Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Great Limerick Run 2015 discount code

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Great stuff kerrylad - epic stuff!
    Sound bulmers,I looked like a drunken fool falling over the line but no way was I letting that clock go over the 3 hour mark.Checked the table and you hit ur target too.Great stuff.:).You must be beaming.

• Registered Users Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

kerrylad1 wrote: »
    Sound bulmers,I looked like a drunken fool falling over the line but no way was I letting that clock go over the 3 hour mark.Checked the table and you hit ur target too.Great stuff.:).You must be beaming.

Yeah delighted - had a solid training block since January. Time should be good enough for London GFA.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Yeah delighted - had a solid training block since January. Time should be good enough for London GFA.

And Boston ;)

You joining us in 2016?

• Registered Users Posts: 30 ahsurewhynot

Hi guys,
    Not a boards user really, (I've revived an account I haven't used since I was a teenager to post) but I've been trying to track down the 4 hour pacers, in particular Ger, and I thought yous might know them? I was going for sub 4 yesterday (my PB is 4:00:18) but I wasn't fit really and ended up blowing up at about mile 23 to come in at 4:06. Actually just happy to have finished coz I was in so much pain (my own, unfit fault!) but I really wanted to thank Ger for dragging me through miles 20-23 despite all my moaning! He really was great-talking us through it, getting us water-tried to find him afterwards but I couldn't. If any of you know him and could pass on my appreciation it'd be great. I'll get sub 4 the next time!

Hi guys,
    Not a boards user really, (I've revived an account I haven't used since I was a teenager to post) but I've been trying to track down the 4 hour pacers, in particular Ger, and I thought yous might know them? I was going for sub 4 yesterday (my PB is 4:00:18) but I wasn't fit really and ended up blowing up at about mile 23 to come in at 4:06. Actually just happy to have finished coz I was in so much pain (my own, unfit fault!) but I really wanted to thank Ger for dragging me through miles 20-23 despite all my moaning! He really was great-talking us through it, getting us water-tried to find him afterwards but I couldn't. If any of you know him and could pass on my appreciation it'd be great. I'll get sub 4 the next time!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/member.php?u=356060

yaboya1 wrote: »
    And Boston ;)

You joining us in 2016?

We'll see:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Limerick91

Name|Distance|PB|Target|Finish Time|
    NetwerkErrer|Half|1.26:26|1.29:59||
    Bulmers74|Full|3:18:07|3:09:59|3:08:36|
    chrislad|Half|2.24:13|2.00:00|2:10:55|
    diego_b|Half|1.59:39|1.55:00|1:56:56|
    overthebridge|Half|1.48.xx|1.49.59|1:49:29|
    CR 7|Half|1.41.something|1.29.59||
    polaris68|Full|4:00:50|3:49:59||
    Kookiebrew|Full|first one|3:50.00|3:50:59|
    MaggotBrain|6 Mile||48:59||
    gl0Rob|Half|1:38:04|1:34:59||
    JohnDozer|Full|4:07:35|3:49:59|3:59:13|
    Rockmurf|Full|3:26.00|5:00:00|
    Limerick91|Full|First One|3:59:59|4:09:58|
    BullBauld|Full|First One|3:59:59|
    long_b|Half|First One|2:00:00|2:05|
    Calvin Johnson|Full|3:33:54|3:04:59|
    Chavezychavez|Full|3:14:16|3:12:00|3:15:44|

Wow that was tough. Made the rookie mistake and went out a bit too hard. I hit halfway at 1:55 but the last 9 were very hard. Having to take a toilet break at the Industrial Estate did not help either.
    Looking back at my training I don't think I did enough 6 mile plus runs during the week. I was good with doing my long runs and speed work but hand on heart the other runs were not frequent enough.
    Still I finished it, did my last .24 miles in less than 8:15 pace so I will be back.
    Met excellent people during the run, thanks to all the crowds who supported as well.

Now for the negatives
    No half marathon medal for my sister
    My wife's number is not linked to her name so she has no official result
    What is the story with the wart remover!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Well done to all that ran.

I clocked in officially at 3:06:10. Mixed emotions about it but happy as it's a decent clip off my last marathon and I knew waking up yesterday morning that the legs were a little 'lifeless' for the want of a better word. Ran the second half slightly faster and picked it up for the last 10k coming towards the city from Raheen with a few sub 7 miles for the first time in the race. Coming into Raheen and the industrial estate onto the long drag after the pass-over / bridge adjacent to the Crescent Shopping Centre, it was great as there was mise, a runner from Doneen AC and another guy and it was great having us all bang on pace, working together. Once I picked up the pace in the last 10k, it was lonely in Thomandgate. Running out to towards Thomand Park, I was alone and it's hard at that stage. Ran by a handful of runners at the Gaelic grounds and again in North Circular Road and it helped pick me up. When I passed by the final timer at the mile to go mark, I knew it was all good and got the final kick coming into Clancy's strand and the city again.

I won;t really comment on the organization as my aim was the run but yes, I think there were little bits and peices that could be flaged for next year. I thought the marathon was just fine, most marshalls helpful, good upport on the route (helps when you know the locals!).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭CR 7

NetwerkErrer|Half|1.26:26|1.29:59||
    CR 7|Half|1.41.something|1.29.59|1:26:25|
    Limerick91|Full|First One|3:59:59|

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭theblackstuff

First half marathon done and dusted, 1.50.09, happy with that.

In the end I decided to start off with the 1.50 pacers, broke from the about mile 2, was really comfortable, even the bridge at the crescent was grand.

Started to suffer near thomond and the 1.50 pacers caught me at the Gaelic grounds, stayed with them until midway along the north circular road, which I thought would never end, couldn't stay with them, was really struggling, but got a bit of energy near the end to finish it well.

Will be back next year and will stay with the pacers until much later, lesson learned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭Spirogyra

I must say I credit my 3 59' entirely to the four hour pacers, didn't start out with them, was ahead of them until about 6K to go, and was falling off dramatically, it was the perfect time to meet them, motivated me to keep up with them, was groaning, grunting, possibly even screaming, but it gave me a target, something to chase, and never dreamed of a sub 4 marathon, danku whoever you were :)

Spirogyra wrote: »
    I must say I credit my 3 59' entirely to the four hour pacers, didn't start out with them, was ahead of them until about 6K to go, and was falling off dramatically, it was the perfect time to meet them, motivated me to keep up with them, was groaning, grunting, possibly even screaming, but it gave me a target, something to chase, and never dreamed of a sub 4 marathon, danku whoever you were :)

Congrates,and great stuff to hang on.Them pacer's do a great job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭Spirogyra

My first time ever following a pacer and think it's definitely something I will try to do in future marathons (if there is future ones :) ) not from the start, but in the last quarter, when I'm wilting, a good idea to try to link in with them then :) was knocking over chairs and people were looking, was so stiff afterwards :)

Spirogyra wrote: »
    My first time ever following a pacer and think it's definitely something I will try to do in future marathons (if there is future ones :) ) not from the start, but in the last quarter, when I'm wilting, a good idea to try to link in with them then :) was knocking over chairs and people were looking, was so stiff afterwards :)
    Of course there will be future one's.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 44 TheGreenMile

Spirogyra wrote:
    I must say I credit my 3 59' entirely to the four hour pacers, didn't start out with them, was ahead of them until about 6K to go, and was falling off dramatically, it was the perfect time to meet them, motivated me to keep up with them, was groaning, grunting, possibly even screaming, but it gave me a target, something to chase, and never dreamed of a sub 4 marathon, danku whoever you were

Your welcome. But remember your training got u the sub 4. We were just lucky enough to witness it ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Well done to everyone in the sub3 pace group, I was amazed that such a high number of the group achieved their target, despite the difficulties. I held back a bit to try see could I find any stragglers, inadvertently ending up running the last few miles alone. Delighted everyone in the group got there, and happy to have helped in any small way.

It's such a different experience pacing a marathon to racing, and drains the energy in a different way. Serious kudos to all the marshals and volunteers out there, very well drilled. Well done Limerick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭NetwerkErrer

NetwerkErrer|Half|1.26:26|1.29:59|1:38.26|
    Limerick91|Full|First One|3:59:59|4:09.58|

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Rockymurf

Rockmurf|Full|3:26.00|5:00:00|4:25.20|

Most importantly completed all the full wearing the minion suit.
    Was flying for the first half and came in around 1:58, i knew it was too fast.
    Last few miles was pure suffering but i got great support all round and managed to make it!

Great day out but won't be trying it again

• Registered Users Posts: 9,683 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Cartman78|6 Mile|39:04|41:00|40:07|

Happy enough with my performance tbh - probably could have pushed it a little harder in the 3rd quarter but had settled into a nice rhythm at that stage.
    Could have possibly snaked under 40 mins....had a little bit left in the tank at the end but left my kick for home a bit late.

Doing 2 10k's later this month so will hopefully be back near the 40 min marker :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭CR 7

Jaysus! Talk about sandbagging:D. Well done today man., cracking run.

Well I expect the lack of the adrenaline I had from the running start, and the law of diminishing returns, should make it a more realistic target.:pac:

Now, does anyone know if wart cream works on blisters too?:P

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭gl0Rob

gl0Rob|Half|1:38:04|1:34:59|1:35:40|

Happy with the result. I enjoyed the race a bit too much and didn't push myself to get under the 1:35.

• Registered Users Posts: 962 ✭✭✭chavezychavez

Hey Bulmers74, one of those Kerry Crusaders was me (the one who was only half the marathon runner of the other fella :D).
    Well done on breaking that 3:10 mark, you were strong as an ox when we met you.

• Registered Users Posts: 236 ✭✭kookiebrew

Can someone tell me when my legs will start working again.... I wish I lived in a bungalow the stairs are killing me... Only part of me that's sore is my thighs though... Well my brain is not working fully either, my wife was talking to me there and nothing she said registers hahahaha

• Registered Users Posts: 9,683 ✭✭✭Cartman78

kookiebrew wrote: »
    Can someone tell me when my legs will start working again.... I wish I lived in a bungalow the stairs are killing me... Only part of me that's sore is my thighs though... Well my brain is not working fully either, my wife was talking to me there and nothing she said registers hahahaha

You'll be grand in a day or two.

Would recommend walking down the stairs backwards if you're really struggling

• Registered Users Posts: 236 ✭✭kookiebrew

That's actually what I was doing, my daughter thinks it's so funny ...I have to call her everytime I'm coming down hahaha

• Registered Users Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Photos are up on www.sportcam.net

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

chrislad wrote: »
    Photos are up on www.sportcam.net

Check Peter Mooneys Flickr account if you want photos to.

Hey Bulmers74, one of those Kerry Crusaders was me (the one who was only half the marathon runner of the other fella :D).
    Well done on breaking that 3:10 mark, you were strong as an ox when we met you.

Well done chavezy - ye got the job done :) Will know ye for the next time.

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭BullBauld

gl0Rob;95344742]Name|Distance|PB|Target|Finish Time|
    gl0Rob|Half|1:38:04|1:34:59|1:35:40|
    BullBauld|Full|First One|3:59:59|4:08:11

Finally getting to this. Only back in the land of the living now ha.

Was disappointed with my time for a few days after the run. 4hrs was the target. I stuck comfortably with the 4hr pacers until we came down off the flyover around mile 19. My two quads suddenly gave in which I've never had problems with. Over the next mile the group slowly drifted out of sight.

It didn't demoralize me too much though. It was now just about concentrating getting over the line. It was torture though. I had to take a few short walking breaks to give them a rest. A good few were in the same boat around me.

For the last mile I gritted my teeth and pushed on without stopping. Getting lots of encouragement from the crowd certainly help no end. I finished strong which is something at least.

Overall I'm happy now with how it went for my first marathon. I feel the 4hrs is well within my reach with a bit more work so will be targeting Dublin for that.

Just too add thanks to the 4hr pacers for getting me so far. They were a help throughout, letting know where we stood with time and keeping an eye out for errand bollards :-)

Hope everyone got on good.