Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I really hope we see a cameo from Sturridge against Bolton Wanderererers and then a start for the return leg. Just add pace and Liverpool will be getting back to last season so much else is starting to come good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Lucas is still boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

**** it anyway. They dug in rode their luck and got away with it. The second half is they way it should be into the Kop. Pressure pressure pressure. What we should expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Lucas was immense tonight. Looks back to his very best.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Possibly the best performance of the season imo. Unlucky not to win.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Will Sturridge be back for the 2nd leg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,937 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Great performance from the team and well done to Rodgers he got it very right tonight with the team and tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Very good performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

MD1990 wrote: »
    Lucas was immense tonight. Looks back to his very best.

Agreed. Delighted to see after him being largely written off.
    5starpool wrote: »
    Possibly the best performance of the season imo. Unlucky not to win.

Agreed. We were excellent all over the park tonight.

Best performance of the season for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

A perfect example of what a top goalie can do for you.

Out played Chelsea tonight in every area of the pitch. Such a shame we could not get one more goal but great performance overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭mav79

That was a performance the players can stand up and be proud of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Excellent performance this evening, Lucas & Sktrel were fantastic throughout.

Chelsea really are a horrible team to watch, all the money and they play for a draw

Slattsy wrote: »
    Could have been 4 or 5

they really are a dirty cheating shower of bastards that lot.

Ah give over ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Very proud of the lads. Great performance! Wish we had an extra goal going to Chelsea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

I'm gutted.

Best performance of the season and we didn't win. Gutted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

A couple of these stats are suspect I think but interesting...

Liverpool
    Chelsea
    62%----Ball Possession--38%
    Goal Attempts----2
    Shots on Goal----1
    Shots off Goal----1
    Blocked Shots----0
    Free Kicks
    Corner Kicks
    Offsides
    Throw-in
    Goalkeeper Saves-5
    Fouls
    Yellow Cards

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Best for a long while tonight

Everyone contributed, Lucas was excellent

Can is getting better and better, strong, direct and can play, Markovic, lallana, all excellent, turning into the signings we hoed they would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,056 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

We played very well and were by far the better team out there tonight, shame we did'nt win.
    Skittles played very well again, kept costa out of it all night long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

That game really underlined the importance of signing a striker this month is we want to get Champions League football. With a goalscorer on the pitch we win that game 2-1 or 3-1. There's still no return date for Sturridge and there's no guarantee he'll stay fit when he gets back so if we're to get Champions League, I honestly believe someone is going to have to be brought in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,504 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Very optimistic about the future for this young Liverpool side. With one quality signing in the summer and only necessary departures, we could do serious damage. This season's a write off for me though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

How important will Gerrard's shot that hit the post end up being? He was devastated himself.

I hope we don't look back at tonight with huge regret, but I can't help but feel that we will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

dont tell me the league cup means nothing,two full strength teams out there giving everything.. great performance outplaying the best team in the land by a fair margain.. i hate the way chelsea play football though,tactics and playing style,its just rotten.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

A couple of these stats are suspect I think but interesting...

Liverpool
    Chelsea
    62%----Ball Possession--38%
    Goal Attempts----2
    Shots on Goal----1
    Shots off Goal----1
    Blocked Shots----0
    Free Kicks
    Corner Kicks
    Offsides
    Throw-in
    Goalkeeper Saves-5
    Fouls
    Yellow Cards

Ya, no way Chelsea had 2 attempts on goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

Costa looks like someone who would attack you on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,890 ✭✭✭✭klose

The back 3 and lucas has us somewhat defensively sound so lets plough on with this set up please, everyone had a good game in truth and a shame we didnt win, courtois being the difference imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Feels like a loss, but a great performance from the team. Only for a bad miss from Gerrard and a great save from Courtois we could have been going there with a comfortable lead.

Stats from tonight

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭mav79

Between Can and Sakho we have defenders that will move forward with the ball if there is space in front of them. It is resulting in us not giving up possession easily or inviting teams onto the defence.

Knex. wrote: »
    How important will Gerrard's shot that hit the post end up being? He was devastated himself.

I hope we don't look back at tonight with huge regret, but I can't help but feel that we will.

Ah give it a rest it will ya.

Ah man, played well.

Hope it's not a chance missed, Gotta score at least 1 at the bridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,056 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

That game really underlined the importance of signing a striker this month is we want to get Champions League football. With a goalscorer on the pitch we win that game 2-1 or 3-1. There's still no return date for Sturridge and there's no guarantee he'll stay fit when he gets back so if we're to get Champions League, I honestly believe someone is going to have to be brought in.

And yet the window has been open for nearly 3 weeks and still nobody is in, not even a rumour of someone coming in!

With or without Sturridge fit i feel we still need a top striker brought in.

If we had a striker we would be lethal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Excellent performance in fairness. Battered them. Criminal that it only finished 1-1. Chelsea favourites for 2nd leg at home but produce something similiar to that and it'll be close.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Jesus lads if these players can keep their sh!t together there is some potential.

Can is a serious baller.
    Markovic is great ( when not running into blind alleys)
    Lallana just needs to up his endurance levels ( or get a new baboon heat of the NHS)
    Sterling, what can you say that hasn't been said already? Give him anything he wants to keep him !

Oh and give Lucas the bloody contract already

T-K-O wrote: »
    Ah give it a rest it will ya.

How'd you mean? Yeah, we played great, but even at home against Chelsea, with that performance, we drew 1-1.

I'm under no illusions as to the task ahead of us in the 2nd leg.

We should never play with 4 at the back again. Rodgers has stumbled onto a lethal system, just needs the right personnel now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Did i just hear mourinho say they were in control??
    Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

It's OK lads Mourinho said Liverpool didn't deserve to lose the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

That was heart warming.

I loved the part where we were amazing for 93 minutes.

Knex. wrote: »
    How'd you mean? Yeah, we played great, but even at home against Chelsea, with that performance, we drew 1-1.

I'm under no illusions as to the task ahead of us in the 2nd leg.

And what the rest of is are? Of course ,we should have won the game but we didn't.

If we don't go through it won't be down to Gerrard hitting the post.

Mourinho just said Chelsea had loads of space to counter attack against 3 defenders.....and were in control.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,937 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

How does he keep a straight face.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭the incredible pudding

darced wrote: »

I thought Markovic was poor at times on the ball. He seems to dribble into trouble a bit too often. He's got a lot of very good attributes though, good vision and a great work ethic and has certainly improved since he's gotten a bit more used to the pace of the game. Hopefully he'll continue to improve, hard to believe he's so young.

Can, Markovic, Lallna and Moreno all continuing to impress :)
    So too Sakho.

As time goes on all are showing their worth.

Decent squad there now and it's gelled.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,280 ✭✭✭slingerz

Vital Liverpool get a viable alternative to Lucas. Lucas has become a really pivotal player

In fairness, Mourinhio was fairly respectful in that interview

How does he keep a straight face.

Gas isn't he. Last week he was complaining about money bags, Man City :rolleyes:

Carra is giving out about Can now.

What feckin game was he watching? Can was superb!

T-K-O wrote: »
    And what the rest of is are? Of course ,we should have won the game but we didn't.

If we don't go through it won't be down to Gerrard hitting the post.

I wasn't hanging Gerrard for it. Its an obvious moment that stands out. 2 inches to the right and we're all sitting here a lot happier right now.