Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Premier League Draft Picks Thread

• 29-12-2014 4:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭

Random order for round 1 to be reversed for round 2
    1. Chrissybhoy
    2. Redzerdog
    3. ASOT
    4. Bucketybuck
    5. Frankie Lee
    6. eagle eye
    7. SherlockWatson
    8. Blatter
    9. SlickRic
    10. Rushden
    11. Andersonisgod
    12. Ferris Bueller
    13. Liam O
    14. LuckyLloyd
    15. Incognito Man
    16. DildoFaggins
    Timestamp: 2014-12-29 15:05:02 UTC

Rules: Eligible footballers include any players who have played in the premier league up to the end of the 2013/14 season.
    Players are judged on their peak in the PL, so previous and subsequent form abroad is irrelevant. Some weighting should be given to consistency and impact on the league too.
    Each player has 24hrs to make a pick. Hopefully it can proceed quicker than that though.
    Whoever is the 10th pick in the 2nd round should put up a random list for the 3rd round draw to help ensure fairness. Random.org recommended.

Also, PM the next poster on the list when you have picked.

edit Slight rule modifications, cut off point of 2013/14 season introduced, so whatever happened this season is irrelevant. Slightly more emphasis placed on players peaks too. If the first two players wish to change their picks in light of these changes it is ok.
    Round 2:
    1. DildoFaggins
    2. Incognito Man
    3. LuckyLyoyd
    4. Liam O
    5. Ferris Bueller
    6. Andersonisgod
    7. Rushden
    8. Slickric
    9. Blatter
    10. SherlockWatson
    11. eagle eye
    12. Frankie Lee
    13. Bucketybuck
    14. ASOT
    15. Redzerdog
    16. Chrissyboy

Round 3:
    1. ASOT
    2. Rushden
    3. Bucketybuck
    4. Chrissybhoy
    5. Blatter
    6. Andersonisgod
    7. LuckyLloyd
    8. Ferris Bueller
    9. DildoFaggins
    10. Eagle Eye
    11. Frankie Lee
    12. Liam O
    13. Redzerdog
    14. Slickric
    15. Incognito Man
    16. SherlockWatson

Round 4:
    1. SherlockWatson
    2. Incognito Man
    3. Slickric
    4. Redzerdog
    5. Liam O
    6. Frankie Lee
    7. Eagle Eye
    8. DildoFaggins
    9. Ferris Bueller
    10. LuckyLloyd
    11. Andersonisgod
    12. Blatter
    13. Chrissybhoy
    14. Bucketybuck
    15. Rushden
    16. ASOT

Round 5:
    1. LuckyLloyd
    2. Redzerdog
    3. SherlockWatson
    4. Chrissybhoy
    5. Liam O
    6. ASOT
    7. Ferris Bueller
    8. Slickric
    9. eagle eye
    10. Bucketybuck
    11. Rushden
    12. Incognito Man
    13. DildoFaggins
    14. Andersonisgod
    15. Blatter
    16. Frankie Lee

Round 6:
    1. Frankie Lee
    2. Blatter
    3. Andersonisgod
    4. DildoFaggins
    5. Incognito Man
    6. Rushden
    7. Bucketybuck
    8. eagle eye
    9. Slickric
    10. Ferris Bueller
    11. ASOT
    12. Liam O
    13. Chrissybhoy
    14. SherlockWatson
    15. Redzerdog
    16. LuckyLloyd

Round 7:
    1. Eagle Eye
    2. Frankie Lee
    3. ASOT
    4. Incognito Man
    5. DildoFaggins
    6. Chrissybhoy
    7. Redzerdog
    8. Andersonisgod
    9. SherlockWatson
    10. Ferris Bueller
    11. Bucketybuck
    12. Liam O
    13. Rushden
    14. LuckyLloyd
    15. Blatter
    16. Slickric

Round 8:
    1. Slickric
    2. Blatter
    3. LuckyLloyd
    4. Rushden
    5. Liam O
    6. Bucketybuck
    7. Ferris Bueller
    8. SherlockWatson
    9. Andersonisgod
    10. Redzerdog
    11. Chrissybhoy
    12. DildoFaggins
    13. Incognito Man
    14. ASOT
    15. Frankie Lee
    16. Eagle Eye

Round 9:
    1. Slickric
    2. Bucketybuck
    3. Ferris Bueller
    4. Redzerdog
    5. Frankie Lee
    6. ASOT
    7. Chrissybhoy
    8. Liam O
    9. SherlockWatson
    10. LuckyLloyd
    11. DildoFaggins
    12. Andersonisgod
    13. Eagle Eye
    14. Rushden
    15. Blatter
    16. Incognito Man

Round 10:
    1. Incognito Man
    2. Blatter
    3. Rushden
    4. Eagle Eye
    5. Andersonisgod
    6. DildoFaggins
    7. LuckyLloyd
    8. SherlockWatson
    9. Liam O
    10. Chrissybhoy
    11. ASOT
    12. Frankie Lee
    13. Redzerdog
    14. Ferris Bueller
    15. Bucketybuck
    16. Slickric

Round 11:
    1. Chrissybhoy
    2. Blatter
    3. Andersonisgod
    4. Rushden
    5. Bucketybuck
    6. Ferris Bueller
    7. Incognito Man
    8. Liam O
    9. Eagle Eye
    10. Frankie Lee
    11. LuckyLloyd
    12. Redzerdog
    13. Slickric
    14. ASOT
    15. DildoFaggins
    16. SherlockWatson

Round 12:
    1. SherlockWatson
    2. DildoFaggins
    3. ASOT
    4. Slickric
    5. Redzerdog
    6. LuckyLloyd
    7. Frankie Lee
    8. Eagle Eye
    9. Liam O
    10. Incognito Man
    11. Ferris Bueller
    12. Bucketybuck
    13. Rushden
    14. Andersonisgod
    15. Blatter
    16. Chrissybhoy

Round 13:
    1. ASOT
    2. Ferris Bueller
    3. DildoFaggins
    4. LuckyLloyd
    5. Eagle Eye
    6. Andersonisgod
    7. Bucketybuck
    8. Frankie Lee
    9. Blatter
    10. Incognito Man
    11. Slickric
    12. Liam O
    13. Redzerdog
    14. Chrissybhoy
    15. Rushden
    16. SherlockWatson

Round 14:
    1. SherlockWatson
    2. Rushden
    3. Chrissybhoy
    4. Redzerdog
    5. Liam O
    6. Slickric
    7. Incognito Man
    8. Blatter
    9. Frankie Lee
    10. Bucketybuck
    11. Andersonisgod
    12. Eagle Eye
    13. LuckyLloyd
    14. DildoFaggins
    15. Ferris Bueller
    16. ASOT

• Registered Users Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Chrissybhoy

1st pick Thierry Henry

Thierry-Henry-picture.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Roy Keane.

Saddam-Hussein-beard-500x326.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭ASOT

Sorry lads I was up north with no internet!

Torres.

Girl_1af839_1118903.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Absolutely astounded I still have the chance to pick this guy.

42 goals in all competitions, Premier league winner, Champions league winner and player of the tournament, Premier League Golden Boot and Premier League Player of the Season awards, PFA Players' Player of the Year and FWA Footballer of the Year awards, and named in the PFA Team of the Year for a third consecutive year. Winner of the Ballon D'or and FIFA world player of the year.

I'll have the 2008 vintage Cristiano Ronaldo please.

Cristiano+Ronaldo+Manchester+United+v+Chelsea+_ya8kpT6ydol.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

article-1392652-0006C23200000258-1000_306x423.jpg

I could go through all the quotes about him but everyone knows them by now. In the same class as Xavi and Pirlo and there are no other central midfielders in the premier league era you could say that about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,978 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I can't believe this guy is still here, I give you..

Louis Suarez

Luis+Suarez+Liverpool+v+Swansea+City+Premier+dm49S_edTczl.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭SherlockWatson

For me, this man is in the top two CM's to play in the league, powerful and fearless, and a fantastic leader.

He is, Patrick Vieira.

PA-2343545.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Have to go with Alan Shearer, not sure anyone will ever beat his record of 260 PL goals. Extraordinary goalscoring consistency over a number of years despite a few bad injuries and whilst not always being in the best of sides.

enter12.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Embarrassingly underrated despite all his achievements.

He has scored more Premier League goals than any other midfielder ever.

He's second in the list of most assists in the Premier League ever.

In the mid-2000s, and particularly 2004/05, he could legitimately claim to be one of the very best players in the world.

He is the Swansea City legend, Frank Lampard.

image0015B15D.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Rushden

Was thinking of a two or three players for this pick, one of them just got taken so I've gone with .....

Wayne Rooney

rooney+-nike.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

I can't do pics as I'm on my phone and, tbh I haven't the slightest clue how to post a pic on this forum anyway.

However my choice needs no picture to introduce himself. Champions League hero, FA Cup hero, remember Olympiakos? Or that night in Istanbul? It can only be Steven Gerrard!

Steven-Gerrard-001.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

giggs.jpg

Ryan Giggs. The most decorated player in English football history, 600+ PL appearances, 13 Premier League medals, 4 FA cups, 2 Champions Leagues, etc. I would think he would make it into everyones Premier League XI of all time. Pacy, tricky winger who always worked hard and later adapted his game as he got older. Surprised he got this far in the draft, if I didn't pick him now I am sure he would have been picked in the next few goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,372 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

And so it comes to me, with almost no choice but to take this man. 5 PLs in 6 seasons with Leeds and Man United. One of the great Premier League captains. Technical but also no pushover and a great goals record for a second striker. The inimitable Eric Cantona.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSJ10xuO6LtAAAHv8-_o6NfSnBbmTpGNAwn5SOpCZ9LQftAWsD9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,406 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

John Lionheart Terry

While Terry may be disliked for valid reasons, with every additional season he manages at his current high level of play he takes a further stride out on his own as the best Center Half of the Premiership era. There's no real need to state his attributes here, but he will be a great slab to build the rest of my team around.

John+Terry+arrives+at+Westminster+Magistrates+Courts+in+London.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

The man who carried Arsenal and lead Man utd to premier league glory. Capable of that something special

Robin Van Persie

robin-van-persie-4a.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭DildoFaggins

6x Premier league winner,1x Fa Cup, 1x CL Winner and 2x Finalist and 6x PFA team of the year.

Pace,Strength,Technique all the attributes that describe this goliath of a man.
    1 half of the best CB partnership of the PL era and arguably the best CB in the premier league era

I give you

rio_ferdinand_wallpaper_by_kamilko17-d64stkk.jpg

I give you Yaya Toure.

yaya-toure-hd-wallpaper-113.jpg

I give you the former Arsenal captain and probably one of the best leaders to ever grace the league

Tony Adams

tony-adams-arsenal.ashx?as=1&db=web&h=349&thn=0&w=620&c=gallery

Ruud Van Nisteelroy

Oh how you had to laugh at the 'yeah well, he only scores goals like - rubbish otherwise' barbs that used to be thrown in this player's direction. Yeah, Ruud just scored goals. A lot of them. Quickly.

vannistelrooy_2218865b.jpg

Really tough choice here with some of the options still available probably having more name value but I feel good about my decision to sacrifice a top defender in the knowledge that my pick will add a lot to it anyway. Unlike the rest of the players available this man has a claim to being the best ever in his position. My 2nd Frenchman and neither of them played for Arsenal!

My pick is of course Claude Makelele.

Claude-Makelele0020.jpg

Sorry lads I was in work all day.

nemanjavidic.jpg

For my second choice I choose Nemanja Vidic. Along with the other three centre halves that were picked I would class these four as the greatest to ever play in the league. Hard as nails, dangerous from corners and captain material, won the Premier League player of the season twice, I feel like no matter who else I pick my back line will be solid to a degree with Vidic in there. Let's just hope he doesn't come up against Fernando Torres :P

I'm off to get locked for the night. Happy new year folks!

My next pic (again without a pic) is the outstanding Francesc Fabregas. Arriving from Barcelona while still a teenager, the young Spaniard quickly broke into the Arsenal first team and established himself as one of the brightest young talents in the world. One of the heroes of Euro 2008 (that penalty against Italy in the quarter final!) Fabregas would go onto captain Arsenal at a very young age, imo, he was the finest midfielder in the league for years, Fabregas would go back to his boyhood club much to the chagrin of Arsenal fans. He has since returned to Chelsea and has been better than ever.

Francesc Fabregas

cesc.jpg

Two of my picks just got taken there in the last couple of picks, so I'm going to go with the midfield powerhouse himself......

Michael Essien

michael-essien.jpg

2 Premier League titles.

Fast, strong, and can score with both feet.

Able to play up top on his own or as part of a 2.

Arguably the best player in the league since 2012.

my next pick is that bit of stardust every great team needs.

It's Sergio Agueeeerrrrrrrooooooo!

sergio-aguerp.jpg

On the phone so will add a picture and a write up later but my next pick is Peter Schmeichel.

hqdefault.jpg

Sorry for the delay chaps, sore head :pac:

I pick, Didier Drogba, on phone will do pic and write up later.

Didier-Drogba-001.jpg

My second pick is

Gareth Bale

Gareth%20Bale.jpg

paul2.jpg

Paul McGrath AKA God
    Had all the composure, game reading ability and pace of Rio Ferdinand combined with the strength and bravery of Vidic.
    He was the complete defender in the early premier league years. Him and John Terry remain the only defenders to win the PFA player of the year in the Premier League era which speaks volumes.
    Ron Atkinson once described him as better than John Terry and Tony Adams, combined. I can't say I disagree.

I never would have believed that five defenders could be taken already without this guy going, easily one of the greatest defenders in Premier league history.

The defensive bedrock of the great treble winning side, physically imposing but also with great pace and a fearsome leader. Named on the PFA team of the year 3 times in a row and named Uefa defender of the year twice in a row 1999 and 2000. I'll have the complete defender, Jaap Stam!

article-2470047-0027118E00000258-827_634x446.jpg

The man the legend Gianfranco Zola

football1796.jpg

the best full back in the world for a period and without doubt the best of the premier league era Ashley Cole

ashley+cole.jpg

I give you one of the fittest and best dead ball specialist the league has seen

David Beckham

beckham_football.jpg

Sol Campbell

On my phone so it's a **** to post pictures sorry lads.

sol-campbell.jpg

Time to get a defender in and there weren't many better than this guy. I give ye........

Ricardo carvalho

ricardocarvalhost_175x125.jpg

This was a difficult pick, there are a few world class players still available and about 3/4 different players I desperately want to take now and that probably won't last this round, but in the end I decided to make a tactical choice.

I've surprised myself by taking a full back early, but there are very few world class full backs to choose from and only one that is equally comfortable playing on either side, something that will give me a lot of freedom later in the draft.

I'll have 7 time Premier league winner, treble winner, and mr reliable Denis Irwin please.

article-0-00300D9E00000258-920_306x423.jpg

This man contributed massively to Chelsea success. In there for the argument for greatest PL goalkeeper.

Peter Cech

Petr-Cech-005.jpg

I'm pretty much forced into taking this man because of the sheer influence he's had on the league, there's no way he should have lasted this long. I give you Dennis Bergkamp, who I think will be a very nice foil for Shearer.

2fb16227a152fb4f4d088dfa.gif

Leading the line for team Andersonisgod is God himself, sometimes known as Robbie Fowler. Injuries took their toll in the end but in his prime Fowler was unplayable, hailed as the most naturally gifted finisher to come from England since Jimmy Greaves, compared to Romario at the age of 18, Fowler would have a good time of things at Leeds and Man City but in his Liverpool pomp he was one of the best around.

robbie-fowler_2686374b-460x288.jpg

I'll take David Silva, the little Spanish trickster who can be utterly breathtaking to watch by times:

article-2639734-1E39CA1700000578-282_634x455.jpg

John Terry (C)
    Ruud Van Nistelrooy
    David Silva

Had to double check to make sure this man wasn't already picked, Michael Owen.

article-2295730-003D8D4400000258-663_634x502.jpg

For some reason he doesn't seem to be rated too highly by Liverpool fans anymore, but at his peak he was one of the best goalscorers in the world. Premier League golden boot two years in a row, only player to score in four different tournaments for England, top scorer for Liverpool 7 years in a row and 2001 Ballon D'Or winner, the only other PL player to win Ballon D'Or as far as I know was Cristiano Ronaldo, not bad company. There are definitely better strikers in the draft but at this stage I think he is good value. Bonus points for him being one of the best commentators of all time too :D

Now let's get this draft moving quickly!!

The man who scores goals is next
    He's won everything there is to win in the domestic game most Prem goals in one season it's the "Outstanding":cool: 2nd top scorer in Prem history Andrew Cole

Andy-Cole-Laundrette.jpg

With my third pick I select......

Eden Hazard

edenhazard3.jpg

Vincent Kompany
    Vincent-Kompany_2313907b.jpg

He has everything and will have an excellent partnership with McGrath.

One of the best premier league center midfielders, thought he'd be picked by now and if I had to hand pick one player to play beside Makelele it could have very well been this man from the start.

Xabi Alonso
    Xabi_Alonso.jpg

need to get my striker on board Arsenal legend Ian Wright

Apologies for lack of pictures have been posting from my phone

Easy pick for me.

One of my favourite ever Premier League players.

Former Footballer of the Year and Premier League winner.

He is also a World Cup and Euros winner.

An integral part of the famous Arsenal Invincibles, and for a couple of years was genuinely one of the top couple of players in the League.

He'll be a vital creative dimension to my team.

Robert Pirés.

Robert+Pires+France+Training+Press+Conference+JnI_MGYpZFol.jpg

3rd Round pick, Emmanuel Petit.

Feel I need a midfielder who can provide protection to the defence and there is no better man to do just that than the former Arsenal midfielder

He also may just have the best fan chant of any player in this draft :pac:

Emmanuel-Petit-007.jpg

For my third pick, I'm gonna take Vidic, along with Vieira and Drogba so far the team has a very physical edge to it.

Sorry was on phone had a quick skim and didn't see Vidic.

In that case, I'm gonna take Martin Keown, proven to work well with Vieira and Seaman, a major part of the defence.

gun__1368711546_keown_newcastle2000.jpg

For my fourth pick, has to be David Seaman, up there as one of the best keepers to ever play in the league, and finishes off what I think is a very solid spine to my team.

139-seaman.jpg

Seaman
    Vidic Keown
    Vieira
    Drogba

For my third pick, I'm gonna take Vidic, along with Vieira and Drogba so far the team has a very physical edge to it.

For my fourth pick, has to be David Seaman, up there as one of the best keepers to ever play in the league, and finishes off what I think is a very solid spine to my team.

Seaman
    Vidic
    Vieira
    Drogba

Vidic has been taken already.

4th round pick luka modric