Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,710 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Good auld bookies. Remember Ribery to Liverpool etc etc etc

They are highly unreliable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Headshot wrote: »

The real money to be made is who's name is on the back of the jersey?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

MrMac84 wrote: »
    He's at palace not Utd and he started the last game

Lol i meant palace!! Oops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Headshot wrote: »

Yup.

https://twitter.com/Oddschanger/status/551144528846290944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

zerks wrote: »

They wont take any bets on it at all? IT'S ON!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,432 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Be nice to have Irish player at club again.

Be surprised if we signed nobody but don't see us signing more then 2 players.

Looking forward to seeing cup game at weekend. Its been 11 years since we won the cup. Be nice to change that. Would welcome a good cup run.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭Hococop

Did He sign an extension with everton after last season

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Be nice to have Irish player at club again.

Be surprised if we signed nobody but don't see us signing more then 2 players.

Looking forward to seeing cup game at weekend. Its been 11 years since we won the cup. Be nice to change that. Would welcome a good cup run.
    That accent - we need that fecking Donegal accent :) .. It would as you say be great to have an southern Irishman on the books again!

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭squadro

We need Diego godin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,565 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

squadro wrote: »
    We need Diego godin

He would be an excellent signing,I have seen no indications that he is available.
    There really is a lack of top class CB's around at the moment.

United were blessed to have Rio and Vidic for all those years together they complimented each other perfectly.Be great to be able to get a good centre back duo again who could play together for multiple seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭8-10

irishfeen wrote: »
    That accent - we need that fecking Donegal accent :) .. It would as you say be great to have an southern Irishman on the books again!

Donegal is pretty much as far north as you can go mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

8-10 wrote: »
    Donegal is pretty much as far north as you can go mate

I'm guessing he meant southern Ireland as in not Northern Ireland as opposed to North, south, East, West.

Without that separation, we already have an Irishman at the club, Evans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,565 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

DrPhilG wrote: »
    I'm guessing he meant southern Ireland as in not Northern Ireland as opposed to North, south, East, West.

And McNair .

DrPhilG wrote: »

Ah semantics, got it. Southern Ireland to me sounds just like Munster! Donegal is south to pretty much nobody. Coleman would be a ridiculously good signing in fairness. In terms of Ireland I like the fact that he's currently playing and training with 3 other internationals at Everton, but long term it would be amazing to see him play at a club challenging for things.

The north can have donegal, and louth and cork as well. We'll keep monaghan and cavan though.

Donegal and Cork have given us better players than Monaghan and Cavan.... Keane, Bonner, Given, Coleman.....I'd keep a hold of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Donegal and Cork have given us better players than Monaghan and Cavan.... Keane, Bonner, Given, Coleman.....I'd keep a hold of them!

Irwin, Steve ireland

I may not be serious about 1 name above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,432 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ya feck Irwin, Cantwell, Keane and Carey and bring in Jonathan Douglas

• Registered Users Posts: 33,757 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dayum

If Coleman was my next door neighbour I wouldn't have him in the team.

Simply not good enough for United. End of.

Dayum wrote: »

Ah here he's at least as good as Shaw, he'd score goals in that United team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,469 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

You can keep saying it all you want but it doesn't make it true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,780 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Cool_story_bro_1359.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Well aren't we glad you don't pick the utd team, because you wouldn't pick very good players

It's ridiculous....just because he's Irish.

I couldn't care less if United never had an Irish player for the next 100 years. I'm interested in Manchester United - not whether or not they happen to have a random stranger that just so happens to be born on the same island I was.

What about Piszczek of Dortmund? Or Danilo of Porto?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

CoarsePassionateBlackbird.gif

Yep can't be having that crap at United... :pac:

It's ridiculous....just because he's Irish.

I couldn't care less if United never had an Irish player for the next 100 years. I'm interested in Manchester United - not whether or not they happen to have a random stranger that just so happens to be born on the same island I was.

You support Liverpool?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

We would have won so much more had we not settled for Keane and Irwin.
    Coleman would only be backup anyway, there's no way he could displace a Brazilian, sure they're the best at football.

user2011 wrote: »
    CoarsePassionateBlackbird.gif

Yep can't be having that crap at United... :pac:

Again, I can show you Titus Bramble doing similar. It means absolutely nothing. How does one gif qualify a player for approval in a transfer? It doesn't. United need and are deserving of superstar quality. Nothing but the very best will suffice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,637 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Out of interest, who would you have ahead of Coleman, realistically?

Coleman has probably been second only to Zabeletta in the League for the past 2-3 years. Raf when he is fit would be up there but we can't keep thinking he is going to suddenly become injury free. The RB position is one we really need to strengthen and Coleman would be an upgrade there, cause Raf is made of glass

But he has been one if the best in the leauge?

You're just basing it off the fact he is Irish, none of us are. We should have kept Gibson so

You support Liverpool?

And if I was in the Pool thread I'd have said "I'm interested in Liverpool", or "I'm interested in Newcastle" or "I'm interested in Rangers"....or any other club I happened to be discussing if I was a supporter.

Awwwww you're throwing the smokey eyes to throw everyone off.

Again, I can show you Titus Bramble doing similar.

I'd like to see this please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

Again, I can show you Titus Bramble doing similar. It means absolutely nothing. How does one gif qualify a player for approval in a transfer? It doesn't. United need and are deserving of superstar quality. Nothing but the very best will suffice.

How does one persons opinion qualify for disapproval of a player? It doesn't.

End of.

Agree with Astradave's post. Coleman has been up there as one the best in the league for a couple of seasons. Nothing to do with being Irish but just a good footballer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,780 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

4a8abcedde48aa896b165de057848f62c02fe5aa47e7ef2399401f029f5c3c38.jpg

Deserve? Why, no club deserves any particular quality of player.

I'd like to see this please

Maybe United should sign Titus Bramble.

titus-bramble-o.gif

You see what I'm getting at?

All he did was score a goal?

We only buy players based off one gif of skill

Maybe United should sign Titus Bramble.

You see what I'm getting at?

No, that's not similar. Nobody is saying to sign based on the gif. Bramble is 33, Coleman is 26 and has scored more than him. And the gif is in no way similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Wouldn't be too disappointed if we didn't sign Coleman, decent player but that's about it.

£20m would be insane and be a massive gamble.

No, that's not similar. Nobody is saying to sign based on the gif. Bramble is 33, Coleman is 26 and has scored more than him. And the gif is in no way similar.

And Danilo is 23 and has won 10 trophies in his short career.

So what is it about Coleman exactly when he has won precisely nothing?

Danilo won all them by himself? In a top European League and cup competitions?

Sign him up Ed!!!1!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Is Clyne a better option?

Could have got him for £2.5m just over 2 years ago, I guess we would need to shell out £15m+ now.

Danilo won all them by himself? In a top European League and cup competitions?

Sign him up Ed!!!1!

Yes, he won them all single-handedly... :rolleyes:

The point is that Danilo has 13 medals which is 13 medals more than Seamus Coleman. What exactly does this tell us? Little. But it tells us he has 13 more medals than Coleman so again, what is so special about Coleman? Apart from being Irish on an Irish forum....nothing. I'm not saying he's a dreadful player. He's not. He's a good footballer but that's it, a good footballer. There are better out there.

I think Danilo would be a good signing also, think he's quality. Coleman has shown to be a good attacking full back in the PL. I'd like to see him given a chance at a bigger club like United where he can start to challenge.

I honestly think he's better than Shaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Is Clyne a better option?

Could have got him for £2.5m just over 2 years ago, I guess we would need to shell out £15m+ now.

I'd take Clyne ahead of Coleman myself.

I think Danilo would be a good signing also, think he's quality. Coleman has shown to be a good attacking full back in the PL. I'd like to see him given a chance at a bigger club like United where he can start to challenge.

I honestly think he's better than Shaw

You're right - Coleman is a decent footballer. I'm not saying he isn't. But United should be aiming higher IMO. Just my opinion.

I'd take Clyne ahead of Coleman myself.

Yep, a few years younger and qualifies as homegrown for the squad unlike Coleman. Quick attacking and gives good cover in defence.