Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Software Dev in Finance

Options
  • 30-12-2014 11:38pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭

So Guys,

Bit of a reach out for some guidance here.

I've a little over 3 years experience. Mainly mobile (iOS/Android) and some .NET.

For a while i've been thinking about getting into the financial sector, very broad, I know.

I would have a genuine interest in the Capital Markets/Investment Banking areas and would be interested to hear how you can break into it. I don't have a very good maths background which leads me to believe that this will make things very difficult.

And more importantly, what the work is actually like? I'm interested to hear about others already in the area.

Thanks.

Comments

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

This might be worth a look after a quick google search: http://www.efinancialcareers.ie/jobs-Information_Technology.s019 If you're on LinkedIn, I'd try and make a few contacts in the industry as well as a few recruiters who may be helpful.

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭magooly

techguy wrote: »
    So Guys,

I've a little over 3 years experience. Mainly mobile (iOS/Android) and some .NET.

For a while i've been thinking about getting into the financial sector, very broad, I know.

I would have a genuine interest in the Capital Markets/Investment Banking areas and would be interested to hear how you can break into it. I don't have a very good maths background which leads me to believe that this will make things very difficult.