Brackens prodigy had not sustained any spinal damage.

Confirmed an Appeal will be lodged over Seamie Callanans red card

Too right. We've had to endure many injustices over the years with sending offs. Brian O'Meara in 2001, Lar Corbett in the league final back in 2013 the first man to get sent off while two men fractured his ribs, and now this utter shambles from yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

Too right. We've had to endure many injustices over the years with sending offs. Brian O'Meara in 2001, Lar Corbett in the league final back in 2013 the first man to get sent off while two men fractured his ribs, and now this utter shambles from yesterday.

It's one thing that pi$$es me off about GAA is the off the ball stuff. It's endemic in both codes. Fellas don't moan about it. Probably because they just accept it and don't wanna draw even more attention to themselves.

I was at the 2011 all ireland, best seats I ever had at a game of any code in my life. Lars man was literally by his side the whole game flaking him every chance he got- think it was tyrell. Even when lar was in the "7" position he was there lashing him. Tbf lar probably isn't the best to look after himself either I'd imagine. I can't imagine eoin kelly taking it.

It doesn't happen in any other sport I reckon. If it does it's not to the same extent. Prior to my first game of hurling when I was about 12 my dad's advice was to scrape the handle of the Hurley down my markers back:confused:. 'Twas said tongue in cheek but still......

Any fella playingsenior inter county has to be well able to look after himself. However, it's apalling that bubbles is out of action due to some brutality dished out against him against Cork. I can only imagine the off the ball stuff dished out to our current star man, callinan. I don't blame him for lashing out. Tbf, I'm sure our own backs are well able to dish it out too.

Pity there isn't any desire from the top to protect what are amateur players who are the ones generating the huge majority of the revenue upon which the association thrives. They deserve better.

• Registered Users Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Ompala

Just saw the incident there, awful decision to give a red card for. Hope the appeal is successful.
    Whats the story with Bubbles?

It's a cultural problem in the game....but...Another problem is you have that ignoramus down in Offaly who officiates games - thinking that off-ball stuff and shoulders into the chest are all part and parcel of the game...LET THE GAME FLOW!!!!

As much as lads damage their reputations particularly players like Tommy Walsh, Tyrell, Gerry Quinn, Liam Watson, JOhnny Maher, Redser O'Grady, Benny Dunne, John Boland and various attacks on Joe Canning in the galway club hurling scene - they ultimately blunt an attacker and take his mind off the game...it should be punished severely - doesn't happen.

Hawkeye shouldn't be just used for scores... - at club level though - its badly wanted - it's insane - some of the **** I've seen at club games in Tipp you'd get jail for if you did it in a pub or on the street...

took punishment against Cork - had to be taken off - hasn't played since - but bubbles can usually look after himself - usually - not that that justifies such behaviour

• Registered Users Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭Rasputin11

Shane O Donnell got a dirty belt in the nose yesterday and Eoin Murphy didn't even get a card for it, the inconsistency of refereeing is shocking at the moment. Many of them seem to be trying to emulate the style of Brian Gavin ie let a huge amount of pulling and dragging go.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Rasputin11 wrote: »
    Shane O Donnell got a dirty belt in the nose yesterday and Eoin Murphy didn't even get a card for it, the inconsistency of refereeing is shocking at the moment. Many of them seem to be trying to emulate the style of Brian Gavin ie let a huge amount of pulling and dragging go.
    You're talking nonsense, he got a belt of Murphy's hurl after a clash with his own stick while putting the ball in the net. he said himself it was an accident so how do you make a dirty stroke out of it?

Also think Callinan's sending off was very harsh btw, and not that type of player at all.

hoho

hoho

the chap himself said it was an accident, did you think it was a dirty stroke?

Charlie69 wrote: »
    You're talking nonsense, he got a belt of Murphy's hurl after a clash with his own stick while putting the ball in the net. he said himself it was an accident so how do you make a dirty stroke out of it?

Fixed that

I didn't see it to be honest - all I saw is that picture and I can't tell from that

He has his studs up, mind you!!!!

I didn't see it to be honest - all I saw is that picture and I can't tell from that

You're not Arsene Wenger by any chance?:)

I wish I had his money and specialism in failure!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

I think there is previous with Short and Seamie. Last year Short pulled on him late after Seamie pulling the trigger.

Personally thought the ref was dreadful today. Fair enough perhaps Seamie deserved the red but Offaly sailed very close to the wind themselves and got away with it

Was wondering if it was the same guy from last year - thought a right dirty stroke at the time. Maybe a bit of pay back. Didn't see Sunday's incident though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

Charlie69 wrote: »
    Also think Callinan's sending off was very harsh btw, and not that type of player at all.
    And the Offaly player faking injury like he did against Limerick.

• Registered Users Posts: 587 ✭✭✭buggy beag

Was wondering if it was the same guy from last year - thought a right dirty stroke at the time. Maybe a bit of pay back. Didn't see Sunday's incident though.

No wasnt the same fella.i thought it was as well but another poster said on the national league forum that short wasnt playing last year and i checked the teams last year and he was correct

tippspur wrote: »
    And the Offaly player faking injury like he did against Limerick.
    yeah, don't like to see a player faking injury and trying to get a man sent off but it seems to be creeping in to the GAA unfortunately.

buggy beag wrote: »
    No wasnt the same fella.i thought it was as well but another poster said on the national league forum that short wasnt playing last year and i checked the teams last year and he was correct

It was Cathal Parlon last year.

Can anyone tell me what Barrett received his first yellow card for on Sunday? I was at the game but can't recall the incident.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,969 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Can anyone tell me what Barrett received his first yellow card for on Sunday? I was at the game but can't recall the incident.

It was for standing near an Offaly player while he fell over. That's genuinely what happened, it really was an awful decision and I'm not even certain that Barrett and the Offaly player came into contact at any point.

An Offaly supporter beside me thought it was a shocking decision incase anyone feels this description of the incident was made out of bias.

To echo the comments others made earlier, the referee really was terrible, and he'll be very lucky if he gets any sort of meaningful Championship games this year after his performance in this game.

Big Ears wrote: »
    It was for standing near an Offaly player while he fell over. That's genuinely what happened, it really was an awful decision and I'm not even certain that Barrett and the Offaly player came into contact at any point.

An Offaly supporter beside me thought it was a shocking decision incase anyone feels this description of the incident was made out of bias.

To echo the comments others made earlier, the referee really was terrible, and he'll be very lucky if he gets any sort of meaningful Championship games this year after his performance in this game.

Was that in the first half? Quirke the Offaly number 13 threw himself to the ground to win a free.

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭dcrosskid

I believe the same ref is in charge of the colleges final this Saturday between Thurles CBS & St. Kierans Kilkenny. Hopefully he wont have any affect on the outcome.

Couldn't make the match on Sunday but seen the highlights last night on TG4. In fairness to the ref he was let down by his umpires here. They didn't show Barretts first yellow but I have talked to a few that were at the match & they said it was comical. It wasn't even a free let alone a card. Also heard about 2 Offaly lads falling over each other and the ref giving them a free. I'm hopeful the ref just had an off day & will be anonymous as possible on Saturday.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,969 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Was that in the first half? Quirke the Offaly number 13 threw himself to the ground to win a free.

Yep, that's the one. Laughable stuff.

The 2 Offaly players falling over each other and winning a free right in front of the ref really was the highlight of his poor display.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

Yep, that's the one. Laughable stuff.

The 2 Offaly players falling over each other and winning a free right in front of the ref really was the highlight of his poor display.
    Jaysus that was fair bad,some joke of a ref..

I wish I had his money and specialism in failure!!!

Leave Arsene alone Mourinho! :mad: ..... :pac:

The irony is that Eamon O'Shea is very similar to Wenger in many of his sporting ideologies. Alot of parallels to be drawn. Both stubborn men, both slow to introduce subs, both value piano players more than piano lifters, both on the fringes of success and flirting with the prospect of either greater success or failure.