Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

Spurs had a dog fight going at 100mph against Arsenal at the weekend. We had two kittens play scratching with one another with Everton. I'm hoping that this means we'll have more in the tank to beat them tomorrow night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

We're always crapping ourselves at the thought of playing Spurs.

5-0. 4-0. 3-0.

We might only win 2-0. That'd do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

Just stuck kane into my fantasy team there for tomorrow so if my past transfer dealings have anything to go by he wont score for another month. I like to try help a little bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭mav79

Keeping the amount of frees down around the box is going to be important. Eriksen is too dangerous as a dead ball specialist to give him a few chances to test Mignolet. Hopefully Sturridge starts and we get at them early on.

klose wrote: »
    Just stuck kane into my fantasy team there for tomorrow so if my past transfer dealings have anything to go by he wont score for another month. I like to try help a little bit.

I might captain him.

I'm useless at picking captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,930 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Snap :P

Simple fact is we're not scoring enough goals at the moment to get anything like 70 pts. Despite Sturridge returning from injury I predict a lot of draws in league games for the remainder of the season. We should go all out for the Europa League route back to the CL.

I'd hate to have to play in the Europa League next year having just come shy of 4th at 5th place. In terms of being in Europe I think I'd rather CL or nothing at all as the extra fixtures really do hurt clubs. Probably a selfish view but I view the league first, CL second and them two above all else. It's too close in terms of points at the moment to just give up on 4th plave and go all out for the Europa though.

I really don't think Brendan Rodgers should be coming out and saying..
    Sterling has been offered an "incredible" new contract, but will not get "too much too young"

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/31317209

Sterling should be on comparable wages to Sturridge he is that imporant to us his age shouldn't come into it now he is in second full season as a first team starter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭mosstin

Bild is claiming we're gonna sign Immobile in the summer.....

Which absolutely begs the response that we already have one of those and he can't even get into the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Heres a short segment of that interview.

I actually think the club are right on this. If the reports are true about the money involved, I dont he's worth £120K a week at 20 years of age. You give him that kind of money now, we'll not be affording his next contract(If he's still at the club).

Crazy money for a youngster but what's the alternative.

If he keeps improving someone will want him in a few years anyway.

Give him a good contract and move on

NukaCola wrote: »
    Are you actually being serious here? Not unrealistic?

Its almost madness the way you and some others are going on with points prediction.

Do you honestly expect us to get 30+ points in 14 games when we are on 39 after 24 games?

Back in the real world we will be doing incredibly well to get in and around the mid 60's. I think our final tally will be around the 60 mark looking at our fixtures.

The last 12 PL games was the real world Fred, utd and arsenal were played along with west ham :)

We will finish on 67 points minimum at seasons end imo. Time will tell.

The lad is the best player at the club he is a first team player for 2 seasons and with the money the club will make from the next tv deal £120k is less than the going rate he would get in Manchester, London, Madrid or Barcelona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

From the papers, rodgers says can will remain in defence for the time being, lucas out for 4-6 weeks. I would assume at this stage allen will come in for lucas, cant imagine gerrard starting his 3rd game in a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭garra

rarnes1 wrote: »
    I might captain him.

I'm useless at picking captains

Might have to take him off the bench, anything for the cause..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Lucas out 4 to 6 weeks. Big loss. Also says Can will stay in defence so we'll probably be seeing more of Joe Allen.

I really don't think Brendan Rodgers should be coming out and saying..

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/31317209

Sterling should be on comparable wages to Sturridge he is that imporant to us his age shouldn't come into it now he is in second full season as a first team starter.

I think Rodgers is 100% correct in his view and in vocalizing it, I'm delighted we have a manager who can be the "father figure" that some of the younger players often need. Sterling's contributions and his focus have been exceptional this season, let's keep it that way with the correct handling of the player.
    Ensuring the contract is weighted in incentive-based remuneration is a smart move also. Bravo Rodgers & FSG, I hope we look to do similar with new signings and renewals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

GRrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,056 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

mig
    ----Can---skittles---sakho
    hendo
    ----ibe--cout---lallana--moreno
    ----sterling
    sturridge

?

U ok hun? x

Just heard about Lucas?? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Sterling offered 100 grand a week

Liverpool have been negotiating with Sterling’s agent, Aidy Ward, since October but having believed they had made a breakthrough with an offer understood to be near £100,000 a week, it remains unclear if there will be a resolution before the end of this season. Sterling’s agent is pursuing considerably more than the current Liverpool proposal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Augeo wrote: »
    The last 12 PL games was the real world Fred, utd and arsenal were played along with west ham :)

We will finish on 67 points minimum at seasons end imo. Time will tell.

As were a lot of cannon fodder, not to talk down the excellent form we've been in, its just not realistic to expect us to just continue to get better. Using the last few games as evidence that we will hit your target of 9W 3D and 2L or 70+ with Sturridge is flawed obviously.

We have Spurs, Southampton, Man City, Utd, Arsenal and Chelsea in the next run of games with a few tricky fixtures in Swansea/Stoke away, Crystal P/Newcastle at home. Not to mention difficult cup games.

The last 12 games were as easy a run we were ever likely to get, the next 12 are entirely different.

Hitting 67 would be excellent from where we are. Very unlikely IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Lucas out 4 to 6 weeks. Big loss. Also says Can will stay in defence so we'll probably be seeing more of Joe Allen.

Having to rely on Allen for more than a few games is frightening when you consider who we are playing. Huge loss.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

So will Ibe start, or will he take him out of the spotlight and faze him in gradually?

NukaCola wrote: »
    As were a lot of cannon fodder, not to talk down the excellent form we've been in, its just not realistic to expect us to just continue to get better. Using the last few games as evidence that we will hit your target of 9W 3D and 2L or 70+ with Sturridge is flawed obviously.

We have Spurs, Southampton, Man City, Utd, Arsenal and Chelsea in the next run of games with a few tricky fixtures in Swansea/Stoke away, Crystal P/Newcastle at home. Not to mention difficult cup games.

The last 12 games were as easy a run we were ever likely to get, the next 12 are entirely different.

Hitting 67 would be excellent from where we are. Very unlikely IMO.

Fair enough if you have no hope of top 4, I fully realise we are outsiders however I have no real intention of refraining from hoping until I deem it a lost cause, that will not be before we drop 12 points.

You can keep your "are you for real..... " rubbish to yourself too or at a minimum refrain from directing them at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭mosstin

Augeo wrote: »
    Fair enough if you have no hope of top 4, I fully realise we are outsiders however I have no real intention of refraining from hoping until I deem it a lost cause, that will not be before we drop 12 points.

You can keep your "are you for real..... " rubbish to yourself too or at a minimum refrain from directing them at me.

:eek::D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Just listening to talksport & they saying his agent looking for £130,000 a week,i know all media talk but if true is he worth that much at the moment?

delw wrote: »
    Just listening to talksport & they saying his agent looking for £130,000 a week,i know all media talk but if true is he worth that much at the moment?

The way I look at is is Sturridge worth £150k a week at the moment, Sterling is worth the same to the club for me.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/oct/01/daniel-sturridge-new-deal-liverpool

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Sure you could easily make up the difference in win/goal bonuses.
    I think his agent is trying to get himself a nice tidy percentage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

The way I look at is is Sturridge worth £150k a week at the moment, Sterling is worth the same to the club for me.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/oct/01/daniel-sturridge-new-deal-liverpool

Sturridge is Liverpool's most important player IMO.

£130k a week is madness for a 20 year old. What difference is the extra 30k anyways when he'll most likely be negotiating for a £150k a week contract in 2 years time?

When United are a paying 19 year old left back Shaw £120k a week I suppose he probably feels he's entitled to look for it.

Fully agree with Rodgers on this.

Sure you could easily make up the difference in win/goal bonuses.
    I think his agent is trying to get himself a nice tidy percentage

Sterling, Coutinho & Herderson should be on about 20k a goal bonus maybe then their shooting may improve :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Not too worried from our point of view, we have Ibe, Wilson, Kent and Ojo coming behind, we're well stocked with serious potential that it would lighten the loss. He would be crazy to leave though, and obviously I would prefer him to stay.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Lukker- wrote: »
    Sturridge is Liverpool's most important player IMO.

£130k a week is madness for a 20 year old. What difference is the extra 30k anyways when he'll most likely be negotiating for a £150k a week contract in 2 years time?

When United are a paying 19 year old left back Shaw £120k a week I suppose he probably feels he's entitled to look for it.

Fully agree with Rodgers on this.

Chelseas reserve players are probably on more than that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Chelseas reserve players are probably on more than that!

Fair play to Sturridge for taking such a drop in wages when joining Liverpool.

Shows desire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Gmol wrote: »
    Not too worried from our point of view, we have Ibe, Wilson, Kent and Ojo coming behind, we're well stocked with serious potential that it would lighten the loss. He would be crazy to leave though, and obviously I would prefer him to stay.

It would be a disaster to lose him. Those guys have potential but Raheem has shown he can do it week in week out against the big boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,042 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Sterling, Coutinho & Herderson should be on about 20k a goal bonus maybe then their shooting may improve :pac:

I don't really agree with the idea of goal bonus's - anything that incentivises a particular course of action on the field is a bad thing. It just encourages people to shoot all the time, rather than when its the right thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    I don't really agree with the idea of goal bonus's - anything that incentivises a particular course of action on the field is a bad thing. It just encourages people to shoot all the time, rather than when its the right thing to do.

Agreed. Win bonuses are far more effective because that's a team achievement as opposed to an individual one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

The little cuñt. Better stop listening to.the agents or i'ĺl give him a wedgie.Steven ****ing Gerrard should give him a nuggie.

Fair play Brendan, dont be held to ransom, call him to task and put the pressure on. We have more good you g players and we refused to be raped.

J Mysterio wrote: »
    The little cuñt. Better stop listening to.the agents or i'ĺl give him a wedgie.Steven ****ing Gerrard should give him a nuggie.

Fair play Brendan, dont be held to ransom, call him to task and put the pressure on. We have more good you g players and we refused to be raped.

Can I have a lush of that please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

You have to take into consideration the pressure Sterling has been put under at his age. We've more or less relied on him for most of this season, thats a big responsibility for a lad of 20. If the club are relying on him to produce the goods week in, week out then he deserves to earn the going rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,042 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

J Mysterio wrote: »

I love that this is the edited version.

I can imagine J Mysterio typing with one eye closed :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Off to the ferry.

Fcuking nervous about this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

B9bsfCpIUAAuPPS.jpg

Give him the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Off to the ferry.

I was nervous about the Everton match, but its 8am and im on the edge of my seat already for this.....

Thank god its in Anfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Off to the ferry.

Don't be. The ferry has a very decent safety record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

monkey9 wrote: »
    Don't be. The ferry has a very decent safety record.

Damn you, I was just about to make the same joke!

Low winds and high cloud cover suggest a smooth crossing on the Irish Sea today...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

B9bsfCpIUAAuPPS.jpg

Give him the money.

While there's no doubt he's been one of our key players this season in Sturridges absence, coming first in a number of metrics in which we have been notably profligate doesn't mean we should allow ourselves to be bent over. To be paying a 19/20 year old 150 grand a week I'd be expecting him to be posting numbers that see him ranked 1/2nd in the prem top scorers not just liverpool. If we cave we really are making a rod for our back if Ibe/any of our promising youth pans out. 100 grand with incentives and bonuses that add up to 130/150 is ample .

Can't help but wonder was bringing Ibe back on loan and praising him to high heavens after the derby a not to subtle hint to Sterling and his agent that he is replaceable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,582 ✭✭✭mormank

Snap :P

'Just put Kane in'?? Are you mad, how have you not had him for the past two months already? :eek: He is the fantasy football bargain of the year bar none!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,406 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

You have to take into consideration the pressure Sterling has been put under at his age. We've more or less relied on him for most of this season, thats a big responsibility for a lad of 20. If the club are relying on him to produce the goods week in, week out then he deserves to earn the going rate.

Quit the fecking around and pay the man imo.