Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Grass measuring 2015

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

just do it wrote: »
    GG
    I think you hope agrinet last year. How're you finding it?

Using pasture base all DG on it..
    its grand agrinet does alot more but pasture base will get better over time and your also contributing to teagasc research

http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/171716388862?nav=SEARCH

The shears I bought jdi.
    same as ones grass tech are selling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Dawggone wrote: »
    Growth is shyte Atm.
    Walked Crimson Clover that should be ready to cut at end of the month. Extended by 2 weeks now.

Pick it in small bunches and get it over here before Tuesday. #sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

The shears I bought jdi.

What's it like for cutting grass?

td5man wrote: »
    What's it like for cutting grass?

Haven't got it yet. Should Be Hear By end of the week.
    Should be a good yoke with a 10.7 v battery

• Registered Users Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Haven't got it yet. Should Be Hear By end of the week.
    Should be a good yoke with a 10.7 v battery
    Got sick of the battery's going dead on them clipper's use a mini manual hedge shears now easier to carry and only cost 5 pound

trixi2011 wrote: »
    Got sick of the battery's going dead on them clipper's use a mini manual hedge shears now easier to carry and only cost 5 pound

Can get replacement battery's for them that's what I liked about it.
    Old one hadn't the power to cut a sheet of paper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭dar31

The shears I bought jdi.
    What did it end up costing, € delivered

dar31 wrote: »
    What did it end up costing, € delivered

105€

GR 19
    farm cover 572
    c/c 394
    first 2 paddocks after jumping to 830.
    measured them twice because I thought it was wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

GR 19
    farm cover 572
    c/c 394
    first 2 paddocks after jumping to 830.
    measured them twice because I thought it was wrong

Farm cover 800,
    CC 500!!!
    GR 9.5 for the last 6weeks.
    62% of the farm grazed

TBH I think I was doing them covers with rose tinted glasses ha, so aint going to over react to it ha. 10acres of reseeds with a cover of 1500ish on them, but they were too soft to graze till now (left the milkers in once patch of it and they ploughed it up :mad:), but going to let a decent bit of youngstock out tomorrow on it. Cows out at night finally also, actually in light of them figures I'll let the brakes off even more, milk protein on the utter floor at 3.15!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

80% grazed and 20 gr so we'll get out. Everything that's grazed was peeled so great start to year.

First round for the grass all the rest for the cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Cows on 24hr breaks from yesterday evening. Shop stewards meeting st the gap this morning about the change in terms and conditions. They'll get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Cows on 24hr breaks from yesterday evening. Shop stewards meeting st the gap this morning about the change in terms and conditions. They'll get over it.

Is weather atm too dry for urea to be spread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Ah here ffs it's March and Ireland. Not the Sahara.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭stretch film

Asking same question myself. Will hold off for a day or two I think. Coastal location here and always a breeze

Timmaay wrote: »
    Ah here ffs it's March and Ireland. Not the Sahara.

very little moisture around tim to wash it in like dew or rain. Going to be a dry week ahead to

Ffs shut up and horse it out He who hesitates is lost.

In spring you need to be like Tony Beets from Goldrush take no prisoners.

Waiting on co-op spreader here now. Plenty of moisture around. 30 acres limed in early February will be getting 2.5 tonne of CAN. Rest urea.

550 afc
    209 per cow
    14 gr
    2.63 st rate

That's 1 week growth. I'd say its over 20 since Monday.

6 days left in 1st round. Grazing 1800's 800 on first of second round. We will get out by the skin of our teeth

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭einn32

Plenty of water droplets on grass here at half 10 this morning. I spread Urea during the week and this morning. Ground is damp too.

550 afc
    209 per cow
    14 gr
    2.63 st rate

That's 1 week growth. I'd say its over 20 since Monday.

6 days left in 1st round. Grazing 1800's 800 on first of second round. We will get out by the skin of our teeth

11 days left in first round here. 1000 on early grazed stuff with some reseeds powering along after an early graze and compound.

They should be heading into the wholecrop ground then for a second graze around the second week in Apr. Spray and slurry then and leave the contractor at it. We'll get him to manage it completely. He can supply and apply the sprays cheaper than we can buy them and still have to do the spraying ourselves. Also get the benefit of his expertise managing the crop. He'll lay it out as a reseed and we should be grazing dded grass seed mid September.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

11 days left in first round here. 1000 on early grazed stuff with some reseeds powering along after an early graze and compound.

They should be heading into the wholecrop ground then for a second graze around the second week in Apr. Spray and slurry then and leave the contractor at it. We'll get him to manage it completely. He can supply and apply the sprays cheaper than we can buy them and still have to do the spraying ourselves. Also get the benefit of his expertise managing the crop. He'll lay it out as a reseed and we should be grazing dded grass seed mid September.

Is it a sbarley wholecrop?

Will you be putting in the grassseed at planting or post harvest?

Dawggone wrote: »
    Is it a sbarley wholecrop?

Yes. Worked well for us the past couple of years.

Will you be putting in the grassseed at planting or post harvest?

Direct drill as soon as the harvester leaves the field.

Anyone that arrives in yard here always asks what height above see level we are here
    went and looked last night finally
    highest part of farm is 90m and lowest is 44m
    very surprised as you come up from local town you head up a hill.
    We kind of in the bottom of a valley here too

Kerry farms averages.

AFC 976
    D 20
    Gr 8
    PGY 950
    Meal 4kgs
    MS/cow 1.53

Kerry farms averages.

AFC 976
    D 20
    Gr 8
    PGY 950
    Meal 4kgs
    MS/cow 1.53
    What's cover per cow at

Not given, Gg. I think it starts being given the next set of results.

Spread 1st 20 ac of urea ever here.
    should know by weekend
    dad wants me to get Goulding 42%n +se he heard someone on about.
    It's not on the amazone fert app

2T of 23:2.5:5+S out here today on grazed ground. Going out with Urea on monday on ground that got slurry.

Ground softish in places. Heavier ground will need a few more days before i go out, maybe thursday or friday.

Nice bit of grass coming even though covers are low.

Farm cover 442
    cover per cow 299
    gr 5
    Might as well say no growth here.
    even on reseeds that got 2 bags of 15 10 10
    ten days ago. Hardly got washed away with those 3/4 days heavy rain we had?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,854 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Farm cover 442
    cover per cow 299
    gr 5
    are they still in at night?

whelan2 wrote: »
    are they still in at night?

Out at night since second week in feb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,777 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Farm cover 442
    cover per cow 299
    gr 5

Grass is starting to move here again, forecast for next week isnt to exciting though holding the first rotation till the tenth here and leaving them in at night, only 800 at a stretch on paddocks grazed first if the weather turns cold like is being forecast will really knock things back...

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Grass is starting to move here again, forecast for next week isnt to exciting though holding the first rotation till the tenth here and leaving them in at night, only 800 at a stretch on paddocks grazed first if the weather turns cold like is being forecast will really knock things back...

I had a gr of 19 last week what ever has happened
    may stick in silage here

I had a gr of 19 last week what ever has happened
    may stick in silage here

Its the frosts at night that are killing things last night was the first nite here the last week where temps hadn't gone below freezing, have 20 acres here with a special new Zealand variety called shoulder grower works in low temps was growing easily 20 a day earlier in march but stalled once the cold nights set in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,854 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

what is the soil temperature

Its the frosts at night that are killing things last night was the first nite here the last week where temps hadn't gone below freezing, have 20 acres here with a special new Zealand variety called shoulder grower works in low temps was growing easily 20 a day earlier in march but stalled once the cold nights set in...
    start of the week was very cold alright
    where did you get the seed for that grass

Not sure but 8 at midday few days ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

have shoulder grower in 3 paddocks it has grown on very well since grazed first,i find it a very open sward so the jury is still out on it here.how are you finding it.

leg wax wrote: »
    have shoulder grower in 3 paddocks it has grown on very well since grazed first,i find it a very open sward so the jury is still out on it here.how are you finding it.

Third year in here, would agree with it being very open doesn't take to well to poaching at all either, have a good bit of clover through mine though and it usually covers up the open parts once the summer comes in....
    Tends to head out very quickly in the summer too can be hard to control to keep the quality up, tend to have to take two cuts of bales of it a year to keep it right too, will use it again though on another 20 acres of dry ground this year grows serious tonnage on the shoulders of the year it averaged a growth rate of nearly 50 a day here on average in oct/Nov here last year...

10c here at 6pm

• Registered Users Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Was at 4.5 at 10am this morning with us today :mad: hopefully take off soon only 200/300 on paddocks grazed in early feb , a lot farther north than most on here prob 2 weeks behind ye with grass growth aim to finish 1st round between 10/15 april

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

AFC last Friday week 643

Afc today 778 - 11 days - Does tihs give a growth rate of 12kgs?

Also if there was a D of 10 kgs/day as well grazed is this added to the 12kgs to give a Gr of 22kgs ?

ellewood wrote: »
    AFC last Friday week 643

Afc today 778 - 11 days - Does tihs give a growth rate of 12kgs?

Also if there was a D of 10 kgs/day as well grazed is this added to the 12kgs to give a Gr of 22kgs ?

What's a "D of 10 kgs/day"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

Sorry, theres a small no of heifers grazing it already and they have a grazing demand (D) of 10kg/day-just trying to work out growth rate

Its first/start of grass measuring for this year and was working out myself -arseways - put the 2 measurements into pasturebase and it gives me back a GR of 19kg/day:D

30 gr
    Afc 523
    186 per cow
    Looks like we'll get out under the wire with no silage. 2nd round starting tomorrow but farm looks to be taking off