Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tipperary GAA (Club and intercounty) Discussion thread 2015

You`ll spot him easily enough , big Ginger Hoor , pays Midfield for the County . Sunday Game Commentator is an idiot , said at one stage that O`Brien had a shot that went over the bar when he actually had a blast for a goal and the Keeper saved it :rolleyes: !

'Red haired George' as Paddy finucane referred to him. to distinguish with all the George's we have on the team no doubt :D

• Site Banned Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Spirit of 67

All im asking for is for things to be easier. What's wrong with that. Don't be such a dick about it.

:D:D:D . . . make things easier , are you slow or what :D:D:D .

No he`s an average Player , the 3 lads that stood out on Sunday and constantly stand out are Acheson , O`Brien and Fox . Kevin Fox was very good in the Junior Game but overall the Team performance was poor , don`t think they have done much together as there was no Junior Management in place up to a Month ago .

Lads I think you're just going to have to agree to disagree. By all accounts the guy played well at the weekend. Just move on.

He was okay , better than him the Field by far . I have given my view on George here , mentioned both the bad and good sides to his game , I think he is average , there`s better than him on the Panel . Would have him on the Panel though . I`m being accused by LLS of having an "agenda" against George , this is not the case . I won`t be bullied by the Sheep and will continue to give my views on this very good Tipp Football Team . . . no surrender . . . ever ;) . Anyone else got a problem with my comma spacing :D ?

What exactly is an "elite player" compared to an "athlete"? How would you propose to change the game for things to change for what you think is the better?

To be fair to you there LS it goes back to the coaching really and it has to go from grass roots up. Sadly we live in an unforgiving culture where only winning matters so to get coaches to be brave enough to have the confidence in their teams ability to hurl is a real challenge.

Very few will remember what the Waterford team of the last decade used to bring to the sport for example and their amazing battles vs Cork (2004 Munster final springs to mind) . The individual coach has to fully believe that they have 15 men that can outhurl the opposition as opposed to going out trying to nullify the opposition. Recent times have made me appreciate what we are trying to do, or Corks running game, and Waterford hurling with reckless abandon under Justin. Sadly nowadays the 'Dogs of War' is plan A. Even a lovely stylish Clare side is being destroyed by a 'stop the others from hurling first' approach.

As for my reference to athletes, we would hope that coaches would have at least have the sense to get lads hitting the ball. Dublin in 2012 was particularly farcial. They couldnt even rise a ball against Kilkenny.

why cant you stop putting a space between all commas, etc as its easier to read your posts without all the spaces!

I was finding it hard at the time to understand this sentence took me about 10 minutes to figure it out ! Firstly there should be a capital letter on the W as it is the start of a sentence , then the second word was the real problem , eventually copped on there should be an apostrophe between the n and the t so therefore the word you meant was can`t . As someone heavily involved in the Grammar Police you should know better ! Or do you only specialise in the Comma department :D ?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

To be fair to you there LS it goes back to the coaching really and it has to go from grass roots up. Sadly we live in an unforgiving culture where only winning matters so to get coaches to be brave enough to have the confidence in their teams ability to hurl is a real challenge.

Very few will remember what the Waterford team of the last decade used to bring to the sport for example and their amazing battles vs Cork (2004 Munster final springs to mind) . The individual coach has to fully believe that they have 15 men that can outhurl the opposition as opposed to going out trying to nullify the opposition. Recent times have made me appreciate what we are trying to do, or Corks running game, and Waterford hurling with reckless abandon under Justin. Sadly nowadays the 'Dogs of War' is plan A. Even a lovely stylish Clare side is being destroyed by a 'stop the others from hurling first' approach.

As for my reference to athletes, we would hope that coaches would have at least have the sense to get lads hitting the ball. Dublin in 2012 was particularly farcial. They couldnt even rise a ball against Kilkenny.
    If it is from grassroots and up then surely you would agree that changes are needed at a grassroots level if what you feel is necessary at senior is to be achieved. Perhaps we need to totally change the clubs championships and have 12-16 clubs max in any division so Senior A/B, Inter, Junior.

Yes the culture regarding winning is an issue. Just look at go games. There is still A/B/C/D/E 'championships' regardless of Croke Park directives. Why cant clubs simply just play friendlies and fun games that coach and aid skills development ahead of under 14 and playing full games

Perhaps an approach of attack to win rather than trying to stop the opposition to win is the answer but getting that done is harder said than done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭evolving tipperary

The tackle rule in football and hurling - but, often, depends on the refs interpretation. The advantage rule - some refs don't bother with it in the league 0 some are giving far more advantage than others...

A red card offence for some is a yellow for others...( see Brian Gavin)

Time in the sense of the difference between being part-time and full-time - I believe if they were full-time they'd get better...

In terms of protection for refs - and ensuring respect for refs - that's a cultural thing. Their whould be stricter penalties for lads mouthing off to refs - like yellow cards rather than moving a ball ten yards forward - it should be seen as a serious foul - even a red for abusive language - which might be a rule but its hardly ever enforced - not at club level anyway - it goes on a lot, especially from coaches, from what I've witnessed.

It's easy adjust seating - you just take it away and extend the field... - lots of contractors out there would do that in a jiffy

• Registered Users Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

The tackle rule in football and hurling - but, often, depends on the refs interpretation. The advantage rule - some refs don't bother with it in the league 0 some are giving far more advantage than others...

A red card offence for some is a yellow for others...( see Brian Gavin)

Time in the sense of the difference between being part-time and full-time - I believe if they were full-time they'd get better...

In terms of protection for refs - and ensuring respect for refs - that's a cultural thing. Their whould be stricter penalties for lads mouthing off to refs - like yellow cards rather than moving a ball ten yards forward - it should be seen as a serious foul - even a red for abusive language - which might be a rule but its hardly ever enforced - not at club level anyway - it goes on a lot, especially from coaches, from what I've witnessed.

It's easy adjust seating - you just take it away and extend the field... - lots of contractors out there would do that in a jiffy
    Yellows for mouthing added to moving the ball forward. Is It not in rules that verbal abuse can get a red already. If not that's a joke!

It isn't easy to adjust/remove seating to extend a pitch especially in the bigger stadiums.

Referee's only see incidents once and have to act on what they see. Hard to change how referees interpret different situations specially ones which can be either yellow/red like a tackle

• Registered Users Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭Rasputin11

The bookies have the footballers priced at 13/2 against Kerry, the handicap is +6 at 11/10. Are these prices not a small bit high?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Paddico

Rasputin11 wrote: »
    The bookies have the footballers priced at 13/2 against Kerry, the handicap is +6 at 11/10. Are these prices not a small bit high?

I think they are, bookies playing safe I imagine.

Anyone have any update on Colin O Riordan?

If it is from grassroots and up then surely you would agree that changes are needed at a grassroots level if what you feel is necessary at senior is to be achieved. Perhaps we need to totally change the clubs championships and have 12-16 clubs max in any division so Senior A/B, Inter, Junior.

Yes the culture regarding winning is an issue. Just look at go games. There is still A/B/C/D/E 'championships' regardless of Croke Park directives. Why cant clubs simply just play friendlies and fun games that coach and aid skills development ahead of under 14 and playing full games

Perhaps an approach of attack to win rather than trying to stop the opposition to win is the answer but getting that done is harder said than done

A guy id have enormous respect for Jim Mcguinness gives quite a valid counter argument to all out attack.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/jim-mcguinness-ambitious-counties-will-continue-to-threaten-the-status-quo-1.2233660

Rasputin11 wrote: »

Thought Tipp would be a lot shorter than that , I`ll chance a 20 on our Lads at 13/2 ;) . If O`Riordan is given the okay I reckon the price will go to around 9/2 !

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. G

Lads enough of the bickering, lets call it a day. Spirit of 67 and The Lost Sheep are banned from this thread for a week. Post back here in the mean time and a ban will result.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,992 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Paddico wrote: »
    I think they are, bookies playing safe I imagine.

Anyone have any update on Colin O Riordan?

Passed fit to play AFAIK.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Passed fit to play AFAIK.

That would be a massive boost. Havent seen it listed anywhere though

• Registered Users Posts: 331 ✭✭Paarthurnax

Any updates on the injuries with just to weeks to go? Anybody care to give their thoughts on our best possible line out against Limerick.

DARREN GLEESON

PADDY STAPLETON JAMES BARRY CATHAL BARRETT

KIERAN BERGIN PAUDIE MAHER BRENDAN MAHER

SHANE McGRATH JAMES WOODLOCK

BUBBLES BONNAR FORDE

JOHN MCGRATH SEAMUS CALLANAN NIALL O'MEARA

Plenty of options with Cahill, Breen, Gar Ryan, Ronan Maher, John Meagher as I have my doubts about Forde and where Brendan Maher should play.

What are your own views?

• Registered Users Posts: 587 ✭✭✭buggy beag

Plenty of options with Cahill, Breen, Gar Ryan, Ronan Maher, John Meagher as I have my doubts about Forde and where Brendan Maher should play.

Ya dont think id have forde in there especially down in limerick

DARREN GLEESON

PADDY STAPLETON Conor O'Mahony CATHAL BARRETT

JAMES BARRY PAUDIE MAHER Michael Cahill

Michael Breen JAMES WOODLOCK

Niall O'Meara BONNAR Kieran Bergin

Bubbles, SEAMUS CALLANAN BRENDAN MAHER

- bring on with 15 mins to go - JOHN MCGRATH, FORDE, SHANE Bourke, Lar.

Limerick have a game plan - it's a game plan waterford have adopted - keep things tight, hassle and harry - defensive formation - be as physical as possible - foul rather than give goals away - the KK template against the Cork running game in the mid-noughties. We play a forward game based on goals - which is difficult to practice against defensive teams on a consistent basis. I think Clare showed a way to beat Limerick which they couldn't pull off due to indiscipline - they matched Limerick and had them on the ropes when they brought on a fast direct runner when limerick's backs began to tire in the last 15 minutes. I think we should put out a hard-working team - force them into missing - drain confidence from them - hassle them into miss after miss - then go for the jugular in the last 15 minutes by bringing on some fast direct runners in the last 15 minutes. I'd wouldn't play Forde on the wing - he's a finisher - I was hoping O'Shea was playing his cards close to his chest when he played Forde on the wing and played O'Meara in the corner in the league. O'Meara is tougher and can win ball - plays center back at club level - he is more of a half forward than Forde at inter county level. Forde has the touch and skill to unlock a defence and should be as close to goal as possible. But, I wouldn't move Seamie from full. I would play Brendan as a sweeper in midfield protecting the half back line - for the first 50/55 minutes before going to a 15 on 15 for the last 15. I'd start Breen midfield - shane mcgrath has had his time as a starter and come up short against KK many many times - time for new blood to be given an opportunity and Breen needs the experience, starting now. KK must be the benchmark and mcgrath is a beaten docket when it comes to taking on Michael Fennelly. (However, I wouldn't be surprised if Brendan is chosen midfield instead of Mcgrath and Gar is asked to come in to get up and down the field by O'Shea.)

DARREN GLEESON

PADDY STAPLETON Conor O'Mahony CATHAL BARRETT

JAMES BARRY PAUDIE MAHER Michael Cahill

Michael Breen JAMES WOODLOCK

Niall O'Meara BONNAR Kieran Bergin

Bubbles, SEAMUS CALLANAN BRENDAN MAHER

- bring on with 15 mins to go - JOHN MCGRATH, FORDE, SHANE Bourke, Lar.

Limerick have a game plan - it's a game plan waterford have adopted - keep things tight, hassle and harry - defensive formation - be as physical as possible - foul rather than give goals away - the KK template against the Cork running game in the mid-noughties. We play a forward game based on goals - which is difficult to practice against defensive teams on a consistent basis. I think Clare showed a way to beat Limerick which they couldn't pull off due to indiscipline - they matched Limerick and had them on the ropes when they brought on a fast direct runner when limerick's backs began to tire in the last 15 minutes. I think we should put out a hard-working team - force them into missing - drain confidence from them - hassle them into miss after miss - then go for the jugular in the last 15 minutes by bringing on some fast direct runners in the last 15 minutes. I'd wouldn't play Forde on the wing - he's a finisher - I was hoping O'Shea was playing his cards close to his chest when he played Forde on the wing and played O'Meara in the corner in the league. O'Meara is tougher and can win ball - plays center back at club level - he is more of a half forward than Forde at inter county level. Forde has the touch and skill to unlock a defence and should be as close to goal as possible. But, I wouldn't move Seamie from full. I would play Brendan as a sweeper in midfield protecting the half back line - for the first 50/55 minutes before going to a 15 on 15 for the last 15. I'd start Breen midfield - shane mcgrath has had his time as a starter and come up short against KK many many times - time for new blood to be given an opportunity and Breen needs the experience, starting now. KK must be the benchmark and mcgrath is a beaten docket when it comes to taking on Michael Fennelly. (However, I wouldn't be surprised if Brendan is chosen midfield instead of Mcgrath and Gar is asked to come in to get up and down the field by O'Shea.)

Im starting to worry about the Saint tbh. I think he is has lost the yard of pace. Can the Saint and COM co-exist on the same team? i think one has to fall on the sword. I think we could get away with COM but arguably not with Saint on the likes of Dowling.

In general, a good team you picked but id probably go for Cahill in the corner and id move Bergin back half.

Who to bring into the forwards is then the big question? Im not a huge fan of Gar tbh and his league form has been poor. He doesn't offer enough fielding. Brendan hasnt alot of scoring in him but is a brilliant ball winner which i think we need against Limerick. id have him wing forward. Denis Maher probably lacks match fitness. Id probably go for Forde given our lack of options tbh. Id have confidence that he can trouble their corner man and take a few scores.

Here it goes

1. Gleeson

2. Cahill
    3. O'Mahony
    4. Barrett

5. Bergin
    6. Paudie
    7. Barry

8. Breen
    9. Woodlock

10. Brendan
    11. Bonnar
    12. Bubbles

13. Forde
    14 Seamie
    15. Niall O'Meara

I agree with you that we need to really assert ourselves on this game from the first whistle.

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭dcrosskid

My team if all were fit would be:

Gleeson,
    Barrett,
    Barry,
    Cahill,
    Bergin,
    Paudie Maher,
    Ronan Maher,
    Woodlock,
    Breen,
    Bubbles,
    Brendan Maher,
    Bonnar,
    Niall O' Meara,
    Callanan,
    John McGrath or Lar

Have heard that Barrett is likely to miss the Limerick match so Saint would come in.

We have plenty of options on the bench also, it's possibly the strongest panel we have had since 2010. Egan, Forde, Shane McGrath, Gar Ryan, O Mahoney, one of Lar or John McGrath, Conor Kenny, Conor O' Brien & Denis Maher.

Not sure who else we have on the panel, John Meagher, Shane Bourke, Liam McGrath, Stephan Maher & Joe O Dwyer were all there at some stage but havn't heard much about them since.

I think O'Mahony and Saint are two of our leaders and toughest markers. They're balanced performers, they don't take many risks and don't get caught out. You need them in the team as leaders. O'Mahony never had pace but always performs - i don't see the evidence for Saint having lost pace...do you have any examples?

I'd have Cahill in the corner if barrett doesn't make it. We need a tight marker who can move forward on the wing with pace - i think barrett and cahill are better options at wing back than Bergin - I think Bergin gets a score easier and is better without defensive duties like in the league. I'd be happy for him to go midfield or wing forward - we need to desperately change things on the half line and this business of playing forde there has to stop - he needs to be firing the bullets, not supplying them. I wouldn't start him but if I did I'd put him in the corner. My hunch, is Bergin can offer something at wing - and Breen is more physical and better aerially at midfield. But, I wouldn't complain if Sheedy goes for Bergin and Woodlock at midfield - but, I would complain if he stuck him back in the backs after giving Bergin a league campaign at midfield from which he scored a lot. Bergin scored enough to suggest he could move up to the wing... - to try to solve our half forward problems with Forde, they're physical presence problems, is madness to me...

At the highest level, against KK, Paudie is loose and Bergin beside him at wing-back...KK reaped dividends there in the ALL-Ireland finals. I think we need to be tighter there - this is where Gar Ryan comes in - you might not be a fan but i'm fully paid up member of the Gar Ryan fan club(there isn't one!!). Personally, I think our best chance of an All-Ireland final win is a fully functioning Gar Ryan - he is our most intelligent player, wins dirty ball, covers space, delivers great ball, and runs all day. You look at Tipp's record since Gar Ryan hurled - the year's he has been out with injury we've struggled. We make semis and finals when he is okay. Last year was his first year injury free for a long long time - I see him as essential to winning an ALL-Ireland.

Denis Maher... Denis just keeps shooting himself in the foot - whether it's sending offs, injuries, or bad form. He has yet to mature into a player of consistency - he has not delivered two high grade performances for Tipp in a row in championship - so I cannot possibly see how anyone could pick him over Gar Ryan. Right now, from what I've seen of Denis, is he offers you a limited game based around high fielding, hand passing, and maybe 2 out of 5 shots on target. He has developing to do - it's not a talent issue or a skill issue - from what I've heard, its an application and maturity issue. Until he can deliver consistency of fitness and performance he won't make the team. Gar Ryan has proved he can deliver performance that played a major part in all-irelands at minor and senior level.

I wouldn't put Brendan in teh forwards - I'd ask him to wander back and cover for 55 minutes...

I don't think Ronan Maher is strong enough yet - another year or two in the gym. The way Horgan brushed him off down in Cork was concerning - Horgan wouldn't be known for brushing off lads - more like running away from them. Ronan Maher is a serious talent - had a good league but championship might beyond him at this stage - definitely teh KK template of Larking and TJ Reid is... - so i don't see the point of playing anyone without an eye on KK.

He seems to have passed out John Meagher... but, that is due to Meagher's injury issues, I would suggest.

• Registered Users Posts: 331 ✭✭Paarthurnax

Doubts remain over whether Footballer of the Year James O'Donoghue, Colm Cooper and David Moran will start for the All-Ireland champions in Thurles. Young Footballer of the Year Paul Murphy has already been ruled out with a shoulder injury.
    O'Donoghue dismissed injury concerns surrounding him two weeks ago as he continues to rehabilitate from a shoulder operation he underwent in November.
    Cooper has only played a handful of minutes for Kerry against Tyrone in the league since he returned from his cruciate rupture, while Moran is thought to be still carrying a shoulder injury which he sustained in a club game recently and may not start either.
    Last year's joint captain Kieran O'Leary has sustained a suspected ruptured Achilles which could potentially leave him out of action for up to six months. He is due to have a scan to determine the extent of his injury. Kerry manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice is due to give an update on the injuries at a briefing on Thursday night.
    Kerry returned from a warm-weather training camp in Portugal over the weekend. Off the field, the county has been reaping benefits of being All-Ireland champions with a fundraising drive in the USA which is expected to yield in the region of €1m for the development of a new training facility.
    Irish Independent

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭dcrosskid

I think O'Mahony and Saint are two of our leaders and toughest markers. They're balanced performers, they don't take many risks and don't get caught out. You need them in the team as leaders. O'Mahony never had pace but always performs - i don't see the evidence for Saint having lost pace...do you have any examples?

I'd have Cahill in the corner if barrett doesn't make it. We need a tight marker who can move forward on the wing with pace - i think barrett and cahill are better options at wing back than Bergin - I think Bergin gets a score easier and is better without defensive duties like in the league. I'd be happy for him to go midfield or wing forward - we need to desperately change things on the half line and this business of playing forde there has to stop - he needs to be firing the bullets, not supplying them. I wouldn't start him but if I did I'd put him in the corner. My hunch, is Bergin can offer something at wing - and Breen is more physical and better aerially at midfield. But, I wouldn't complain if Sheedy goes for Bergin and Woodlock at midfield - but, I would complain if he stuck him back in the backs after giving Bergin a league campaign at midfield from which he scored a lot. Bergin scored enough to suggest he could move up to the wing... - to try to solve our half forward problems with Forde, they're physical presence problems, is madness to me...

At the highest level, against KK, Paudie is loose and Bergin beside him at wing-back...KK reaped dividends there in the ALL-Ireland finals. I think we need to be tighter there - this is where Gar Ryan comes in - you might not be a fan but i'm fully paid up member of the Gar Ryan fan club(there isn't one!!). Personally, I think our best chance of an All-Ireland final win is a fully functioning Gar Ryan - he is our most intelligent player, wins dirty ball, covers space, delivers great ball, and runs all day. You look at Tipp's record since Gar Ryan hurled - the year's he has been out with injury we've struggled. We make semis and finals when he is okay. Last year was his first year injury free for a long long time - I see him as essential to winning an ALL-Ireland.

Denis Maher... Denis just keeps shooting himself in the foot - whether it's sending offs, injuries, or bad form. He has yet to mature into a player of consistency - he has not delivered two high grade performances for Tipp in a row in championship - so I cannot possibly see how anyone could pick him over Gar Ryan. Right now, from what I've seen of Denis, is he offers you a limited game based around high fielding, hand passing, and maybe 2 out of 5 shots on target. He has developing to do - it's not a talent issue or a skill issue - from what I've heard, its an application and maturity issue. Until he can deliver consistency of fitness and performance he won't make the team. Gar Ryan has proved he can deliver performance that played a major part in all-irelands at minor and senior level.

I wouldn't put Brendan in teh forwards - I'd ask him to wander back and cover for 55 minutes...

I don't think Ronan Maher is strong enough yet - another year or two in the gym. The way Horgan brushed him off down in Cork was concerning - Horgan wouldn't be known for brushing off lads - more like running away from them. Ronan Maher is a serious talent - had a good league but championship might beyond him at this stage - definitely teh KK template of Larking and TJ Reid is... - so i don't see the point of playing anyone without an eye on KK.

He seems to have passed out John Meagher... but, that is due to Meagher's injury issues, I would suggest.

Disagree with some of that, Saint & O Mahonney are leaders but that dosn't mean they should both start against Limerick. The league semi final showed that we were short pace in the full back line.

In Barry, Cahill & Barrett we have loads of pace along with plenty of hurling. If all 3 are fit I think they get the nod. Barry showed last year that he has the temperament & nous to handle inter-county full forwards, full back is his if fit imo. Saint is first sub for either corner back position and I heard Barrett is unlikely to make it so he should come in against Limerick, O Mahonney for full back if Barry isn't fit.

Bergin has done his best hurling at wing back. They moved him at the early stages of championship to midfield last year and he struggled before being dropped. Eventually came back in at wing back and hurled up a storm. Leave him where he does his best hurling I say. Likewise Paudie has been our best performer in the league. Leave him in the center. If we play him wing I can see Limerick putting Breen on him and just try to negate his influence. Ronan Maher has been excellent all year at wing back. I'd have him start or you could destroy his confidence, he hasn't put a foot wrong yet and has developed a lot physically over the last 12 months. Don't think anyone who has seen him up close would be describing him as not strong enough.

Breen, Woodlock & Shane McGrath are fighting it out for 2 positions at midfield. I wouldn't mind any combination of starters here but Woody & Breen would be my first choice. Brendan could also drop back as an other option if things were not going right at center-field.

Forwards could line out any which way. Brandan, Bonnar & Bill O' Meara are the hard working forwards we need to start, Bubbles, Callinan & Lar/John McGrath/Forde are the guys we need to do the scoring.

Denis has been very unlucky with injury this year. As he was finally getting an extended run in the team he suffered a bad injury & is only coming right again in the last couple of weeks. Might see him for a bit against Limerick. I also have good time for Gar Ryan but his form was poor early in the league. He needs to be showing something to be getting a run & from what I have seen he is not producing enough to displace any of the first 7 or 8 forwards I have named above.

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭PlayByTheRules

Bergin's best position for ye is definitely wing back. He is an intelligent hurler, provides neat passes into forwards and covers a lot of ground in a sweeping role, he was digging the full-back line out a lot in both finals last year. I thought Barry did a great job for ye considering how big a step up it was but O'Mahony is reliable too, problem is it's a bit late to be determining this now. Barry is very solid when breaking out but when he is facing his own goal he is a bit sloppy (Colin Fennelly moment where he slipped and went over the ball & another where he tried to lift one handed but was too slow and was caught out). Will be very hard for EOS to decide.

Any opinions on Callanan vs. Richey McCarthy, McCarthy cleaned him out of it last year. Callanan's golf swing does not suit tight markers like McCarthy. Is Callanan now a new man though after all the games he played at full-forward last year? Is he ready to take McCarthy?

Gleeson

COB COM (If Barry isn't right) Cahill

Bergin P Maher R Maher

Woodlock S McGrath

Brendan Maher Bonner Bubbles

Niall O Meara Callanan J Mcgrath

Barrett is out for another while, Saint is out of form and Larry has a hamstring injury. I'd have expected Lar to start if he was fully fit but he is rated doubtful now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

Any opinions on Callanan vs. Richey McCarthy, McCarthy cleaned him out of it last year. Callanan's golf swing does not suit tight markers like McCarthy. Is Callanan now a new man though after all the games he played at full-forward last year? Is he ready to take McCarthy?

I think it's gas looking at lads listing the forwards. Anyone watching tipp over the years knows how our forwards are constantly changing positions therefore the listings aren't too relevant.

Regarding callinan, I along with a lot of lads here questioned him last year. Putting in super games followed by disasterous outings namely in championship against limerick and kk over the last few years. However, to give him his due he was top class last season bar the limerick game. To be fair we were a poor side last year until we turned the thing around against Galway. All the players progressed from the limerick game I'd say. The arrival of barrett and barry were a godsend. Being honest we've always had a few weak links in defence over the years, but they really contributed to shoring the thing up.

Despite loosing to Limerick twice I think we're a different animal now. My amateur reading of last years game was that we were better but lacked the confidence/experience to close them out of it. I'm very confident that our team has the right blend of youth, experience and hunger to see the thing through this year.

Contrary to what most of ye seem to think, I don't see our bench as being terribly strong in the back division. Bar Mike Cahill, I'd be wary of them in the higher level games against kk. Just look at the 2 lads kk brought into the half back line in last years replay.....I'm still unconvinced about Gar Ryan-then again you cant get 6 bubbles and you need balance. Thought some of the lesser lights did well in the league all the same.

Then again, hopefully we'll be playing kk in September and have unearthed a gem or 2 by then.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,992 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Relegation play off

Moyne vs borherlahan
    Cappawhite vs Holycross

Both losers relegated!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Gavin is doing the Limerick match for the third year in a row.