Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

can I teach with criminal record

• Registered Users Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

fireball69 wrote: »
    Arrested twice. No conviction (just a caution). 3rd arrest - waiting for court date, and possible conviction.

3 arrests for drink related offenses! You are the only one who would argue that you don't have a problem. In a career where garda vetting is more and more paramount you have seriously jeopardised your career and job opportunities.

You do have a problem and i suggest you seek some help before find yourself in trouble again.

Legally speaking your future employers will have a record of all your convictions as part of the vetting process.

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭Melanoma

I think criminal records that might effect children are what is relevant. If you have had a drink driving conviction it does not mean that you would assault a child.

If you have a criminal record for assault of adults again its unlikely you are a danger to children.

That said if you have when drinking become violent then its indicative of a problem that might be there. This to me would be a concern. I would have some questions then as to where you could draw the line between what you want and what is right.

I guess that as spurious said there are guidelines but they are rather long winded.

For me the thing I think the criminal records are for is to prevent children from being hurt in particular being subject to either violence or sexual risk.

So if you can apply for garda vetting then it will be apparent what the law views your convictions.

If the law does not see you as a threat then that is that. It does not matter what I think or anyone else thinks.

If you had three bad nights with drink then as said before its best not to drink again.

As its pending conviction that would have to be resolved first before the Gardai could resolve your vetting. Vetting itself can take up to ten weeks to complete.

Obviously life can throw a lot at you and things can go wrong. If you are prevented from teaching just bear in mind its something you'll get over and try not to let it get you down too much.

Just move on.

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭JOSman

Wow, such aggressive behaviour and you think that's okay? If you had done it once we'd call you stupid but to be arrested three times? The majority of people go through life without ever being arrested. You have to look at your own life style.:confused:

Look for another career.

• Registered Users Posts: 896 ✭✭✭shenanagans

You say that you have done exceptionally well on your teaching practice so you must be garda vetted already if you have been teaching? Did these arrests occur since you were vetted, if so that wouldn't look good when you apply for a job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

I have convictions, tried getting a job working with u18's I'm having all sorts of trouble as a result

Note: it's not teaching, and the convictions are of minor and historic nature

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

The administrative filter being used for vetting these days would benefit many people who have historical convictions. In the case of the op though, he had three recent incidents of being drunk to an extent he had to be arrested and is now looking to be put in charge of a classroom of kids. I think if I was on the interview panel I'd have to have a good reason for not dropping him to the bottom of the list. Perhaps if he'd sobered up and was in a program for a few years or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

The school will do due diligence checks but if you do not have a criminal record then they can't disclose one.

I am not sure how a caution fits in. The school should ask you for permission first before enquiring into your history.

Dunno what you mean by 'enquiring into your history' ! Most schools I know just look for garda vetting and thats that. It's just a form you either have or don't.

OP forget about first 2 arrests if theres no conviction. The pending one might give you a lot of trouble. Is there any chance you could 'discuss' what you might be facing with the guard who arrested you. Either way, Don't be an idiot and defend yourself, get legal representation, sign up for a drink awareness program now if possible, (then at least you can say you are exploring your issues). Do mention that you are successfully completing a teaching diploma , I think the last thing a judge would want to do is set back your employment prospects.

I know theres the whole 'responsibility' thing and working with kids (just imagine you unbeknowingly got into a fight with a student's parent while on the lash!). So there's a certain line thats different for teachers and other working joes, none of my colleagues or former teachers socialise in the same locality as the school, if you hang around too long then things will happen and rumours wil start.

But if you take it as a wake up call BEFORE you start teaching properly then it'll be a lesson well learned.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 fireball69

You say that you have done exceptionally well on your teaching practice so you must be garda vetted already if you have been teaching? Did these arrests occur since you were vetted, if so that wouldn't look good when you apply for a job?

Yes they have occurred since I have been vetted!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,702 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

My own 2c/opinion, if the behaviour could directly impact children then it should be an issue. However as the OP's acts would no relevance to teaching, then it should (IMHO) not be an issue. Historically, the use of vetting to ensure that applicants for certain state professions are filtered out (for being policial unreliable) has had a detriment effect on education policy. Thus the over-use of such vetting which catches offences such as the OP's should be avoided on policy grounds.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

OP go to AA, some drink awareness thing BEFORE your court date (even if you think you don't need it it will look good to the Judge). Get decent representation, some good character references and theres a good chance the Judge will go light on you because a conviction could mess your employment prospects up.

Manach wrote: »
    My own 2c/opinion, if the behaviour could directly impact children then it should be an issue. However as the OP's acts would no relevance to teaching, then it should (IMHO) not be an issue . Historically, the use of vetting to ensure that applicants for certain state professions are filtered out (for being policial unreliable) has had a detriment effect on education policy. Thus the over-use of such vetting which catches offences such as the OP's should be avoided on policy grounds.

I think the school have an 'out' if a teacher's actions go against the almighty ETHOS. I think there was a famous case against a teacher who was seeing a married man ( or something like that).. school said byebye and they won the case taken against them on the grounds of going against the ethos (same as that case of the pregnant girl in tipp who was refused admission.. bout 2 years ago). So essentially a school could say 'no' before or after getting a job.

Also the new teaching council code of ethics is purposefully vague on 'standards of conduct' etc.
    Main thing is not having it on the garda vetting in the first place.

Thanks for your replies. Another concern I have is that I will be kicked out of university if they find out about my record, especially as the local papers tend to publicise court cases... Not sure if universities can do that?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

Thanks for your replies. Another concern I have is that I will be kicked out of university if they find out about my record, especially as the local papers tend to publicise court cases... Not sure if universities can do that?
    No you'll be grand on that score. I know people who have been convicted of far more serious things than you may be and they are grand (a couple are even lecturers)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

Convictions for the majority not the minority show people made mistakes of a very stupid nature in their lives but for the best part are decent people, why should someone be punished by a non serious conviction if they have remained trouble free for say 10 years later, people change and the laws are changing (at a snails pace) to reflect this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Unless the transgressions involves the uni you'll be grand. Plenty people actually in prison doing 3rd level courses.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Armelodie wrote: »

OP forget about first 2 arrests if theres no conviction. The pending one might give you a lot of trouble. Is there any chance you could 'discuss' what you might be facing with the guard who arrested you. Either way, Don't be an idiot and defend yourself, get legal representation, sign up for a drink awareness program now if possible, (then at least you can say you are exploring your issues). Do mention that you are successfully completing a teaching diploma , I think the last thing a judge would want to do is set back your employment prospects.

OP, the advice above is probably the best you are going to get. I'd agree that a judge will not want to ruin a potential career, but you'll certainly need to show that you are making an effort to get your life in order.
    You see, I don't necessarily have a problem with drinking. It was just a few nights on the tear that i ended up over-consuming, but it's not a common habit.

Sorry OP, you're on here asking if there's a chance you have ruined your teaching career because of 3 drink related arrests, and you think you don't necessarily have a problem ? When you over-consume alcohol you have a tendency to engage in conduct that leads to you getting yourself arrested, so yes, you have a problem. You're bright enough to become a teacher, so i'm sure you're bright enough to work out the solution to the problem. Good luck with it, hope everything works out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Dunno what you mean by 'enquiring into your history' ! Most schools I know just look for garda vetting and thats that. It's just a form you either have or don't.

I know theres the whole 'responsibility' thing and working with kids (just imagine you unbeknowingly got into a fight with a student's parent while on the lash!). So there's a certain line thats different for teachers and other working joes, none of my colleagues or former teachers socialise in the same locality as the school, if you hang around too long then things will happen and rumours wil start.

But if you take it as a wake up call BEFORE you start teaching properly then it'll be a lesson well learned.

So are you telling me that the Department of Education does not make applicants for teaching positions sign a form granting permission to the the department and it's aegis to make the necessary due diligence enquiries?

As far as Im aware!
    Do the job interview,
    Principal asks for garda vetting form.
    Hand it over.
    Thats that.

There might be some thing with ETB's but I can't see why they would want to double up on work when you have a garda vetting form in your hand.

In saying that, I would imagine there are some schools who do informal background checks.

BTW the school is 'usually' the employer, not the dept of ed. (as was highlighted by the Louise O keeffe case recently.. although EU took a different view in the end).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Some of you people need to get off your high horses. The OP came looking for advice on his future teaching prospects, not to be condescended to.

98% disagree, there's only been at the most 3 condescending posts. And even then they weren't unwarented.

Ya sure it might be making moral judgements in a legal discussions forum but I think we'd be doing a disservice by not pointing out some home truths. It's better the OP hears it now rather than be arguing about 'only a couple of drinks' or 'only 2 previous arrests but was let off' in front of a judge.

If it were the same questions but the OP had 2 arrests for cocaine/cannabis possesion would we be so cold about it. Alcohol is a drug too!

98% disagree, there's only been at the most 3 condescending posts. And even then they weren't unwarented.

Ya sure it might be making moral judgements in a legal discussions forum but I think we'd be doing a disservice by not pointing out some home truths. It's better the OP hears it now rather than be arguing about 'only a couple of drinks' or 'only 2 previous arrests but was let off' in front of a judge.

If it were the same questions but the OP had 2 arrests for cocaine/cannabis possesion would we be so cold about it. Alcohol is a drug too!

Alcohol may be a drug, but is by no means as serious as cocaine/ cannabis. It is legal and easy to get your hands on, which clearly is the problem, I suppose. I know some people who are no longer here due to alcohol, so I am just hoping to get my act together asap, and hopefully this appearance in court will be the wake up call I needed. Thanks for the advice.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

OP, having read through the posts above here is my advice.
    Lay off the booze. I used to drink heavily on nights out and get in a mess. You have to think that you are better than that. You should know your limits at this stage.

Due diligence checks by employers don't appear to be too invasive. It's not like they're hiring private detectives to check you out. If you get to the interview stage before your court date, good. If you don't then try and talk to the Garda through your solicitor. You have know convictions - yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Possibility of qualifying here and then looking for work in the UK? A bit of a history in certain schools may be overlooked?

Just thinking out loud.

On drink OP - you have an issue. Get help. Many of us here will have been so drunk we've done thing we regret, perhaps even got to the point of blacking out/not remembering the night before. Most of us will not have got arrested. If you're on your third strike as it were I'd seriously consider giving it a miss. If that's something you can't do purely on your own then that only reinforces that there is a problem.

The other silver lining is that hopefully the spent convictions bill will eventually become law - there's likely an exemption for the teaching professions I'd imagine but at least for other jobs it will drop off your record as it were.

EDIT: Just seen your other thread - hire a solicitor - absolutely no question that this is required at this point.

Garda Vetting is done on the day you start your job. Even if you just received Garda vetting that is irrelevant. Each new post requires a new vetting form.

This protects against anyone leaving a job in a hurry and using a current one.

All teachers should really be vetted every two years even when staying in their school, but they system can not cope with that.

Melanoma wrote: »
    Garda Vetting is done on the day you start your job. Even if you just received Garda vetting that is irrelevant. Each new post requires a new vetting form.

This protects against anyone leaving a job in a hurry and using a current one.

All teachers should really be vetted every two years even when staying in their school, but they system can not cope with that.

Not too sure about that. The majority of NQT's coming out have their garda vetting done.. and given that the majority who come out are at the very best hopping from one school to the next subbing, then, I doubt they are re-applying for vetting at every stage (or during long periods of unemployment).
    Maybe it's the case that if they are successful in securing a full-time permanent position (!!!) then they might be asked for a 'fresh' garda vetting form.. but to my knowledge you're just asked for teaching council reg. no and whatever garda vetting form you have to hand. That's just my experience so I'd gladly stand corrected if other teachers are asked for a 'new vetting form'.