Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feckin weather!

18910111214»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭moycullen14

I'd say we are 6 to 8 weeks behind normal this year. Usually the course is at it's best in May and June. It feels like March golf now. Maybe it's just a bad year but it does feel like the season is shrinking year by year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭finglashoop

Still mild in october so is it just shifting to a later "start"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭paulos53

I played in an open comp yesterday and the guy in the pro shop told me that there are 110 clubs yet to start handicap qualifying competitions. I don't know where that info came from but it wouldn't surprise me based on the fact that I had to ring a few clubs before finding an open with summer rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

We had a weekend of qualifying, followed by a weekend returned to placing.

Thankfully we were back to just placing on the fairways for the open on Bank Holiday Monday, but very frustrating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

We are on preferred lies. First major had to be changed to stableford from stroke {back tees} and a month behind normal due to soft margins.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

We have switched to no placing anywhere as of today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭coillcam

Preferred lies on fairway height only. Best of luck in the rough although it's still soft and we'd quite a few plugged balls so clean/drop as normal.

Our major on Sat/Sun only had about 10 guys under par out of 150 entries.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Interesting some are clean/replace, some preferred lies, with clean/replace it goes back to the exact same spot so if in a horrible divot it goes right back although I'm not convinced everyone observes this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

No placing since mid last week, probably over due by about a week and a half. We put 1,000 tonne of sand a year on the course so it usually stays drier than most.

Wish they’d put some in the bunkers though or at least take the ridiculous amount of stones out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Yes, almost guaranteed that a proportion of golfers would not observe this fully, but "the needs of the many..." and all of that jazz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

No comments on the weather for 6 months! Anyone enjoying the fabulous golfing weather we've been having last few months with counting still in November and no frost cancellations so far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭soverybored1878

Ah my favourite thread is back. Slipping into it like an old pair of jeans. It's unseasonably warm at the moment so I'd say most of us are grand and still getting out. The clocks changing always hits like a ton of bricks though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

I got out last week. Brought my rain gear and never got any, so I'd to carry it around. And I'd to take a layer off because it was so warm. Had to carry that too. And to top it all off, there was no placing anywhere because the ground wasn't too soft and there's still a decent bit of grass growth. F€ckin weather!

We started winter rules this week.

Weather is excellent thankfully, I walked off after 36 holes on Wednesday at 2:20, great to have the option to golf early in decent temps

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I’ve played more golf in the last few weeks than I have all year. Was placing and only 14 holes Saturday but was bone dry and barely needed a jumper. Lovely day for golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭bobster453

Course only went 14 holes this weekend cos of work being done.

Lovely weather, played in t shirts..in November!!!

Last time that happened was in 2017..few months later we had Beast from the East

Best year ever for golf..54 qualifying competitions played.

56 this year.. Managed to cut 3.5 off the index in the last 6 ..

Post edited by bakerbhoy on

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

would take me years to play that many round of golf, well done lads!

I had 60 counting scores tho a lot of them are 9 holes.

We've moved to 9 hole comps now which is perfect at this time of year.

Last counting was last friday. Open on Fridays remains 18.

Weekend comps now 16 holes and full placing straight away.

All Rough has been cut down the past few weeks in an attempt to help against water retention and hopefully see less damage over the winter months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭bobster453

Started 16.2 down to 15.1 finished 16.9

Erratic is my middle name.

As @FixdePitchmark once said, I am an anomaly, either brutal or brilliant..no middle ground😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭finglashoop

Out in corballis this morning

T shirt only and sweating buckets.

I'd say you are reasonable typical in all honesty, consistency is our issue